Bluemour Melting Pot XIX - Give Me Ed Baby - Return of the Prodigal Son

I will take Crippa even he finishes third behind Fyfe and the Bont as those should have been suspended

The Brownlow - the award for the league's Best & Fairest(ish midfielder).

What player would voluntarily choose North over CFC? Cannot see that happening unless the dollars are massively greater.

SEN made the point this morning about the CEO, List Manager and a couple of others have resigned so who Papley be dealing with anyway.

A bit like how we wanted to appoint Teague to show potential recruits some solidarity.

Unfortunately, North's involvement just makes it harder for us to get a deal done and probably make us pay more then we would want.

Just get Martin done as priority and if it gets too hard for Papley, let it be.
North's involvement will have nothing to do with Papley's value, as he will nominate where he wants to go

I doubt any player would see North's list as being ahead of ours in the now or coming years

If Papley nominates us then Arden St's offers to both Tom and Sydney are irrelevant.

I find it hard to see why Tom would want to go to North, outside of a massive offer. Plenty of questions being asked about the quality of their younger players, their best player is 31 and has some speculation about him leaving, there's basically no one in the office above Rhys Shaw after the CEO and others have left...

I stopped loving all of them as soon as they wanted to leave.

They left when it was in their interests to cut & run.

We should only take them back on our terms - no sentimentality here.

Eddie has clearly received the email.....
yup

Just for the pure joy of melts at Adelaide, I want Stocker to have a massive 2020 and take out the Rising Star.

Just take a second to imagine that!

Adelaide probably weren't going to draft Stocker with that pick.

The better Stocker turns out, the better we look. But it doesn't mean Adelaide look worse for doing the trade.

IMO Stocker will need a couple more seasons before he makes much of an impact. But yeah, RS win would be amazing. And hilarious.

The story goes John Russo bullied the junior umpire that day (think his name was Murray Bird) not to give Greg Williams any votes that day. I think that umpire Bird came out years later in an interview saying that’s what happened.

Russo was (and still is) a tool.

That’s why I always refer to Greg Williams as a “Moral Triple Brownlow Medallist” and whenever Gavin Wanganeen got near a ball I used to yell out “give it back”.

:p

The better Stocker turns out, the better we look. But it doesn't mean Adelaide look worse for doing the trade.

IMO Stocker will need a couple more seasons before he makes much of an impact. But yeah, RS win would be amazing. And hilarious.

But that's exactly how it may play out.

If Stocker turns out to be a 10 year player, Crows will look foolish, if he is a bust, the reverse will take place

Added interest will be how both clubs use their picks this year

Nope :) I certainly did after watching the replay, but not at the ground. Used to get to nearly every match in those days and would always pick my best three on the way home before listening to the ‘experts’ on the radio. Diesel got a heap of it no doubt, but from the stands he didn’t seem to have a major influence. As I said, the replay made it clear what a phenomenal game he played, and I do think he was robbed.

Who cares if one player alone ends up being better than the other, as long as that player has the right role to play within the team and if they play in a Premiership.....all bets are off, regardless of the quality differential.
Stocker still reminds me of Hodge and will become a nasty bastard to match up on as he matures.

I don't see the trade coming back to haunt SOS or the CFC at all and especially given the outing of where we saw Stocker in the scheme of the draft.....but..
The fact we did see Stocker as being the 6th best player in the 2018 draft may yet be given plenty of airing as time goes on.

I doubt Papley nominates us unless he's confident the deal can get done. With him having a few years left on contract and wanting to get back to Melb, he'll have to go where Syd gets the best deal unfortunately

Yeah I don't see Papley nominating at all.

I think it'll be one of those trade week deals that gets traction that morning then hits social media 10 minutes before the deal goes through.

That happened two years ago and there is a new coach this year. Why didn’t he want out last year if it was so traumatic?

I reckon players are jumping off because they know they won’t be playing finals for a while and because of the youth policy.

The club only admitted in the last few weeks that the camp was a mistake and handled poorly.

Yeah I don't see Papley nominating at all.

I think it'll be one of those trade week deals that gets traction that morning then hits social media 10 minutes before the deal goes through.

Probably similar to Gibba the 2nd time around. Sure that was reported the night before that we were in discussions (or the morning after the night before) and then wrapped up the following day with the trade particulars.

Can end
With Mykonos being what it is renown for, I'd be a little careful sowing my Wild Oats..... personally anyway.

Not that there's anything wrong with that! 😉

Maybe you get double points for that?
Caution is the name of the game over there! One can end up with a pleathora of nasty weeds in your crop, sowing oats in Mykinos!!

Sounds like you know more than you’re letting on. Would be stoked with Viney or Petracca.

Mate of mine just told me, according to Bigfooty of course, that Viney is being cautiously but actively shopped around according to rumours.

Noticed a single bluemour about this and nothing more.

Had a look and there are plenty more posts from other clubs boards that reckon we are interested, but nothing much on here. Found that interesting.

Not enjoying the last few pages of this thread.

Can Barass or 10 Cents throw us a bone and give us some positive/happy news? Ta.

Bennell on a 3 year deal.

There you go. You hate page 131 as well now :D

10 Cents posted late yesterday arvo that 'things are looking good re: Papley'.
Doesn't appear in the 'No Discussion' thread - I'd post it, but I don't know how to quote from one thread to another :blush:

10 Cents posted late yesterday arvo that 'things are looking good re: Papley'.
Doesn't appear in the 'No Discussion' thread - I'd post it, but I don't know how to quote from one thread to another :blush:

The Quote Button in between the Like and Reply Tabs is your friend there :)