Bluemour Melting Pot XIX - Give Me Ed Baby - Return of the Prodigal Son

This was literally me waking up 30 mins ago and visiting AFL dot com and seeing the Papley news

giphy.gif

Ironically I am now making my first coffee for the day :)

WTF! :mad:

Gold Coast assistance package includes:
- Picks 1 and 2 @ '19 Draft.
- The first pick of the second round (currently pick 20) @ '19 Draft.
- Mid first-round pick (currently pick 11) @ '20 Draft.
- The first pick of the second round (currently pick 19) @ '21 Draft

EFrAdhxUcAAw2S1

Holy shit …

Maybe the AFL package helps land Martin....they don’t need any more pick for kids as they basically have a list full now

Maybe a mature lumbering key fwd/back/ruck [emoji51]

I get your point, the additional picks give them plenty of trade-able capital.

Would just like to point out that Levi is not lumbering...

Unpopular opinion, but I think the assistance package is spot on, AFL had a decision to make, either fold them or give it one last crack and we know they need players. None of this half in business of the last few years

This won't be the last "crack" if they fail my friend, mark my words.

Maybe the AFL package helps land Martin....they don’t need any more pick for kids as they basically have a list full now

They can trade these picks right? Opens a whole new can of worms.

Way to make it harder to get Martin, AFL. What a f*** crock that is. Pick 1, Pick 11 and 2 start of 2nd round picks + getting academy kids for nothing + extended access to zones. The draft is not the way to fix that club and the AFL publicly stated that last year with the mature aged BS.

Clear now that it was just a transparent and biased attack on the Blues - be that by their hand or for fear of being attacked by other clubs. In any case, this is some bulllls**t.

A 2nd round means little now to them given they have a warchest of picks for nothing.

To be clear, I'm not anti-Suns. Their issues are deeper than talent and picks won't fix it. The pre-listing thing I get. Maybe an early-second token pick like Lions got... sure. They need help or will fold to Tassie (which I think they should just bit the bullet and do, tbh). It's not as simple as better management as they're under more pressure to retain and it's an impossible market up here for a sporting franchise.

It's the AFL I'm losing all respect and faith in. They are fast cementing themselves as the worst-ran, least independent and most makey-uppey sports competition in the world.

It might actually make it easier to get Martin.

From gc perspective they have so many good picks now, and know they've benefited heaps for free, they might just let Martin go without too much fuss.

Enjoying The Demons meltdown over this, given all the help the AFL gave them when they were crap .

Pick 3 Compo for Frawley and we got zilch for Betts and Waite.

Not to mention having Paul Roos and Peter Jackson paid by the AFL to get their house in order.

I think the AFL deserves credit for once to be all hands in in trying to make the Gold Coast Suns work, big picture stuff here, having a successful sporting team up in that region will be brilliant.

I am very fine with the assistance package.

The salt on here is hilarious. Who cares about the Suns? We didn't need a concession package, the Suns obviously do. Our 17th flag is going to taste so much sweeter without a substantial assistance helping us along the way.
You're welcome, Haydos. First reaction obviously, so always going to have a little emotion in it. Just don't like the message it sends, the inequality and inconsistency. The AFL continues to make bad call after bad call and contradict themselves constantly. The game is so good but most of the issues in it from the fans perspective are as a result of its administration.

Sigh.

Well that mid first pick will almost certainly go to adelaide for b crouch if he wants to go there

Would appear afl has set it up so gc can draft good mates Rowell and Anderson.

Then can use pick 20, 21 and next year's pick 11 to trade for mature players like crouch.

Rebuilding teams and Melbourne hit the worst...melb would be spewing.

AFL doing a SOS with its first born; positioning it into earliest of early part of several drafts.

Their list could genuinely be 50+ now. Akin to a first-year franchise (iirc that was similar to GWS had in their first few years).
With one of those shiny new 2nd rounders coming back to us? 😉
That could definitely mean - if they're keen on Cas - they'd be more likely to deal with us for a better pick.
It might actually make it easier to get Martin.

From gc perspective they have so many good picks now, and know they've benefited heaps for free, they might just let Martin go without too much fuss.
Let's hope, mate.