Bluemour Melting Pot XX - Snark Free Zone

I like this multiple options approach rather pinning our hopes on one big recruit. Puts some onus back on other clubs/players to be sensible about trading and not make ridiculous demands eg. Ellis.

People call out FA's as free hits but they're not and especially so when we have this thing called the TPP.

Do not pay for someone you don't really need, just because draft picks don't walk out the door.
We may never know why player X may choose to leave our club, but having overpaid Ellis (example) may be the difference between being able to pay a player what they deserve, or losing them.

Imagine if we can't pay Cripps that extra 250K because of Ellis. Terrible...

I reckon it’s Viney. We don’t have the picks/player to get either Oliver or Fyfe over the line (and Oliver is a flog and a selfish player IMO). Viney is a quick and tough inside mid - exactly what we need.

Surprised no one has mentioned viney especially with the #7 clue. Hardly a big fish though but I’d still be wrapt to have him.

I may be wrong but wasnt one of the clues that the player is interstate? If so Viney cant be it

Depends which poster we are talking about and how far you want to go back....😛

Seriously, it's hard to guess as we can't assume everyone is talking about the same mystery player. As well as Arrow, Royal Blues, OR etc you can go back as far as TCP who was posting similar around August.

Why is it Brisbane is so eager to keep Matt Eagles on their list?

It makes no sense to me, he'll be 30 next year and has played all of 4 games..

Have to agree, might have got BOG in NEAFL but the quality of the opposition was very ordinary, and payne was rested for the GF. Can’t see him being selected over payne , skinner, Ballenden for any AFL spot and would be better rookie listing a youngster but apparently not a lot of depth around.[/QUOTE]

Last edited by a moderator:
The quality of picks, isn't just determined around the quality of player, other considerations are time left in the game, contract status and pending FA status
Others here have a better memory than me, but didn't Collingwood get something similar as compensation for Fasolo?

Fyfe has toured Princes park and remarked how pro he thought the club was; two years back...he still has four years left on his contract but if you add 2years into his contract plus Fyfe (five) you get seven.

I have always maintained that it was a crouch because towards the end of the season SOS was spotted in Adelaide...and crouch was a name that was rejected by Adelaide in the Gibbs trade...plus Judd had mentioned during the year that Adelaide had an excess of of the crouch type of player but SOS could have been in Adelaide for betts.

I am very happy if we land pap Martin and betts..Landing one of these two players would feel like winning tattslotto

No idea whether there’s any reality to the Viney suggestion, but he’s an interesting idea. Would certainly bring aggression, leadership and ball-winning support to the midfield beside Cripps. Probably fits age profile nicely. He’s not a complete player, but he IS very good at what he does.

I haven’t heard anything from Melbourne that says they’re keen to move him on, but they possibly should consider it. Their midfield is one-paced and over-loaded with this “type” so they might actually benefit from breaking it up and seeking some different style player instead.

Price would be important... he’s worth something good (first rounder you would think +/-) but not a crazy kings ransom.

All hypothetical, just mulling it over.

I am pretty sure the name will come out even if it doesn't get done.

It does seem like quite a few ITK's are clued in on it, which makes me wonder if there is more than 1 being worked on (although we couldn't do both).

Gaff would make most sense. West coast need picks to trade for Kelly. They will probably take a future first and second for gaff if it secures them Kelly.

This ..... Geelong may not have space in their cap for Gaff and wet toast would see Kelly who wants to be there optimal compared to Gaff who does not

One of the clues was that the players name hadn't been brought up. So doesn't that rule Viney out?

depends if the clue specifically refers to never being mentioned on Bigfooty before or could just mean not mentioned in the media.

Besides, whoever posted that may not have read every post in this thread and could easily have missed the viney talk since it was relatively brief.

The next 9 days are so important for our club.. if we can fill in those holes with the players who have nominated us will be friggin huge..

I dont like the talks around other media outlets about Papley possibly being happy with any Victorian side now (probably bs) but who knows.

We say this every year but the next week and a bit is crucial

No idea whether there’s any reality to the Viney suggestion, but he’s an interesting idea. Would certainly bring aggression, leadership and ball-winning support to the midfield beside Cripps. Probably fits age profile nicely. He’s not a complete player, but he IS very good at what he does.

I haven’t heard anything from Melbourne that says they’re keen to move him on, but they possibly should consider it. Their midfield is one-paced and over-loaded with this “type” so they might actually benefit from breaking it up and seeking some different style player instead.

Price would be important... he’s worth something good (first rounder you would think +/-) but not a crazy kings ransom.

All hypothetical, just mulling it over.

His kicking % rate was the worst in the league last year, and he is also bit of a goose (on field at least, probably is an okay person off it)

I would much prefer we took a punt on Brayshaw tbh, and whispers i have read around the traps in recent months suggest he could be gettable for the right price.

Viney is not elite. Doesn’t fit the bill.

He‘s elite at what he does, but agree he’s overall not “elite”.

The trouble with truly elite players is the cost. I mean it’d be exciting if Fyfe came out tomorrow and said “make me a Blue” but can you imagine the price? We would have to gut our list - to the point where I think it would likely hurt us more than help. Free would want something like Fisher, SPS and two firsts.

I think our shopping list is still long. Star mid (eg Coniglio) was on top of list, but the star mid store is closed this year. Next on the list is small forwards, and SOS is all over it.

The other complimentary piece, given a truly elite mid is not realistic is a genuine 25yo ball-winner, even with flaws. This is the Wines/Crouch/Viney type. Not an answer to all our prayers, but proper support to relieve the load on Cripps, someone of an age who can stick around as our young talent matures, and someone who should play a decreasing role over the next five years but remain part of the midfield setup. And importantly, someone who might be obtainable at a palatable price. All maybes and possiblies but I think would make a lot of sense from list build standpoint.

His kicking % rate was the worst in the league last year, and he is also bit of a goose (on field at least, probably is an okay person off it)

I would much prefer we took a punt on Brayshaw tbh, and whispers i have read around the traps in recent months suggest he could be gettable for the right price.

He is another poor ball user, but I like everything else he brings. If we can find someone who “only” costs a first rounder of this ilk, I think we should do it. (Assuming other targets Papley and Martin get done with the rest of our currency).

For those who aren’t happy with Charlie for playing basketball or skateboarding (for what it’s worth I’m not unhappy), if his knee is not going to withstand that, then it ain’t going to withstand AFL footy.

Hopefully they can find the fault and repair for once and all

Exactly better for it to happen now at the start of the off season rather than the end or Rd1, and now they can have a good look at it and make sure it is all tight and ready for a full season next year, apparently will start running prior to Xmas and as we all know Charlie along with Ed are probably our fittest and best runners so I don’t think it should effect his fitness for rd1 and now we know it will be right for the season ahead. There are positives in everything if you look. Go Blues.