Tasmanian Football Thread

Piss this SFL bullsh*t off and bring back the REAL league!

It would be good to see the old TFL back, bring back Sandy Bay from the dead, get the big crowds back. What a dream that one is.

Went through all my old footy records yesterday, found some from the days Winfield sponsored the league.

One thing I really miss is the printing of the record you used to get a decent list of reserves players, and you knew who was who. Now days you see a number and you need to guess who it was.

Really miss the playing of the club songs at the start and end of games.

Here's a fond memory for your, Kingpin, about 1997 Glenorchy vs Hobart at KGV Oval, rocks and eggs flying back and forth from Glenorchy and Hobart supporters, those were the days.

Sort of miss the days of the chanting that went on behind the goals, I am sure Brenton Tapp wouldn't.:p

Good times, merry belated Christmas everyone, hope you all (and yes I do mean all) have a happy holiday period, and you have a safe and happy new year.

Bring on the 2007 season, hopefully no more work on Saturdays.

Any ex Queenstowners have any more detail on his years down there? Hope they are going for knee and elbow protection, I still have scars from the Queenie gravel.

I know someone that lives in Queenstown, her father might be able to help out there. I'll have to ask her next time she's down from Queenstown.

Brace yourselves for what may be my last post in Calendar Year 2006:

Firstly Majestic. Here's a thought - Instead of waiting for her to come to you, why don't you ring your PB boots, flannelette shirt wearing, muff gutted Queenstown female friend up?

Secondly, you'll be happy to know that your beloved Glenorchy DO play their club song before and in the case of a win, after games.

It appears relatives coming to see you for Easter and weekend work prevents you from knowing this!

As for Kingston, it would be a dream for the likes of Kingpin and my good self to see Kingston fold as GOT TO LIFT speculated, but take it from me - Barra Herweynen will see that club cease to exist over his considerable dead body!

Translation: Love em or loathe em, they ain't goin' anywhere!

I ask again - Does anyone have any idea who will coach the Tigers in 2007?

The all knowing BARGE, eh Dickie26?

Hmmm, I think with that name I may have you worked out already Sunshine?!

It would be good to see the old TFL back, bring back Sandy Bay from the dead, get the big crowds back. What a dream that one is.
It would be great to see a proper comp set up to try and bring back a proper club footy profile back in Hobart, I don't think the Bay's ever gonna come back though, the longer they leave it, the less likely it seems like happening.
Ten years ago this coming August since a Bay team graced the playing fields, same with the Hobart Tigers.

The Majestic said:
Went through all my old footy records yesterday, found some from the days Winfield sponsored the league.

One thing I really miss is the printing of the record you used to get a decent list of reserves players, and you knew who was who. Now days you see a number and you need to guess who it was.
Yep the old Winfield League, wasn't a bad league that one.
In fairness, the footy records they give out now are very good and are TFL standard.
Certainly lightyears better than the ones from 1998-2001 in the old SFL.

The Majestic said:
Really miss the playing of the club songs at the start and end of games.
Apart from the odd game here and there, you hardly hear them at all now.
They never play 'Road to Gundagai" up at Boyer anymore, Hobart's old song is superfluous nowdays obviously, only ever hear Clarence's, Glenorchy's or North Hobart's occasionaly at North Hobart during the finals.
The atmosphere lacks a lot.

The Majestic said:
Here's a fond memory for your, Kingpin, about 1997 Glenorchy vs Hobart at KGV Oval, rocks and eggs flying back and forth from Glenorchy and Hobart supporters, those were the days.
LOL I remember an egg hit the bloke next to me, I remember throwing bricks and rocks back at you poor blokes, I really couldda done some damage to poor ol' Russel Gibson with that brick I threw :o

The Majestic said:
Sort of miss the days of the chanting that went on behind the goals, I am sure Brenton Tapp wouldn't.:p
Yeah it seems light years away from the sort of passion we once had at matches, I look at the odd match nowdays and think 'how the hell did I ever go so crazy and cheer myself hoarse'
Maybe my age is catching up with me a little.

Hope you had a good Christmas and have a heavily drunken New Years Maj!

As for Kingston, it would be a dream for the likes of Kingpin and my good self to see Kingston fold as GOT TO LIFT speculated, but take it from me - Barra Herweynen will see that club cease to exist over his considerable dead body!

Translation: Love em or loathe em, they ain't goin' anywhere!
In my time at Hobart, that lot were hellbent on seeing us fold, I would cheer heartily if they did, never come across a club like it.
And I don't say that lightly either, because I don't like to see clubs go by the wayside in any way shape or form.
Herweynan is a very good football club administrator for Kingborough, he'll do whatever it takes to get them out on the field in '07, no doubt about that.
They'll still be around.

I noticed last night that the big dry has hit North Hobart now, with them only being able to water the ground at restricted intervals over the summer period.
Can't recall them having to go to those lengths before.
nhlp1.png

Brace yourselves for what may be my last post in Calendar Year 2006:

Firstly Majestic. Here's a thought - Instead of waiting for her to come to you, why don't you ring your PB boots, flannelette shirt wearing, muff gutted Queenstown female friend up?

No need to worry, Barge, call her every day, thought at the time of the post she probably would've been asleep, so I got a call from her this morning,and told her about the game (She's a Swans supporter, since Cressa and Paul Kelly are former swans thought she'd be interested, she's agreed to be a Magpie though, well partial supporter anyway.) and then asked if her dad (who's really her step-dad but ssh.) would have seen him play there as he (not her) is originally from Queenstown. Though she said he might not have been into the local football up there, so we'll have to wait and see.

But that was an interesting description there, though, too bad she's really from Blacktown in NSW, so that rules it all out I would guess.

Secondly, you'll be happy to know that your beloved Glenorchy DO play their club song before and in the case of a win, after games.

It appears relatives coming to see you for Easter and weekend work prevents you from knowing this!

Yes, they play it before the game with their sponsors, as did North Hobart at the finals last year, they also play the song at half time, again with their sponsors, in there. There's a guy "wishing to thank our sponsors" and then on cue we get the major sponsors.

I attended games, didn't take the old flag much though, traveled to the TCA Ground, Bellerive, KGV, and Lauderdale, though we were lucky not to have the window smashed at Brighton again. Thankfully the player that did is with North now...that was a shocker of a kick. Good to see you haven't changed since I haven't posted in this thread, Barge, look forward to the new ones in 2007.

Have a good one.

It would be great to see a proper comp set up to try and bring back a proper club footy profile back in Hobart, I don't think the Bay's ever gonna come back though, the longer they leave it, the less likely it seems like happening.
Ten years ago this coming August since a Bay team graced the playing fields, same with the Hobart Tigers.

Yeah you're right sadly, re Sandy Bay, used to have some fun with a few Sandy Bay players, Satori copped a lot of flack after Weightman cleaned him up. I remember behind the goals they'd yell out "Weightman's coming!"

Yep the old Winfield League, wasn't a bad league that one.
In fairness, the footy records they give out now are very good and are TFL standard.
Certainly lightyears better than the ones from 1998-2001 in the old SFL.

My only problem is the reserves lists not being printed like they used to, I remember getting a sheet of paper with the names of the players on and the logos. Which was just for that game rather then the whole weekend.

Apart from the odd game here and there, you hardly hear them at all now.
They never play 'Road to Gundagai" up at Boyer anymore, Hobart's old song is superfluous nowdays obviously, only ever hear Clarence's, Glenorchy's or North Hobart's occasionaly at North Hobart during the finals.
The atmosphere lacks a lot.

I have heard the Glenorchy one play, but as I said it has the sponsors and stuff in it, at North Hobart their's had the same, though they didn't play the others teams song at the games though.

LOL I remember an egg hit the bloke next to me, I remember throwing bricks and rocks back at you poor blokes, I really couldda done some damage to poor ol' Russel Gibson with that brick I threw :o

I remember the rocks, and the eggs, I remember dodging a few rocks, the eggs were landing in front of me. This kid that would go with Russel was mouthing off and tossing rocks, I believe he was the one that started the rock throwing, though I cannot say how the eggs started to fly.

I really remember this one armed bloke there tossing eggs out, I just found it funny that someone would have a dozen eggs at a footy match, and then to toss them made it more funny. Not so for the poor bugger that was hit by them :D

Yeah it seems light years away from the sort of passion we once had at matches, I look at the odd match nowdays and think 'how the hell did I ever go so crazy and cheer myself hoarse'
Maybe my age is catching up with me a little.

Games I've been too, away from KGV there hasn't been much cheering going on, this year though Hobart supporters managed to outnumber the the Glenorchy fans there, last year it was the other way around. Which was the same the year before if i remember correctly, though both times the crowds weren't that flash.

It was good to see your mob got mad there, Kingpin, most noise I heard at the ground in the last few seasons. Need to drag out of retirement and get some noise going.

Speaking of noise, Jungles going to the footy any time soon? Or is he still done? Spoke to him during the finals last year after Kingston were beaten by Hobart at North Hobart, was telling us how his drum was going to cost $80 to re-skin, very nice bloke to talk to.

Hope you had a good Christmas and have a heavily drunken New Years Maj!

Yep, it was pretty good actually, hope you've had a good one, can't get too drunk though next week during the cricket is another story. ;)

The Majestic said:
It was good to see your mob got mad there, Kingpin, most noise I heard at the ground in the last few seasons. Need to drag out of retirement and get some noise going.
Yeah that was the day Hobart wore the sash for the last time ever.
Baring in mind that at that stage Hobart had been the Lions for about 5-6 months and feelings were still running pretty high around the place.
President Baker had been making patronising remarks in the press all week about 'the end of the Tigers' and all sorts of other crap.
It was supposed to be a day where old supporters were going to come and watch the Tigers for the last time, but many simply told the club to get stuffed and stayed away.
A group of us met in the pub before the match and downed a few neck-oils and went in with an open mind.
Seeing the clubrooms decked out with Lions balloons on such an important day and board members all in Lions clothing, and the players getting about in some pissy little mockup jumper made it feel like we'd borrowed a team of players for the day to watch - we may as well have been watching Kingborough or Longford or some other team - wasn't ours anymore.
So we let rip on some of the players we knew sold the supporters out, and let rip at all the board members as well.
Two of our group were life members and former premiership players no less.
One bloke got a life ban for his outburst at Baker which could be heard from one end to the ground to other.
We all got banned - we didn't care - we had our say and walked out.
The match was insipidly poor, Magpies won by about 4 goals but should've won by 10.
The Majestic said:
Speaking of noise, Jungles going to the footy any time soon? Or is he still done? Spoke to him during the finals last year after Kingston were beaten by Hobart at North Hobart, was telling us how his drum was going to cost $80 to re-skin, very nice bloke to talk to.
Great guy old Jungle. I think he still goes now and then to watch Kingborough but is not into it as much as he was.
He's more into doing Christian volunteer work these days, I saw him about 3 months or so back in town, I didn't recognise him at first, doesn't dress or look like he used to with the Tiger beanie and old tatty coats etc.
Dresses very respectably nowdays.
I still say the day Hobart alienated him and caused him to walk out was the beginning of the end for that club, he did more for that club than most people would ever know.

Talked to a few Kingborough supporters last year, he was the only one that was willing to answer questions was jungles, not to say they are ALL bad, just the ones we tried to talk to at half time of the ressie game there. .

Walked around the ground and then bumped into Jungles, I remember at KGV Oval a few years ago he used to have some flags, and a little tiger dressed up in a tigers jumper, the kids there were all hanging around because of his drum.

But anyway back to last year, he talked a lot about his final days at Hobart, and you could sense that he wasn't really that happy down at Kingston, listening to him tell stories of the days Hobart left the TFL, and joined the SFL, and how other things had happened.

At the end before the siren we got to Kingborough, had a small chat, and then he went off down the other end.

It is a shame to lose a supporter like him, much like Russell for us, I know Russ has copped a lot of flack from opposition supporters for years, though he has given back when he received.

Jungles told the story of how his drum was damaged the week before the game at North Hobart, he said some New Norfolk supporters smashed it and he had a smaller one at North Hobart. Wished us luck as he was leaving, we certainly needed it the way we played, took until the final quarter for us to kick into gear.

But I think that could have been another straw that broke the camels back for him, though he said "See you next year"

Yeah that was the day Hobart wore the sash for the last time ever.
Baring in mind that at that stage Hobart had been the Lions for about 5-6 months and feelings were still running pretty high around the place.
President Baker had been making patronising remarks in the press all week about 'the end of the Tigers' and all sorts of other crap.
It was supposed to be a day where old supporters were going to come and watch the Tigers for the last time, but many simply told the club to get stuffed and stayed away.
A group of us met in the pub before the match and downed a few neck-oils and went in with an open mind.

Seeing the clubrooms decked out with Lions balloons on such an important day and board members all in Lions clothing, and the players getting about in some pissy little mockup jumper made it feel like we'd borrowed a team of players for the day to watch - we may as well have been watching Kingborough or Longford or some other team - wasn't ours anymore.

I was surprised with the Lions colours being around there also saw the Lions logos and such in the club rooms. Thought they would have gone all out for the day of the Tigers there. Some of the fans didn't seem too interested, which was almost the same feeling the players had.

So we let rip on some of the players we knew sold the supporters out, and let rip at all the board members as well.
Two of our group were life members and former premiership players no less.
One bloke got a life ban for his outburst at Baker which could be heard from one end to the ground to other.

It was funny the look on the players faces when you guys started on them, at one game there, I believe it was 2004, me and my dad were talking to a club official at Half Time, this day there was a poor crowd, mainly Glenorchy supporters, I think there was a Devils game on.

Anyway, he was saying (and this was his words) they were hoping that the Glenorchy supporters would have been out in force to help them break even at the gate. I couldn't say who it was because I don't know anyone apart of the Hobart Football Club, but he was an old gentleman needless to say there wasn't much of a turnout probably about 400 (if that)

We all got banned - we didn't care - we had our say and walked out.
The match was insipidly poor, Magpies won by about 4 goals but should've won by 10.

I am not sure what was up with the team that day, from memory we only got a hold of the game in the final quarter, before then Hobart was holding on, the year before Glenorchy managed to roll them easier at the TCA, but struggled at KGV. This year we struggled at the TCA ground, seems Hobart was more interested in winning the game this year then the Pies were.

There were a lot of skills errors throughout the game, it was almost like neither team really wanted to win that, I know this not to be true, of course, but you watch the play and you get that feeling.

The next week we played Brighton, and we were very sluggish against them as well, we beat them easily, yeah, but we didn't do it very convincingly on the field at least.

It was like the game against Lauderdale, even though we won by 60 points, we had many skill errors, even David Newett was very pissed off at the players, went into the rooms and he made it a point to say they had voices and they should use them.

Didn't seem to spur them on much, Benny Reid managed to snap his players out of their slumber to run on with the reserves match. Mark Kameric had a better second half of the game.

Luke Manser seemed to get ignored at times, though when he got it he has steady hands, got very annoyed at himself at one missed goal. Kameric also got very annoyed in the final quarter, he had the last scoring chance for the game and missed.

But anyway back to last year, he talked a lot about his final days at Hobart, and you could sense that he wasn't really that happy down at Kingston, listening to him tell stories of the days Hobart left the TFL, and joined the SFL, and how other things had happened.
I know he isn't greatly happy down there, he's been there for 6 years and is still treated as 'that Hobart bloke' by quite a few down there, but the players treat him well I think.
I remember when he walked out on Hobart, it was a culmination of a lot of stuff that'd been going on over the past couple of years to that point.
He isn't a guy that can routinely tell people to go and get f*cked at the drop of a hat, like I do, and I think the way some of the board members (Angus Adams and John Blake in particular) had treated him in the latter stages had got to him.
It hurt him that Hobart had been jelly-legged in fighting the Tiger-issue, and despite everyone knowing his feelings on the matter, club director Angus Adams told him to sanction the idea of adopting the Pumas as an emblem so as to make other supporters want to go ahead with changing it as well.
Adams had tried to ban him from doing the stats for the club earlier because his drum had a Tiger on it :rolleyes:
So Denehey walked out in the middle of training one night after being verballed by Adams and ended a 28-year association with the club.
That was when the systematic removal of staunch Tiger people began, and continues now.
He's a Tiger man to his bootstraps is ol' Jungle, and I can empathise with him as to why he left.

The Majestic said:
It is a shame to lose a supporter like him, much like Russell for us, I know Russ has copped a lot of flack from opposition supporters for years, though he has given back when he received.
He was a madman ol' Russ but he was a bloody good supporter of your club.
I still remember that day when Zane Nossiter hopped the fence at him at North Hobart in a final.
He was never around the club much after that, very religious these days from memory.

The Majestic said:
Jungles told the story of how his drum was damaged the week before the game at North Hobart, he said some New Norfolk supporters smashed it and he had a smaller one at North Hobart. Wished us luck as he was leaving, we certainly needed it the way we played, took until the final quarter for us to kick into gear.
Bogan d*ckhead fans always loved kicking that drum in.
Channel, New Norfolk and Cygnet were the clubs that did that the most.
They all piss and moan about having no fans at the games, then as soon as someone does go out of his way to show real support they do that.
Stupidity at highest.
10,000 people like him at the footy every week and the game would be set for life here!

I know he isn't greatly happy down there, he's been there for 6 years and is still treated as 'that Hobart bloke' by quite a few down there, but the players treat him well I think.I remember when he walked out on Hobart, it was a culmination of a lot of stuff that'd been going on over the past couple of years to that point.
He isn't a guy that can routinely tell people to go and get f*cked at the drop of a hat, like I do, and I think the way some of the board members (Angus Adams and John Blake in particular) had treated him in the latter stages had got to him.
It hurt him that Hobart had been jelly-legged in fighting the Tiger-issue, and despite everyone knowing his feelings on the matter, club director Angus Adams told him to sanction the idea of adopting the Pumas as an emblem so as to make other supporters want to go ahead with changing it as well.
Adams had tried to ban him from doing the stats for the club earlier because his drum had a Tiger on it :rolleyes:

So Denehey walked out in the middle of training one night after being verballed by Adams and ended a 28-year association with the club.
That was when the systematic removal of staunch Tiger people began, and continues now.
He's a Tiger man to his bootstraps is ol' Jungle, and I can empathise with him as to why he left.

That's very close to what he was talking about, from what he said he was told to remove the tiger from the drum if he was to bang it. I saw him at the I think it was the 1999 STFL Grand final(?) with the drum, didn't look the same as he once did supporting his beloved Tigers.

And even down at Kingston he didn't bang the drum as often as he would once, at KGV last year he banged it for long periods of time down at Kingston Beach Oval he barely banged it.

I thought I heard him say some were complaining about the banging of the drum down there. I never saw a problem with it myself, it was loud and sometimes he went overboard, but hey it's good that someone had some passion at the games. It wasn't like there was much other noise at the time.

He was a madman ol' Russ but he was a bloody good supporter of your club.
I still remember that day when Zane Nossiter hopped the fence at him at North Hobart in a final.
He was never around the club much after that, very religious these days from memory.

I think he always was, he really didn't like us kids (I was that at the time) swearing, he didn't mind the adults it seemed. He like Jungles are both great losses to local footy, only man at Glenorchy that had more passion about the club then Russ would have been Ray. I remember one time at Bellerive Oval in about 1998 (or there abouts) he was organising a bus for the supporters and one Clarence supporter was on it, and she made some comment and Ray replied they'd tie her to the back of it and have her dragged behind it.

Russ would never goto games on a Sunday, which wasn't much of a problem as there weren't many anyway, but there were times we offered to give him a ride, if the games weren't at KGV he wouldn't be seen on a Sunday.

He told us at one game he showed up because it looked like it was going to be an even game (last year at TCA Ground) back in the day of the Storm he would always sing out "Carn The Pies" only to realise we weren't that anymore.

Which was at Claremont when we played Claremont, he'd forget that Claremont were the Magpies and not us, though he did have a go at some reserves player at Claremont, I have no idea who it was but the guy replied "You'd never get your colours back" he and my dad at the time were yelling out to them that they weren't good enough to wear the colours, or something close to that. Which is why they got that reply.

Bogan d*ckhead fans always loved kicking that drum in.
Channel, New Norfolk and Cygnet were the clubs that did that the most.
They all piss and moan about having no fans at the games, then as soon as someone does go out of his way to show real support they do that.
Stupidity at highest.
10,000 people like him at the footy every week and the game would be set for life here!

I never travel to New Norfolk these days, last time I went was when Simon "Superboot" Byrne was playing (Though Scott Bennetts has him beat for shocking kicks for goal now after last years effort :D), which was I think the final season Kim Excell was coach of the side. Always cop heaps of abuse at that ground, that and Bellerive. It's almost a sin to sit in that small grandstand on the wing, though if you do and you aren't a supporter of the Eagles you were risking yourself.

It's a shame about that drum, I liked the design of the Tiger on it, I also managed to get into trouble at Lauderdale last year (I think I told you this story.) seemed stupid to be the only ground that didn't like a flag behind the goals. Never had a problem in previous years, though the umpire at the time had umpired the game before and was tired, but still...

I also think that I remember Jungles saying he needed new drumsticks 'cause they broke 'em as well. Not really surprised by some supporters being morons, I agree with you, Kingpin, the league would be good if they had more passionate supporters like him and Gibson. Though it appears we may have lost both.

Though I did see Russ a few times, didn't see him at Brighton, or Lauderdale, bumped into him at Bellerive, though he wasn't behind the goals much that weekend.

Why can ULVERSTONE and NORTHERN BOMBERS still wear the same strip, except when they play each other, yet HOBART and KINGBOROUGH, TIGERS COLOURS NORTH HOBART and BRIGHTON DEMONS COLOURS are not permitted to do so by the SFL. These traditional jumpers are what the club is about , when you take away these traditions you loose the supporters, and the club looses its identity, wake up before it is to late and these clubs loose any more support. I have been involved in a club that changed its colours, and it was never the same.

That's very close to what he was talking about, from what he said he was told to remove the tiger from the drum if he was to bang it. I saw him at the I think it was the 1999 STFL Grand final(?) with the drum, didn't look the same as he once did supporting his beloved Tigers.
Yes he was ordered to remove the Tiger from his drum or he would not be allowed to do the stats for the club!
Seriously, how f*cking pathetic is that?
He was doing the stats as a favour to the coaches and was not an official.
But good ol' Hobart always finds a way of bringing absurdity to the forefront and they wonder why it's becoming a ghost town up there.
They had another great clubman named Ross 'Rosco' Barwick who they did the exact same thing to back in 1998.
'Rosco' had been a fantastic clubman for years up there, and his little dog came into the clubrooms with him one day, they were quite rude and ordered him out, then not 15 minutes later, one of the clique (a Bailey family member - who else! :rolleyes: ) brings their dog in and is allowed to keep it in there.
Ross walked out after that, and for several other acts of shabby treatment, and has never acknowledged the club since.
I can vouch for the fact that Jungle was banging the drum long and loud on 1999 Grand Final day - and yelling out Tigers - because I was standing right beside him that day :)

The Majestic said:
And even down at Kingston he didn't bang the drum as often as he would once, at KGV last year he banged it for long periods of time down at Kingston Beach Oval he barely banged it.

I thought I heard him say some were complaining about the banging of the drum down there. I never saw a problem with it myself, it was loud and sometimes he went overboard, but hey it's good that someone had some passion at the games. It wasn't like there was much other noise at the time.
Yes apparently some of the members weren't all that keen on his drum banging exploits down there.
Some of the complainers are the same d*ckheads that were at the Southern Cats who had the elderly former Bay, Cats & Hutchins fan Graeme 'Toby' Benson banned because his barracking was deemed offensive by the good lady members, namingly the Southern Cats President's wife being the chief instigator in all of that.
Jesus Christ, imagine having atmosphere at games :eek:
Trying to turn footy in a f*cking Toff's game.

The Majestic said:
It's a shame about that drum, I liked the design of the Tiger on it.
I remember three that he's had, I can also remember him before he used to have that drum sitting in the Argyle terraces side of the Gorringe stand with all the streamers and balloons and getting the chants going.
Used to get a cracking atmosphere going back in the 80's.

The Majestic said:
I also think that I remember Jungles saying he needed new drumsticks 'cause they broke 'em as well. Not really surprised by some supporters being morons,
As bad as they can sometimes be, the biggest bunch of 'smokers I've ever seen barracking would have to be parents at STJFL games - OMFG :o

The Majestic said:
I agree with you, Kingpin, the league would be good if they had more passionate supporters like him and Gibson. Though it appears we may have lost both.
I was having this chat the other day with somebody, when you went to the footy once, you see a lot of elderly people, middle aged people, kids, a lot of women at the matches.
You had blokes like old Leo Derrick at North Hobart who'd been following North for about 80-years, you had old Georgie Burns and others at Hobart who'd been following the Black & Gold since Cananore was fairly new, the Bay had 'Toby' Benson who'd been around since the 40's and all clubs had a plethora of those types.
None of them are around anymore, and none of the clubs have gained new people wanting to keep upholding the traditions and grow them.
They either get screwed over, alienated or totally sick of the BS and leave.
It's rooted.

Why can ULVERSTONE and NORTHERN BOMBERS still wear the same strip, except when they play each other, yet HOBART and KINGBOROUGH, TIGERS COLOURS NORTH HOBART and BRIGHTON DEMONS COLOURS are not permitted to do so by the SFL.
Oh I agree with you 100% on that.
Hobart weren't allowed to wear their colours because Hobart had been tremendously week on the whole issue, never once did they put in a submission to either Kingborough or the League to regain them.
Never once did they even bother to sit down with either party to discuss what was fast becoming a very serious issue involving Hobart and it losing more and more fans, members and money by the year despite being successful on field.
Kingborough had been extremely stubborn on the issue, and having Noel Morrison as the General Manager of the League, being a former player in the Huon Football Association - where Kingborough came from originally - and his friendship with the Kingborough president, he naturally sided with Kingborough at all times.
North Hobart, as part of their 125th anniversary last year were given permission by the League to wear their original 1881-2000 jumpers in 2006, despite Brighton's similar protestations to Kingborough.
This was achieved because North Hobart were a united club and were proud of their past, unlike Hobart who seem hell bent on systematically wiping out any sort of involvement with their past.
North Hobart had backbone, Hobart did not - end of story.

OLD LION said:
These traditional jumpers are what the club is about , when you take away these traditions you loose the supporters, and the club looses its identity, wake up before it is to late and these clubs loose any more support. I have been involved in a club that changed its colours, and it was never the same.
Exactly right, I saw Hobart lose every game in its traditional jumper in both seniors and reserves and yet still had twice as many members and better crowds one year than they did two years later when they won a flag in a foreign jumper.
And they continued to be successful on the field and the crowds still stayed away and the members still refused to sign.

It's basically known as common sense - football in the South is dying because of a lack of it. :(

Goss, the bye in the NTFL may not be there for this season! Stay tuned for more.

Yes he was ordered to remove the Tiger from his drum or he would not be allowed to do the stats for the club!
Seriously, how f*cking pathetic is that?
He was doing the stats as a favour to the coaches and was not an official.
But good ol' Hobart always finds a way of bringing absurdity to the forefront and they wonder why it's becoming a ghost town up there.
They had another great clubman named Ross 'Rosco' Barwick who they did the exact same thing to back in 1998.
'Rosco' had been a fantastic clubman for years up there, and his little dog came into the clubrooms with him one day, they were quite rude and ordered him out, then not 15 minutes later, one of the clique (a Bailey family member - who else! :rolleyes: ) brings their dog in and is allowed to keep it in there.
Ross walked out after that, and for several other acts of shabby treatment, and has never acknowledged the club since.
I can vouch for the fact that Jungle was banging the drum long and loud on 1999 Grand Final day - and yelling out Tigers - because I was standing right beside him that day :)

I remember from the news footage at the time he was also wearing his old tiger jacket and his tiger hat, which was very nice around the bottom it had a tiger skin typed pattern around it. Sadly for you mate your club is in deep and there seems to be no getting out of it.

At a finals game, admittedly you guys were playing only in the ressies, there wasn't much of a Lions crowd, there were some with some lion plush toys, and a few balloons. But then again it didn't seem like a final, the old days you'd see balloons, streamers, and other things everywhere, most times there was none, or very little.

Yes apparently some of the members weren't all that keen on his drum banging exploits down there.
Some of the complainers are the same d*ckheads that were at the Southern Cats who had the elderly former Bay, Cats & Hutchins fan Graeme 'Toby' Benson banned because his barracking was deemed offensive by the good lady members, namingly the Southern Cats President's wife being the chief instigator in all of that.
Jesus Christ, imagine having atmosphere at games :eek:
Trying to turn footy in a f*cking Toff's game.

I heard from someone, I am not sure who it was but apparently there was someone in some house down there with a child that would complain about the banging of the drum. I think it may have been when we were talking to him at KGV Oval one day. It was the same day for whatever reason Kingston were wearing a jumper that looked like Hawthorn colours in the Richmond/Hobart design, but it wasn't every player wearing these though, most wore the black, some wore one that had a chocolate coloured brown.

I remember three that he's had, I can also remember him before he used to have that drum sitting in the Argyle terraces side of the Gorringe stand with all the streamers and balloons and getting the chants going.
Used to get a cracking atmosphere going back in the 80's.

Those were the days, big crowds, and in the finals you'd see everywhere decorated in the club colours. I remember back in 1999 when Glenorchy made it most shops out Glenorchy had a jumper, and streams, and balloons in the windows.

As bad as they can sometimes be, the biggest bunch of 'smokers I've ever seen barracking would have to be parents at STJFL games - OMFG :o

:eek: When I played juniors non of the parents were smoking, but we played up New Norfolk and they were a player down, and they wanted one of us to go and play, none of us wanted to. So they ended up beating us, we were under Wayne Veitch, couldn't coach to save his life...wasn't much of a player either I hear.

I was having this chat the other day with somebody, when you went to the footy once, you see a lot of elderly people, middle aged people, kids, a lot of women at the matches.
You had blokes like old Leo Derrick at North Hobart who'd been following North for about 80-years, you had old Georgie Burns and others at Hobart who'd been following the Black & Gold since Cananore was fairly new, the Bay had 'Toby' Benson who'd been around since the 40's and all clubs had a plethora of those types.
None of them are around anymore, and none of the clubs have gained new people wanting to keep upholding the traditions and grow them.
They either get screwed over, alienated or totally sick of the BS and leave.
It's rooted.

This was one thing I noticed the first time Glenorchy ran back out in black and white for the season, there used to be a decent amount of old ladies and some old blokes in the stands at KGV Oval, and they would be there week in, week out, I remember talking to them a lot of the we went there, the guys would always talk about the days when they were younger watching the footy, I remember a few old Hobart supporters that would be decent enough to talk to, regardless of who you supported.

But there was one old lady at KGV, she might have passed away now, but she would sit there and knit, and watch the game, and the amazing thing was, she'd be able to watch a full game, and knit without ever losing a stitch! Of course she'd have this little flask and would keep herself warm drinking some alcohol.

One day behind the goals the guys were talking wrestling and one of them (Damien) took his can and hit this other guy in the head (ala Steve Austin) and the guy was seeing stars, he had finished walking around in the old Magpie suit (old Peter used to do when I was a kid, seems he was rejected from it :P)

East Devonport to fold maybe????????????????????????

How long have they been struggling for? I caught the Win Local News late edition one night and heard of a possible Devonport/East merger I think it may have been 2004.

Sadly for you mate your club is in deep and there seems to be no getting out of it.
My club died years ago Maj, it was officially put down on 1/12/2004.

The Majestic said:
At a finals game, admittedly you guys were playing only in the ressies, there wasn't much of a Lions crowd, there were some with some lion plush toys, and a few balloons. But then again it didn't seem like a final, the old days you'd see balloons, streamers, and other things everywhere, most times there was none, or very little.
I remember in 2001 the Reserves playing your mob in Grand Final and we packed the Ryde Street Stand out and had supporters in the outer on both sides.
Now all they've got left is that diminishing pack of middle aged women supporters, who go out of their way to buy silly Lion toys to make it look like the 'club' has atmosphere and tradition :D
I know at least three of that group that hate the Lions, and hate the President but only go to the games to gasbag and don't bother cheering the players.
You get a few parents and some pro-Lion board members, but that's it.
I agree, it's stuffed.

By the way too, when I referred to the way some of the parents behaved at STJFL games as 'smokers', I'm not meaning they puff on laramies ;)

So what's the deal with the NTFL, are they bringing in one more team, or is East or one of those strugglers gonna drop out?

That was saved for the kiddies ;)

It was interesting middle aged women walking around with a little lion dressed with a lions beanie, jumper and scarf. Ryde Street Stand had some balloons, which was a lot, it was a grand total of 3.

I had an idea of painting some pigeons and letting them go as Magpies ;) Though some guy did that in a grand final one year back in I think the 1970s.

One thing I'd like to see is a pre-season comp for the league, I remember the last one I saw was in 1999, which the Southern Cats won, and managed to stay afloat for an extra few weeks before dropping dead.

I don't know if the league would be able to give the winners a prize like the old TFL did, but it would give some of the fans a chance to see their newer players in action before the season starts proper.