Wimmera Football League

obviously a busy day at work beton who is your reliable source up north:rolleyes:

Not that its any of your business however i recieved a phone call today from my bro who plays for waratahs and with only 2 weeks 2 go in the ntfl talks and moves are happening.
Dimboola will be stronger in 07 than last year which is good would hate 2 see horsham win 5 in a row....

I don't think Ararat will be as weak as you think - A lot of the players leaving are from the reserve premiership side from last year. The young blokes in the 1s that had been developing under David Law over the past two years will be older, stronger and wiser in 2007.
Guys like Bradd Wilson, Ben Harrison, Jake Harman, Jacob Hamilton, Josh Cunningham, Matt Smith and Alan Batchelor are still all in their teens but will be more mature this year.
If Mick Fratin plays you can be sure he'll be a force at centre-half forward - He stands 6'4 and is a very smart footballer. If Garry Smith (6'3 over 90kg) Kade Stephens (6'3 over 100kg) and Jon Jess (6'4 or 6'5 and over 100kg) are all there too, the Rats will have some size to go with the young running players.
Dale Bligh and Matt Jackson have won Toohey medals and still have plenty of good footy left in the tank. Fellow Toohey winner Glenn Antonio is indicating he would like another run this year as well.
Doug Walton is getting on is years but he is a premiership player and league representative....he's looking bloody fit at the moment too!

Well MALUMA you have alot of information to post here but alot of it is utter rubbish Ben Harrison, Jake Harman, Jacob Hamilton first of the young guys who wont be running around in the red and white! Kade stephens has indicated it will be to toughwith work! Jon Jess is no chance playing, being a fire fighter in melbourne! Garry Smith is overrated! had his bestdays at ararat before he left for the eagles! should have stayed!But wish him the best of luck! Antonio wont be playing this year and and hasnt indicated once in playing! hasn't even been to training! what about the loss of Mcloughlan,Summers,Clarke,Gibson,Tucker,Cooper,Turner,Jess,Searl,
Kelly,Werringx2,Homburg,dalzeal!
If you ask me thats alot of players from last years senior side moving on! hope the young blokes in the 2s are up toplaying with the big men!!! or it could be a long year at the alexandra oval!

Well MALUMA you have alot of information to post here but alot of it is utter rubbish Ben Harrison, Jake Harman, Jacob Hamilton first of the young guys who wont be running around in the red and white! Kade stephens has indicated it will be to toughwith work! Jon Jess is no chance playing, being a fire fighter in melbourne! Garry Smith is overrated! had his bestdays at ararat before he left for the eagles! should have stayed!But wish him the best of luck! Antonio wont be playing this year and and hasnt indicated once in playing! hasn't even been to training! what about the loss of Mcloughlan,Summers,Clarke,Gibson,Tucker,Cooper,Turner,Jess,Searl,
Kelly,Werringx2,Homburg,dalzeal!
If you ask me thats alot of players from last years senior side moving on! hope the young blokes in the 2s are up toplaying with the big men!!! or it could be a long year at the alexandra oval!

Mr Rat Attack, here's a list of confirmed players leaving Ararat:
Joe Waring, Pat Kelly, Richard Tucker, Tyron Waring, Rohan Homburg, Jason Callaway, Paul Dalziel, Craig Cooper, Rob Green, Justin Bond, Aaron Searle, Bobby Garley, Tom Foster, Brad Mason, Michael Batobalani, Leigh Preston, Brad Mason, BJ Burton.
No-one else has announced their departure via a clearance or in the media, so until anything is official, everyone else is still a Rat.
Jon Jess has told several people if he can negotiate his work shifts he would try to have a run with Ararat.
I don't think Kade Stephens will have too much trouble if he ends up in the ruck this year coz he's been jumping all over the opposition and sprinting like a champion on the basketball court in recent times.
Glenn Antonio isn't the training sort of guy these days...if his climbing wall business is slow for a few weekends I bet he'd be keen as mustard for a kick, and I bet you know as well as I do Paul McLoughlan is very likely to get itchy feet and take to the park like he never missed a beat.
Did you watch Garry Smith play with the Eagles? He had to contend with the opposition's three best defenders every week coz the Eagles had no other recognised forwards. He didn't play interleague for no reason mate, If anything he is underrated coz he does a lot of unnoticed work off the ball. If he and Jake Strafehl join Ararat they will add a lot of class.
Oh and to the dude who questioned Dale Bligh's hand...Did you see him play last year? Good as ever.

Joe Waring, Pat Kelly, Richard Tucker, Tyron Waring, Rohan Homburg, Jason Callaway, Paul Dalziel, Craig Cooper, Rob Green, Justin Bond, Aaron Searle, Bobby Garley, Tom Foster, Brad Mason, Michael Batobalani, Leigh Preston, Brad Mason, BJ Burton.
No-one else has announced their departure via a clearance or in the media, so until anything is official, everyone else is still a Rat.
Jon Jess has told several people if he can negotiate his work shifts he would try to have a run with Ararat.
I don't think Kade Stephens will have too much trouble if he ends up in the ruck this year coz he's been jumping all over the opposition and sprinting like a champion on the basketball court in recent times.
Glenn Antonio isn't the training sort of guy these days...if his climbing wall business is slow for a few weekends I bet he'd be keen as mustard for a kick, and I bet you know as well as I do Paul McLoughlan is very likely to get itchy feet and take to the park like he never missed a beat.
Did you watch Garry Smith play with the Eagles? He had to contend with the opposition's three best defenders every week coz the Eagles had no other recognised forwards. He didn't play interleague for no reason mate, If anything he is underrated coz he does a lot of unnoticed work off the ball. If he and Jake Strafehl join Ararat they will add a lot of class.
Oh and to the dude who questioned Dale Bligh's hand...Did you see him play last year? Good as ever.

How dare we question you Maluma! Obviously your close to Mr Smith to talk him up so much! hope he doesnt disappoint and make you look bad yet again!!! Like when you used to grace the park!!

Nothing graceful about me on the park in the old days Rat Attack :)

Yeah you are dead right there!
Hey no need to get nasty, the old dragons and rats jumpers just didn't suit me...made me look more ******ed than I was!:)
A friend of mine still living in Rat town said Richard Tucker's clearance will be lodged today...I wonder when the coach will put in for his?

Hey no need to get nasty, the old dragons and rats jumpers just didn't suit me...made me look more ******ed than I was!:)
A friend of mine still living in Rat town said Richard Tucker's clearance will be lodged today...I wonder when the coach will put in for his?

Yes tucker is gone! signed well before christmas to go and play with mates from uni! great bloke rich and a awesome footballer! Should go well for the swans!

Also agree with you there. Sometimes i think he was a bit over committed and put his body on the line when wasnt needed. Great bloke and if he stays fit will be handy in the BFL.

Does anyone know if Ash Cooper will follow his big brother back to Great Western?

obviously not thats why it was put in question form num nuts:eek:

Can anyone from Horsham United tell me how are Mibus and Wade goin at United? Are they fit and raring to go? Is Mibus handling the assistant coaches job well?

Why would the Rats knock back all the clearances if the players obviously don't want to play there anymore???:confused: I realise that player numbers will be down but I'm not sure that their social side of things has been too good over the past few years. That is what keep local blokes playing for local sides. I know for a fact that a side like Great Western, who have a fantastic social calender, use this fact to lure young blokes to play for them.:) Why knock back a young bloke looking to play for a side that looks after them once the games over??? I'm sure this clearance knockback happens everywhere, but if a blokes not happy to play somewhere he shouldn't have to sit out a year of footy or have $500 put up to have it heard at the tribunal.:mad: I reckon that if a player doesn't owe the club any money or a jumper etc. then clear him and he may one day go back to that club, if the club keeps knocking him back there's stuffall chance he's gunna go back. That's my gripe over anyway. Snatch ya's later.:thumbsu:

Can anyone from Horsham United tell me how are Mibus and Wade goin at United? Are they fit and raring to go? Is Mibus handling the assistant coaches job well?

The only sessions they have missed have been when they are working, showing good leadership on the track setting example and talking. Mibus handling the job well, both should be in for a good year.

How does Rodney Mackley go in this league? He was a gun back in the mallee football league. and just an all-round good bloke might i add

You are dead on the money. When a team keeps knocking you back for a clearance you wont be going back their in future. If you leave on good terms then you have every chance of going back. Ararat arent doing themselves any favours.

Why would the Rats knock back all the clearances if the players obviously don't want to play there anymore???:confused: I realise that player numbers will be down but I'm not sure that their social side of things has been too good over the past few years. That is what keep local blokes playing for local sides. I know for a fact that a side like Great Western, who have a fantastic social calender, use this fact to lure young blokes to play for them.:) Why knock back a young bloke looking to play for a side that looks after them once the games over??? I'm sure this clearance knockback happens everywhere, but if a blokes not happy to play somewhere he shouldn't have to sit out a year of footy or have $500 put up to have it heard at the tribunal.:mad: I reckon that if a player doesn't owe the club any money or a jumper etc. then clear him and he may one day go back to that club, if the club keeps knocking him back there's stuffall chance he's gunna go back. That's my gripe over anyway. Snatch ya's later.:thumbsu:
very nicely put mr boobluvva i know 1 person who wouldn't have a problem getting cleared from gt western hey mr walsh:p

Please Boobluvva, change the font, so irritating.

And the Rats knock back the clearances as young kids should realise that they're better off playing at Alexandra rather than getting cheap, easy money playing in the district leagues with a do nothing club such as Great Western. Sure the gap between the WFL and the district leagues is perhaps as close as it's ever been (barring Horsham), but these kids should try and test themselves and more importantly not jump ship at the signs of a tough year.

Please Boobluvva, change the font, so irritating.

And the Rats knock back the clearances as young kids should realise that they're better off playing at Alexandra rather than getting cheap, easy money playing in the district leagues with a do nothing club such as Great Western. Sure the gap between the WFL and the district leagues is perhaps as close as it's ever been (barring Horsham), but these kids should try and test themselves and more importantly not jump ship at the signs of a tough year.

It seems as though my last post to this has been erased, so let me reply to it in a way that may not be taking as offensive as in the end it is all a bit of fun and should not be taking out of context. In relation to the kids that r apparently jumping ship at Alexandra oval, I think you will find that they r not getting paid and r moving on as they do not want to play for the rats anymore. Now for whatever reason that may be for, that is between them and the Ararat Football club, however they along with other players at any club, unless they owe the club something which I believe they do not, should not be held at a club. If a player wishes to leave a club, for whatever reason this may be for, then they should be able to do so at there own free will.

As for them being better off playing at Alexandra Oval, I do not entirely agree with this. If they are wishing to further their career then maybe they would be better off but if not then they r better off playing where they want to play and r happy playing at.

A tough year ahead or not for the Ararat Football Club, apparentley these r not the only kids and players that r wishing to move on, so these kids should not be highlighted and be put in the spotlight as they may have a feesable reason for wanting a change in clubs, whether this be with a Wimmera League Club or a so called DO NOTHING CLUB as GREAT WESTERN!!

It seems as though my last post to this has been erased, so let me reply to it in a way that may not be taking as offensive as in the end it is all a bit of fun and should not be taking out of context. In relation to the kids that r apparently jumping ship at Alexandra oval, I think you will find that they r not getting paid and r moving on as they do not want to play for the rats anymore. Now for whatever reason that may be for, that is between them and the Ararat Football club, however they along with other players at any club, unless they owe the club something which I believe they do not, should not be held at a club. If a player wishes to leave a club, for whatever reason this may be for, then they should be able to do so at there own free will.

As for them being better off playing at Alexandra Oval, I do not entirely agree with this. If they are wishing to further their career then maybe they would be better off but if not then they r better off playing where they want to play and r happy playing at.

A tough year ahead or not for the Ararat Football Club, apparentley these r not the only kids and players that r wishing to move on, so these kids should not be highlighted and be put in the spotlight as they may have a feesable reason for wanting a change in clubs, whether this be with a Wimmera League Club or a so called DO NOTHING CLUB as GREAT WESTERN!!
did your mum help you with that mighty roar:o as for me i liked the first version better:thumbsu: not sure why the kids that want to go to royal gt western were highlighted bit unfair in my view:thumbsd: kids have left better clubs to help build confidence by playing in a lower standard only to return to their first club better for the experience :confused:

In the Ararat Advertiser today there is a big article on Ararat and the large number of players leaving. There GM Graham Jones has done the club no favours in bagging the lower leagues. All he has done is shown the players leaving that they have made the right decision. I dont know why they made gim GM!!! Players arent chasing money in lower leagues all the time: sometimes they just want to enjoy their footy. He quoted "if your good enough why would you want to muck around in lower leagues." That sounds real good. The wimmera has dropped off that much that Ararat finished 4th last year with not the greatest team. So lower leagues arent far off that standard. Horsham and Dimboola are the only teams that good teams in the lower leagues couldnt beat.

I am sick of people lwho come from lower leagues bagging higher leagues and when they keep saying it has dropped! yeah the wimmera leage may have dropped but is head and shoulders above Mininera! Ararat would have given tatyoon a fair run for its money last year and i would have had my money on Ararat, how would have tatyoon matched up players like Bligh, Jackson, Turner, Antonio, Tucker, Gibson, Wearing, McLoughlan, Jon Jess, Wilson, Tatyoon don't have the fire power to keep players like above quiet!

For a start wearing, wilson and jess play in the back line so they would be matching up on other players. Ararats top 8 players last year were probably the best in the league but the problem was depth