Preview Team Selection & Pre-match Discussion - Round 1 vs. Western Bulldogs, MCG Fri 19/03 @ 7:50pm

• Thread starter Thread starter unplugged

What's the issue with having 5 or 6 sitting on the bench.. what constitutes a bad injury? They have to define it in the rule book? What happens if a player recovers like Lazarus re? There shouldn't be.. oh bad luck he can't play next week cause he was subbed the week before re.

Hope that helps.

Mate not saying I disagree with you. Every time a rule is introduced then the coaches will find a way to work around it.

The base case for this is the topic concussion and long term brain damage. The afl are trying to protect their legal status here as it’s their responsibility to provide a safe working environment.

If you automatically give subbed off players a week off then that might stop clubs taking the pi55 and they won’t be able to tactically make up rubbish excuses to bring fresh legs into the ground. They won’t do that unless they really know that the injured or concussed player won’t be able to play next week. But it’s just a suggestion and it also has its flaws.

Sunshine my son is now 37 and earning more in a week than I ever earnt in a year.

Get a life,
or a sense of humour,
whichever you can afford.
Ok.... I thought I had a sense of humor, but you might be needing to lighten up a bit.

Sunshine my son is now 37 and earning more in a week than I ever earnt in a year.

Get a life,
or a sense of humour,
whichever you can afford.

Is there a need to act like Bryce from MAFS re.. chillax mate. This guy re.

Say someone's having a mare right.. you reckon it's a good idea to fake a concussion say at 3 qrt time.. exploit the loophole.. get some fresh legs out there.. could prove to be the difference re.. gotta play a bit shifty I reckon.. that's life eh.. gotta embrace every bit of it out on the pitch.

Maradona's hand of God won the world cup.. let's not forget that.

Not sure a player would be willing to undergo the 12 day mandatory concussion break just to enable their team to get fresh legs.

If it's the difference between winning or losing.. and I was subbed off.. I'd give the bloke coming on the biggest pat on the back.. 'go out there bruh and ****en get into em'.

That's where you and I differ I suppose.

Our delivery isn’t good enough to play three talls. First game into 20 minute quarters and limited interchanges, I think we’ll carry an extra runner rather than a third tall in Cameron.
Delivery doesn't need to be very good when you have three talls. Kick it long and on top of their heads and all they have to do is provide a contest or clunk the pill.

If Bucks can pull this off.. and JT and WHE snag 70 sausage rolls between em.. you'd have to call me God. If they only manage to snag 15 or whatever between em.. they're 3 yrs older and the games gone past em a bit..

I'm a God nonetheless re.

If it's the difference between winning or losing.. and I was subbed off.. I'd give the bloke coming on the biggest pat on the back.. 'go out there bruh and fu**en get into em'.

That's where you and I differ I suppose.

And shout the bloke a Souvlaki ;)

Kala re.. if he snags the winning sausage roll.. I'd shout the campaigner a night out at Dimples.. and be his wingman as an added bonus.. teach him the tricks and shit..

It's not about me.. it's about the club mate.

I'm all for increasing our attacking but the last thing we want to do is get in a shoot-out with the Dogs.

Round 1 last year from memory we had a very good balance of attacking and switching. The switching play was very quick and direct and really opened the ground up.

It's when we go all the way back into D50, back to where we were and then switch again that we get stuck and go nowhere.

Hey everyone 👋 Do you happen to know where the Collingwood cheer squad will be at? I’m sitting level 1 behind the goals, bay M6.

As one of only 3000ish Dogs supporters, it’s fair to say I’m outnumbered 😂

I just think the sub rule for concussion will make the game look a lil farcical.. if you're going to have a sub rule.. it should be left up to the club's discretion on when to use it. Either that.. or have 5 or 6 sitting on the pine.

Is there any sport in the world that fiddles around with the rules as much as the AFL. Is the game evolving for the better every yr. Is it flawed. Do we need to scrap the suggestion box at the AFL and just get on with it. Do we need to listen to everyone. Do we need to nit pick every possible scenario.. there's an action.. there's a consequence.. let's amend a rule.. make a rule.. effectively making the game look sterile. Sign of the times re.. nanny state.. nanny AFL rules.

A heap of sports are moving to a concussion rule which allows replacements. I don't think it's a big issue. The big issue is in soccer and heading the ball, what might happen there could be massively game changing.

I think if you put me in the goal square with good delivery we’d kick a winning score. My belief is that our scoring woes are less about personnel and more about our ability to execute in transition and deliver into 50. We create plenty of turnovers, through pressure and tackling...we should be giving our forwards the best chance to score.

we were a fast starting team last year, on the back frenetic pressure...that hasn’t translated to the few games I’ve seen so far. Perhaps we are taking a more balanced approach, ie. more effort on delivery and scoring efficiency. We run ourselves into the ground, so it’s no wonder our kicking is so bad.

First paragraph pretty much sums it up.

I think JDG, Daicos, Elliot and to a lesser extent Sidey will rotate thru the fwd pocket and midfield this season especially with rotations capped.
I think the club envisions Daicos replacing Treloar, Henry replaces Stevo and as of Rd 1 Noble and Tyler B replace Mayne and Sidebottom on the wing
There's a chance Bianco and Macrae force out Callum B and JT by the end of the season
Last year we saw Daicos and IQ break out, I have a feeling Tyler is about to establish himself
I think Kelly is the preferred 3rd tall and will claim his spot after round 4 or 5 and I'm hoping Keane replaces Madgen (who should be the Sub)
reckon we're a 7-10 team, barring injuries we should make finals while developing some youth
bit of a 2010 youth movement vibe

I think JDG, Daicos, Elliot and to a lesser extent Sidey will rotate thru the fwd pocket and midfield this season especially with rotations capped.
I think the club envisions Daicos replacing Treloar, Henry replaces Stevo and as of Rd 1 Noble and Tyler B replace Mayne and Sidebottom on the wing
There's a chance Bianco and Macrae force out Callum B and JT by the end of the season
Last year we saw Daicos and IQ break out, I have a feeling Tyler is about to establish himself
I think Kelly is the preferred 3rd tall and will claim his spot after round 4 or 5 and I'm hoping Keane replaces Madgen (who should be the Sub)
reckon we're a 7-10 team, barring injuries we should make finals while developing some youth
bit of a 2010 youth movement vibe

McCrae daylight >>>>>>>>>>>>> more daylight >>>>>>>>>>> C Brown

I just had the first quarter of the AAMI series game on vs. Richmond. Cal Brown just marked it 45 out. Lots of people would've went back and kicked for goal from 55 out, but not our Cal.

He proceeded to kick it to the forward pocket, straight to a Richmond player. Not a Pies player within a 15m radius.