Salary Survey - What are you worth?

We had a thread like this going about 12 months ago discussing what everyone is making, should make, and plans to make...

Personally I've been an accountant for 2.5 years and i'm on about $34k which is pretty lame. (they advertise the salary including super, ie. $37.5k)

Re: Salary Survey - What are your worth?

Personally I've been an accountant for 2.5 years and i'm on about $34k which is pretty lame. (they advertise the salary including super, ie. $37.5k)
I've got one of my labourers on $52k (base) + benefits and bonuses. I suppose I put him in a supervisors role a bit though, so he's worth it.

We had a thread like this going about 12 months ago discussing what everyone is making, should make, and plans to make...

Sh1te thats what a first year receptionist earns isn't it? You're getting ripped off big time.

The just out of highschool admin people I work with start on $40K plus super.

I'm at about $75K right now which isn't bad for someone without a degree or much ambition. No idea what I'll be making in the future but I expect it to keep climbing.

Currently sitting at $65k right now - 5th year accountant so keep the faith Daniel.

Hopefully about to go up given it will be time for review soon (either that or get fired lol).

The salary sounds good - but it is split between myself, my non-working wife, my bub and the mortgage. Not much left in the sky rocket.

2.5 years and your only on that?

What the hell

Are you working towards your CA?
Commerce or Proffessional firm?

Never heard of something that low for someone with 2.5 years experience in accounting.

Its pretty standard in a professional firm in Tassie - they pay peanuts.

your comments echo my feelings... however as financial panther says thats what the going rate is everywhere... im in professional firm. will be escaping soon

Is there a crazy shortage?

Over here in perth everywhere is desperate for accountants, disgracefully though the wages arnt rising with demand.
No wonder so many bail for london.

I guess we are 'accountants' after all.

Industry is obviously the best place to go.

They are screaming out for them everywhere - but your right, they arent putting there hands in there pockets

Hi Danielz,

I was previously working in an accounting firm in Hobart and was on around 50k after 3 years (had just completed my CA). I left 3 months later to work in commerce in a business analyst's role and am already on 60k + Super and should earn more starting in June after a review. Plus I don't have to do timesheets anymore!

Unfortunately accounting firms know they can get away with opening up the revolving doors in their front reception to grads and therefore don't offer much incentive. I think when I had 2.5 years experience, I was on about $40k including super, which I wasn't happy with as I thought I offered them more skill than most other grads and I would be moving on if that was all they were going to offer me. i think they ***** themself that someone at that level would actually question their pay and the next day they offered me 5k more. You should talk to your direct manager and see what they say.

I guess it all depends on your negotiating power. If you are nearing completion of your CA, they will try harder to keep you as CA's are as rare as hen's teeth in Hobart at the moment.

Good Luck with it all, and remember that once you become qualified, things improve very quickly and you will be waving goodbye to those admin staff who will sit on their 40k-50k salary their whole life.

Hi Danielz,

I was previously working in an accounting firm in Hobart and was on around 50k after 3 years (had just completed my CA). I left 3 months later to work in commerce in a business analyst's role and am already on 60k + Super and should earn more starting in June after a review. Plus I don't have to do timesheets anymore!

Unfortunately accounting firms know they can get away with opening up the revolving doors in their front reception to grads and therefore don't offer much incentive. I think when I had 2.5 years experience, I was on about $40k including super, which I wasn't happy with as I thought I offered them more skill than most other grads and I would be moving on if that was all they were going to offer me. i think they ***** themself that someone at that level would actually question their pay and the next day they offered me 5k more. You should talk to your direct manager and see what they say.

I guess it all depends on your negotiating power. If you are nearing completion of your CA, they will try harder to keep you as CA's are as rare as hen's teeth in Hobart at the moment.

Good Luck with it all, and remember that once you become qualified, things improve very quickly and you will be waving goodbye to those admin staff who will sit on their 40k-50k salary their whole life.

Cheers mate.

(a) I would say I have no negotiating power. Everyone is in the same boat - my office situation is about half of the office is under 25 so if they raise one I think they would feel they had to raise them all. Although I outperform pretty much everyone they wont be willing to come to the party. This issue came up 12 months ago and they went to the top (sydney) and came back with something like a $500 raise, it was pathetic. I should have just walked at that point.

Probably for the last 6 months I've just decided to 'do enough' here. I'm not busting my guts for what they give in return no matter how much they 'suggest' it will improve your career. I was killing it my first 18-months however I got raises on par with those doing half the work (seriously, people who were really struggling with the job)...

(b) In my second CA unit... I was slow to begin. I realise it will pick up big time when I qualify (not here though). Its a bit disconcerning that you go and do a degree and your mates who dropped out at year 10 are on more than you. So although I'm driven to complete it i'm in no rush (cuz you lose your life), however it would be handy in getting the industry job.

(c) I intend to be out of here early next year. I want to work in Canada for 12-months so although I wont be qualified (possibly 4/5 units done) I would hope it will give me a competitive advantage when I come back to the job market after that... perhaps not in tassie unfortunately.

the motto of the thread - dont let your kids study accounting, unless they want to get into management, haha.

Cheers mate.

(a) I would say I have no negotiating power. Everyone is in the same boat - my office situation is about half of the office is under 25 so if they raise one I think they would feel they had to raise them all. Although I outperform pretty much everyone they wont be willing to come to the party. This issue came up 12 months ago and they went to the top (sydney) and came back with something like a $500 raise, it was pathetic. I should have just walked at that point.

Probably for the last 6 months I've just decided to 'do enough' here. I'm not busting my guts for what they give in return no matter how much they 'suggest' it will improve your career. I was killing it my first 18-months however I got raises on par with those doing half the work (seriously, people who were really struggling with the job)...

(b) In my second CA unit... I was slow to begin. I realise it will pick up big time when I qualify (not here though). Its a bit disconcerning that you go and do a degree and your mates who dropped out at year 10 are on more than you. So although I'm driven to complete it i'm in no rush (cuz you lose your life), however it would be handy in getting the industry job.

(c) I intend to be out of here early next year. I want to work in Canada for 12-months so although I wont be qualified (possibly 4/5 units done) I would hope it will give me a competitive advantage when I come back to the job market after that... perhaps not in tassie unfortunately.

the motto of the thread - dont let your kids study accounting, unless they want to get into management, haha.

Hang in their mate. You'll be fine, and in 4 or 5 years time your mates who are on more than you after leaving in Year 10 will be the ones feeling the pinch. My advice is if you genuinely enjoy living in Tassie, the jobs are there. Don't just subscribe to the theory that if you want to get anywhere you have to move interstate. I'm happy I've made the decision to live here, and travel is very cheap.

Hi Danielz,

I think a Business Analyst role is not a bad place to go if you have an Accounting Degree. The money seems to be better. I think you can get to the $100K plus range with a bit of experience behind you (not that I know what the range for your average Accountant is).

I was in a Business Analyst role which was $60k plus super and recently got promoted and now manage our Analyst Team. I'm not far from the the base for my new role (I negotiated some extra $$$) so I expect there is plenty of room to move.

I know for the role I'm in, and those that report to me, they ask for an Accounting Degree....not that I have one.

pfft I failed Accounting :D

I think a Business Analyst role is not a bad place to go if you have an Accounting Degree.

I know for the role I'm in, and those that report to me, they ask for an Accounting Degree....not that I have one.

pfft I failed Accounting :D
My wife was a B.A. at GS JB Were and didn't even attempt an accounting degree.

my dad is a convenience store owner and earns approximately turnover a year around $1.8 million for his business.

He says the best way to make your money grow is to invest in properties especially in Perth at the moment with house prices sky rocketing.

66k package working in a BA/tech/management role... 5-6 years industry experience with an IT degree. Looking to specialise as a BA but it's tough without 5+ years of BA experience.

I think this is an appropriate place for me to be at atm.

I'm currently at the start of my first year of Uni and am doing a Bachelor of Business majoring in accounting and another course but I'm not too sure what's the best to do yet so maybe some guidence here looks helpful.

Should I go with a major in Finance which would probably couple well with Accounting or major in Business Information Systems which would probably give me a broader scope with Accounting? I am coping fine with all units at the moment btw.

Thoughts?

I think this is an appropriate place for me to be at atm.

I'm currently at the start of my first year of Uni and am doing a Bachelor of Business majoring in accounting and another course but I'm not too sure what's the best to do yet so maybe some guidence here looks helpful.

Should I go with a major in Finance which would probably couple well with Accounting or major in Business Information Systems which would probably give me a broader scope with Accounting? I am coping fine with all units at the moment btw.

Thoughts?

Gday mate - Good to see you again. Well I've been to Utas and got a job in accounting and you can see how it has gone... if you want to IM me I might be able to help you with any queries

Basically it takes a lot of time to get your return out of accounting... not only do you have your degree but your qualifications will take you at least 2 additional years (while working) to complete.

Industry jobs are better than practices money wise but practices are a good place for grounding... and the industry jobs could be quite demanding straight up.

Im doing a Bachelor of business and commerce atm. First year as well and while I will probably major in accounting I don't want to spend my days once qualified doing tax returns. I wouldn't mind getting into business tax and become a CFO.

I was talking to the marketing lecturer the other day and he suggested double major accouting and marketing, just because big business loves number crunchers but it doesn't limit your opportunities. So I'm still thinking...

Gday mate - Good to see you again. Well I've been to Utas and got a job in accounting and you can see how it has gone... if you want to IM me I might be able to help you with any queries

Basically it takes a lot of time to get your return out of accounting... not only do you have your degree but your qualifications will take you at least 2 additional years (while working) to complete.

Industry jobs are better than practices money wise but practices are a good place for grounding... and the industry jobs could be quite demanding straight up.
Yeah but its a short degree compared to many others which makes up for it a bit.

I know I want to major in accounting but I dont know whether it would best to major in Finance or Information Systems. That's my main predicament, the rest I'm happy with.

Anyone in the psychology field here? Not sure what road to venture down. I want to make at least a reasonable amount of money. Heard lecturers at unis get paid zippo. Anyone?

What does your average teacher make? They're always whinging about their salary so I'm just interested to know how it compares.

A graduate teacher starts on about $45,000 a year. There is then an annual pay rise of about $3,000-4,000 per year, so after five years the salary is around $60,000. That is the ceiling for teachers unless they go into senior teacher/principal positions. Senior teachers get around $75,000, principals around $100,000. Teaching is not badly paid IMO. Not as well paid as other university professions but considering we get 12 weeks holiday a year I think it's ok.