List Mgmt. Trade and F/A - Part 3

I reckon Henry is a ripper and would not want to lose him. But if it came down to a pick between him and Daicos, I know where my money would be. So, if the sh*t hits the fan, Henry to Geelong (they want him) for Kreuger and a 2nd (future even) may do the trick.
For one that is a shocking trade.
Two, not sure you can trade out players until they have completed 2 year, I stand to be corrected on this.

Thankfully (and I’m sure you will correct me if I’m wrong), couldn’t trade Henry out anyways because of the minimal (Blumfield) two year contract rule?

For one that is a shocking trade.
Two, not sure you can trade out players until they have completed 2 year, I stand to be corrected on this.

You’re wrong. Tom Boyd was traded form GWS after only a year.

Sier and Cox should net us a second rounder between whether it be through points or combining what we get for them into a second rounder. Same difference for us and any club that projects an academy player or father son going around that mark.
Your dreaming. As stated in the post, you actually need a suitor who is willing to pay that. If we're laughing at the Dogs asking for a second with Lipinski, then Cox who's turning 31 and is worth a fourth, low third to another club, and Sier who will be delisted anyway, the most you could expect is an early 3rd at best. No one is going to trade for Sier.

Trading Henry?
Wow, that’s a really bad idea.
Not that it would ever happen. But if we got pick 1 for Henry, not only would it get us 1 very good player extra it would also solve our Daicos points issue because Daicos is now going pick 2-4. Anyway its just a hypothetical. I can't see us trading him.

I reckon Henry is a ripper and would not want to lose him. But if it came down to a pick between him and Daicos, I know where my money would be. So, if the sh*t hits the fan, Henry to Geelong (they want him) for Kreuger and a 2nd (future even) may do the trick.
I liked it to make up for the dislikes but I'd want Kreuger and something more. 2nd and two third maybe. Henry was a top 20 pick, after all.

Not that it would ever happen. But if we got pick 1 for Henry, not only would it get us 1 very good player extra it would also solve our Daicos points issue because Daicos is now going pick 2-4. Anyway its just a hypothetical. I can't see us trading him.
People on here struggle with hypotheticals and take them as if that's what's gonna happen.

Thankfully (and I’m sure you will correct me if I’m wrong), couldn’t trade Henry out anyways because of the minimal (Blumfield) two year contract rule?
No, Henry can be traded out after a season. Contracts may be broken in a trade. Aiden Fyfe was delisted after a season, although he had a one year deal.

I’m going to take this kernel out of your post because the rest is just speculation, but this part I agree with.

I’m already getting pretty leery of people saying “McRae will challenge this player or that player”, “McCrae will set some standards”, “McCrae won’t let such and such get away with that!”… I mean do people really think Buckley didn’t challenge players, didn’t set standards, let players off lightly with their professional behaviours? Nathan Buckley?!

I’m more inclined to believe the comparisons made between Buckley and Michael Jordan in the Last Dance interviews, where it was clear that Michael just relentlessly pushed people to the point where they improved or they broke.

With McCrae my hopes for improvement come from a couple of areas,
a) a simplified message which our playing group can follow, despite a lack of quality on-field leadership
b) a “cheaper” head coach allowing more and better assistant and development coaches, who will be absolutely necessary to get a young list up to standard

If McCrae can provide even a minor drop-off in coaching standard from Buckley, it might be a net win. Expecting a major improvement is likely delusional at this point in time.

For years Buckley constantly gave games to WHE Josh Thomas Callum Brown ect despite them playing horribly, I don’t know what he demanded but he certainly had his favourites at selection and gave them years of opportunity over other players when they didn’t deserve it.

If we haven’t heard by now they aren’t draft relevant. With the changes to the system escalating again next year (a top 40 bid is no longer matchable) I think the NGA system is dead.
Yeah it was working quite well, the AFL couldn't let that continue!

Nope, couldn’t let the rest of the comp have the same advantages as the northern teams!

(Fwiw, all the academy systems are an absolute rort imo)

Your dreaming. As stated in the post, you actually need a suitor who is willing to pay that. If we're laughing at the Dogs asking for a second with Lipinski, then Cox who's turning 31 and is worth a fourth, low third to another club, and Sier who will be delisted anyway, the most you could expect is an early 3rd at best. No one is going to trade for Sier.
You’ve made my point. Points wise two thirds make up a second.

Kicked a lot of goals in this years VFL comp... including bags against lions and giants VFL teams

View attachment 1251791

The problem is that other ex AFL players in Crocker, Greene and Gowers also kicked bags in that comp.

The difference perhaps being that Hammelman is 197cm... so for mine he is more likely to provide something at AFL level than mid sized forwards
The combined comp also had country level players in as well topping up the numbers to actually play games.

Nope, couldn’t let the rest of the comp have the same advantages as the northern teams!

(Fwiw, all the academy systems are an absolute rort imo)
I agree. I'm more laughing at the AFL.

North states get a ridiculous leg up.

AFL, shit the natives are restless, better throw them a bone.

AFL, shit this is working too well, there's too much meat on the bone.

AFL takes bone away.

I agree. I'm more laughing at the AFL.

North states get a ridiculous leg up.

AFL, sh*t the natives are restless, better throw them a bone.

AFL, sh*t this is working too well, there's too much meat on the bone.

AFL takes bone away.
Yep. Just gotta be thankful that we’ve probably benefitted most from the NGA system than anyone else aside maybe the Dogs, with IQ and Reef both looking the goods.