Rumour 2023 Rumours and Speculation (Rumours total 37!, 1 (busted) BIG FISH ALERT last October 9th) (9 confirmed! 17 Busted!)

lol, but there's a difference between a speculative draft pick and proven AFL premiership defender

And there's a difference between their premiership winning midfield and our crabs.

lol, but there's a difference between a speculative draft pick and proven AFL premiership defender
I have watched a fair few Demons games and can't say he has stood out in a big way to me. Barely even knew who he was until this last fortnight.

He has played Defence in the same side as May and Lever, has he always played on the 3rd forward? How proven is he? I don't know much about him.

“Streets ahead” you reckon?..

Come on Mutineer.. even you know thats not true..

How can a lad thats not even played one single game of AFL in his life be spoken of as “streets ahead (potentially)” of a bloke thats an AFL premiership player.

You’ve had some seriously bad takes over the years in here but this ones up there with the best of them mutineer!..

McAsey, as you repeatedly told us, had plenty of potential too..

How’d that work out for you.. and, more importantly, how’d it work out for the crows..

Harrison Petty is a “known”.. connor O’sullivan is a complete unknown. Could end up a gun player.. could end up being another McAsey. Could end up being a just above average 250 gamer. No one here.. including you.. can deny that cause no one here knows.

We are coming into a finals window.. we need “knowns” we can use now over “unknowns” that could become great in 3-5 years.

And, as you say yourself, he probably wont be there at 10 anyway.
The mental side of being a professional AFL player once he entered the AFL system greatly affected McAsey....unfortunately.

I'm glad it's not just me that's speechless we are thinking of spending another top 10 pick on someone that isn't a pure mid.

We'll be the only side in history thats done a full rebuild from a spoon not to use a top 10* pick on a pure mid.

They really do believe we have a stacked midfield.

*The club clearly didn't see Dawson as a mid, they picked him as a back pocket player who could pinch hit on the wing. Jordan had to convince Nicks that he could play in the midfield.

Yeah,

and my comment that he responded to was all based around Petty being more valuable to us next year than any player we possible get at pick 10.

If he wants to introduce the name of a draftee that probably wont even be there at pick 10 and hasnt proven a single thing at AFL level yet and try and argue that as some sort of reason not to use pick 10 for Petty..

then i’m gonna call him on that fragile as fxxk arguement.
Mate, he was comparing them at the same age.

A phrase you conveniently ignored in your criticism.

Can you not read?

At The Same Age
And my response was thats a bullshit argument to be attempting to peddle against using pick 10 on Petty.

You responded to my comment that a pick 10 draftee wouldnt have as big an impact next year as harrison petty would by saying O’sullivan (who you also admit probably wont be on the board at 10 anyway) had more potential than petty did at that age..

Thats the most flimsy bullshit, unprovable arguement you could ever come up with.

O’sullivan at this point has shown less potential than McAsey did in his draft year!.. mcasey was spoken of as the premier KPP of his draft.. a young gun that could go forward or back.

The amount you talked McAsey up in his draft year was astounding.

Now you expect me to take your word for it that osullivan has more potential than petty did?..

No thanks.

You can spin it anyway you like, McAsey was the best tall in his draft year, All Australian, Vic Metro M.V.P. Talent was there with McAsey unfortunately the desireand mental side of his make up only became apparent after moving interstate, then the serious health issues with his father and Covid lockdowns also impacted him.

The 2023 draft is laden with potential high class Talls and O'Sullivan is definitely one of the better ones, especially if talking key defenders with versatility
And, so back to my original point..

Does any of these tall draftees have more of an impact for the crows next year than Harrison Petty would?..

You can spin it anyway you like, McAsey was the best tall in his draft year, All Australian, Vic Metro M.V.P. Talent was there with McAsey unfortunately the desireand mental side of his make up only became apparent after moving interstate, then the serious health issues with his father and Covid lockdowns also impacted him.

The 2023 draft is laden with potential high class Talls and O'Sullivan is definitely one of the better ones, especially if talking key defenders with versatility

Wasn't the best tall Luke Jackson in that draft year?

Unlikely though I think Jed Walter and Curtin will be ready day 1.

Do we know where Petty sits re his rehab with the lisfranc injury reported as significant by their Performance guy Adam Richardson?

MELBOURNE has been dealt a huge blow with confirmation important tall Harrison Petty will miss the rest of the season with a foot injury.

Melbourne confirmed on Tuesday that the defender-turned-forward, who kicked six goals against Richmond in round 20, would miss the remainder of 2023.

"'Petts' has significant damage to his Lisfranc which is which means he won't play again this year," GM of AFL football performance Alan Richardson said.

"It's a fairly significant rehab, but we're really confident long term that he'll be
fine.

"It's disappointing for the team, disappointing for the club given where we are at with the stage of the season, but look he'll be a real pro with his rehab like he always is. He'll get all the support he needs from the footy club."
If there were any issues that were significant with Petty's injury, the Dee's would have traded him to us the first chance they got.

I'm glad it's not just me that's speechless we are thinking of spending another top 10 pick on someone that isn't a pure mid.

We'll be the only side in history thats done a full rebuild from a spoon not to use a top 10* pick on a pure mid.

They really do believe we have a stacked midfield.

*The club clearly didn't see Dawson as a mid, they picked him as a back pocket player who could pinch hit on the wing. Jordan had to convince Nicks that he could play in the midfield.
I'm not sure what you're even getting at with the Dawson asterisk. We gave Sydney the future first tied to Melbourne (effectively pick 14 in 2022) for him.

So we’ve established that he wasn’t very bright growing up.
Quite the opposite. Followed port for a minute until they lost a grand final by 119 points. The following year he changed to Carlton because if Chris Judd. Shows some level of intelligence at least! 😜

“Potential at the same age” is pretty self explanatory isn’t it?
I’m going to bet you didn’t see petty play at that age, I’m guessing mutineer did, not that it means his opinion is right but it probably means he’s more qualified than you or I.
I agree with Bearded Clam on the O'Sullivan / Petty discussion ....I in fact did watch Petty as a junior, and he's always had a lot of skill for a big man

No-one can say an untried kid is streets ahead of Petty .... Mutineer is prone to talking up a lot of kids in their draft year, who don't end up doing anything close to AFL .....he's judging kids against kids

Speaking purely about trading, the vibe I get from Justin is that he's a hard case that doesn't roll over. Huge improvement on his predecessor who didn't even understand the concept of leverage. Noble seemed to think trading was a chance to make friends at other clubs.
It was called networking ;)

Reid looks to have grown into his role

I have watched a fair few Demons games and can't say he has stood out in a big way to me. Barely even knew who he was until this last fortnight.

He has played Defence in the same side as May and Lever, has he always played on the 3rd forward? How proven is he? I don't know much about him.
Petty really had a break-out year in 2023 ....remembering he's only 23 YO ....so it's the correct timing for a big man

The focus on May & Lever, is probably why Petty has flown under the radar ....that is until he was moved fwd

No-one can say an untried kid is streets ahead of Petty .... Mutineer is prone to talking up a lot of kids in their draft year, who don't end up doing anything close to AFL .....he's judging kids against kids
If anyone is saying that i vehemently disagree with that as comparing a kid with an AFL player is silly.