Rd 15 1993 vs Essendon

If you need something to watch with no footy on today, I’ve managed to find the full copy of the 1993 epic against Essendon!

Definitely one of favourite matches of the 90s. How good is the commentary! Edge of the seat sort of stuff!!! The King in full flight!!

Would love to hear people’s memories of the game

Great game. It is my favourite of all time, and the final quarter is the best 30 minutes of football I've ever seen. I've watched it at least once every year since 1993.

If you need something to watch with no footy on today, I’ve managed to find the full copy of the 1993 epic against Essendon!

Definitely one of favourite matches of the 90s. How good is the commentary! Edge of the seat sort of stuff!!! The King in full flight!!

How good was Fridge Roberts? Skills and strength.

Fair few future head coaches on the ground. Longmire, Clarkson, Harvey, Thompson and Watson. Blakey and Crocker also coached games as interims.

Tammy Watson bystanding in the last quarter as Carey goes Hulk mode
Had him questioning his calling in life. Amazing stuff. BTW watch that Carey goal 5 mins shy of 3 qtr time - just a casual poke at goal from 55m. Not too many players have that in them so casually and so reliably.

Seems like they could kick longer back then

Wats significant is the difference between the team 1993 and 1996
In general I think they could. I'm assuming a lot more running nowadays and less bulky players has reduced distance kicking on average.

His pass to Longmire on the run was also incredible.
Freak. As time goes on people remember the big marks and in their minds I think they think of him like Carey was any big modern day forward. He was an absolute colossus but with skills on par with the classiest of midfielders you can imagine. In 2025 terms for those younger than many of us think crossing Harry Sheezel with the marking of Curnow or Hogan at his best in 2024. There's just nothing like him and I'm not sure there will be again.

Yep people don't realise how good The Duck was.

Without doubt he saved the North Melbourne Football club from extinction.

Would have gone the way of Fitzroy

People bitch and moan about the club but without that team of the 90s

There would be no North Melbourne at Arden St today.

I was there. One if the best games I have ever been to. 1993 was a very special year. I think it was also the year McAdam debuted against Richmond under lights. Kicked a lazy 7 on debut. I LOVED Friday night footy at the G back then.....The good old days!

Yep people don't realise how good The Duck was.

Without doubt he saved the North Melbourne Football club from extinction.

Would have gone the way of Fitzroy

People bitch and moan about the club but without that team of the 90s

There would be no North Melbourne at Arden St today.
Funny you say that - I was watching this replay and he and Longmire taking them apart and wondering if that famous recruiting coup hadn't occurred was that one of the many occasions we could have never existed, or would we have found another way, somehow.

I was at that game and one of the all time great games. Longmire, McAdam & Carey with McKernan to follow a few years later. We were one of the most exciting teams ever back then. Fridge Roberts was great when he came to play for us. Peter McKenna and Bruce McAvaney use to love calling North games in those days. Still cant believe Essendon won the premiership that year. We tired towards the end of the year, lost a lot of close games and had a few injuries late in the season. Glen Archer was just making his mark on the game as well. Much better style of footy and commentary than these days for sure

Watching Carey play every week in those days has always had me rate him as the best ever. How he never won the brownlow that year is ridiculous although he gave it to the umps and should have been suspended for a late punch, bump to the back of an oppositions head vs Footscray at the Western Oval from memory

Much better style of footy and commentary than these days for sure
Reckon the only rule we’ve introduced since then which improves the viewing experience is the ban on deliberate out of bounds. Watching them do it today, it feels like a cop out.

How about the gladiatorial tussles before they’d figured out zone defence. Spectacular stuff.

How good was Fridge Roberts? Skills and strength.
I think there are a few of us on this forum who have stated previously that we weren't that impressed when we initially traded for him back in 1991 and if BigFooty had been around at the time, we would have been demanding the heads of our recruiters for making such a stupid decision. But, once Pagan arrived, he blossomed into one of the great utility players of the time, able to play anywhere on the ground and have an impact. He finished up a great Shinboner.

His two runs through the middle in the fourth quarter are hair-raising moments, and I love Big Alex's Shepard was great as well.

Funny you say that - I was watching this replay and he and Longmire taking them apart and wondering if that famous recruiting coup hadn't occurred was that one of the many occasions we could have never existed, or would we have found another way, somehow.
The Carey/Longmire recruitment along with the recruitment of Barassi and the exploitation of 10-year rule has to be the two most defining moments in our club's history. Both were major steps towards our golden eras and premiership glory. It will be interesting to see if the recruitment of Clarkson will be viewed in a similar vein.

Imagine having a young Carey and Longmire on the list. Strange we don't even give ourselves a chance at that sort of excitement as we still haven't drafted a key forward in the main draft since Comben in 2019 ... who we play at CHB.

Watched this game today. My biggest take aways are the speed and ferocity compared with today. Modern football, poking the ball around and going backwards, stopping and starting then kicking down the line make almost every game boring. Then there's the going down, throwing back the head or buckling the knees at the faintest of touches - it's as soft as meadow lea.

The coach ought to drag out the old VHS and get the boys all fired up to beat the heck out of the flogs next weekend.

I think there are a few of us on this forum who have stated previously that we weren't that impressed when we initially traded for him back in 1991 and if BigFooty had been around at the time, we would have been demanding the heads of our recruiters for making such a stupid decision. But, once Pagan arrived, he blossomed into one of the great utility players of the time, able to play anywhere on the ground and have an impact. He finished up a great Shinboner.

His two runs through the middle in the fourth quarter are hair-raising moments, and I love Big Alex's Shepard was great as well.
When The Fridge kicked that goal late in the 96 Grand Final I felt we had won . Was hugging strangers and they let me lol

Rd 15 1993 vs Essendon