Autopsy Round 2, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Brisbane

I thought early on we lit Brissy off their game but with experience, home ground, conditions and umpires in their side they built into the game.

3rd qtr:

Archer Reid kicks the ball 10cm further.
Hewett kicks the ball 30cm left it doesn't hit the post
Ryan gets a luckier bounce
The guys don't fluff that chance running fwd in the square

Bit of luck we are still 4 goals up 3qtr time and who knows.

We need EVERYTHING going our way to have a chance

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Baker really won me over today. Still think we should have found a way to get him without losing pick 3, as we need to take the swing at elite talent when we have it, but I’m glad he’s at our club.

Know it won’t be popular, but an AFL leader should be able to hit the side of a barn, nevertheless a player at 30m.

Baker is like the little league kid that will always win the hardest trier award.

Not his fault, but we are asking way too much of a fairly limited foots skills player because we botched our list management.

Interesting that without Graham we seemed to cover the ground in the middle a fair bit better and eventually without Baker anywhere near the middle unless its a hard tagging role, we will be on the up.

Still relying on Gov to be the glue to hold it together, but otherwise some really nice signs of building a decent group of competent future solid B grade kids (Hough, Ginbey, Dewar, Hewett, Maric, Hall, A.Reid - he will be fine) just need an A grade Harley to emerge and to nail a couple of super stars by not trading out, pillaging this coming draft and we will be back.

Then take free agents and go bang.

I wonder if some are reticent to do so after the Willie Rioli debacle
This. I won’t feel any great kinship with Reid until he signs.

At the moment he’s a prodigiously talented player who’s commitment to making the most of his career is debatable and who may or may not be around to achieve any success with the club.

Mate he gets tackled and three blokes not involved in the tackle jump on the pile long after the whistle.

He got multiple off the ball cheap shots in preseason game one against Adelaide last year. Before he’d played a game. This has been something that has hounded him since before he debuted.

He’s discussed all week, there’s a fervour whipped up around him, he goes to play footy on the weekend and gets booed by fans seeing him play for the first time on the first mark. There’s no history here or backstory or reason for the target, and spare me the “he brings it on himself” in a league that reveres Dusty and De Goey, or with an admin that protect Daicos or Rowell, or with the acting we saw from the Ashcrofts today. It’s bizarre and remarkably unearned.

He’s 19 and clearly sick of it, he gets drawn into niggle now and clubs know they can exploit that, so I get that element. He used to just laugh it off, so it’s clearly getting to him. But the vitriol from fans, and the fact the industry can’t go two seconds without making it about Harley is like nothing I’ve ever seen before.
I think we're getting a bit precious with Harley. If he was playing for another team he would drive half of this board mad.

I don't see how it's any different to how, say Ginnivan was treated, and he dealt with it fine.

Harley will too - or he won't - but regardless can we please stop infantilising him?

I think we're getting a bit precious with Harley. If he was playing for another team he would drive half of this board mad.

I don't see how it's any different to how, say Ginnivan was treated, and he dealt with it fine.

Harley will too - or he won't - but regardless can we please stop infantilising him?
Ginnivan dealt with it fine? He talked about how brutal the attention was for him, then got suspended for cocaine. There were how many think pieces and media seeking to protect him? And this is a bloke that played into the persona with all the go pro stuff, social media, riling up the fans.

I googled “Jack Ginnivan mental health” and this was the first result - an old article, see if you can spot what’s annoyed me here.

IMG_8468.jpeg

+ First half was great, very enjoyable viewing.
Kelly, Baker, Dewar, Ryan, Williams, Hall and Cole had a really good first half, was always going to be tough to maintain.
I'd persevere with Hewitt for another week or two, you can see the rust flaking off. Keep Maric down back as well.

- Missed goals in the third and fatigue in the last killed any chance of a win.
Allan apart from one classy goal was well beaten and his kicks inside 50 when he was further up the ground were poor.
Umpiring was puke inducing, the AFL still haven't forgiven us for 2018.

I'm now leaning towards going to the Derby after swearing not to after last weeks debacle.

Ginnivan dealt with it fine? He talked about how brutal the attention was for him, then got suspended for cocaine. There were how many think pieces and media seeking to protect him? And this is a bloke that played into the persona with all the go pro stuff, social media, riling up the fans.

I googled “Jack Ginnivan mental health” and this was the first result - an old article, see if you can spot what’s annoyed me here.

View attachment 2258755

I really think you're reading way too far into this, and you've made a string of suppositions based on not a lot.

Ginnivan doing coke as a symptom of his poor mental state? Reid's 'had enough' because he's been subjected to some tepid criticism by the Olds as the cocky young gun?

Even if the latter is the case, and it's not just being unfit or losing every week, I can't see how any of that is new and not you know, a national pastime.

The endeavour was great and we took it right to the premier. A few players were up, a few players were down and we faded physically as the game went on. I can live with that. Next week it will be different players in the "up"/"down" column because that's where we are at. Players like Owies got some shit but give me a small forward sticking 8 tackles anyday.

• I’ve never seen more grown men, be they media, umpires, opposition fans, opposition players, more keen to use one player to make a name for themselves. The Harley Reid treatment is astonishing and needs calling out. It was the thing that pissed me off the most with Simmo, he did a great job telling the media to just be a bit more aware of their actions on the way out, but needed to stamp down the agenda that there is seemingly this anything goes target on Harley because he had the audacity to be drafted Pick 1. Any Eagles fan who doesn’t go in to bat for this kid is a mmug.
I know what you are saying but he brings it on himself. Im not saying for a second that we dont back him to the hilt but he loves the attention, he carries on and he draws the attention whereever he can. He will always draw the ire of the oppo crowd because he is both very very good and very very annoying.
He is a flog but he is OUR flog and I love the kid but this sort of crowd interaction will be a staple.

First half was a heap of fun. Loved seeing the less established contribute.

Some lesser lights I enjoyed:
  • Brockman with two that he would not have kicked last year.
  • Ginbey's kicking is a real asset coming out of defence, it's long and you can run onto them.
  • Bailey Williams might not be a world beater but he's ours. Flynn can take a holiday until he's put up form that cannot be ignored.
  • Hall - best game I've seen from him, carried some preseason form in.
  • Likewise Hewitt, just being involved for success acts.

+ Dewar (!!), Ryan, Baker, Kelly etc

Negatives
  • Allen
  • Maric / Hough kicking
  • Long

Biggest minus for me personally was Allen standing maybe 15m away from the goal line watching all on his own while the 2 Brissy players spoiled A Reid's shot on goal through in the 3rd.

Get on the goal line and put some body on. Just a very poor effort on a down day for him. When you are having a stinker you have to do the little efforts that don't get a stat but help the team massively
Not so much Oscar but wasn’t Brockman pretty standing next to them just ball watching?

Loved that BBW used his knee and his leap.
If the opposing ruckman steps forward into his path he should get a free . But Big O got the frees. Weird! Bailey didn’t take a backward step including in the mouth stakes. A few posters here would be putting chin on chest ahemming !
HR to the forward line to start next week.
Geez Houghy; charging forward and bombing to OA with defenders all round him.
I know it probably seems unfootball but grubber the ball or kick over his head and turn the defender. If Andrews has a weakness it’s his ground play.
I know OA prides himself on his marking but he should work harder to spread defenders.
We had such periods of dominance we really should have had a bigger lead at halftime.Third qr the same.So near so many times but we would find a way to heck it up.

Solid hitout today in tough conditions. The first half was brilliant. Fantastic effort across the ground by pretty much everyone and we were rewarded on the scoreboard as a result. Brisbane outworked us in the third quarter and they got on top. I thought we tried pretty hard in the last quarter but you can't turn the ball over on F50 entries so easily.

I don't normally like knocking the umpiring but the 15m interpretation either cost us or gave Brisbane three goals, which was final margin. Harley's high tackle on Will Ashcroft was a free kick one direction or the other.

Bailey did more than enough to hold his spot.

My only real gripe with the way we played was Harley on the wing. Reminded me so much of Gaff where everyone is trying to move the ball forward and he slows the play down. Either move the ball on or be a target in front of the ball. He was a lot better around the ball today though.

Huge game from Ginbey. Kelly was noticeably different today as well. I thought Cole and Ryan were really solid all day as well (happy to be wrong on the latter).