hulld

Rockets, Storm, Cowboys
Now I realize that most of you aren't going to like this proposal but here it goes.

Daniel Ward was today delisted be Melbourne and at age 30 I believe that he has at least 2 more good seasons in him.

As a consequence of my job I go to at least 2 games of footy a weekend. So this year I would have been to at least 10 Melbourne games. And from what I've seen he has plenty to offer.

He is deceptively quick, hard at the ball and his foot skills would be as good if not better than anybody on our list.

Now I know that some of you will say he is too old, but if we were to trade MJ we would be a bit light in the back pocket department. So I reckon he would be good value in the PSD.

your thoughts.......

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!
We have to take rebuilding seriously and not take anyone over the age of 28. Unless of course they were guns.

but he wouldn't be taking the spot of a youngster as he would be picked up for free. even if we just have him on the list as a depth player.

Now I realize that most of you aren't going to like this proposal but here it goes.

Daniel Ward was today delisted be Melbourne and at age 30 I believe that he has at least 2 more good seasons in him.

As a consequence of my job I go to at least 2 games of footy a weekend. So this year I would have been to at least 10 Melbourne games. And from what I've seen he has plenty to offer.

He is deceptively quick, hard at the ball and his foot skills would be as good if not better than anybody on our list.

Now I know that some of you will say he is too old, but if we were to trade MJ we would be a bit light in the back pocket department. So I reckon he would be good value in the PSD.

your thoughts.......

You got that bit right. Can't we go one year without recruiting a washed up player.

Having Daniel Ward in the side will do us no favours down the road and won't provide a big enough to bonus to warrant him being in the side.

We won't pick him up for the same reason that I think Peverill's place on the list is in jeopardy. That being because he is a 1-2 year prospect and his being in the side will not noticeably improve us.

The other factor not in his favour is that we're right for running defenders. McPhee, Lovett-Murray, Nash and Ramanauskas would all stand ahead of him in the queue for a spot, I'd even have Richard Cole ahead of him.

No, he'll just make our team better short term and sacrifice the progression of younger kids in the long term, which will make our club worst off in a few years time when Ward retires because of it.

Oh my god.

2 good years? We are going to be re-building for 2 bloody years, whats the point? Seriously just another wasted roster position for a younger player

No. Just don't. Trust me on this one. Far too unaccountable and he'll just be stopping the development of one of your youngsters.

No, he'll just make our team better short term and sacrifice the progression of younger kids in the long term, which will make our club worst off in a few years time when Ward retires because of it.

Well said. I could see the logic if we were pushing for a GF in the next 2 years. We are not. We are better off getting games into the development of the kids and get them up to 50 games. Plus I would rather not trade MJ. He has been a great servant to the club and I personally don't want to see him play at another club.

but he wouldn't be taking the spot of a youngster as he would be picked up for free. even if we just have him on the list as a depth player.

But he would be taking up a spot on the list that could be given to a young player. The risk-reward ratio is much better on a kid than it would be with Ward who won't be around by the time we are ready to contend anyway.

Thats rubbish - the risk reward ratio favours the experienced player over an unproven kid all the time. Especially when you are talking about a pick in the 40s or 50s of a thin draft.

By the way - no to Daniel Ward as well.

No too old. Not in the same class as camporeale or mal michael - our last 2 PSD picks, if we are getting an older player, we need quality. Should be able to get someone better in draft, or talk someone out of retirement and pick them up. First look at WCE for a mid -cause of salary cap pressure.

Daniel Ward call Simon Beasley I hear you still owe him some clam's, if that doesnt work out Glen Munsie from Sportstab 133 390 will get you a credit account..

Essendon footy club has a silent number, don't call your finished..

The fact that he got delisted from the team that finished 14th speaks volumes. It's time to bite the bullet and start using our younger midfielders.

i thought that this was the reaction the proposal was going to get. i do understand where you guys are coming from.

i'm guessing that most of you would have hardly see ward play this year. and although we probably wont pick him up because of our so called rebuild, don't be surprised if he does get picked up by another team

i thought that this was the reaction the proposal was going to get. i do understand where you guys are coming from.

i'm guessing that most of you would have hardly see ward play this year. and although we probably wont pick him up because of our so called rebuild, don't be surprised if he does get picked up by another team

hulld I know where your comin' from mate but we've made picked up one too many washed up players in the past and I think our confidence in them is shot.

fair enough mate, just putting it out there. it's not like i would be upset if we didn't pick up a 30 year old player

Thats rubbish - the risk reward ratio favours the experienced player over an unproven kid all the time. Especially when you are talking about a pick in the 40s or 50s of a thin draft.

By the way - no to Daniel Ward as well.

Not when the experienced player is not going to contribute to a premiership or even to a good Essendon team. Far better off to take the risk on the kid that may be around at that time.