Opinion INTERNATIONAL Politics: Adelaide Board Discussion Part 6

Peaceful protesters did this. Newscum and Bass should at least be protecting the business. I wonder how they will vote next election.
The legacy media won't do a story on her loss.

I’m not sure how much clearer the evidence can be than “regardless of when they got here or whether they have papers or not” that California has less than zero intention of accepting any type of immigration law enforcement.
I'm not sure how much clearer the evidence can be that Trump escalated the issue for his own political gain.

Im sure you're all happy that the US is now dictating to it's allies how they should handle foreign policy. These two knobs are far right conservatives who advocate further displacement of civilians, but sure, they're not harming diplomatic efforts at all, are they?

Detaining and shooting journalists - intentionally - is not an escalation is it? It's not a show of force against freedom of the press. I seriously dont understand why you MAGA's are willing to tolerate all this.

And if your answer is "well they shouldnt have been there" then it's case closed on you, you no longer support a free democratic society.

Pretty nice, but I’ve been reliably informed you guys are very sensitive, so I’ll try my absolute best not to hurt your feelings.

And I've been reliably informed that white supremacy probably crossed a line somewhere in that quaint list of Bigfooty community rules we all signed up to. But hey, I'm glad to hear you allocated 0% of your month off to self-reflection. We'll have to enjoy your return while it lasts mate.

I was still waiting to see if you had any response to the vaccine being pulled for children and teenagers.

Reason given by the health department: “the risk of severe illness was extremely low in this cohort over the course of the pandemic, and benefits of vaccination are not considered to outweigh the potential harms”

Back in the day you said you’d give the Covid vaccine to your children under 5. Do you still maintain that view?

"Still waiting" - not sure what you're talking about. Did you tag me in something?

My stance early days was that as a parent of very young kids and in the context of uncertainty around both (a) vaccine side effects and (b) short and long-term impacts of COVID infection on development during pregnancy and early childhood, I was more concerned about the latter noting:
  • per US data the safety profile of COVID vaccination was good in this age cohort,
  • young infants are particularly vulnerable to a whole range of other respiratory infections that we also vaccinate against,
  • when your children are very young you don't know whether they may have an as yet undiagnosed condition that might put them in that more vulnerable group.
If they had been eligible (they weren't), I would have erred on the side of getting them vaccinated.

With building evidence there is more certainty on both sides of the equation, which has informed this latest change. That's an outcome that would be welcomed by all parents.

As it was, my kids have had a rough bout of COVID, missed time off kindy, my wife and I had to take time off work to care for them (and further time off when we caught it ourselves), missed a major family event, etc. Multiply that inconvenience by 2-3x throughout the year as we contract flu, RSV, whatever other plague they've picked up from licking the floor etc - I'd prefer to avoid this if I can.

And I've been reliably informed that white supremacy probably crossed a line somewhere in that quaint list of Bigfooty community rules we all signed up to. But hey, I'm glad to hear you allocated 0% of your month off to self-reflection. We'll have to enjoy your return while it lasts mate.

Well you’re wrongly informed because it had nothing to do with anything I posted in this thread.

I’ll give you the opportunity to retract that accusation.

My stance early days was that as a parent of very young kids and in the context of uncertainty around both (a) vaccine side effects and (b) short and long-term impacts of COVID infection on development during pregnancy and early childhood, I was more concerned about the latter noting:
  • per US data the safety profile of COVID vaccination was good in this age cohort,
  • young infants are particularly vulnerable to a whole range of other respiratory infections that we also vaccinate against,
  • when your children are very young you don't know whether they may have an as yet undiagnosed condition that might put them in that more vulnerable group.
If they had been eligible (they weren't), I would have erred on the side of getting them vaccinated.

With building evidence there is more certainty on both sides of the equation, which has informed this latest change. That's an outcome that would be welcomed by all parents.

As it was, my kids have had a rough bout of COVID, missed time off kindy, my wife and I had to take time off work to care for them (and further time off when we caught it ourselves), missed a major family event, etc. Multiply that inconvenience by 2-3x throughout the year as we contract flu, RSV, whatever other plague they've picked up from licking the floor etc - I'd prefer to avoid this if I can.

This is a lot of mental gymnastics to avoid admitting you got it wrong.

There were safety signals galore in 2021 & 2022.

But even if you ignored those… as I also pointed out at the time, we didn’t have the medium and long-term data to justify it.

Now we have it, and it’s not good.

So precisely what I said would happen, has happened.

Given that a portion of kids were mandated to take this thing in order to enter venues like the zoo or the footy (yes that happened in SA) or go retail shopping (again, yes that happened in some other states) I think it’s on you to finally come clean about what a catastrophic **** up that was.

Well you’re wrongly informed because it had nothing to do with anything I posted in this thread.

I’ll give you the opportunity to retract that accusation.

I'm fine thanks, but now we're on the topic of retracting comments, perhaps you'd like to revisit this one regarding the South Africans granted asylum as the rest of the US refugee intake program was suspended?

"I like the look of those families. They look like they're going to be productive members of society who love their adopted country."

A conclusion you came to knowing nothing about them other than the colour of their skin - I'm sure there's a word for this, I can't quite put my finger on it.

Go on, now's your chance for a clean slate.

This is a lot of mental gymnastics to avoid admitting you got it wrong.

There were safety signals galore in 2021 & 2022.

But even if you ignored those… as I also pointed out at the time, we didn’t have the medium and long-term data to justify it.

Now we have it, and it’s not good.

So precisely what I said would happen, has happened.

Given that a portion of kids were mandated to take this thing in order to enter venues like the zoo or the footy (yes that happened in SA) or go retail shopping (again, yes that happened in some other states) I think it’s on you to finally come clean about what a catastrophic **** up that was.

As I've said to you on many occasions, for someone to be so concerned about unknown vaccine side effects but not concerned at all about known or unknown impacts of the infection itself points to a purely ideological motivation, and not to be taken seriously.

I'm fine thanks, but now we're on the topic of retracting comments, perhaps you'd like to revisit this one regarding the South Africans granted asylum as the rest of the US refugee intake program was suspended?

"I like the look of those families. They look like they're going to be productive members of society who love their adopted country."

A conclusion you came to knowing nothing about them other than the colour of their skin - I'm sure there's a word for this, I can't quite put my finger on it.

Go on, now's your chance for a clean slate.

Nice try.

As I've said to you on many occasions, for someone to be so concerned about unknown vaccine side effects but not concerned at all about known or unknown impacts of the infection itself points to a purely ideological motivation, and not to be taken seriously.

Again…from the Department of Health

“….this is because the risk of severe illness was extremely low in this cohort over the course of the pandemic, and benefits of vaccination are not considered to outweigh the potential harms.”

Again..

….this is because the risk of severe illness was extremely low in this cohort over the course of the pandemic, and benefits of vaccination are not considered to outweigh the potential harms.1,2

Which of course you and you alone knew with absolute certainty from day 1 of the pandemic. Give me a break.

Again, you're ideologically driven on this and not to be taken seriously.

Which of course you and you alone knew with absolute certainty from day 1 of the pandemic. Give me a break.

As I said, you're ideologically driven on this and not to be taken seriously.

It was never a secret that kids weren’t a serious risk. We knew that from the outset.

The safety signals and the reports of teenagers (especially boys) getting myocarditis in 2021 weren’t a secret.

The fact there was zero medium or long-term data obviously wasn’t a secret. It was axiomatic.

All this information was freely available at the time. You and others chose to ignore it and then ridicule, mock and silence the people attempting to draw your attention to it.

You were proven catastrophically wrong and your only response is “How could we have known!” when you were told over and over again.

You wont learn a thing from this either. The hubris is off the charts.

Detaining and shooting journalists - intentionally - is not an escalation is it? It's not a show of force against freedom of the press. I seriously dont understand why you MAGA's are willing to tolerate all this.

And if your answer is "well they shouldnt have been there" then it's case closed on you, you no longer support a free democratic society.

They are willing to tolerate it because they don’t live there.

Thankfully we rejected the possibility of a right wing government on May 3rd.

They are willing to tolerate it because they don’t live there.

Thankfully we rejected the possibility of a right wing government on May 3rd.
Garbage, they would have voted for it here.

They're willing to tolerate it because it's not "their team" being shot.

Garbage, they would have voted for it here.

Question. For all of you.

Would you have voted for an Australian government who, over a single term, let between 5-10% of the country’s existing population (say 1.5M) into the country, completely unvetted, undocumented, no process in regard to a visa or residency, no information on where they came from or who they are… (some of them hardcore criminals)… and then literally just plonked them into your community to live?

Would you like that? Would you vote for that?

Which would be a hilarious response from those who constantly cried Dictator Dan.
They have zero capacity for self reflection, just revel in seeing people hurt like it is some kind of game.

Question. For all of you.

Would you have voted for an Australian government who, over a single term, let between 5-10% of the country’s existing population (say 1.5M) into the country, completely unvetted, undocumented, no process in regard to a visa or residency, no information on where they came from or who they are… (some of them hardcore criminals)… and then literally just plonked them into your community to live?

Would you like that? Would you vote for that?

If you're asking would we vote for the contents of a fantasy novel, my answer is no.

This strawman you keep doubling down on is pretty pathetic. I doubt anyone here would be happy with mass illegal immigration. But thats not actually what happened under Biden. Here's some facts:

• Under Biden, about 5.6 million people attempted to cross the southern border illegally
  • Of those 2.3 million were allowed access to the US pending immigration processing (ie temporary asylum visas)
  • The remaining 3.3 million were removed, expelled or voluntarily returned at the border
  • Deportations of existing illegal/undocumented immigrants in Biden's final year of office was 271,000 - higher than at ANY STAGE of Trump's first term

You need to avail yourself of facts, because you've gone down a Joe Rogan sized rabbit hole of fantasy and conspiracy and you're gobbling up the orange kool aid being fed to you by your right wing algorithm. There are plenty of ways to find real facts, rather than crawl twitter and facebook for your cues. If you REALLY care, you'll seek the truth, not just sit there and wave the orange flag like some dumb sheep.

Opinion INTERNATIONAL Politics: Adelaide Board Discussion Part 6