Autopsy Round 16, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Collingwood

Negatives can go suck a pole, tonight I'm here for the big positive.

+ We're in good hands, lads. Whatever happens with Harley will happen, I hope to Christ he stays because with a couple more drafts and a decent ruck we're getting the makings of something.

This is the classic who gives a rats ass about the result. Give me that on a consistent basis and the wins will come.

Clay Hall the surprise of the night. Very neat and tidy, moves well, takes the game on when needed and even has a few good looks at goal.

Doesn't panic with ball in hand.

Not saying he's going to be amazing but he does look like a natural accumulator out there.

Tom McCarthy looks a league above the rest of our guys when it comes to composure. He's always on the move and it makes him hard to track as opposition, gets in good positions and sells the dummy well.

Duggan cops a lot of shit and started the game so bad but thought he was very influential after that. Tough with the defensive side and was involved a lot with our surges and transition forward

Mccarthy has played 2 games and for me i get the ease of mind when he gets the ball as did when Bunga/Gov/shep and etc did back

Baker has been massive since the start of the year. I wasn’t a huge fan of his acquisition but thats all gone now. Absolute star and it seems like he is having a personal best year.

Hedwarss was massive and he’s slowly gaining confidence in his game and after putting the intercept marking away for spoils he’s now going back to not only attempting them but also taking them.

Another one I have to give credit to is Maric. I’m quite harsh on him but today was his best game in a very long time. Was exact game you want from him. Got his hands around the footy a bit on a wing and used the ball really dangerously. Thats the standard he has to hit weekly.

Anyone who has a problem with that game can uck foff.

That was bucking frilliant!!!

No negatives at all. A young team stayed with the premiership favs for 95% of the game.

The green shoots are everywhere. We nail their draft and we are on the way back up folks!!!

+

• Great game from our boys.
  • Baker and Graham continue to set the standard.
  • Maric and McCarthy both using the ball fantastically on the rebound, I feel the like an elite user like McCarthy gives Maric a bit of freedom.
  • HEdwards very good, has hit a purple patch over the past month.
  • Ginbey continues to play like a reliable veteran.
  • Hough showing he belongs as a midfielder, probably his best game through the middle.
  • Shanahan better for the hit-out he deserved, hopefully can build from there. Elite skills our kicks inside 50 need to be better. Likewise Hall, building and serviceable.
  • Bo Allan is a player. Get the same feeling from him as I did Hough's first several games.
  • Flynn not completely terrible.

-

• Huddo was insufferable. Absolutely pathetic. Expected to see him copping a Magpie Bukkake after they sung the song in the huddle post game.
  • That non-HTB call against Collingwood to only immediately call it against Duggan really leaves a bad taste in the mouth after what was a terrific games from the boys.

Positives - overall a better performance than expected.

Hough was very good and had 100% DE and given he played midfield with a number of CP that is exceptional. He needs to pass on what he's doing to H Reid and Hewett.

Negatives - HReid gives away too many free kicks, 50m penalties and fumbles too much. So much is self inflicted like the Naicos 50m penalty. That is a clear 50m penalty. He wasn't in the contest why run forward and push Naicos in the back???? It's just dumb selfish play

Hewett fumbles and doesn't get involved enough. Needs to be more consistent.

Would have won that game if got more out of Hewett and HReid, similar to what Hough provided.

Hall looked great. Exactly what the eagles need at the moment. This is probably an unfair criticism because he didn't really do anything wrong but... I don't think I've ever seen Hutchinson do anything to the advantage of the eagles team? like what does he actually do? I didn't know Kelly's contract got extended as well. Hutch until 2029 and Kelly another two years. like why entertain mediocrity in such an exciting part of the eagles history.
Hutchinson has a go but he definitely lacks skill with ball in hand. Quite noticeable.

Clay Hall needs to be in the AFL team for the rest of the year also. He fills a role wr need so desperately just leave him im there for the love of god

He needs a big preseason focusing on his fitness/stamina. If we can build his tank so he can run both ways effectively he can be a best 22 player. Has plenty of time to build it up, hope it comes sooner rather than later coz he looks smart and composed when he kicks it.

Bloody good effort. Blueprint clear as day, list churn well on its way, plenty to like.

Positives
Shanahan is a smooth operator.
McCarthy belongs.
Baker is a god.
Hough, huge. Gave Daicos a bath prior to the empty calorie last five minutes.
Harry Edwards, wowee. He’s growing, just in time.

Not spending too long on the negatives, I’m sure the permamelts will get it covered. Left a few snags out there, commentary and umpiring in a who can glaze Collingwood more comp, plenty of growth in this side against a Pies team 2.5 games clear on top.

Lots to like. Attack the last stretch of the season, it’s starting to click.
totally

Positives
  • We stuck it out all game
  • Hough was great coming back in
  • Harry stopping some of the Pies' forward entries
  • Baker / Graham
  • Some of our ball movement was :fire:
  • Shanahan did well
  • McCarthy is a ripper
  • Hall looked to be the player we were hoping for when we drafted him.

Negatives
  • Goal kicking...
agree

Positives everywhere despite the loss. Liked the fact mini looked unhappy, he wanted the win.

Shanahan looks juicy
Mccarthy, where the hell has this bloke been.
Baker and Graham continue to set the effort standard (be nice if bakes could kick)
Probably houghs best game as a mid.
Hutch showed he may actually be able to play wing.
I think wing is also marics spot, wasn't defensively sound enough to play in the backline, looks more comfortable.
Another tick for Harry.
Duggos best game for the year
Positive step for hall

Brock is looking shaky, maybe a window for bazzo before years end.
Can't help but think another 12 months maturity and massive uninterrupted pre seasons for harley and hewett will change our team enormously.

A surprisingly fun watch tonight.

Negatives

• Our rucks got dominated. There was a passage in Q2 where Flynn lost 4 contests in a row leading to 3 goals. Cameron was an extra midfielder around the ground too.
Missed the first half but I’d say Flyn probably edged Cameron in the 2nd?

We’re effectively playing a man down if Flynn halves the contest and B Williams gets 9 POs? Could’ve played an extra mid and just let Flyn go alone

Missed the first half though

+Harry Edwards. So many on here being proven wrong by this guy
+Liam Baker. As above
+Shanahans first goal
+ Maric, McCarthy, Hutchinson, Hough, Hall. All these guys i think will be AFL footballers and showed alot tonight
+Harley is coming good. Hewett and Ginbey over Wardlaw was a god damn master-stroke

-Jack Williams goal kicking
-Sandy Brock
-Jayden Hunt had one touch as sub and turned it over. Just no more please
-the commentary. 18th v 1st and we were leading alot of the game. Yet zero enthusiasm when we did anything. Huddo lost alot of points in my eyes tonight
all of this

Positives - overall a better performance than expected.

Hough was very good and had 100% DE and given he played midfield with a number of CP that is exceptional. He needs to pass on what he's doing to H Reid and Hewett.

Negatives - HReid gives away too many free kicks, 50m penalties and fumbles too much. So much is self inflicted like the Naicos 50m penalty. That is a clear 50m penalty. He wasn't in the contest why run forward and push Naicos in the back???? It's just dumb selfish play

Hewett fumbles and doesn't get involved enough. Needs to be more consistent.

Would have won that game if got more out of Hewett and HReid, similar to what Hough provided.

Bit hard for Harley every time he touches the ball the umps whistle is in there mouths

he gets umpired differently then the rest of the comp

Positives

• Thoroughly enjoyed what I saw. As the youth get fitter and more experienced they'll be more consistent.
  • Shanahan looked good, hope he gets a few games at AFL level to show his stuff.
  • McCarthy backed up from last week.
  • Hall needs to stay in the 22. I liked what I saw.
  • Bo Allan didn't get a lot of it, but didn't look out of depth either.
  • Ginbey is an absolute beast.
  • J.Williams did a lot well. Uncharacteristically poor kicking for goal, but hoping he shows us what he can do as the year goes on.

Negatives

• Frustrated at missed opportunities. Could conceivably have gone into qtr time 5 goals up.
  • Ruck continues to frustrate. Flynn isn't improving, I think what we're seeing is all that he has to offer.

Can't think of any other negatives. Future looks bright.

Autopsy Round 16, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Collingwood