Mega Thread 2025 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

Back by popular demand. However...

There has been some aggro from publishers of articles in recent months about sites that copypasta their content onto other sites, particularly the paywalled ones, which could lead to fines and whanot for those that do it. Apparently there are copywrite laws for these things. As a result we can no longer have full articles reposted here, so if you come across something then please refrain from nabbing the whole thing and just post the link. Quoting a paragraph or two and linking the source is fine however, just don't get greedy.

Here's the updated site-wide rule: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/please-read-re-copyright-posting-newspaper-articles.1389553/

Here's an example of what you can do:

"If West Coast was the gold standard for how to operate, then Fremantle's arrival into the AFL in 1995 could be viewed as a series of cautionary tales.

Despite eight wins in that debut season, a series of poor recruiting choices meant they didn't play their first final until 2003."

If they believe that us not making finals until 2003 was solely due to "a series of poor recruiting choices" then I have a bridge to sell them.

Thanks for your understanding.

Name the elite kicks in Brisbane's backline.

Outside of perhaps Zorko I don't see any of them tbh. Calling any of the others named in their back six elite kicks would be borderline laughable. There's no Banfields (ie all the smalls/mediums are passable kicks) but we're not as far off it that area as you think.

I agree we need to bring another good kick into the backline but lack of movement was clearly the biggest issue on Friday night.

Actually thought the skills in the forward half were way worse from players missing kicks they'd hit 9 times out of 10.
Who mentioned elite kicks? All I said is we don’t have the players to kick it out like Brisbane did & have said regularly that our fast ball movement comes from stoppage & turnover when we can get it in the hands of our mids & small forwards who are our better kicks.

Pearce, Cox, Worner, Chapman, Ryan, Banfield & even Clark all struggle to hit that kick regularly & if you include our wingers who also defend in D50 in Nod, Erasmus, Johnson & Sharp when he’s in are not great consistent hit up kicks.

You’re just arguing for the sake of it, your comment about forward half kicks is pretty much what I said in the first post about our missed opportunities going inside F50.

Name the elite kicks in Brisbane's backline.

Outside of perhaps Zorko I don't see any of them tbh. Calling any of the others named in their back six elite kicks would be borderline laughable. There's no Banfields (ie all the smalls/mediums are passable kicks) but we're not as far off it that area as you think.

I agree we need to bring another good kick into the backline but lack of movement was clearly the biggest issue on Friday night.

Actually thought the skills in the forward half were way worse from players missing kicks they'd hit 9 times out of 10.
Serious? Zorko, Fletcher and Wilmot are very good kicks. Not to mention the mental gymnastics our back players go through when they get it (besides Clark).

Suggest you watch the game again man. Their backline kicks it so much better. low flat passes taken in most cases in front of the eyes by the receiver. Gardiner probably the only ordinary kick.
I saw them hit mostly 15-25m kicks that most players in the competition could hit.

It's not that difficult for AFL players to hit the corridor kick when their target has got 5-10 metres of space on either side.

The uncontested mark stats don't lie.

I saw them hit mostly 15-25m kicks that most players in the competition could hit.

It's not that difficult for AFL players to hit the corridor kick when tgeir target has got 5-10 metres of space on either side.

The uncontested mark stats don't lie.
Pretty sure that only a few of months ago people were bemoaning our “game plan” of chipping it around in the back half rather than playing attacking footy. The point is that Brisbane, when they were going for those kicks, were not playing fast, but playing a controlled game aimed at loosening the zone.

I agree with the (tacit) point, though, that the kicking skills of our backs are not so woeful as is often made out.

I’m really disappointed we haven’t got a bigger kicking in the media before Sundays game. I was hoping the vic media in particular would absolutely roast us and scathingly write us off after last weeks performance. To be fair there have been a few that have stepped up to the mark and completely dismissed our chances this weekend, Buddy Franklin being one of them on his pod.

I’m just worried it’s not enough to really fire up our lads up for this weekends game.
Yesterdays presser with JL was good though, he seemed angry and pissed people were dismissing us. The reason I think it’s important is that we might get a benefit in terms of a kind of reverse-drinking our own bathwater-style effect.
The fact that that kind of thing still affects our team either way both positively and negatively, is frustrating as it shows questionable mental strength in the group and immaturity in dealing with expectation.
However there’s no expectation this weekend, almost everyone’s writing us off so go out and play without fear and see what happens.

Serious? Zorko, Fletcher and Wilmot are very good kicks. Not to mention the mental gymnastics our back players go through when they get it (besides Clark).

Fletcher and Wilmot aren't really any better kicks than Cox, Chapman, Ryan.

I'm not saying we are blessed with great kicks ... NOD, Erasmus, etc are obviously not that good and we need to improve. We really need Young and Simpson in the side.

But some are conflating kicking skills with gameplan. Both ours and the opposition. It is easy to chip it around like Brisbane did if it is allowed. We did it to the Bulldogs several years ago at Marvel when Bevo was roasted for allowing it to happen. On that day Ryan had 25 kicks and 15 marks and 97% DE, Chapman had 16 kicks and 11 marks and 87% DE, Clark had 19 kicks and 10 marks and 92% DE. Cox and Pearce were also playing and chipping it around.

Put a bit of close checking on, and anyone can come unstuck. See the Zorko short pass which didn't work and ended up in Reid kicking a goal.

Fletcher and Wilmot aren't really any better kicks than Cox, Chapman, Ryan.

I'm not saying we are blessed with great kicks ... NOD, Erasmus, etc are obviously not that good and we need to improve. We really need Young and Simpson in the side.

But some are conflating kicking skills with gameplan. Both ours and the opposition. It is easy to chip it around like Brisbane did if it is allowed. We did it to the Bulldogs several years ago at Marvel when Bevo was roasted for allowing it to happen. On that day Ryan had 25 kicks and 15 marks and 97% DE, Chapman had 16 kicks and 11 marks and 87% DE, Clark had 19 kicks and 10 marks and 92% DE. Cox and Pearce were also playing and chipping it around.

Put a bit of close checking on, and anyone can come unstuck. See the Zorko short pass which didn't work and ended up in Reid kicking a goal.
Yeah of course our guys can kick. There is another component too it and that's called 'Dare'. Clark is the only one that dares in our backline. Media goes on about shutting down Serong, IMO if opposition shut down Clark we are really hampered (Sydney know it).

Yeah I think our players play scared too much of the time.
Thats 100% on the coach and onfield leadership.
Chapman used to bit of the corridor kick all the time. When was the last time he even attempted it?
Get Simpson and Walker in for Sunday. Just go for it. Piss off O'Meara, O'Driscoll, Banfield, Worner.
Go down swinging.

And for the love of God, why, when team are playing keepy off is it seemingly impossible to change to man on man instead of zone for a while. It seems so unbelievably obvious there must be a reason.

Why do other teams pull off the drive by handball, take territory, break the zone tactic all the time yet we never do?
Why do we stand there and then kick down the line.

This stuff has been going on so long without any change. I'm at a loss. There must be something I'm missing.

Yeah of course our guys can kick. There is another component too it and that's called 'Dare'. Clark is the only one that dares in our backline. Media goes on about shutting down Serong, IMO if opposition shut down Clark we are really hampered (Sydney know it).

I agree, but it goes back to our coaching and gameplan.

Watch Chapman's footage as a junior ... he has dare and attack in bucketloads. He would be playing like Weddle if he played for Hawthorn.

Wagner has dare, and he's been removed from the backline.

Walker has the pure speed to be a weapon if they could somehow harness it and have less focus on being a pure lockdown. Not sure if possible though.

Chapman used to bit of the corridor kick all the time. When was the last time he even attempted it?
Get Simpson and Walker in for Sunday. Just go for it. Piss off O'Meara, O'Driscoll, Banfield, Worner.
Go down swinging.

And for the love of God, why, when team are playing keepy off is it seemingly impossible to change to man on man instead of zone for a while. It seems so unbelievably obvious there must be a reason.

Why do other teams pull off the drive by handball, take territory, break the zone tactic all the time yet we never do?

This stuff has been going on so long without any change. I'm at a loss. There must be something I'm missing.
Yeh it’s hard to fathom that we’ve won 11 out of our last 13 not playing like everyone else.
Did you post this concern last Thursday?

Thanks you for not addressing any of the points I raised.
Yes I just started watching us play last week. How perceptive of you.
The point is if coaches & teams were as reactionary as you are being then we’ve have no hope week to week & would be chasing our tail with no direction.

They played a certain way all year & the players have been good mostly but shat the bed last week after a fairly strong run of games, not perfect games but they got the job done.

I have addressed what you said a few times in previous posts elsewhere, feel free to check it out. Bottom line is our game plan is based on team defence & getting turnover to create speed of ball movement from that & speed from stoppage.

We do not create speed from stop plays out of our back half. That’s the fact that most are upset about as that’s how other clubs operate.

The point is if coaches & teams were as reactionary as you are being then we’ve have no hope week to week & would be chasing our tail with no direction.

They played a certain way all year & the players have been good mostly but shat the bed last week after a fairly strong run of games, not perfect games but they got the job done.

I have addressed what you said a few times in previous posts elsewhere, feel free to check it out. Bottom line is our game plan is based on team defence & getting turnover to create speed of ball movement from that & speed from stoppage.

We do not create speed from stop plays out of our back half. That’s the fact that most are upset about as that’s how other clubs operate.
Good analysis and that plan has been effective against better sides which of course is what you're aiming for, to create a style of game that will stand up to the pressure of finals.

However it has resulted in us:
Having the worst percentage of the top 9.
Stemming from:
An inability to put games away early against poor teams which take us on and not being ruthless when we have the chance to bank score.

And most tellingly, players going into their shells collectively and individually resulting in them supressing their natural flair and attacking instincts (see Chapman as a perfect example) which has, over and over led to completely going to water whenever we have the spotlight on us too brightly.

Hawks and Crows, Geelong, Dogs etc go for the jugular straight away. Players attack the game and use their natural instincts. Sure you can argue we beat the Hawks and the Crows and thats valid but I would much prefer (as a fan) that we played a style more like they do and see our players using their instincts.

I believe the best mature teams - Geelong, Brisbane and until recently Collingwood use a combination of system football and backing the players to see the game and play it in the moment.

I think we err on the side of systems and play too cautious most of the time and I don't like the way we're playing. Look at how teams around us dealt with Port or North or West Coast. We barely scrape over the line.

Go down swinging.

I feel your frustration, but playing Simpson at this late point in such a pressure game has a 99% chance of backfiring and making us worse. Walker ( albeit a very poor past performance in a pressure match) or Wagner to go back are much better solution.

It’s a must win game but I would like to keep playing Worner he just has something, he is naturally tough and more likely to play a good role again.

O’Meara, O’Driscoll and Banfield have certainly put themselves on thin ice and must be the players considered for dropping although we all know O’Meara is the least likely to be dropped because he is in the leadership group.

I would like to see Young (obviously) and Johnson included at a minimum. Longmuir didn’t sound overly confident on Johnson but his size and speed is needed in the midfield desperately.

I like to believe that next year Simpson will be given first opportunity to establish himself in our backline.

Go down swinging.

The leadership team itself isn’t particularly great kicks- Pearce, Serong and JOM. But if the three for example intent on having the ball, the buck stops with them wanting to move the ball so to speak.

Pearce took 12 seconds after a mark to move the ball. If the captain is doing it, then it’s clear the coach and players aren’t particularly aligned.

Jl has repeatedly said he does not want to move the ball so slow. Just don’t think the players want to be the one caught turning the ball or taking the player on. Funny because when the players do not want to move the ball, that’s when its even worse then daring to move. It becomes predictable. When they handball through and attack the corridor, the opposition is forced to defend. Exactly like v Collingwood.

Good analysis and that plan has been effective against better sides which of course is what you're aiming for, to create a style of game that will stand up to the pressure of finals.

However it has resulted in us:
Having the worst percentage of the top 9.
Stemming from:
An inability to put games away early against poor teams which take us on and not being ruthless when we have the chance to bank score.

And most tellingly, players going into their shells collectively and individually resulting in them supressing their natural flair and attacking instincts (see Chapman as a perfect example) which has, over and over led to completely going to water whenever we have the spotlight on us too brightly.

Hawks and Crows, Geelong, Dogs etc go for the jugular straight away. Players attack the game and use their natural instincts. Sure you can argue we beat the Hawks and the Crows and thats valid but I would much prefer (as a fan) that we played a style more like they do and see our players using their instincts.

I believe the best mature teams - Geelong, Brisbane and until recently Collingwood use a combination of system football and backing the players to see the game and play it in the moment.

I think we err on the side of systems and play too cautious most of the time and I don't like the way we're playing. Look at how teams around us dealt with Port or North or West Coast. We barely scrape over the line.
You hit the nail on the head with your second last paragraph-mature. We lack on field leaders in tough times, that’s why JOM stays in.

From experience coaches look at the list & work out a style that suits its players & continue to evolve it. We are not a kick mark team over 4 quarters & our system is stuctured accordingly.

I don’t think our 22 is a premiership team yet. We lack experience & there are positions that need addressing. Fat winger options have not come on, we don’t have a medium forward & as a result have 3 tall forwards getting the stats of 2 players, we lack 2 good kickers off half back & without Yound we’re missing a quality mid rotation without anyone else really putting their hand up to cover it when he’s injured.

As frustrated as a lot are I don’t think we are quite in the sweet spot but are so close we can all taste it.

We have addressed so many issues this year from slow starts, winning when behind, wet weather footy, beating good teams away, beating bogey teams but we’re all getting bogged down the negatives, without in my opinion understanding we’re still building.

People will counter & say it’s been x years of building, it has but there has still been a sizeable turnover of players in that time including a lot of experience that we still need to replace.

The leadership team itself isn’t particularly great kicks- Pearce, Serong and JOM. But if the three for example intent on having the ball, the buck stops with them wanting to move the ball so to speak.

Pearce took 12 seconds after a mark to move the ball. If the captain is doing it, then it’s clear the coach and players aren’t particularly aligned.

Jl has repeatedly said he does not want to move the ball so slow. Just don’t think the players want to be the one caught turning the ball or taking the player on. Funny because when the players do not want to move the ball, that’s when its even worse then daring to move. It becomes predictable. When they handball through and attack the corridor, the opposition is forced to defend. Exactly like v Collingwood.
I reckon part of the answer to the slow ball movement, via possession, is more run.

We need to get on our bikes. We are young and fit and generally speaking, not lacking pace. I want to see more overlap run to at least draw in defenders, break the opposition zone and create more disposal options either by foot or hand.

We do this occasionally and the play tends to open up and options start to become apparent further afield. For some reason when we get a bit defensive, our run dries up and our only option is long down the line. I swear I can hear a collective groan around the ground when this starts happening frequently.

I also reckon this style of play will open up more leading lanes for our quicker forwards like Jye and Freddy.

I also believe movement and more run is part of the answer for when Serong is getting tagged. He too often is willing to engage body on body with the tagger instead of getting on the move and maybe drawing a free kick.

Anyway, rant over...just run more you purple campaigners.

A Herald Sun classic caption from today, in the article discussing the premiership chances of all remaining 9 teams
You have to shake your head at how basic shit like this gets through in professional media

[PLAYERCARD]Brennan Cox[/PLAYERCARD]. Picture: Janelle St Pierre/AFL Photos via Getty Images.

Brennan Cox. Picture: Janelle St Pierre/AFL Photos via Getty Images.

A Herald Sun classic caption from today, in the article discussing the premiership chances of all remaining 9 teams
You have to shake your head at how basic shit like this gets through in professional media

To be fair, he's never played for Collingwood, and doesn't look like a machete wielding Sudanese gang member, so you can't expect the Herald Sun to know or care who he is. I'm just happy that the label included the name of a current Fremantle player.

You hit the nail on the head with your second last paragraph-mature. We lack on field leaders in tough times, that’s why JOM stays in.

From experience coaches look at the list & work out a style that suits its players & continue to evolve it. We are not a kick mark team over 4 quarters & our system is stuctured accordingly.

I don’t think our 22 is a premiership team yet. We lack experience & there are positions that need addressing. Fat winger options have not come on, we don’t have a medium forward & as a result have 3 tall forwards getting the stats of 2 players, we lack 2 good kickers off half back & without Yound we’re missing a quality mid rotation without anyone else really putting their hand up to cover it when he’s injured.

As frustrated as a lot are I don’t think we are quite in the sweet spot but are so close we can all taste it.

We have addressed so many issues this year from slow starts, winning when behind, wet weather footy, beating good teams away, beating bogey teams but we’re all getting bogged down the negatives, without in my opinion understanding we’re still building.

People will counter & say it’s been x years of building, it has but there has still been a sizeable turnover of players in that time including a lot of experience that we still need to replace.
You make a strong argument and I don't disagree with anything you've written.
Where I don't see us making progress is in the issues I outlined in my original post you replied to.
Why can't we switch to man on man when the other team is so systematically picking us apart and more importantly why don't we use overlap run more out of the back half? Why do we see over and over the players holding the ball and kicking down the line when its not working?

Why has a player like Chapman stopped being creative and attacking?

Why is Amiss not playing like a medium up on the flanks playing the role Sturt did. It's pointless him wrestling with stronger men on the goal line all game.

Or why when we don't, as you've said have any decent wings don't they play Amiss up there, or get Chapman up the ground and bring Walker back.

Yes you don't change a winning side and yes my posting today is reactionary and born of frustration but they are fundamental questions I've been asking all year. Just ask my mate who sits next to me at home games.

We're doing a lot right. We are improving and we don't quite have all the cattle we need yet but that doesn't mean we shouldn't be innovating when we can.

I would suggest only 1 more kicker off half back, fatside wing and quality small forward (Voss is basically a medium forward despite his height) are what we need. Higher quality 5th mid rotation is a bonus but they are already on the list in my view.

Even then we can win flags with what we have got with more cohesion and experience.

You make a strong argument and I don't disagree with anything you've written.
Where I don't see us making progress is in the issues I outlined in my original post you replied to.
Why can't we switch to man on man when the other team is so systematically picking us apart and more importantly why don't we use overlap run more out of the back half? Why do we see over and over the players holding the ball and kicking down the line when its not working?

Why has a player like Chapman stopped being creative and attacking?

Why is Amiss not playing like a medium up on the flanks playing the role Sturt did. It's pointless him wrestling with stronger men on the goal line all game.

Or why when we don't, as you've said have any decent wings don't they play Amiss up there, or get Chapman up the ground and bring Walker back.

Yes you don't change a winning side and yes my posting today is reactionary and born of frustration but they are fundamental questions I've been asking all year. Just ask my mate who sits next to me at home games.

We're doing a lot right. We are improving and we don't quite have all the cattle we need yet but that doesn't mean we shouldn't be innovating when we can.
I think we as fans largely watch the games (especially the ones we’ve lost) assessing them in terms of a single objective: winning the game. That objective is then applied to every single possible decision that could be made both in the lead up to and during the game itself. E.g. We lost. Amiss had 3 touches whilst wresting with stronger men on the goal line all game. Why wasn’t he playing like a medium up on the flanks playing the role Sturt did? Why didn’t the coach make that decision? And that’s just one of dozens of strategic decisions that could affect the outcome of the game.

This seems the obvious thing to do: after all, the point is to win the game, right? The only time you might not make every decision in view of the goal of winning the game is if you’re a “developing side”, when you can allow that players need development, game plans need to be bedded down, etc.

And Fremantle in 2025 is not a developing side — we should be contending, we should be winning games.

I don’t buy the idea that we’re not a developing side — not because we’re so young and inexperienced, but because if the club, team, players, etc., aren’t still developing, they’re dead in the water, and on the fast track to the bottom of the ladder. Good sides are always developing.

If you can agree with this logic, then it is possible to see that there are now at least two objectives (more than two, most likely) informing all those decisions, and I imagine that they’re often incompatable objectives. Why was Amiss wrestling with KPDs instead of running up the wing, making leads, etc.? It’s looked to me like all year, the coaches have been prioritising Amiss’s development, building his capacity to take on the strongest KPDs. Both Longmuir and Garlick have frequently talked about long term thinking, building for sustained success, and I interpret things like the way Amiss is being played in that light: winning this particular game is not the only objective in play.

None of that is meant to be a defence of Longmuir (I don’t buy into those debates) or a suggestion that all the dozens of strategic decisions the club and coaches have made couldn’t have been made in view of a different or better balancing of the objectives. I can hear and appreciate arguments that, for example, playing finals will do more for developing the club and squad than leaving Amiss to wrestle on the goal line (though finals aren’t out of the equation yet).

What it means to me is that is that there might be answers to your questions that don’t have anything to do with (allegedly) conservative game plans, incompetence or inflexibility on the part of the senior coach — or at least connect with factors and objectives that seem irrelevant when you (by which I mean me and all of us) are sitting there assessing every little moment of the game in terms of the overriding objective of winning.

Mega Thread 2025 Media & Miscellaneous Thread