AFLW Round 3 - 2025 AFLW Season

Frem-NM votes

Goods
3 - Ash Riddell gets her first BOG of 2025, averaging 36 touches to start the season.
2 - Eilish Sheerin after an outrageous rundown tackle in the middle of the ground on a day which would've been very easy to give up such a chase.
1 - Amy Smith can't be left out with 24 disposals and 2 albeit wobbly old goals.

Bads
1 - Hayley Miller
Even if played out of position, and even if providing a brief shining moment, ya still gotta do better than 0 tackles in a thumping.
2 - Sarah Verrier
Very soft showing.
3 - Philipa Seth
I think she was out there.

The gap between good teams like Carlton and bad teams like Brisbane is far too big. **** this competition !!
I was very tempted by Brissy at $1.05. Glad I stayed away, even if it does work out favourably ultimately

At this point, I honestly believe the AFL should be allowed to sack coaches of teams that don't move the ball quickly and through the corridor/via the fat side of the ground.

After last season I thought Bohanna was a spent force, but she provides a solid target up front and is still contributing on the scoreboard. Her arrival and Harrington moving forward have been positive for the Blues and along with the other newbies Carlton look like a totally different team and capable of playing in November.

historically this has been the kind of match Brisbane have struggled to get up for.
Just one of those things ya say, really. Not that Carlton didn't play well or deserve to win (although somebody pointed out this was the 5th game of the weekend in which the winner did not have more scoring shots than the loser).

Also, Carlton were really dominating the match when Harrington was getting the ball in the backhalf rather than playing stay-at-home forward like too much of last year.

No excuses for Blues fans to not turn up on Saturday arvo next week in big numbers after that. Oh wait it's against the Bulldogs, nil-all draw incoming, never mind.

Anyway despite the 1 major exception, it was a round of lots of high-quality footy. Not all of it from the usual suspects.

And I don't reckon there's been a weekend of three teams losing while scoring 40+ before. Let me get back to you on that.

Anyway despite the 1 major exception, it was a round of lots of high-quality footy. Not all of it from the usual suspects.

And I don't reckon there's been a weekend of three teams losing while scoring 40+ before. Let me get back to you on that.
Round 4 2023, Carlton lost to Richmond 47-40, Port Adelaide lost to Geelong 70-42 and the Dogs lost to Gold Coast 48-44.

After last season I thought Bohanna was a spent force, but she provides a solid target up front and is still contributing on the scoreboard. Her arrival and Harrington moving forward have been positive for the Blues and along with the other newbies Carlton look like a totally different team and capable of playing in November.
She is so up and down, really good player when she is focused.

If it wasn't already clear, the Crows are definitely a step behind last season, where they were already a step behind the top two sides.

Around half the side didn't turn up today. Will need a massive improvement if they want to be competitive with Brisbane next week.
Interesting that both the Crows and Lions seem a bit off at the start of the year. Too early to draw any conclusions, but I'm sure questions of it being the comp possibly catching up will be asked.

Round 4 2023, Carlton lost to Richmond 47-40, Port Adelaide lost to Geelong 70-42 and the Dogs lost to Gold Coast 48-44.
Interesting, Carl/PA/Geel/GC involved in both instances but all reversing their fortunes this time.

BL-Carl votes

Tops

3 - Abbie McKay
There were more 'brilliant' players on the day but Brisbane were always going to rally in the 2nd half, so it was crucial for Carlton to have their captain stand up across all four quarters.

2 - Erone Fitzpatrick
Coming soon: annual "clubs that don't go Irish are kidding themselves" post.

1 - Breann Harrington
500+ metres gained, 17 disposals at 82%, 7 marks (2 contested), 5 score involvements and a goal makes it easy to play favourites.

Slops

1 - Sophie Conway
Probably her best game this season so far, still well down on her 2024 form.

2 - Shannon Campbell
Been a warrior for a long time but that wasn't her best.

3 - Taylor Smith
Unless my eyes were deceiving me, it looked like Craig Starcevich repeated the same tactic from last year's finals series: "Looks like we're gonna lose? Get her offffffff!!!"

Leaders of the Teen Wolf Medal after Round 3:

7 - Ash Riddell (NM)
6 - Jasmine Garner (NM)
6 - Kate Hore (Melb)
6 - Ella Roberts (WCE)
5 - Brittany Bonnici (Coll)
5 - Erone Fitzpatrick (Carl)
5 - Chloe Molloy (Syd)
5 - Georgia Nanscawen (Ess)
5 - Madison Prespakis (Ess)
4 - Lucia Painter (WCE)

Think the Eagles and Saints might be the only club without any Irish presence...
+ Essendon, Port and Bulldogs unless I'm forgetting somebody.

That many? Surprising...some clubs don't have their finger on the pulse.

Perhaps the Saints view was coloured by Grace Kelly, but surely you only have to look at the Roos adding someone like Bogue this year or Amy Gavan to see the opportunities awaiting elsewhere.

Brisbane's next two games are against Adelaide (at Norwood) and North (at BHA), they could potentially start the season 1-4 and having to win 6 of their final 7 to make the finals.

A big fortnight coming up for the Lions.

Gold standard watch! Players averaging 1+ goal and 20+ disposals this season so far, plus a couple others to keep an eye on:

PlayerAverage GoalsAverage Disp.
Ella Roberts1.322.7
Jasmine Garner2.721.7
Kate Hore1.721
Montana Ham120.3
Chloe Molloy419
Matilda Scholz1.316.7

AFLW Round 3 - 2025 AFLW Season