NO TROLLS Rankine handed a 4 match suspension by the AFL integrity unit for a homophobic slur against opponent

What happened with Quaynor being booed was already a terrible look for Adelaide supporters, but Matthew Nicks’ response “It’s not one for me to comment on” is just as concerning in its own way. A coach doesn’t need to deliver a fiery speech, but the bare minimum is to show leadership and make clear that booing the victim of a homophobic slur is unacceptable. By choosing silence, Nicks missed an opportunity to set standards for his club and its supporters. The message it sends is that this kind of behaviour is tolerated, or at least not serious enough to warrant a response. For the players, for fans, and especially for young people who were at that game asking why Quaynor was being booed, that silence matters. Leadership is tested in moments like this and Adelaide fell short yet again.

To give Nicks a small out he was probably told that they needed to keep Rankine's target confidential so he was probably just trying to cover his own arse, but it just looked ridiculous in the moment. Everyone could see what had happened, everyone could have realistically seen that this was coming. Would not have been hard to come up with a response to this exact scenario.

Logically Quyanor was booed because of his treatment to Rankine, similarly why Houston was booed as Collingwood clearly went into the game using this strategy to unsettle Rankine.

Your previous post alluded to the fact that "humans make mistakes" but then you continually make mistakes like this in this thread... I mean... At this point

Does Izak Rankine not count.. Moores actions by dobbing meant that an elite player will miss the chance to play finals and will no doubt be the subject of abuse from both Collingwood fans and others within the LGBTQ community. Does his mental health not count?

This is the same AFLPA that stood by and allowed Liam Jones to be suspended because he had morals and wanted control and right over his own body and decision not to be vaccinated. They are a completely toothless pretend organisation.

And don't get me started on Collingwood and them completely ignoring the fact the figurehead for their supporter group is a paedophile.

Has that been confirmed that Darcy Moore was the one whi reported the slur made by Rankin to the AFL?

Queer Australians face higher rates of depression, anxiety, and suicidality because of widespread stigma and discrimination, but please, elaborate on why its more important to defend spectators' right to abuse players for whatever reasons they feel like.
your definition of abuse is far too liberal. You sound like the sort of person that calls everyone a narcissist. We are talking about a very small subsection of the community. It was distasteful comments but to say that distasteful comments automatically makes it abuse it simply not true. I would say that no straight man in the nation would be offended by being called not straight.

And now you're saying booing someone is automatically abuse? Which means anyone who has ever booed an umpire of a decision is an abuser. Geez, I really think this woke stuff is getting out of control.

Your previous post alluded to the fact that "humans make mistakes" but then you continually make mistakes like this in this thread... I mean... At this point
It's what I heard happened with the multiple Collingwood players targeting Rankine with what Houston did to Rankine last year and Quaynor was playing on Rankine and roughing him up. Why would anyone booed him when he isn't gay???

Darcy Moore has form. He also dropped to his knees in the last round of 2024 and got Kozzie Pickett wiped out for 3 weeks. Can't stand Darcy Moore.

So has it been confirmed that Darcy Moore was the one who reported the slur made by Rankin to the AFL?

Has that been confirmed that Darcy Moore was the one whi reported the slur made by Rankin to the AFL?

Only information released was a heated exchange between Dan Houston and Izak Rankine before the taunt on Quaynor

your definition of abuse is far too liberal. You sound like the sort of person that calls everyone a narcissist. We are talking about a very small subsection of the community. It was distasteful comments but to say that distasteful comments automatically makes it abuse it simply not true. I would say that no straight man in the nation would be offended by being called not straight.

And now you're saying booing someone is automatically abuse? Which means anyone who has ever booed an umpire of a decision is an abuser. Geez, I really think this woke stuff is getting out of control.
So you reckon there was no causal relation between
1) Rankine getting banned for calling IQ a homophobic insult, and
2) Deadshit Crows fans booing IQ every time the ball was in his vicinity, even though his onfield conduct was utterly uncontroversial.

Got it.

I heard it was multiple players saying they will put Rankine on a stretcher in reference to what Houston did to him last year???? And Quaynor was on him for most of that game and roughing him up.
So you think IQ was booed because he 'roughed up' Rankine last time they played, and IQ was the only one to overstep the mark so far that he deserved to be booed?

That's a leap, even for you.

So has it been confirmed that Darcy Moore was the one who reported the slur made by Rankin to the AFL?
It's rumoured that Maynard made the report.

These comments talking about Moore are just using it as an excuse to dunk on him, they just don't understand the situation.

So you reckon there was no causal relation between
1) Rankine getting banned for calling IQ a homophobic insult, and
2) Deadshit Crows fans booing IQ every time the ball was in his vicinity, even though his onfield conduct was utterly uncontroversial.

Got it.
Just adds to the drama and theatrics

Need controversy or it would be deadset boring

Infact the AFL encourages it in a backward way

FA. Loves players moving clubs gives the original supporters someone to boo when they move clubs bit of rough stuff gives supporters someone to boo players like green and the likes gives someone to boo

So you think IQ was booed because he 'roughed up' Rankine last time they played, and IQ was the only one to overstep the mark so far that he deserved to be booed?

People are looking for any excuse to absolve those who booed of any responsibility. Remember Adam Goodes?

"They're not booing him because of race, they're booing him because he's a flog."

Severe lack of critical thinking in this thread.

It's what I heard happened with the multiple Collingwood players targeting Rankine with what Houston did to Rankine last year and Quaynor was playing on Rankine and roughing him up. Why would anyone booed him when he isn't gay???

I don't even know what you're talking about now or what your actual point is.

Are you saying there's are mitigating reason to use a homophobic slur?

Can you explain the reason a homophobic f-word is used at all?

For those that say words are just words, what happens on the field should stay on the field, crowd pays so they can do what they want, no snitching/dobbing, etc.:
View attachment 2417413
Point stands, if they didnt dob then it would have been left on the footy field where it belonged, and this fan was none the wiser. Its only an issue because Collingwood wanted to make it an issue, and wanted the advantage of not having to play against Rankine.

I missed this, when did that happen?
Sorry it’s paywalled.

In summary, he said as President of the AFLPA he felt compelled to tell the Pie’s hierarchy, who then called Adelaide.

Point stands, if they didnt dob then it would have been left on the footy field where it belonged, and this fan was none the wiser. Its only an issue because Collingwood wanted to make it an issue, and wanted the advantage of not having to play against Rankine.
Mate you can't genuinely believe that's the reason? Please tell me you're having a laugh or trying to be funny.

There's no world in which you genuinely believe all of this happened because Collingwood didn't want to play against Rankine.

Plenty of niggles and scragging and taunting and retribution for past incidents (of which, by the way, involved Dan Houston on Izak Rankine, and not Isaac Quaynor for the record) and none of them involved a homophobic slur, much less on an unrelated player to the whole kerfuffle.

Yeah, maybe Quaynor was a bit too close in tagging or shutting down Rankine during the game - how many others taggers or players responsible for shutting down star players copped being called a f*****?

Speaks volumes, really.

NO TROLLS Rankine handed a 4 match suspension by the AFL integrity unit for a homophobic slur against opponent