Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Dattoli and Green being northern knights boys is an interesting consideration.
Great post....I love it when someone thinks outside the square. Couple of local boys. :thumbsu:

At the end of the day, Geelong have nothing of anything of any interest to us, so they can GAGF along with the filth. GCS reportedly not willing to part ways with any of their nepos or anything of any value, so they can EAD.

This will be an unpopular trade scenario, but I'd consider something like this with the Swans:

Dattoli, Green, 2026 1st >> Carlton >> Charlie, pick 20.

I actually like the thought of bringing in young talent as well as helping to secure points for Cody. Blues were reportedly keen on Dattoli leading into the draft, and Green was a 1st round draft pick - talented 204cm ruckman.

Swans get to keep their 'not negotiables', but I still reckon they'd baulk at this.

Sydney board rumour (unsourced) is they offered Florent + Logan McDonald + F2 which we knocked back.

They think that it's crazy that we would knock it back.

I would say that the difference between Charlie Curnow and Logan McDonald is far greater than Oli Florent and a pick that can't help us get Cody
That's seriously an awful deal. Swans fans are normally very reasonable so surprises me that they think that is even close to enough

Great post....I love it when someone thinks outside the square. Couple of local boys. :thumbsu:

At the end of the day, Geelong have nothing of anything of any interest to us, so they can GAGF along with the filth. GCS reportedly not willing to part ways with any of their nepos or anything of any value, so they can EAD.

This will be an unpopular trade scenario, but I'd consider something like this with the Swans:

I actually like the thought of bringing in young talent as well as helping to secure points for Cody. Blues were reportedly keen on Dattoli leading into the draft, and Green was a 1st round draft pick - talented 204cm ruckman.

Swans get to keep their 'not negotiables', but I still reckon they'd baulk at this.
I reckon Sam Wicks is worth working into it as we could use a reliable lockdown small defender too.

Did I hear right at brownlow that a cat farm/pub owner says they been hanging out with Ed and Charlie at their big barn ?
I'm sure I heard it.

The five stages of grief: Charlie Curnow edition:

1.) Denial: Charlie = Fake News!

2.) Anger: He’s a conditional, lazy campaigner and his manager is a flog!

3.) Bargaining: Walter, Humphrey, Rowell and 2 first rounders or we keep him!

4.) Depression: He’s going to end up at Geelong isn’t he?

5.) Acceptance: Finnbar Maley has some great VFL highlights - kid could be anything!

We’re about to hit stage 4.
Isn't there 7 stages. Not including the bigfooty stage of 'his legs just don't work properly anymore anyway' which we reached today

Sydney board rumour (unsourced) is they offered Florent + Logan McDonald + F2 which we knocked back.

I would say that the difference between Charlie Curnow and Logan McDonald is far greater than Oli Florent and a pick that can't help us get Cody
Logan McDonald, no thanks. Looks more like a bust than AFL quality.

The way GCS fans are talking up Walter and Humphrey is wearing thin. If we were to part with Curnow for one of those 2 alone, that's a significant risk. Potential vs Proven

Can I ask why are you so concerned about bottom 4 or bottom 2 next year?

We're not making finals with the outs we have so why the huge preference on finishing say 12th? What does that actually do for us?

I'd argue it is FAR worse to be stuck in that > bottom 4 & < top 8 bracket... it's essentially no man's land and it's where * have been for the better part of the last 20 years.

Because the distance from the bottom to the top is bigger than it has ever been.

We desperately, hopelessly need to raise our floor as a footy club. Since 2002 we have circled the drain and when we are bad, we are awful and everyone wants to leave and the fans turn on each other and...are you seriously happy to go back to the bottom 4?

For what? Another '66 game rebuild' that takes 8 years to get back to finals (that would be 2034 for anyone counting at home)? That is the path our club appears to be taking, though, and it is madness.

The clear difference between us and Essendon is that they don't have any good players outside Merrett (but tonnes of depth). We are the opposite - a good top end, but paper thin. And the one unique thing we can do is send out two Coleman medallists in the forward line, and have a duel Brownlow medallist leading the midfield.

I definitely do not want a complete rebuild ever again. I would much, much rather aim to just consolidate in the middle of the ladder, open up cap space and fill gaps, the way Collingwood and Geelong have done.

Is ryan houlihan still involved with the father son program? We could seriously use his elite delivery to forward targets.

That deal is absolutely garbage lmao
No Way Wow GIF by Adele Morse - Stoned Fox Official

Pick 9 in a shallow draft, a guy that is one more concussion away from forced retirement & a 27yo that played VFL for large part of the year.

Dude…
McInerney is their wing not T.McCartin the full back with concussion issues.

But I agree, unless it's a pick that guarantees us to go ahead of a Dean bid they can bugger off.

It’s all in our hands.
Unless someone pops up with a deal that knocks wright off his seat, then Charlie ain’t going anywhere!
It’s that simple imo
It has to involve top line players.
Period.
Exactly, Charlie’s mgt and media can say whatever they want, the reality is that the club has all the power. I doubt Charlie gets traded.

Not against something like this.

Banking a mid range future first alleviates a lot of stress matching bids for Cody Walker (a bird in the hand)
Think I would prefer to GIVE F2 rather than 2025 end of first round if something extra was required back. We have a few potential acquisitions to pay for.

Two best 22 or future best 22 players would be somewhat adequate. Dattoli and Green good prospects small forward/mid and a highly rated young ruckman

McInerney is their wing not T.McCartin the full back with concussion issues.

But I agree, unless it's a pick that guarantees us to go ahead of a Dean bid they can bugger off.

Do we need to get ahead of it? I believe one of the ITK's said a week or two ago that the plan was to only take Dean and Ison and a later pick in the draft?