AFL Grand Final 2025 AFL Grand Final - Congratulations Brisbane 2025 Premiers 🏆

Great player. Didn't deserve the norm Smith today though.
I think the Lions backline won them the game with their constant pressure, and especially the unheralded guys in Lester & Gardiner as they kept contesting hard all day, but I would have given the medal to Harris Andrews as he stopped so many Geelong attacks and that allowed the Lions to rebound from their backline continuosly. A special mention to Starcevich as he was a part of that as well. Just a pity he had to go off the ground as he loves a contest and probably gets concussed so often because of that.

I agree. When the game was in the balance Andrews stood tall.

Lachie Neale had 17 disposals in one half after coming on as the substitute. Only five Geelong players touched the ball more times than Neale

Fantastic win by the Lions.
What a club.
Zac Bailey could’ve had an all time game if he’d kicked straight.

Lachie Neale had 17 disposals in one half after coming on as the substitute. Only five Geelong players touched the ball more times than Neale
As I said pre-game, the dude owned the opposition with a broken foot or whatever in last years granny. If he can physically stay on the park, he can play through a lot and still own.

Norm Smith votes …

Will Ashcroft - 13
Harris Andrews - 6
Zac Bailey - 5
Jaspa Fletcher - 3
Dayne Zorko - 2
Hugh McCluggage - 1
I thought Charlie C might’ve snagged a vote or 2.
He got them going when the game was still in the balance.

Chris Scott starts his press conference saying not wanting to sound like sour grapes then goes on complaining about the sub rule. Just be humble and concede Brisbane were much better.

It could have definitely gone to several Brisbane players.
McCluggage yes but Cameron no, as he doesn`t work hard enough off the ball, and I know he played better in the second half but so did Brisbane and it helped him heaps as the pressure was all on Geel by then. He finished off what his team mates started, but he goes missing too often imo......

Will Ashcroft must have photos...better players than him last year. Better players than him this year. Can obviously play...but others had more influence on the outcome than him.

Harris should have won it for mine.

Will Ashcroft must have photos...better players than him last year. Better players than him this year. Can obviously play...but others had more influence on the outcome than him.

Harris should have won it for mine.

I didn’t see last year, but he was a worthy winner this year when there were no real standouts.

Although I personally would also have voted for Andrews first.

In 2026 Brisbane will add some quality footballers in Allan , Draper and another young gun in Daniel Annabel.
They’ll also regain DoeDee, Payne, Coleman, Hipwood and Berry. The Lions will be a scary proposition in 2026, it will be a 3 peat for the Lions.

Yep. Easily. Collingwood and Geelong can't match them. Maybe Sydney could in the middle, but they've got too many holes in other areas to really trouble them on gf day. Hawks, even if they get Merrett, will have trouble.

A lot to play out... but that's the way I see it going.

Yep. Easily. Collingwood and Geelong can't match them. Maybe Sydney could in the middle, but they've got too many holes in other areas to really trouble them on gf day. Hawks, even if they get Merrett, will have trouble.

A lot to play out... but that's the way I see it going.
And it’s not just brilliance.

That first half was high pressure and pretty tough.

Someone was whinging about Ashcroft winning the norm but that kid is brains, skill and brave. The tougher the game got the better he was.

And now there’s two of the campaigners.

They could be this good for 5 years.

I am going to watch the 1995 GF on Tuesday for the 30th anniversary. Does that count as Geelong losing two GF’s in a week?

That was the week Butch Vig’s ‘Garbage’ & Bjorks ‘Post’ came out.

I had taken a week off from Rupert Murdoch’s hell machine & my beautiful ex- partner took a trip to Falls Creek.

She got stuck up there,

& I had the best goddamn 3 days of my life.

I’m such a bitch.

Someone was whinging about Ashcroft winning the norm but that kid is brains, skill and brave. The tougher the game got the better he was.

I gather you're directing that at me...whinge? Good one mate.

He can play...but take him out of the game, I don't reckon it makes as much of a difference as taking Andrews or Bailey out. I reckon they had more impact on the game than him.

And on Ashcroft...any danger a club puts a hard tag on him? Runs around like he's got leprosy.

AFL Grand Final 2025 AFL Grand Final - Congratulations Brisbane 2025 Premiers 🏆