List Mgmt. 2025 Trade/FA Thread (Cont’d)

The players responsible for that sustainable relavance are coming close to the end of their playing careers. Outside of nick, we don't really have any talented youth coming through.

I would rather us be able to hit on multiple mids in the draft then spend that draft capital on Humphrey. That is just my personal feeling.

If Collingwood get him then I will get behind him and support him , I just would like us to not shy away from being aggressive in the draft .
If we want to stay up, regenerating through one first round pick in the teens a year isn't a sustainable model. We have to get above par for our picks and salary to regenerate the list - that's done through trade and FA.

More than happy to trade our 2026 and 2027 Firsts, don't think they accept it though.

Really hope Bobby doesn't get forced out to facilitate a deal.

I think the changing academy rules will make our future 1st round picks very attractive to them.

The fact that we haven't heard anything from butters means that he in all likelihood is going to play at port next year and wait for FA.

Really need to save the salary cap for him, he is worth a 10 year $27 mill type deal.
Stop it

The fact that we haven't heard anything from butters means that he in all likelihood is going to play at port next year and wait for FA.

Really need to save the salary cap for him, he is worth a 10 year $27 mill type deal.
He said mid year that he's staying at Port for 2026.

I'll never understand players having a preference for one club one year, then another the next

What changed in that year?

How does Trac go from wanting to play for Collingwood - the team he barracked for, has mates at, trains next door to where he trains right now (so his life doesn't have to change at all), to wanting to uproot his entire life to play for Gold Coast?

Why wasn't it Gold Coast last year? if "weather" is a reason, that didn't change in there last year. If "escaping the bubble" is the reason, that also hasn't changed in the last year

Always find that stuff odd

Why would you want to live in this shit hole Melbourne?

Footy bubble that's crime riddled and crap weather, run by idiots.

GC is so much more appealing.

Why would you want to live in this shit hole Melbourne?

Footy bubble that's crime riddled and crap weather, run by idiots.

GC is so much more appealing.
Maybe if you like art, culture, food, being a genuine celebrity (unlike in QLD), and all the near infinite things Melbourne does better than the Gold Coast

I’m confused. You don’t want to trade for humphries and risk our future picks, but want butters who would cost even more? Port are matching any offer

If we want to stay up, regenerating through one first round pick in the teens a year isn't a sustainable model. We have to get above par for our picks and salary to regenerate the list - that's done through trade and FA.
I would be ok with sliding down couple of ladder spots for 2-3 years if it means we stock up on talented youths.That is my personal feeling,nl guess time will tell.

I would prefer winning another flag. Tassie coming in is going to completely bugger up the upcoming drafts and I’d rather not have to deal with that much

I’m confused. You don’t want to trade for humphries and risk our future picks, but want butters who would cost even more? Port are matching any offer
Of course they are - unless the contract is something astronomical from a minnow club who have unmatchable cap space.

Sliding down the ladder means you become less appealing for free good free agents. You also play the draft lotto. Outside the top 10 it’s very much a lottery. Not a sound business model for me

I’m confused. You don’t want to trade for hunphries and risk our future picks, but want butters who would cost even more? Port are matching any offer
Butters is the one exception. He is top 5 player in the competition.

The difference in level between Humphry and butters is night and day.

It is a speculation with Humphry, with butters you know you are getting a top 5 player.

Bailey Humphrey is a legitimate star in the making.

21 years of age, 186cm, is tough as nails and can kick snags from 60m out. Give him a full midfield role and resting forward and he will be a game changer. Think Cam Rayner if he could put it together for 4 quarters.

We have to make it happen if it’s a possibility.

List Mgmt. 2025 Trade/FA Thread (Cont’d)