Traded Jack Steele [Traded to Melbourne for 2027 R3 (Melb)]

Would be pretty interested in him for the crows if he was cheap. Any reports on his salary and what the Saints would expect in a trade?
Probaby a 3rd rounder.

If Steele requests a trade, it will be to a club of his choice.

Pretty sad way to treat a loyal servant and captain of the club who has done the hard yards when the club has been trash. And there’s been no suggestion of attitude or culture issues because by him.

I’d hate it if my club did this.

Pretty sad way to treat a loyal servant and captain of the club who has done the hard yards when the club has been trash. And there’s been no suggestion of attitude or culture issues because by him.

Low quality troll even by your standards, jog on mate.

FWIW, this is how the Herald Sun summarised the 2025 salaries of your highest paid players.

View attachment 2445353

Article came out about a month ago.

Going from ~$1m to "very affordable" in 12 months would be quite a dramatic front-loading.

I'm sure that's approximately accurate over the life of the contract but I doubt it's accurate for 2025 specifically. Personally I don't trust footy journalists to get numbers right, they've been wrong too much.

It is smart list management from the Saints and shows that the clubs have some push back in a world of the likes of Charlie Curnow and Christian Petracca signing long term, big money deals and then deciding they don't want to play at that club anymore.

Gives both sides (players and clubs) a bit to ponder moving forward.

Watch this space for trade clauses etc being built in to long deals, on both sides.

Meh, this stuff happens. People fall out of love, sometimes they stay together for the sake of the kids, sometimes they break up.

What be completely honest with him and give him the option.

Yeah I would love it if the club lied to my face about my role with the team moving forward and I expected to be starting mid and found myself at Casey fields instead on a saturday

How could a club do that to a captain?

Odd. I absolutely rate him, but last two years has looked off. Has he struggled with injuries? He seemed to lose a little aggression which I feel turned him from a top 10 player in the league (don't @ me I am a huge fan and I get people won't agree and this isn't the thread for a debate) to like a good midfielder

Is it money pushing him out or saints looking that in 3 years he's either gonna demand a heap of money or he will fall off that hard he won't be a best 22?

Surprising to see him being pushed out. I thought Ross loved him.
I just don't think he's going to be best 22 next year the way his form has been tracking.

Probably gonna make it hard to beat 22 anywhere, but he has just fallen off a cliff the last couple of years.

Maybe it's an issue with his body and he might be able to find form again or maybe not.

Odd. I absolutely rate him, but last two years has looked off. Has he struggled with injuries? He seemed to lose a little aggression which I feel turned him from a top 10 player in the league (don't @ me I am a huge fan and I get people won't agree and this isn't the thread for a debate) to like a good midfielder

Is it money pushing him out or saints looking that in 3 years he's either gonna demand a heap of money or he will fall off that hard he won't be a best 22?
We've been completely honest with him and told him it's very likely he's not best 22 next year.

IM not sure that's a bad thing

I'm sure that's approximately accurate over the life of the contract but I doubt it's accurate for 2025 specifically. Personally I don't trust footy journalists to get numbers right, they've been wrong too much.

I think its reasonable to assume the reason this is happening is to relieve cap space.

Which means he's on a decent wicket.

I doubt you'd be ditching Steele if he was on 400k next year.

In any case, the salary will dictate what you get in terms of picks.

If its closer to 900k, would any club actually wear that?

Surprising to see him being pushed out. I thought Ross loved him.
I reckon he's loving the future of Hugo Garcia a bit more.

I'm surprised they're pushing Steele out, but not surprisingly Ross is being pretty ruthless with the list. Wilkie almost left, they're bringing in TDK (at the expense of Marshall), they're bringing in Silvagni, and they're targeting a bunch of other names like Liam Ryan, Flanders, etc.

It doesn't set a great culture that a club pays overs at the expense of loyal servants, but it does shake up the list with a "no one is safe" mindset to get more wins on the board.

Its the fall off imo.

Garcia will overtake him soon

I think its reasonable to assume the reason this is happening is to relieve cap space.

Which means he's on a decent wicket.

I doubt you'd be ditching Steele if he was on 400k next year.

In any case, the salary will dictate what you get in terms of picks.

If its closer to 900k, would any club actually wear that?
We paid 83% of the cap this year and had to front load others (Steele Wilkie and Marshall) to get 95%.

I feel there are 3 options for Steele, stay at the saints and play fwd/mid roles, to go the Eagles and get paid, be a mentor, or Crows as a contender (fills a need for them)

Yeah I’d take him at the Crows

More of a stopgap than the star we need, but he’s more reliable than Berry, even now in his later years

You guys just spent half a decade trying to get Laird out of the middle only to put in a worse banged up version.