List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
Boxshall and Garcia are unproven, Macrae doesn’t have a great deal of versatility to play other roles and Windhager has never had high impact as a contested footballer.

If we’re going to push into the finals mix, we need someone who can do that at a high level.
Grunt work not the issue, more like polish a priority

St Kilda: put in best offers to trade for Flanders and Ryan quickly in the first part of trade period
Media: they paid overs
Media: why didn’t they get something coming back the other way for Flanders?
Media: Flanders is worth a 2RDP
Media: Why are St Kilda in such a rush to get a deal done for Ryan? They should draw out negotiations and get a better deal
Fans: ahahaha! Ripped off!

St Kilda: take the same approach to the Aleer trade
GWS: no
St Kilda: ok. We’re out.
Media: WAR CRIMINALS. TRY THEM IN THE HAGUE!
McCartney: My middle name is empathy.
Gubby: … and who are you?
I'm sure that we can all speculate. My own pet theory today, Sunday, is that the media hype about our trading spree triggered Aleer's side to ask for more. And that coincided with us wanting to pay less and the JSos deal. I suspect that the fallout will hurt us for a week or two, and that is enough to hurt a bit. It shouldn't, but I suspect it will. But we have done OK so far withe the trade eason's catch, or maybe that is enough.

ROWAN MARSHALL - While there's been defiance on St Kilda's end, could talks recommence before Wednesday as Geelong continues its chase?
LEEK ALEER -Aleer had his world turned upside down when St Kilda pulled out of what had previously been amicable negotiations with Greater Western Sydney around a deal last Thursday. midfielders.

Could the media possibly be ANY more melodramatic FFS?

Sheesh, my tolerance level for these idiots has plummeted even further. And I wouldn’t have thought it was possible.

Grunt work not the issue, more like polish a priority
I think Flanders and Nas have that covered, but will agree to disagree on the grunt work.

We’ll be going up against Rowell, Dunkley, Atkins’s Tom Green & Brayshaw types if we want and those listed earlier aren’t at the level to curb their impact. I think Steele can if we retain him..

Rewatching a classic movie on a lazy sunday and i feel like all our list management team need to do is release this quote as a press statement on Monday

View attachment 2454062
j8Hf1QW.gif

Don’t care

Lose them or don’t play for us

Going blind is a small price to pay to wear our jumper
How rigid would you have to be to forbid a player from playing because he needs to wear goggles for his sight? Its not the 1950s FFS

I dont care if he's got an eyepatch and a tattoo of a John thomas on his forehead a baller is a baller

A fit and firing Steele will be an absolute weapon for us.
The bloke is a tackling machine and has high footy nous.
The mentoring aspect cannot be under estimated to our young group either.
He’ll have to reinvent himself as either a back (aka Zorko) or forward (aka Dangerfield). I think FWD is his thing.

Imagine this hypothetical world

Suns go and get Jamarra who is absolutely excessive to needs.

Walter then asks for a trade because he see’s potential limited opportunities

Jamarra flames out

Ben King moves in FA next off season

Suns are left with just Ethan Reid

Imagine this hypothetical world

Suns go and get Jamarra who is absolutely excessive to needs.

Walter then asks for a trade because he see’s potential limited opportunities

Jamarra flames out

Ben King moves in FA next off season

Suns are left with just Ethan Reid
The AFL will give them another 45 academy picks to make up for it. They have nothing to fear.

Geelong are wasting our time, its better to keep Marshall if the best we'll get for him are a couple of blah picks. We can do that deal next year.

Im not so crazy about Marshall and Steele being cultural leaders, i dont think either is great at digging a team out of the trenches, but when they are up and about they are magnetic.

They both have roles to play in the team that make them handy to keep on and better than a pick in this draft anyway. It probably means Arie and Byrnes will have to find new clubs.

I really hope we don't cave in on Marshall and take unders. It will be a good test of the Club's new resolve. I'm fed up with clubs spoon feeding Geelong with good players to fill their list gaps, then everyone applauding them for always being in contention every year. More often than not they offer up ordinary picks in return.
I'd actually love to see other clubs banding together and targeting Geelong players with mega contracts and giving them draft picks in return. Except for Tim Kelly it hardly ever happens. Let The Cats take those draft picks to the draft and wait 5 years for the kids to mature like most other clubs have to.
Let's see if they remain perennial finalists then without the likes of Danger, Cameron and Bailey Smith falling into their laps. Not to mention the luxury of father-son Xmas presents they've received over the years.
They simply don't give up their players in their prime so thoughts of a SDK trade are fanciful.
I reckon they can't win it without a decent ruck next year and they know it. FFS Saints don't give them one. Make them go to the draft and pick up a kid or get Soldo.

I have a source (not entirely reliable I will admit) that has said we have offered GC our F1, a F1 we get off Geelong (if they bend and accept our counter for Marshall) and Butler for him.

Take with a massive grain of salt because half of what this source says turns out to be wrong. But he’s had a few hits lately.

Still good discussion though.

How rigid would you have to be to forbid a player from playing because he needs to wear goggles for his sight? Its not the 1950s FFS

I dont care if he's got an eyepatch and a tattoo of a John thomas on his forehead a baller is a baller
But it looks dumb and he’s an arrogant American :(

I have a source (not entirely reliable I will admit) that has said we have offered GC our F1, a F1 we get off Geelong (if they bend and accept our counter for Marshall) and Butler for him.

Take with a massive grain of salt because half of what this source says turns out to be wrong. But he’s had a few hits lately.

Still good discussion though.
GC would be mad to do it.
But with that feckin club you never know.

This is likely a pisstake but itd be ****ing hilarious if we've got our team emcee being high profile enough to jet off to barcelona to negotiate with pissed off opposition players 😂😂

View attachment 2454183
So still a chance for Peace In Our Time 🙏

sOwDC8p.jpeg

GC would be mad to do it.
But with that flipping club you never know.
So old mate tells me that we were originally going to offer all that, plus 7 for him and Flanders combined.

Obviously - because Geelong didn’t agree to our terms right away - we decided to split the trade up to make sure we got at least Sam before another club could swoop in.

So old mate tells me that we were originally going to offer all that, plus 7 for him and Flanders combined.

Obviously - because Geelong didn’t agree to our terms right away - we decided to split the trade up to make sure we got at least Sam before another club could swoop in.
All hypothetically ofc, but on principle I love it.

Because if we really want to sure the side up another gun key forward in the right age bracket is what we need.

The argument for keeping Marshall is for forward presence, but he’s not as important otherwise.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V