AFL Introduces Wild Card Round

Introduction of the free against player kicking ball out of bounds on the full.
Brian Kekovich sadly died recently. He kicked 4 of Carlton's 7 goals in their 1968 GF win over Essendon.

I found myself watching some highlights of the that GF as a result. It seemed bizarre watching the ball being kicked out on the full and then being thrown in.

The overreaction to this has been insane, I'm not for the move necessarily, but I'm not against it either. I really don't think it's as deep as so many are making it out to be, it's two more games of football to me, that's all I care about.

People will go on about "tradition" (who cares about tradition?) and the integrity of the game, but like the NBA Play In, people will hate it at first, but in a few years it will be an accepted part of the league and nobody will care, it won't effect viewership or ticket sales, people will still show up and watch.

You might as well accept it's happening, because it's not going away.

I'm surprised the backlash on this, I think it's good for the game in many respects. What I like about it is the top 8 finals system stays the same after these qualification games.

Also it:
  • fills in that empty weekend, which use to give other competitors free air time to attract footy fans to their sport.
  • it means more teams are in the season for longer, less dead rubbers.
  • it means the top 6 are rewarded more handsomely.
  • it's two additional big games.
  • it helps an imbalanced fixture from getting teams into the top 8 finals, that only did so coz they got a few easier games than team 10.
  • it means teams entering the finals series top 8 won't be busts, like Essendon in the years they staggered into finals.

So it has many benefits. I remember the sooking about gather round being similar to this a couple of years ago, then when that was a success everybody pretended like they liked it all along, this will be the same.

The main problem is Dillon, people don't respect him and he couldn't sell water in the desert, so every idea he now announces people already think it's shit, coz he can't sell it to the fanbase.

There's also this thing called "nostalgia", where people fondly remember the positives and have blocked out their memories of the negatives.

I know modern football is better in some regards.

I also know some modern rules are absolute dog shit and not needed.

This is one of those cases where it's an absolute poxy idea that adds nothing to the game other than being a cash grab.

Not at all. endless amount of rule changes over the last 20 years and not a peep from the fans. No other sports fans would allow that. My point is simply that the fans don't care what the sport is or looks like. They follow their club and it matters not what the rules or the game is.
Supporters of the world game would riot is they changed rules around the backpass to the keeper, tackling from behind, the offside rule, video refereeing.

And handball that is judged differently from one competition to the next

No we don't have to accept it.

The fans let the league know that AFLX was garbage and they had to listen.
Difference is that fans are going to show up regardless if their team makes the wildcard round, as I said, NBA fans hated the Play In at first, now nobody cares, it's just part of the league.

Plus there's a big difference between a meaningless pre-season competition and a change to the finals series, Wildcard Round is here to stay. Two extra games of football, I'm happy.

Difference is that fans are going to show up regardless if their team makes the wildcard round, as I said, NBA fans hated the Play In at first, now nobody cares, it's just part of the league.

People do still care, they still think it's a garbage idea.

As do many players.

Plus there's a big difference between a meaningless pre-season competition and a change to the finals series, Wildcard Round is here to stay. Two extra games of football, I'm happy.

Teams of shit teams don't want two extra games at the end of the season.

The fatigue of that season has well and truly set in. They want the season over.

Not drawn further out to milk them for more money.

People do still care, they still think it's a garbage idea.

As do many players.

Teams of shit teams don't want two extra games at the end of the season.

The fatigue of that season has well and truly set in. They want the season over.

Not drawn further out to milk them for more money.
They really don't care much anymore, the majority of normal fans have well and truly moved on, it is what it is, it hasn't destroyed the playoff system like many thought it would, the vocal minority online will whine about it here and there, but the average fan doesn't care.

And to each their own mate, you're entitled to your opinion, it's all subjective at the end of the day though. Much like the NBA, people might be annoyed, but eventually people will realise it's not worth getting upset about and they'll accept it for what it is. It's really not that deep to begin with.

Brian Kekovich sadly died recently. He kicked 4 of Carlton's 7 goals in their 1968 GF win over Essendon.

I found myself watching some highlights of the that GF as a result. It seemed bizarre watching the ball being kicked out on the full and then being thrown in.

I was at that GF.

They really don't care much anymore, the majority of normal fans have well and truly moved on, it is what it is, it hasn't destroyed the playoff system like many thought it would, the vocal minority online will whine about it here and there, but the average fan doesn't care.

They do care. The average NBA fan though doesn't attend NBA games though so their disinterest costs less money.

And to each their own mate, you're entitled to your opinion, it's all subjective at the end of the day though. Much like the NBA, people might be annoyed, but eventually people will realise it's not worth getting upset about and they'll accept it for what it is. It's really not that deep to begin with.

It's really shit and pointless to begin with. People will accept it's a stupid idea straight from the brains of the morons who run the comp.

I've not seen one person in real life show any excitement for this or think it's a good idea.

Another poster in this thread made a suggestion which initially sounded even more offbeat than this stupid 'wildcard' idea.

However, after doing some research, the suggestion has way more clout than first imagined, it involved using the old 'Final Five' format.

If you divide the Top 10 into two groups (odds - 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 & evens - 2, 4,6, 8, 10) and then follow the old format, the winners of the two groups would play off in the GF.

This final series would be played over a 5-week period with 13-matches in total, the 'wildcard' system only has 11.

This revised system gives the AFL the extra revenue it is sadly chasing plus has a better structure to it overall.

They do care. The average NBA fan though doesn't attend NBA games though so their disinterest costs less money.

It's really shit and pointless to begin with. People will accept it's a stupid idea straight from the brains of the morons who run the comp.

I've not seen one person in real life show any excitement for this or think it's a good idea.
The amount of whinging over the Play-In has significantly decreased over the years, it is nowhere near as prominent as it used to be, of course there will be people who dislike it, but it's there to stay, so there's nothing productive to be gained by whinging about it now.

And I'm sure that plenty dislike the Wildcard Round too, but it won't be going anywhere, it's going to be something that's here to stay, and will continue that way once more teams come in. People will see the whinging is futile and stop worrying about it.

The amount of whinging over the Play-In has significantly decreased over the years, it is nowhere near as prominent as it used to be, of course there will be people who dislike it, but it's there to stay, so there's nothing productive to be gained by whinging about it now.

And I'm sure that plenty dislike the Wildcard Round too, but it won't be going anywhere, it's going to be something that's here to stay, and will continue that way once more teams come in. People will see the whinging is futile and stop worrying about it.

You're the perfect example of how politicians and organisations keep getting away with making dumb decision after dumb decision, to the detriment of the people/fans.

You must have apathy coursing through your veins.

The people voicing their disapproval aren't whingers. They're the ones holding the clowns in charge accountable.

Hmmmm. That's almost enbough to bring me aorunfd.
Six is, in my view, the right amount of finalists. Eight is too many, only borderline acceptable because the fixture is so compromised.
Exactly and thats what we now have. A final six. 7-10 can do some damage but they cant win it.

For 7-10 its about building hope for the next season and finishing off with a bang in a big game rather then a whimper as currently for 9-10.

Exactly and thats what we now have. A final six. 7-10 can do some damage but they cant win it.

For 7-10 its about building hope for the next season and finishing off with a bang in a big game rather then a whimper as currently for 9-10.
That's just not true, though. If the 10th ranked team beats the 7th ranked team, it counts as a finals win.

If you finish 10th on the ladder, it counts as making finals.

It's not a final 6, it's a final 10.

AFL Introduces Wild Card Round