Warren Tredrea (Football discussion only)

Absolutely, and that's what he's ultimately been sacked for. He'd absolutely share a lot of that guy's viewpoints, but I don't think his uncritical position is necessarily because he fully agrees with them. But I think mostly Tredrea is obsessed with "free speech" and doesn't want to be seen by his cooker supporterbase to be impinging on that. His whole mantra for his podcast is that people can come on and air their honest viewpoints and he'll nod along.

He's basically trying to be Joe Rogan.

I think he likes a bit of controversy for clicks as well. He's not an idiot. The my yes be yes stuff was an intentional move to show his cooker followers that he'll stand up to the man.

He's ultimately decided that not giving an inch of that away is more important than his position at the club, and he's done that while David Koch is still here stinking up the place and there is so much work to be done to fix the systemic problems we face. Thanks Tredders.

He got sacked not for airing and publicising the comments made by AJ Roberts, but rather, because he refused to apologise to the Club, the Board, and anyone else who took offense to the comments made by Roberts.

An apology would have kept him on the Board.

My limited understanding was that the Club did not articulate specifically what they wanted an apology for, and Tredders presumed (rightly or wrongly) that they wanted him to directly apologise for the comments made by Roberts. The idea of apologising for someone else's comments wasn't something he was willing to do, hence the breakdown in communication leading to his dismissal.

Assuming that's July this year, you'd have lost money on every one of those "investments" at this point, excluding the fees and charges for the "crypto broker" lol
Its like that old joke though... paraphrasing...

"Son, for your 21st birthday I saved up $22,000 and bought you your very own bitcoin!"

"Dad I can't believe you bought me something worth $47,000 thank you so much."

"No worries, just make sure that if you do cash in that $9,000 investment you put it in the bank. Or hold on to it, I mean sure its worth $108,000 now but it could be worth even more one day."

He got sacked not for airing and publicising the comments made by AJ Roberts, but rather, because he refused to apologise to the Club, the Board, and anyone else who took offense to the comments made by Roberts.

An apology would have kept him on the Board.

My limited understanding was that the Club did not articulate specifically what they wanted an apology for, and Tredders presumed (rightly or wrongly) that they wanted him to directly apologise for the comments made by Roberts. The idea of apologising for someone else's comments wasn't something he was willing to do, hence the breakdown in communication leading to his dismissal.

I'm not sure he would have apologised even if the club made it crystal clear to him. A lot of how he positions himself now is about telling his truth and not being forced to do things he doesn't agree with.

I also think there is a lot of truth in TeeKray 's point that Tredders was happy enough to leave the board at this stage. I can't accept that if he were desperate to stay on the board that it would have played out how it did.

Maybe he considers his mission accomplished? Maybe he saw the writing on the wall and saw being removed as a better option than being voted out in 12 months.

I'm not sure he would have apologised even if the club made it crystal clear to him. A lot of how he positions himself now is about telling his truth and not being forced to do things he doesn't agree with.

I also think there is a lot of truth in TeeKray 's point that Tredders was happy enough to leave the board at this stage. I can't accept that if he were desperate to stay on the board that it would have played out how it did.

Maybe he considers his mission accomplished? Maybe he saw the writing on the wall and saw being removed as a better option than being voted out in 12 months.

I agree with this mostly. It's hard to have any idea as to what he was thinking regarding the apology outside of what I've already stated, because outside of footy matters, he's operating on a very different wavelength to the majority of the general population.

Without going into specifics, I'm sure if both sides had their time again, they would have handled this reasonably differently, particularly with respect to their communication.

Only things in your post I would suggest otherwise are that if he thought he could continue to create real, productive change at the Club, he probably would have fought harder to stay on the Board, and that given he was willing to lose his position in this way, I highly doubt he would have even sought to be re-elected had he made it through his entire initial term.

Sitting in a boardroom for hours on end listening to Koch, Cardone, and Ransom waffle on versus spending some quality time catching rays on your taint.

I know what I'd choose.

The vaccines were trash, lets be real. I obviously am not an antivaxx all my kids get their vaccinations, dogs, cats and i get the flu vax and all my others blah blah blah but this one was clearly not tested appropriately. I get it was rushed through for reasons of pandemic (i even had three doses of pfizer) but lets not pretend it wasnt a bit wonky. My surgeon was even unsure if it played a role in the rapid development of bowel cancer. There is heaps we don't know yet.

Lol he was so right about the vaccines though

Found out an old mate had his legs amputated recently because of clots from the vaccinations.

Beats having the sniffles I guess? Or not?
The vaccines were trash, lets be real. I obviously am not an antivaxx all my kids get their vaccinations, dogs, cats and i get the flu vax and all my others blah blah blah but this one was clearly not tested appropriately. I get it was rushed through for reasons of pandemic (i even had three doses of pfizer) but lets not pretend it wasnt a bit wonky. My surgeon was even unsure if it played a role in the rapid development of bowel cancer. There is heaps we don't know yet.
It’s always an anecdote or a friend of a friend.

I’ve got my own criticisms of how the pandemic was managed, but the vaccine rollout being disastrous for peoples’ health in meaningful numbers doesn’t seem to be supported by the evidence.

It’s always an anecdote or a friend of a friend.

I’ve got my own criticisms of how the pandemic was managed, but the vaccine rollout being disastrous for peoples’ health in meaningful numbers doesn’t seem to be supported by the evidence.

It's not a friend of a friend though. It's a man I know personally and interacted with.

It's always a dismissal or downplaying or disagreeing with things said that don't suit the views you hold.

maxresdefault.jpg

Warren Tredrea (Football discussion only)