Training Saints preseason 2026

That one ok, so you've forgotten about RTB's thoughts on Hill re- his lack of posessions when RTB first came back to the club. He stated that our team needed to look for Hill more.
So, yes he generally gets on the end of chains.
If Hill is the one we are relying on to set up the chain then we are in a hellava big load of trouble.
And here was me thinking it was Brett

Just rewatched the last quarter.

While Nas rightfully got all the kudos for his last minute heroics, we don’t win that game without Hally, Maso, Windy & Hunter Clark.

It was those 4 that got us close enough for Nas to do what he did.
You need to throw Coops in there- set up a goal, then kicked two inspiration goals himself.

While Nas rightfully got all the kudos for his last minute heroics, we don’t win that game without Hally, Maso, Windy & Hunter Clark.

Agreed. And with all disrespect to Melbourne, we don’t win that game against any half-decent top-8 side, regardless of the last-quarter heroics.

Credit to the boys for the effort, although Melbourne were absolutely putrid.

The thing is with players like Hugo, if we stay fit, he may be left out early. But injuries occur. Once he get in, its up to him to make it impossible to leave out. Competition for all positions.
Hasn't been like this for many along time at the Saints.

I'm expecting to see him line up against the pies in the first game.

It’s uncanny 🤷‍♂️

AdKPDiB.jpeg

Cinderella Story.

Garcia is a good prospect and having a good preseason.

But I do think others are having more noticable impact in the match sim and at training so we might be at the point where 'good' isnt enough to crack into the starting midfield if we remain healthy. It's a much better place to have the list in.

Garcia vs Phillipou is an interesting one. Phillipou most likely has a higher ceiling, but I also think he's less likely to put it together. I'd be very surprised if Garcia doesn't end up a very good AFL midfielder.

If Phillipou makes it to the to his absolute peak he's a unicorn, he's got X factor oozing out of him, tall, scoring threat etc.

Hugo is a different type. He's more your Lauchie Neale traditional midfielder type who will do everything at maximum effort and drive. He seems to have the drive to succeed naturally. The rest will come down to how much he can develop his game to be more than an inside mid. He already looks better after getting games in 2025.

Neale looked a bit like a very good high possession mid at Freo the difference was the 10% on top that comes to the better players in the comp where he can push himself to impact when everyone else is starting to drop off. That really kicked in mid career.

Happy to have both. Phillipou is probably easier to feed in even if he is quiet because he is a utility type that can play a variety of roles so probably gets more chances. Hugo needs inside mid or high HF I imagine and we now have heaps of competition for spots.

Is glacial, Stocker.

Do many on here have Dard Ball Get mate Ronnie in their regular 23? Maybe not 'best' but who you actually think will be selected each week?

He was given 17 games last year. He must be rated a lot higher inside the club than outside.

Garcia seems to me to have a higher ceiling than a Windhager type, at least as a midfielder. More breakaway speed, a tackling machine, a clearance specialist and I think we will see over time that his disposal is actually a fair bit better than Windy's. He used it well in the back part of the year and looked far better than earlier in the year when he lacked composure. He's competing with a bunch of players for probably the fourth midfield spot, but he'll get a good run at it at some point.

What makes you think that the club sees Pou as a p/time mid.

I think they see him as a full time mid long term but in-between they obviously play him across CHF/ high HF. Just from everything the club has said so far.

Steele was actually pretty good from memory too but I haven't rewatched it.

And Sharman too.

As usual? You obviously didn't read my previous message stating Hill's sneaky, dribbling goal as one inspiration for the win.
When we are losing games, Hill's non-tackling can be a real issue.
When we are winning he gets on the end of chains.
But he's not that much of an important cog in the machine, especially now with our emerging talent.
Get games into them, gotta be looking beyond Hill now.
But, it was right to give him & Wood the extensions they did, because both are great role models & we have better depth in the list now.

Wood and Hill are still valuable contributors. If they break down we have cover but they most likely play a lot of footy still.

We just can't see an act without a narrative and a context. If Hill does something it has to be put into a context and the 'Hill narrative' . i sometimes feel like i am a troll for pointing out good things unpopular players do. Anyway, he is definitely in te sunset now so everyone's wishes will come true soon enough.

Hill has been seen positively since Lyon came back on here I reckon. As a clubman and a player he has won most of us over. He was always a cherry on top type and not a key piece. Richo and Ratts didn't really know how to get the best out of him.

Sincs training with the midfield group at times is hardly a surprise as he has had rotations through the midfield for some time now. A bit more time when we had a lot of mids out. So he needs to know how to play with them and also with our new ruck TDK.

However I would be surprised if in 2026 Sincs is played mainly as a mid. HB is where he really shines.

The attacking HBFs are pretty much mids like high HF and wings now. It's a running brigade and they get back to patch up space but their role is more aligned with attack than defence.

I wouldn't imagine that there won't be at least one or two of Nas, Flanders or Sincs back at anytime. Lyon's whole game seems to generate of HB. Not sure he'll completely redesign that now.

W
And Sharman too.
actually a fantastic effort from quite a few in the last, but we also had a fair bit of luck with at least 4 goals. Hill and Cooper each kicked a goal out of their butts, Higgo draws a 50, and finally a chaotic 6 6 6.
But you make your own luck as they say.

Garcia is going to have to do everything the hard way in his career...

Atm he's behind Flanders, Macrae, Nas, Hall, Windy for centre square minutes.

For point of difference minutes he's behind Pou, Henry, Wilson, Sincs a 'different look' type mid..

I like him, but not sure if he makes it long term as a mid. Could very well be the small back we've been looking for.

He needs to be Tom Liberatore style, but he doesn't have the disposal of that level imo

Liberatore isn't special with his disposal, he's mostly a coal face first touch extractor. Garcia is the heir apparent to Macrae. Flanders is probably an inside mid more in that Steele type. Gets hands on the footy to feed off but not a real ball pig, more a keeps his feet and runs type.

I think Windy looks better bolting to space as does Nas. You don't want him dishing off, you want you wrecking balls getting smashed at the coal face and him sprinting out of the action to receive the ball. Hall is a very capable extractor but again he uses the ball so well you'd like him being the kick inside 50 more than passing off to Windy or a wingman.

The thing going for Hugo is that he's a clearance mid but his runs very good for his type. The reason guys that are pure inside mids don't make it is because you sacrifice run for the role of first use. With midfields set up to steal the ball back they aren't as. big an asset unless they are elite runners.

He was given 17 games last year. He must be rated a lot higher inside the club than outside.

Must be. He can run, I suppose.
There's worse backup, but I'd like to hope (barring injuries) that he won't play 17 games again this year.

Flanders chose the Saints not just because of the list potential but because they intend for him to play as a full time midfielder.

I'm not sure they get the choice these days but he was going to be behind Anderson and Rowell for a long time and even Miller was getting pushed out. They were feeding midfield into Bailey Humphrey. The younger Uwland will want games in there too.

He's behind a lot less at the Saints but I imagine he'll play midfield and rest at HB/HF. His best year was a combination of inside mid and HBF. If you can rotate Nas and him off HBF you get a really nice cover of both and keep them both fresh.