Guy Richards

• Thread starter Thread starter Don Logan

Judd hardly landed in Swans lap. He was negotiating with Judd and his manager for about 4-5 months. Managing to beat the other Victorian Clubs, and his nominated 4 Clubs in particular, was a sensational effort. Plus, he managed to hang onto Kruezer. And we got Hadley, with only a >50 draft pick. And we have secured 2 Irish rookies this year. And we have secured a few more for the next year. Not a bad effort I would have thought. And yes he struggled at the Pies to secure bignames, but that was mostly due to Eddie's direct and instrumental involvement in some huge trade blunders, and is why Eddie and Malthouse don't exactly get along. :)

Parrot, you really need to learn your facts before you start posting like a clueless clown.

Firstly, Swann never landed any big name players for Collingwood- that is correct- but hardly Ed's fault- so give that a rest because that is getting very old. We are all aware of your anti-Ed bias but you fail to look into your own backyard with recent events.

Secondly, it was never about the Matt Kreuzer Cup, it was all about the Chris Judd Jugg so to speak. Carlton's tanking enabled them to secure Judd- nothing to do with 'Swann's expertise' because he had basically inherited Judd's signature with picks 1 and 3 as bargaining power.

Hadley for pick 50- well you would have got him via PSD if Lions did not accept that offer because he was coming out of contract anyway.

We have secured Irish rookies too, is that our CEO's work? No, that is the work of the recruiting manager of football manager- which in your case would be Icke or Hughes- not Swann.

Swann is a deadset gun, no doubting that and we would love to have him back because off-field he delivers the goods- on-field is where he has struggled- the best thing he did for us was secure us pick 8 + Medhurst for Tarrant.

As for the thread, personally i was ecstatic to see Richards finally leave us, however, it would be nice to see him get another crack and is relatively young at 24. May blossom with the Tigers.

FWIW, I can never see Patto as a CHF RT. For all his excellent work rate and competitiveness, he just doesn't have the kicking skills to play the role to our advantage by setting up play.
Maybe he will maybe he wont, but without giving it a try we will never know. Considering that we are more than likely to finish near the bottom of the ladder regardless we have nothing to lose by giving Patto a shot.

Parrot, you really need to learn your facts....
The only facts you need to know are:

1. Eddie stuffed up the Judd trade BIG TIME. The Blues shafted the Pies yet again.

2. Swan could not get away from Eddie and his incompetence fast enough you'll recall. Left Eddie spinning.

3. Eddie has achieved ZERO success at Pieland despite the relentless decade-plus excuse spins.

As for the Richards situation. Well he's obviously no superstar, but the Pies even decided to retained Chris Bryan who could barely make our VFL side, plus they forced Fraser to stay, despite the fact that he despises your coach, and virtually boycotted the 2007 finals series because of his escalating feud with Malthouse. Your Club is just a mess. :)

1. Eddie stuffed up the Judd trade BIG TIME. The Blues shafted the Pies yet again.

2. Swan could not get away from Eddie and his incompetence fast enough you'll recall. Left Eddie spinning.

3. Eddie has achieved ZERO success at Pieland despite the relentless decade-plus excuse spins.

As for the Richards situation. Well he's obviously no superstar, but the Pies even decided to retained Chris Bryan who could barely make our VFL side, plus they forced Fraser to stay, despite the fact that he despises your coach, and virtually boycotted the 2007 finals series because of his escalating feud with Malthouse. Your Club is just a mess. :)

1. Rumor has it that Judd's prefered club of choice was Collingwood. However Collingwood had no bargining chips due to the lack of high drafts picks. Switch the 2007 ladder finishes of Carlton and Collingwood and he would probably be playing in the black and white next year. However, fact remains he will be a Blue in 2008 and beyond.

2. Swan completed his mission at Collingwood and did a good job at it. He was looking for a new challenge and the Carlton postion appealed to him. We see these moves in the business world all the time. No supporter can say that Carlton are out of the blue yet, although they now have the structure in place with Swan, Pratt and Co to become a force again.

3. Yes, Yes & Yes.

I don't know about stuffing it up, the pies kept their young stars and don't have one player eating up a large portion if the salary cap.

They were a goal off playing in a grand final and it was the lack of a ruckman, not a midfielder that cost them in that game.

The best possible outcome for the tigers is to ignore Richards, who will not make a difference to our team, but to focus on Scot Welsh!
he is clearly the best player that we can get. yeah so what he is 28 or 29? We need an experienced forward that can help out Richo and our young kids can learn from!
TW needs to understand that not all our youth will become guns. Richards will be delisted after a year or two if he joins our Club. it's a waste and why add more bad players?

With Simmonds and our Number 1 ruckman, we should concentrate on raising Pattison and not Richards. Richards does not deserve another chance at AFL level

You blokes wanted to keep Bryan but were only prepared to offer him a 1 year deal. You ended up drafting Cain Ackland- hmmm- enough said.

HOW can you prove to me that Fraser was kept at the club against his will because of his 'feud' with the coach and his decision to 'boycott' the finals series- that's just a bias statement on your behalf and reeks of arrogance. IF my club is a mess your club is a total basket-case let me give you the mail-tanking, cheating, collusion, culture etc.

As for your 3 pointers, Astro pretty much hit the nail on the head with his post so lets cut the crap. All except for point 3.

In the last 6 years it has been interstate dominance in regards to premierships. To say we have had ZERO success under Ed is a blatant lie. Off-field we have become a powerhouse, yet, on-field perhaps we have struggled in the past- dating back to 1990 as our last premiership win. Other clubs are still waiting 20-30-40-50+ years to finally win one again or at least compete for one.

Does that mean every Carlton present post- Elliot (even he failed the Blues) failed at Carlton?

Every or most presidents outside of the interstate clubs have then failed at some stage going by your theory-whether it be on or off field.

Lets let the footy do the talking in 2008.

What say you CFC and CFC supporters start a thread that is vaguely relevant to the gibberish you spout and let us RFC supporters discuss the matter at hand:rolleyes: For mine, take Richards if Pfieffer is grabbed in the ND. But if Cuz is available take him.

Hey D*#k Brain this is a Richmond forum, go pull yourself off over Swann on your own board

You blokes wanted to keep Bryan but were only prepared to offer him a 1 year deal. You ended up drafting Cain Ackland- hmmm- enough said.

HOW can you prove to me that Fraser was kept at the club against his will because of his 'feud' with the coach and his decision to 'boycott' the finals series- that's just a bias statement on your behalf and reeks of arrogance. IF my club is a mess your club is a total basket-case let me give you the mail-tanking, cheating, collusion, culture etc.

As for your 3 pointers, Astro pretty much hit the nail on the head with his post so lets cut the crap. All except for point 3.

In the last 6 years it has been interstate dominance in regards to premierships. To say we have had ZERO success under Ed is a blatant lie. Off-field we have become a powerhouse, yet, on-field perhaps we have struggled in the past- dating back to 1990 as our last premiership win. Other clubs are still waiting 20-30-40-50+ years to finally win one again or at least compete for one.

Does that mean every Carlton present post- Elliot (even he failed the Blues) failed at Carlton?

Every or most presidents outside of the interstate clubs have then failed at some stage going by your theory-whether it be on or off field.

Lets let the footy do the talking in 2008.

Win by KO to DT13 - parrot to go back to his cage worse for wear. :p

Any other candidates for the Richmond 'death match'?

Maybe he will maybe he wont, but without giving it a try we will never know. Considering that we are more than likely to finish near the bottom of the ladder regardless we have nothing to lose by giving Patto a shot.

Yep, no harm in a bit of experimentation RT, couldn't agree more.

Along the same lines, I'd dearly love to see Deledio be given a run at CHF. He'd be able to receive directly out of the centre bounces, run his opponent ragged, outmark anyone fast enough to play on him, set up our deeper forwards, and kick goals from outside 50m.

Yep, no harm in a bit of experimentation RT, couldn't agree more.

Along the same lines, I'd dearly love to see Deledio be given a run at CHF. He'd be able to receive directly out of the centre bounces, run his opponent ragged, outmark anyone fast enough to play on him, set up our deeper forwards, and kick goals from outside 50m.

Yep, i agree that Del shows potential up forward - tall, super quick, good mark.

But i feel we still need to give him a go at the midfield, both on-ball and wing/flank.

While the Judd comparisons are unfair, i still reckon he can be a super contributer in the middle next year and beyond, particularly if we can develp midfield depth and reduce the likelihood of him being tagged.

Perhaps a mix of mid and forward duties can give full exposure to his talents and provide the X-factor we need.

Richards will be great .....@ ****IN COBURG!

This is just plain fuc ken ludicrous.

:thumbsd: to anyone @ the club who supports this.

This bloke is now down at Punt Road training with the side after being given AFL permission.

If we draft this netballer I will fair :mad:dinkum Vomit

RFC what a bloody joke, no wonder our supporters have to put up with so much crap from other clubs supporters.

Remember Kent???

WE WANT COUSINS

You blokes wanted to keep Bryan but were only prepared to offer him a 1 year deal....

lol. Let me walk you through it. Firstly Chris Bryan. We didn't want him. Only offering a 1 year deal on base pay was a pretty good signal I thought. Bryan certainly thought so. He was your #1 ruck in last years finals series, which I found funny. The Blues are developing Hampson, Aisake and Kruzer all of whom have lightyears more talent than any ruck on your list. Oh, and on Eddie's success-lessness. Sorry, but ZERO successful years under more than a decade of Eddie-Spin is failure any which way you want to look at it. Eddie's presidency has been revealed as a self-serving Scam, and is why your board want to boot the guy. All Eddie has contributed is an extra 10+ successless years to the Pies 49 successless year in the past half-a-century record. A complete disaster. :)

. The Blues are developing Hampson, Aisake and Kruzer all of whom have lightyears more talent than any ruck on your list.

Geezus you're an idiot parrot. How many games have these three played? ZERO!!! NONE!!! NOT ONE!!!

And you put them ahead of troy simmonds??? Gimme a break you fool.

I'd say if we pick up:
#2: Cotchin/Morton
#18:Key defender/young ruck
#51:Pfeffier
PSD:Richards (only if Cuzz isnt available)

As a club i think this is a damm good outcome:thumbsu:

I'd say if we pick up:
#2: Cotchin/Morton
#18:Key defender/young ruck
#51:Pfeffier
PSD:Richards (only if Cuzz isnt available)

As a club i think this is a damm good outcome:thumbsu:

could be better,
PSD - Welsh

Welsh is alot better than Richards! Richards will be delisted after a year!! and Welsh will do alot more damage!