2019 Training Reports

• Thread starter Thread starter 88mph

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Early drills were all fairly lowkey. Just kick to kicks at different distances then moved into some basic 2v2 handball drills, nothing special but Mundy did thread the eye of a needle with a beautiful handball that caught his two oppenents completely off guard.

Moving onro the match sims. The midfield started out as Darcy/Fyfe/Brayshaw/Tucker v Meek/Mundy/Giro/Crowden. Darcy/Fyfe combo was winning out early and lead to some early goals for Switta. The Purple side had the advantage of the B22 KPP's and they found moving the ball alot easier.

Tabs took a lovely mark 1v1 against Pearce near the beginning of the game about 70m out. That eventually lead to a goal, can't remember who Tabs kicked it towards, maybe Walters? I'd confidently say Tabs took more marks than anyone else on the ground. Some smart leads, alot of running, broke away for Pearce and Logue a few time and got 5m clear to take some easy marks. Took a couple nice contested marks aswell. Logue panicked at one point as Tabs gathered a loose ball quite nicely and broke towards goal, Logue dragged him down around the head. Annoyingly Tabs missed the easy shot on goal 35m dead in front. He got another free kick later on again from defenders panicking and infringing him. This one from 45m out on a 40° he slotted beautifully. He still dropped a few marks throughout the game that he got first hands to which was unfortunate but he was by far the most influential KPP out there today. At times Tobe Watson and Logue double teamed him and when Logue hits a contest he makes it bloody difficult for the forward to hold onto the ball.

Tabs best play was when a ball was kicked just too high for him, loose ball about 60m out Hamling v Tabs, Tabs just beats him to the ball, scoops it while still running and just barrels through poor Hamling who came off second best. Tabs got the handball off to a teammate who centred the ball 20m out from goal.

One negative/positive to Tabs' game today was that because he was running probably more than any of our other KPPs he was getting quite a lot of ball on the wings which meant he was delivering the ball forward. A bit hit a miss, some of his kicks were quick and on target, picking a free player who could then move the ball straight on. Some though I thought were just kicked too high and allowed the defenders too much time to setup and spoil.

When they shuffled what seemed to be the best Fwds vs best Backs it was:

Walters - Hogan - Switta
Matera - Tabs - Lobb

Lobb took by far the best contested mark. Middle of a pack, had little room to take a run and jump, up against Pearce/Hamling and Logue coming in from the side. Just stuck his arms up and jumped on the spot, defenders just couldn't reach his outstretched arms. I wasn't confident he was going to kick the goal because he missed every shot on goal I saw him take during the warmup... but almost 50m out on a slight angle he slotted it through.

Apart from that Lobb didn't do too much from what I saw, not sure if it was by design or just Tabs working harder but a lot of the forrays forward went through Tabs. Hogan kicked 2 or 3 goals and as said above finished up after 3qtr time. I actually didn't notice him all that much, he just kept on being in the right spot to finish off and kick the goals. Seems to find space easily and took a few uncontested marks, crumbed a few packs nicely and kicked one of his goals from seagulling the edge of a contest 20m out from goal.

Walters cost a goal to his side when he dropped a simple chest mark (ball bounced straight off his chest). B22 side coming out the backline when Walters dropped it 70m out of the backline. The B side swarmed like rabid dogs and the pressure caused a few fumbles from the B22 side. Bewley who was on the B-side managed to gather the ball and slot a goal from 25m out on a 45°.

Other than that Walters was good, very vocal, very physical and just a smart player with beautiful skills. Speaking of Walters and Bewley though, Bewley absolutely levelled Walters at one point going for a loose ball, Walters stayed down for a bit and was looking at the umps. It was a heavy hit, Bewley got some applause from his teams mates and Walters got up gingerly. Bewley got some comeuppance about 5mins later going for a loose ball, Tabs gave him a shove and he went flying. A few laughs were heard as Bewley slide on his chest for a good few metres once he hit the floor.

Matera kept busy but wasn't super influential on the game. He did kick the best goal of day though. Received a hanpass from Switta along the boundary, Matera kicked on his left about 20m out deep in the pocket and somehow the ball went through for a goal.

The two best passage of play both invloved the captain. Centre square bounce, Darcy tap to Cerra, who dished off to Fyfe who ran into some troubled, Cerra kept running through and received the ball back from Fyfe. Cerra ran into the 50 and kicked a goal from 40m.

The other was the ball going slightly over McCarthy who turned and gathered, handball to Fyfe coming through, handball to Walters, back to Fyfe who had kept running along the boundary line, checkside kick from the pocket... goal! Very exciting play.

2 minutes later Fyfe took a runnining back one handed juggled mark on the boundary right in front of us all. It was bloody impressive and deserved the round of applause he got.

Fyfe's kicking left a little to be desired, a few just sailed straight over the intended targets head. He wasn't alone though, a few kicks today weren't great. Some too high that allowed the defenders to spoil, some just falling way short of target which lead to contesting loose balls and slowing the play up.

Mundy just amazes me, in the drills he impressed me and some of his clearance work during the match was just beautiful. He just knows how to wrong foot oppostion players, find space and time then deliver the ball to advantage.

- Tobe Watson surprised me, really got stuck in. Unfortunately I think it was him who missed kicked coming out the backline delivering the ball to Dixon 30m directly infront. Dixon doesn't miss much, especially dead in front. Dixon just needs to up his fitness.

- APearce easily dealt with Jones who stared to struggle near the end.

- Darcy copped a loose elbow from someone (not Meek) and gave it to Meek who gave it right back. They made up about 5minutes later but definitely some heat in the moment.

- Hamling obviously not too sore after pulling out of AFLX, still managed to play the whole sim.

- Disappointed not to see any change to the kickouts. Quite a few kicks to the bloke in the pocket :-( I think Duman was the only defender to just run straight out the square before kicking long. Easily got the ball 65m out from goal to a loose player. Shame didn't see more of it.
(Edit good to hear Tobe running it out, didn't see it myself, blame it on my daughter getting bored).

- Ballas tried, but just never quite came off for him today.

- Bewley had quite a decent game. Kicked a goal, quite a few inside 50's, lovely run along the wing before kicking to the hotspot. He rotated between the B22 side and yellow vest side so not sure where he's at.

- Banfield did some nice midfield work for the b side. Strong contested work and applying pressure. Probably needs to look at dishing off to an outside player more, tended to just throw it on the boot and go long like last year.

- Giro looked good on the outside, twice he surprised me with beautiful kicks to advantage to a bloke inside 50. Hopefully he keeps it up looked good.

- Tucker did alot of centre square work alongside Fyfe and Brayshaw, switching with Cerra. His foot must be fine, kicking looks good, nice hands.

Switta easily best on ground. Kicking goals, setting goals up. Very involved and didn't make any mistakes that i saw.

Overall a good performance some postives some negatives. A few knocked up by the end of it all.

Tabs is 1000% Best 22.

Great news regarding Switto. Saw both his games last year and immediately got the impression he's a smart footballer. Liked his match awareness and skills.

Hope Cox's hip is good, I'm hoping he'll be in the 22 for round one, although at this stage if he is it probably won't be in the forward line as I'd hoped.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Fantastic effort FB to keep us updated basically all day! Really appreciate that sitting in Melbourne.

One quick question - you mentioned that Tobe was running the ball out from behinds using the new rule; which sounds great. Was there any sign of Wilson or Ryan doing that for the A defensive group?

I was quite impressed by what I saw today, yes it was just a low intensity pre-season scratchy but the desire to move the ball quickly was evident. The only person whom I thought was slow to release the ball was Tabs, once, when he marked across the half back line, otherwise the one-touch style of play was encouraging. I like the starting forward 6 of Walters, Lobb, Switkowski, Matera, Tabs and Hogan. Hogan was far from his best, in one of the warm up drills he first dropped a mark then the ball slewed off his boot when he kicked, he received a handpass and then kicked to a team mate at the other end of the drill and the ball slewed off his foot again.
Colyer was quite impressive but Switkowski was the pick of the small forwards. Lobb is going to transform our team not only with his presence in the forward line but with his work in the ruck and his ability to follow up his tap work. It was interesting that the purple team had 5 goals on the board within the first 9 minutes of the game with 4 coming from the small forwards and one from a midfielder. AP and Logue were dominant in their respective positions with Logue matched up against Hogan at times. Sean Darcy is a character, he was boasting loudly about slotting 3 from 3 in his shots for goal in one of the warm up drills. I thought Sturt looked a bit tentative in his attack on the ball, some kids come in and show intent from the moment they take the field but from the few sessions I have seen I think Sturt might take a bit of time to find his confidence. Schultz did some nice things and Cerra and Brayshaw are better players than they were last year, I don't see any signs of second year blues amongst those 2. Cox was quite good too, he looks more trim than he was last year and was moving nicely around the ground. All in all it was a pretty upbeat session on a perfect summer's morning.

I saw Switta last year a few times at Peel. Made the comment then that he has a few tricks.

If he stays fit he could be one of 'diamond-in-the-rough' stories that Freo pulls off quite regularly. Would definately have him for Rnd 1.

One quick question - you mentioned that Tobe was running the ball out from behinds using the new rule; which sounds great. Was there any sign of Wilson or Ryan doing that for the A defensive group?

As UN mentioned above, didn’t see any of the others doing this.

Of the two you mentioned Ryan didn’t participate in the match and Wilson starting on the A team didn’t have many opportunities to take the kick ins.

I was quite impressed by what I saw today, yes it was just a low intensity pre-season scratchy but the desire to move the ball quickly was evident. The only person whom I thought was slow to release the ball was Tabs, once, when he marked across the half back line, otherwise the one-touch style of play was encouraging. I like the starting forward 6 of Walters, Lobb, Switkowski, Matera, Tabs and Hogan. Hogan was far from his best, in one of the warm up drills he first dropped a mark then the ball slewed off his boot when he kicked, he received a handpass and then kicked to a team mate at the other end of the drill and the ball slewed off his foot again.
Colyer was quite impressive but Switkowski was the pick of the small forwards. Lobb is going to transform our team not only with his presence in the forward line but with his work in the ruck and his ability to follow up his tap work. It was interesting that the purple team had 5 goals on the board within the first 9 minutes of the game with 4 coming from the small forwards and one from a midfielder. AP and Logue were dominant in their respective positions with Logue matched up against Hogan at times. Sean Darcy is a character, he was boasting loudly about slotting 3 from 3 in his shots for goal in one of the warm up drills. I thought Sturt looked a bit tentative in his attack on the ball, some kids come in and show intent from the moment they take the field but from the few sessions I have seen I think Sturt might take a bit of time to find his confidence. Schultz did some nice things and Cerra and Brayshaw are better players than they were last year, I don't see any signs of second year blues amongst those 2. Cox was quite good too, he looks more trim than he was last year and was moving nicely around the ground. All in all it was a pretty upbeat session on a perfect summer's morning.
Regarding the forward set up (which I also like), is Matera your preference in there? I would like the extra pace/pressure of Colyer unless Matera is producing goals.

Did Conca play? Lost track of his availability?

Regarding the forward set up (which I also like), is Matera your preference in there? I would like the extra pace/pressure of Colyer unless Matera is producing goals.

Did Conca play? Lost track of his availability?
Conca wasn’t playing, Colyer played further up the ground but keep in mind there were some handy players on the B side such as Langdon so you would think that Langdon would take the position on the ground that Colyer had today. I think Matera will take the field in the first game of the season and play closer to goal than he did last year. Walters might start forward but will probably play higher up the ground. Ballas was re-habbing last week so that may explain why he was playing in yellow today or maybe Switta had moved ahead of him in the pecking order, I certainly hope so. In the few sessions that I have seen Switta has been the most consistent small forward but his motivation for impressing in the sims might be higher than the others. I liked that starting six and I wouldn’t mind seeing how they go when the real stuff starts. I don’t know what others think but I would never have considered Colyer to be a walk up start at Essendon or Freo.

Righto... Player reports as best as i could see.

#1 Hayden Ballentyne - It appears the person who is going to cop the most heat for Ballas being given a contract for 2019 is Hayden himself. Unfortunately what he is delivering at the moment is quickly taking away from what has been a great career for the purple. Pains me to say, but he was worst on field today. constantly losing his feet and fumbling, poor efficiency by hand and foot. unfortunately, has played his last game for Freo i think.

#2 Griffin Lougue - Typical Lougue performance, what he does well looks outstanding. Just need more of it. Played on Hogan alot and defended well. Couple of really big spoils and 2-3 intercept marks. Should be back playing AFL before long.

#3 Brandon Matera - Not a lot of impact on the game. played standard HF/ Small forward roll. Started in the "B" side. Would suggest thats were he will likely spend most of the year.

#4 Shaun Darcy - The Heir apparent has returned. Looks in his best shape since drafted. took a few marks. Kicks it well for a tall. Will be the starting Ruckman in Round 1.

#5 Adam Cerra - Obvious physical transformation, now has a mans body. Must work harder in halving contests. at the moments he is either win or get beaten type which isnt great when playing at half back. Switta got hold of him a few times.

#6 Traye Bennell (Peel Thunder) AFL quality player with ball in hand. Would be among the best 5 kicks on Freos list if drafted. quick to find opponent in transition. Just needs work on conditioning.

#7 The Goat - Just does what Goats do

#8 Andrew Brayshaw - Played in the mids most of the day and was impresive, seems to have added some penetration in his game mainly kicking. Still appears to be carrying some puppy fat and hasnt quite leaned up like a Cerra or Banfeild. Wonder if it effects his tank.

#9 Bradley Hill - Beaten convincingly on the wing by Brett Bewley. Had some impact but would want to become wary as their are players coming for his spot.

#10 Micheal Walter - Looks lively as always, brought his trademark flare and creativity with ball in hand. Still an A grader. Limped of with what appeared to a hamstring cramp late in the final term.

#11 Jesse Hogan - Restricted to mainly playing stay at home forward. Clearly underdone but great to just see him out there. kicked 2 or 3

#12 Mitch Crowden - Over powered by a midfield brigade much bigger then him. Plugs away, but has alot of work to do

#13 Ben Howlett (Peel Thunder) Pinched hit up forward just to cover some numbers. Still a very tough unit considering his been out of the game for 12 months. Tackling animal

#14 Nathan Wilson - Played on Ballas early and beat him like he owed him money. Look dangerous when allowed to drop off. Switched to Switta later and curbed some of Swittas influence. In saying the Switta was still the best forward on the ground. Best if we keep him away from the danger forwards.

#15 Ethan Hughes - Wouldnt have noticed he was out there if it wasnt for that million dollar rig. Small impact on the game.

#16 David Mundy - Evergreen, Still very effective in the middle. Just did what he had to

#17 Hugh Dixon - Will be feeling very clean after receiving a bath from Alex Pearce. Couple of hit up marks but still alot of work to do.

#18 Darcy Tucker - As lively as ive seen him around the ball. didnt dominate but looked okay

#19 Jackson Merritt (Peel Thunder) -Connor Blakely DNP- Delisted bomber got a little bit of it and drifted forward for a goal. AFL days behind him but will make a pretty solid WAFL player.

#20 Matthew Taberner - Appears to have stolen Chris Tarrants arms. Took a few good grabs and really vocal among the group. Appears confident in his body. Would be ahead of Hogan if Round 1 was next week

#21 Joel Hamling - Meh, Didnt notice much. Nothing brilliant but nothing terrible. Played back

#23 Cam McCarthy - Still looks like the work experience kid trying to play. Fair way behind the other talls. To his credit, appears in slightly better physical condition then last year. I dont hold much hope.

#25 Alex Pearce - Best tall defender on the ground. Looks to be growing in confidence with ball in hand. Directing traffic and being vocal. A Solid first up hit out.

#26 Mr Ed. Was okay, Didnt notice him too much. Played mostly on the wing. Was on the far side so didnt get a great look

#27 Sam Sturt: Pulled up short of a few contests and it was noticed from teammates. work to be done

#28 Seargent Schultz - Looked a little lost early but worked into the game quite well. better as the game went on. Played at HF

#30 Lloyd Meek - Started as a defender on Lobb and actually did okay. Took a massive pack mark deep in D50. Drifted into ruck later. nothing stood out.

#33 Travis Colyer - Had a couple of bursts of speed and opened the game up. I think hell play AFL early, though maybe not Rnd 1 if all fit.

#34 Brett Bewley - You little rippa. Ready made body and not afraid to through it around. Had the better of B Hill on the wing. 6-8 inside 50s i would think in 50 minutes of footy. I would be very suprised if this bloke has too look up directions to Mandurah very often. Uses the ball well for a tough nut too.

#35 Jordan Boullineau (Peel Thunder - Jason Carter DNP) Little impact, second year senior player at peel. Big future but today not his day.

#36 Brennan Cox - Played in Defence and was okay without being super. Still not convinced on his application. Came off with a hip complaint

#37 Rory Lobb - Yep, this will work. Pinch hitted in the ruck but played mostly forward. I like him. provides a very difficult matchup for oppo.

#39 Sam Switkowski - Best forward on the ground. 2nd best on field behind Fyfe. Creative, fast, skilled. should play Round 1 if body holds up and he can repeat that performance

#40 Scott Jones - Cant keep up with the modern game. Competitive in the tap work but might as well roll out the picnic blanket and wait for the next CSB. Nil impact around the ground.

#41 Bailey Banfield - Solid, without standing out. Will be thereabouts for regular senior football. Played HF/Mid

#42 Stephen Giro - Would love to see him use his outside run a bit more. He gets to huge amount of contests as an inside mid. love to buy him some time by going out on a wing or HFF

#43 Ryan Nyhuis - Not a huge impact. Dont think his in the coaches long term plans

#44 Taylin Duhman - Solid without standing out. Would like to see more rebounding and penetration in his game.

#45 Tobe Watson - Bit of a suprise packet. Didnt rate him in the WAFL last year, but saw some signs he can compete today. misjudges the ball in the air a bit but has a dip. May not see AFL in 2019 but could be a project.

Overall: Skills were poor. Fyfe is outrageously dominant. Dont expect a premiership but the green shoots are there. just a little more pruning to go.

Coley.. from what I saw today you’ve basically nailed that player report.

Only thing I will say is that I don’t think many of us will hold too many concerns over AB’s endurance given for years he and his brothers have done 100x100m sprints to celebrate Christmas.

Thank you for your report!

Coley.. from what I saw today you’ve basically nailed that player report.

Only thing I will say is that I don’t think many of us will hold too many concerns over AB’s endurance given for years he and his brothers have done 100x100m sprints to celebrate Christmas.

Thank you for your report!
Without speaking on his behalf - I viewed the comment on AB that there is significant upside with further body development. Viewed as a positive from my perspective.

AB holds the draft combine record for the YoYo. He came second in the 2km time trial and reported a PB. Wait till Brayshaw tones/muscles up some more.

Without speaking on his behalf - I viewed the comment on AB that there is significant upside with further body development. Viewed as a positive from my perspective.

AB holds the draft combine record for the YoYo. He came second in the 2km time trial and reported a PB. Wait till Brayshaw tones/muscles up some more.
Cheers for the reply. On AB, not really a criticism just an acknowledgement that I reckon he still has some physical maturing to do. Which is great for him and freo because he's still performing very well. Kids gonna be a player

That’s exactly how I viewed your thoughts. Thanks for the honest training appraisal.

Some kids take a few years to craft an AFL body. People on here don’t have the patience. On the flipside Sturt has brilliant skinfolds but will take time to add body mass muscle to his frame.

I honestly feel 2020 will be the start of a finals run. We need to add more depth in the midfield which will come with games played. Also adding another classy midfielder with a top 10 pick or better still (but less likely) a Jack Martin (swapped for our first pick) or Stephen Coniglio (FA). Personally I feel neither will eventuate so a midfielder with our first round pick is a necessity.

From your report we should expect most of the season at Peel for Ballantyne, Jones, Hughes & Nyhuis.

Think he had a few other things to deal with over the off and pre season over building his body. Reconstructing his whole mouth from memory. I'd take mental development over physical for him at this stage anyway. Good signs - he was looking awesome in that game until Gaff did the unthinkable.

Good signs he can put AFL quality defenders to the sword. If you haven’t figured it, I rate him. He’ll be a huge surprise this year.
RG, I was impressed the first time I saw him late last year - cut a swathe through the pack with that speed and certainty that shouts footy nous. I do hope he gets a guernsey this year.

This thread is gold today. Many thanks for the objective and informative reports guys!

Sounds like our biggest immediate issue is around ruck and inside mid depth but good to see that our developing players in this area are having a crack.

If Switta and Tabs have pressed strong claims for R1 then it looks like our forward line is looking pretty settled with Lobb, Hogan, Walters walk ups if fit. Ballas may as well practice falling over down at Peel as I’d have Matera, Colyer and McCarthy all ahead of him.