Review JLT 2 vs North Melbourne

Two of the most disliked players on this board had good games today - Rocky and Amon, especially Rocky. And I’m amongst those that have dished out the criticisms.

Still not convinced about Amon. Would like to see more repeat performances like that. But right now he’s in my Rd 1 team
I don't think Rocky was, or is disliked. He was injured last year and that held him back heaps.. he tried though.
Amon has been a bit ordinary for ever really. But been good-very good in his jlt games.. Hoping he can keep improving. Was on the good side of a couple holding the ball decisions today!

“Port had far too many uncontested marks. You can’t tackle players who mark the ball, so if we had been able to defend that better you would have seen a higher tackle count.”

I'm a big Doogie fan, but he didn't bounce back vs South too well either.

As a guy who is pretty new to being a defender Howard needs to learn not to just put his fist to just about every ball that comes flying into the backline. He’s got plenty of time.

Haven't seen anything about Marshall bumping I think it was Wright. Did anyone watching on TV see it? He chose to bump, must've hit the Roo player high based on his reaction, so you'd think he has to be in trouble with the tribunal.

Great to see Rockliff lift his profile.
J Watts was much better this week at least in the second half, for a bloke who has been around as long as he has he ought to lift.
Butters very creative.
Pepper showed us something.
Amon seems more at home with the style of footy being played.
Lycett added some real structure to the team. Well done Scott keep up the good work.
Ports tackling was the difference here today.

Still had huge problems going to goal particularly after half time.
Disgusted with the backward play at the end of each quarter, teams that are switched on will make us pay big time with that stinking minds set.
overall a pass but an enormous amount of work to be done. Lets hope these coaches are up to it!

I feel in the minority re. Jonas, I thought he had a good game. Brown seemed to get a majority of his ball between 50-70m out from goal, with only 2 marks inside 50.

Enjoyed Watts' game off of half back, hopefully this is a turning point for him. Likewise Amon.

How ****ing good is Butters!

AFL-637x397.jpg

Haha what the

Amon is only 23. He’s one of the guys who has been here entirely under Hinkley’s reign and is indicative of Ken’s development program.

If we can get that sort of performance out of a 68th pick in the draft consistently we will have done well.

There’s genuine competition for spots and the guys who played today are the guys who have first dibs on R1. Amon knew he had to have a good game because Mayes did, and that’s how you improve the quality of the list.

Amon is only 23. He’s one of the guys who has been here entirely under Hinkley’s reign and is indicative of Ken’s development program.

If we can get that sort of performance out of a 68th pick in the draft consistently we will have done well.

There’s genuine competition for spots and the guys who played today are the guys who have first dibs on R1. Amon knew he had to have a good game because Mayes did, and that’s how you improve the quality of the list.
Problem is when guys like Patmore go down, pressure on spots starts to ease a bit.

Have we ever had a player get 40 disposals and 2 goals? Rockliff is in for a huge year I think, so exciting.

I can see the issues with Duursma's game, but I reckon we'll persist. He got enough of it and showed a lot of courage, reckon he will have a good year but will probably rack up his fair share of haters now that Pittard is gone and Sam Gray isn't in the firsts.

Butters was just incredible, I'm not sure how many games he plays as he is just crazy slight but when he does play it'll be exciting to watch him annoy the shit out of opposition supporters.

I still don't like Ebert in the side.

DBJ, Bonner and Watts all looked great across half back.

Lycett really impressed me today, the goal he kicked around his body after picking the ball up was ludicrous for someone as tall as him.

Burton was kind of anonymous, but I suspect he'll move up the ground and have more impact pretty quickly.

Boak was just incredible... I'm not sure he could have produced this 2 years ago honestly, the distance he is kicking tells me he is much fitter than he's been for a long time.

The 100 metre penalties were a farce, and the game looks like its going to be too uncontested for my liking but hopefully its just JLT. North melbourne had what 25 tackles? Rubbish.

Overall really happy with how much of the ball we were winning through the centre of the ground, absolutely dominated them honestly. Our forward line also seems much stronger than its been in years (with a little help from 6-6-6). Our defence is a little lacking but I think getting Hartlett back will be huge, as well as playing Watts there more often. If Dixon has a big year we will be scoring ridiculously easily and flip from being one of the most defensive sides in 2018 to one of the most aggressive in 2019, could be a huge year honestly.

Still, not sure how we'll deal with Melbourne if Hartlett and Ryder don't play. Fingers crossed!!

Early days but I have a feeling Ebert could be shipped out of at the end of the year. Reminds me of Trengove in 2017.

From early last year I was very vocal in why we should ship brad Ebert off. His performance in the centre had dropped off the previous year and dropped even more in 2018. Young kids have displaced him in the centre square and I didn’t believe he can play another position outside of centre

Hell, at west coast most of his 70 games were from hff and he was entirely disposable in that role for them.

Nothing has changed since then.

The smart move would have been to move him last off season for a pick between 20-35. That would have been gettable, particularly for gcs but a melb side could’ve bitten.

Now at the end of this year his value could be so little it’s not even worth it. Now his best asset to our club might be as depth, a leader and hard trainer for the kids at the Maggie’s.

Haven't seen anything about Marshall bumping I think it was Wright. Did anyone watching on TV see it? He chose to bump, must've hit the Roo player high based on his reaction, so you'd think he has to be in trouble with the tribunal.

Saw it clearly at the ground and Marshall didn’t hit him high at all. Just a solid hit.

I don't think Rocky was, or is disliked. He was injured last year and that held him back heaps.. he tried though.
Amon has been a bit ordinary for ever really. But been good-very good in his jlt games.. Hoping he can keep improving. Was on the good side of a couple holding the ball decisions today!
He had some great games in the middle part of last year. This board has zero memory. Evaluates player worth on a rolling two game basis. If you've sucked for anything longer Thana week, you're cooked.

Have we ever had a player get 40 disposals and 2 goals? Rockliff is in for a huge year I think, so exciting.

Closest is:

P. Burgoyne, 45 & 1, R22 vs NM 2008
T. Boak, 41 & 1, R4 vs BL 2014
B. Ebert, 40 & 1, R13 vs SS 2014

Rocky's game reminds me of the story Vossy tells of Leigh Matthews at selection night always one upping the senior Brisbane players with his playing exploits.

One night they were talking about the most possessions games they had. Voss, Black and Lappin all recalled 40+ possession games. They waited for Leigh to top them but he said nothing. Voss said Did you ever have a 40 possession game Leigh? Lethal replied No the best I had was 38.

The players all started to puff up and then Leigh added Kicked 11 goals in that game though. Deflated them all. :D

Vossy added he checked it out and it was even worse. Matthews had 38 kicks. And 3 handballs which meant it was also a 40 possession game.

He had some great games in the middle part of last year. This board has zero memory. Evaluates player worth on a rolling two game basis. If you've sucked for anything longer Thana week, you're cooked.

He played a couple of good games, but 2018 saw him return the worst numbers of his career (including his first full season of footy at the Lions in 2010) and he generally looked a shadow of himself by any measure.

Which given his age and the size and length of his contract was more than ominous.

not happy with marshall he always went for around the corner kicks that ended up grubers.

with motlop he was on ahern when north got that whole lot of clearences in a row. next to no defensive pressure and got booted out of the centre square team for r gray peps and boak. He said he wanted to play more mid but his defensive traits need to lift if he wants to stay there

not happy with marshall he always went for around the corner kicks that ended up grubers.

with motlop he was on ahern when north got that whole lot of clearences in a row. next to no defensive pressure and got booted out of the centre square team for r gray peps and boak. He said he wanted to play more mid but his defensive traits need to lift if he wants to stay there
Love the kid. He'll be a star for us soon enough.

It wasn’t high, it was a good bump.

I feel in the minority re. Jonas, I thought he had a good game. Brown seemed to get a majority of his ball between 50-70m out from goal, with only 2 marks inside 50.

Enjoyed Watts' game off of half back, hopefully this is a turning point for him. Likewise Amon.

How ****ing good is Butters!
I think I (like others), now expect captain live performances from him and not merely serviceable, probably because he’s captain now(ish).