Training 2019 Preseason

My read on it is the club has done Robbo a solid by retaining him on the list instead of forced retirement. Ensures Robbo gets 100% 2019 salary & not a percentage.
Yeap also there's no advantage to retiring him straight off the bat. Like what does that achieve. With him just on the LTI we still get a shot at a replacement but keep him inside the 4 walls of the club

My read on it is the club has done Robbo a solid by retaining him on the list instead of forced retirement. Ensures Robbo gets 100% 2019 salary & not a percentage.
Spot on Triggering. Its the AFL's money after all!! Robbo gets to continue his coaching development on his current fat contract, and we bring in another rookie. Doesn't cost the club a cent..

The club always need us. And we will always stand by them. But it's about time we get rewarded. I'm actually getting worried now that I may never see a flag and that reality is to much to comprehend.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app
A colleague lost his 21 year old daughter to brain cancer last year.

He found that reality too much to comprehend.

I hear you, but that's life.

Robbo news is horrible. Hope he gets well soon or finds a passion off field quickly to aid his transition out of playing for his own sake.

Surely Sam Rowe is overkill in tall defenders. Unless battle heads back to the forward stocks.

Marion Pickett would be worth a look. He is a halfback/mid who is ready to go. Assuming there is a knock on him as he wasn’t drafted despite having more runs on the board then a lot of mature ager’s drafted this season?

Any kids not drafted with a high ceiling that we could take a punt on for the future?

Players come and go. I cant be bothered listing all the premierships where they lost 2-5 of there best players for the season.
Its about club culture, coaches and facilities. All 3 we have imporved on and thus our ladder position will inprove greatly. youll see. May sound horrible but no paddy and roberton wont change much. Very proud of clubs pre season efforts. best of luck to paddy and robbo in life after footy. You guys played at top level - should be proud of yourselves.

While a loss on the field, I can guarantee that Robbo will be around the club this year in a coaching/mentor capacity. He has one of the best footy minds that I've ever come across, I think most people who have spoken to him can attest to how intelligent and level headed he is as a person.

A colleague lost his 21 year old daughter to brain cancer last year.

He found that reality too much to comprehend.

I hear you, but that's life.
Thats so horrible. The mental pain your mate is going through would be the worst a human could feel. Father/Daughter, Mother/Son. Those relationships trump all for some reason. my god. hearing those stories makes me ill.

Hard luck for Robbo, but as a mate who just spent 6 months in hospital as close to death as you can get, keeps saying to me - "at least I'm on the right side of the grass."

Did anyone else pick up on this in the press release

“Given the club’s ability to add a player to the list, I wanted to make the call while they still had time to do so.”

If thats the reason he's made the call today (rather than a week or a months time) then you'd expect we will be adding some else to the list this afternoon rather than the mid season rookie draft.

Whoops - big Eric Pierce (or Sandra Sully for the young un's)

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-03-15/saints-set-to-sign-former-blues-defender-to-replace-roberton

This will be my 47th consecutive year as a member and I'm yet to see a flag.

I've also never rooted a supermodel.

Life is tough and doesn't always pan out as we'd like it to.
There's a few of us hitting the magic 50 years of nothing club in the next five years.

But as you say, that's life. I'd love to see a flag, but it's not the be all and end all.

These matters are out of our control so all we can do is enjoy the journey and piss ourselves laughing at your memes.

Article on Saints page makes it clear Robbo made the call now to allow us to add a player by 5pm...

Any whispers on who that player is? Another key position would seem to be overkill.

I get this. I ECO during last season, not because of the on field shit, the off field crap got to me. I am lucky enough that my other passion Leeds are flying and I have got right into supporting them(watch every game etc) compared to previous seasons.

I still have my membership. I’ll still go next week. But I am finding it tough to feel connected to the passion I previously had for us.
I'm a passionate EPL and NBA supporter as well but nothing compares to the passion you have as a AFL fan. My passion isn't dissapearing but it just fills me with pain and anger which is not one bit healthy.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hard luck for Robbo, but as a mate who just spent 6 months in hospital as close to death as you can get, keeps saying to me - "at least I'm on the right side of the grass."

Did anyone else pick up on this in the press release

“Given the club’s ability to add a player to the list, I wanted to make the call while they still had time to do so.”

If thats the reason he's made the call today (rather than a week or a months time) then you'd expect we will be adding some else to the list this afternoon rather than the mid season rookie draft.

Whoops - big Eric Pierce (or Sandra Sully for the young un's)

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-03-15/saints-set-to-sign-former-blues-defender-to-replace-roberton

Would’ve preferred Sam Gilbert tbh

Robbo news is horrible. Hope he gets well soon or finds a passion off field quickly to aid his transition out of playing for his own sake.

Surely Sam Rowe is overkill in tall defenders. Unless battle heads back to the forward stocks.

Marion Pickett would be worth a look. He is a halfback/mid who is ready to go. Assuming there is a knock on him as he wasn’t drafted despite having more runs on the board then a lot of mature ager’s drafted this season?

Any kids not drafted with a high ceiling that we could take a punt on for the future?

Sounds like something that wouldn't affect the day to day life.
My own ticker has been known to throw out a clot every now and then, take a beta blocker and a low dose asprin daily and its not going to happen.
But on the blockers, if the heart starts to go hard, it won't go any harder, you just have to stop.
Wouldn't work for an athlete at all.

It seems bad that after an event free year, as soon as he gets back onto a real stress test he gets the same thing. Wonder what happens now, i can't see it suddenly being a different situation in a years time.

So much more than just flags.
Its the story we follow.
Its the anticipation of games/seasons another chapter - you never know.
i dont care if we dont ever win a flag
it will never be a waste of time sharing in the highs/lows. No flag but i tell ya what we have had some great years/games/players - People will say its better to be toger fan because of that 1 flag but seriously? As a saint fan from 1990 you wouldve literally seen 30 more weeks of football we played in. 8-10 more final series, and like 45-55 more wins. In the end its all about participation and the day. flags are the uktimate bragging rights. but the journey is the real story.

Thats so horrible. The mental pain your mate is going through would be the worst a human could feel. Father/Daughter, Mother/Son. Those relationships trump all for some reason. my god. hearing those stories makes me ill.
He has slowly recaptured his swagger. But you never understand what's going on inside.

It's a crap situation but you have to find a way to keep going. That's life.

I get this. I ECO during last season, not because of the on field shit, the off field crap got to me. I am lucky enough that my other passion Leeds are flying and I have got right into supporting them(watch every game etc) compared to previous seasons.

I still have my membership. I’ll still go next week. But I am finding it tough to feel connected to the passion I previously had for us.

Hold on stavro#4 yes a low time and now a low expectation for the year ahead. Thanks for all your comments on BF as I and many others really appreciate your knowledge and balanced comments on here. They enable those of us outside Victoria to feel a bit more connected to the club.