Autopsy 2019 Rd 1 vs Richmond - Improved Blues go down by 33 points

Which players did you like the look of in Round 1?

Well that was effin frustrating.

Lots of green shoots sadly still too many thorns.

Ed/Murph up forward.
Plow did good job.
Harry
Newman
Walsh/Gibbons did well for first games
Philips rucking
Out hustled Tigers in 2nd and 3rd quarters
Weitering
Richmond copping a serious injury to a key player - welcome to the real world you bozos

Dislikes
Fumbles - got better as game wore on
Lack of effort running defensively - cost goals
Philips stupid free kicks and lack of awareness of Nank defensively
Senior players making stupid, stupid mistakes (Daisy chest make for example)
How many dumb “out on the full” kicks were there? - 8 at least
Abominable first quarter
Richmond flog supporters I had to listen to in the first quarter (they went a bit quiet after that!)
Horrible forward 50 entries
Players colliding at CHF and stuffing up what should have set shots at goal form directly in front.
Umpires in 1 st quarter.

Had to leave in last quarter before I killed someone.

that ed curnow rubbish on 50 was hard to watch - he does that - the uncertainty that throws everything forward of him into chaos.......

Walsh, Thomas, McKay, McGovern, Newman were our best.

Saw bits and pieces from almost everyone else but it's the little things in split second stuff that killed us time and time again, mostly from younger players who honestly aren't used to a stage like this so to an extent you can forgive them.

The biggest negatives were E and C Curnow personally, Ed butchered a lot of opportunities forward of the middle and that was without a doubt the worst game I have seen Charlie play, I can see him getting another chance to redeem himself but he cannot be allowed to stay in the seniors if he continues that level of output.

Garlett to make way for LOB maybe.

Really mixed bag tonight. First quarter essentially killed our chances outright.

Were we really improved?? I really dont think so, this is the best list we have had in years on PAPER. But the output was equal to or below much of what we served up last year with an inferior list.

Dont let the good 35 mins of footy fool you. That was a piss weak display tonight.
We haven't improved in a scoreline sense. However, there is more talent there than we have had recently. Yet, some players didn't show up and mostly they were the senior ones.

More or less what we expected given the differences in the 'good' type of experience.
As usual any half decision that could benefit them they get. And some that are outright charity.
Never seen a side so arsey. Ball hits legs or arms of a pack...falls into their path 50 times at least. Thats luck and nothing else.
But in the end they just had too much system. If they play like that every week though they wont be top 4.

We will improve rapidly. A few that needed the run.

Yeah there was a lot of those deflections that when their way, but their skills on the burst is terrific, while ours on the burst less, especially when Ed gets and slows the play down for no reason at all.

At the end of the day our poor entries into the 50 and our deplorable skills killed us.

Didn’t see much of a fitness improvement in the last quarter either.

Anyway Walsh was great. Setters looks great. Cunners was great. Dow had moments. So did Fish. It’s not all resting on Crippa now. And if we hit our targets it would have been a closer game.

Agree, and would throw in Newman as well...can hit a target

Cuningham has not been mentioned much - he played really well as far as confidence is concerned - hit the pack / ball hard. Unfortunately was the most costly afield with 7 clangers some were rebound goals. He is ready to take the next step.

Honestly i hated the curnows games. Both of them. Charlies been very fumbly the last few weeks but stays in the team. He will come right.. ed curnow i believe doesnt have a role anymore. Hes has been beyond terrible all pre season. Yeh he is still getting the ball. But very fumbly. And gives it straight back to the opposition.... would actually rather polson atm than ed..... or kennedy. Fasolo was ok. But very rusty. Garlett was ok but on very shakey ground as well.

I won’t speak on the negatives.

The positives:

Newman was very impressive. Felt safe when it was in his hands.

Setterfield just kept working away. Seems composed with the ball in hand. I was impressed.

Walsh did as many probably expected. Unbelievable for a 1st gamer.

Thought Jones had a solid game.

McGovern competed well in the air. Solid first game.

Cripps was Cripps.

Thought Plowman finished well.

Was optimistic coming into the game as we always are, still probably a good reality check that we are still behind the pack. Hope to see an improved effort next week.

that ed curnow rubbish on 50 was hard to watch - he does that - the uncertainty that throws everything forward of him into chaos.......
Love Ed and he always gives 100%, but he ain't no forward. Also, on the topic of senior guys, Daisy certainly put in a shift. One of the few guys who played 4 quarters.

Were we really improved?? I really dont think so, this is the best list we have had in years on PAPER. But the output was equal to or below much of what we served up last year with an inferior list.

Dont let the good 35 mins of footy fool you. That was a piss weak display tonight.
gee - it really fooled us - thanks for coming and sorting everything out for us..........

I was dows biggest fan at the start of last year. He fumbles WAY too much for a top line player. He is reminding me of a better sam kerridge. Absolutely killed us a few times tonight. He's set shot was horrid too.

Hope he pulls it together. Must be a confidence player because I've seen him do some judd like stuff.

He's good in the contest and in clearances...gets his head over the ball and has a nice initial burst and step.

Outside of that he's been lacking...kicking definitely iffy and his finishing at goal poor.
Faded as the game wore on as well, gassed in the last quarter i reckon.

Still, he's only a second year player. Not everyone can be a freak like Walsh.

Umpires first qtr thumbs down.

We showed plenty 2nd and 3rd quarters.

Would have liked us to fight it out to the end, but the year just looked bigger, fitter and faster than us as we tired. Understandable. They have been the best team for the last year and a half. They have regularly put teams to the sword in 4th qtrs.

Players I liked-

Setterfield- going to be a gun. Composed.
Newman- thank god we got this bloke in. Don't know what our backline would look like without him.
Cunners- great first half.
Cripps- just being cripps
Walsh- just being Walsh. Lock the rising star in.
Murphy- give us that all year plea
Thomas- playing much more freely
Weitering- had some boss moments
Harry- will be a 60 goal a year forward.
Simpson- keep giving us that to 400 games

Need to lift-
Fasolo- looked underdone
Ed- sloppy
Charlie- probably the worst game we will ever see him play again. Lets just give him a mulligan on this one.
Phillips- got a lesson from an average ruckman. Nankervis just works harder.
Plowman- he is lucky there are not too many pushing for his spot right now
Garlett- headless chook.

Edit-

Feel awful for Rance. Never want to see that.

Lots to like. Most would have said 5 goals would have been quite acceptable, it's just that we threatened and then faded that's tough.

Pros: I'm just wild about Harry.
Cons: I thought SPS would be a real weapon for us, but he seems to make a lot of bad decisions. Maybe the ball just comes in too hot