Player Watch #18: Alex Rance

Goldsack ruptured his ACL mate, full reco.

Most of the (if not all of) quick recovery times seem to come from lean players.

I think he actually has the graft taken from his quad which is a interesting / new technique. I wonder how much of a part that played in the quicker recovery.

Am hoping for the best , good news is we have outstanding key backs ,,how did Curnow and McGovern go last night.

The solutions will come from
1. Balta
2. Moore
3. Garthwaite , more defensive defender
4. Eggy smith ,,,don’t dismiss this man
5. Cholly

Garthy only decent option. Chol no chance.

Trying to take some positives out of all of this.

- It's happened in round 1, so if it is a full reco he will at least have a full pre-season and be ready to go round 1 2020.

- A year off could possibly refresh him and add years to the back of his career?

- We're going to get the chance to see if Garthwaite is up to it.

- Teams in recent years have shown us that losing one key player is not a total disaster, it can be covered.

- We still have Dave Astbury & Dylan Grimes, they're really good at football.

Trying to take some positives out of all of this.

- It's happened in round 1, so if it is a full reco he will at least have a full pre-season and be ready to go round 1 2020.

- A year off could possibly refresh him and add years to the back of his career?

- We're going to get the chance to see if Garthwaite is up to it.

- Teams in recent years have shown us that losing one key player is not a total disaster, it can be covered.

- We still have Dave Astbury & Dylan Grimes, they're really good at football.

- If it was to happen, betterit happened now not 2015/2016 in our Rance reliant years. Would have won the Spoon had he done it in 16.

Said that this morning as he was going in for scans.... obviously a heavy media presence.
Not surprised. Rance’s injury will be the big news story of the weekend, unless another big name goes down for the season but I don’t think that’ll happen, it’ll be all about Alex Rance this weekend. :(

Sand took no joy out of the win as a result, full credit to him though, unbelievable how hell he has taken it.
Champion

reckon its not as bad as we think

i remember looking away in disgust when other players done em due to the graphic detail of the injury

i couldnt even notice rance's (thought it was his left leg :drunk:

He’s such an awesome person. Always looking on the bright side.

How can people (opposition supporters) not like this guy????

People think hes over rated.

Not realising of course that players dont decide themselves who the medias going to label the best XXX

Happened to stringer (well before it came out hes a garbage human) the second BT started with the package nonsense pretty much half of the general public turnd against him.

Rance has always been a humble team focused person who would be a gift to any club he played for, and its stuff liek this that shows the strength of his character

any flog celebrating and saying he deserves this because he had the audacity to have the media say hes the best defender since scarlett is a degenerate.

People think hes over rated.

Not realising of course that players dont decide themselves who the medias going to label the best XXX

Happened to stringer (well before it came out hes a garbage human) the second BT started with the package nonsense pretty much half of the general public turnd against him.

Rance has always been a humble team focused person who would be a gift to any club he played for, and its stuff liek this that shows the strength of his character

any flog celebrating and saying he deserves this because he had the audacity to have the media say hes the best defender since scarlett is a degenerate.
imagine if there was social media in the 90s, silvagni would be called overated for sure

He’s such an awesome person. Always looking on the bright side.

How can people (opposition supporters) not like this guy????

They don’t like his clownish personality. People want players to be robots.

Best of luck Alex
I made the mistake of scrolling through Facebook after the game and read through the comments on some AFL stories regarding Rance's injury.
In a week where "online trolls" have been in the spotlight I was disgusted by the comments and behaviour of most of the people posting.
Big ups to those who've come in here and posted well wishes. Not saying anyone has to like the bloke, I understand the whole tribal team thing, but to laugh at someone elses misfortune and make derogatory comments in the wake of what may turn out to be devastating news for the individual is pretty bloody low in my books.

Best of luck Alex
I made the mistake of scrolling through Facebook after the game and read through the comments on some AFL stories regarding Rance's injury.
In a week where "online trolls" have been in the spotlight I was disgusted by the comments and behaviour of most of the people posting.
Big ups to those who've come in here and posted well wishes. Not saying anyone has to like the bloke, I understand the whole tribal team thing, but to laugh at someone elses misfortune and make derogatory comments in the wake of what may turn out to be devastating news for the individual is pretty bloody low in my books.
I never read AFL stories on Facebook, especially not those related to Richmond players. It just upsets me. Social Media is one of the worst things ever invented, it’s too unaccountable.

I personally try not to post anything I wouldn’t say to your face, I wish more people would be like that.

I don't usually come on to oppo boards, but as others have mentioned, Rance isn't just another player.

Fingers crossed it isn't a season ender for him. My first thought was just a knee hyperextension and a few weeks out. I can understand what you're all feeling after what happened to Mitchell for us.

You blokes are still the favourites IMO and will be bloody tough for anyone to knock off at the pointy end. You've still got a great coach and tons of star players across the field - Grimes and Astbury are elite defenders and it won't be long until Lynch starts clunking those marks and kicks bags of 6+.

Best of luck for the rest of the season.

I don't usually come on to oppo boards, but as others have mentioned, Rance isn't just another player.

Fingers crossed it isn't a season ender for him. My first thought was just a knee hyperextension and a few weeks out. I can understand what you're all feeling after what happened to Mitchell for us.

You blokes are still the favourites IMO and will be bloody tough for anyone to knock off at the pointy end. You've still got a great coach and tons of star players across the field - Grimes and Astbury are elite defenders and it won't be long until Lynch starts clunking those marks and kicks bags of 6+.

Best of luck for the rest of the season.
Nice of you to pop in and say that man, cheers.

People say we've been lucky with injuries but this is the savage opposite hey... Also, I would say we haven't been that lucky, if anyone remembers Nathan Brown, Mark Coughlan and Nathan Foley who were all shining lights in dark times, then struck down after not long.

Anyway, good teams require their best 22 to stay fit, that's how they stay up, so luck is always part of successful eras. Hopefully we get some relieving news from Rance's scans, as he is so, so important to us.

Cheers again for the kind words dude..

I come in peace.

Cracks me up when people say he isn't that good because he doesn't play the traditional KB role, easily the best allround defender of the decade IMO, fingers crossed it isn't an ACL, isn't the end of the world if it is either.
Who are you and what have you done with Frank?