Player Watch #18: Alex Rance

Shocking news to one of your star players guys. I wish him well in his rehab.

One thing that comes through clearly from players that have gone through long rehab is what an awful time it is for the player. We've recently sent Patton to the US for a couple of weeks and the club said it was to break up the drudgery of rehab. Zac Williams trained the NEAFL backs last year partly for the same reason he says.

West Coast keep Nic Nat very close to the action and even in the coaches box.

Every player is different but hopefully he can find what he needs to keep his chin up

Wheres the link for this interview ?

#getwellrance
#unleashgarthwaite
I’m on my phone so have no idea how to link, but I saw the article on the AFL app.

this is a real shame. It's a horrible cliche these days, but Rance is genuinely one of football's good guys.

I have always been so impressed with his attitude and the way he approaches his life and his career. I don't think it can be overstated how important it is to have guys like him in the sport, who have that kind of perspective: not just on sport and it's relative importance (or lack thereof), but more broadly on life as well.

I wish all players who suffer injuries the best, but for Rance I'm genuinely hoping he has a really good rehab and gets back to doing what he does as soon as possible.

In the meantime though, you know he won't sit around feeling sorry for himself. RFC are lucky to have a guy like him in the clubrooms frankly

l
He might get back for finals Goldsack did it .
We just want him right for 2020, we'll be even better with more time in midfield kids, that really is our biggest weakness still.

Have a full side for 2020 round 1 including one or both of Ross / RCD and look out.

But yeah, we'll still be good this year, just not as good as we woulda been.

One thing that comes through clearly from players that have gone through long rehab is what an awful time it is for the player. We've recently sent Patton to the US for a couple of weeks and the club said it was to break up the drudgery of rehab. Zac Williams trained the NEAFL backs last year partly for the same reason he says.

Every player is different but hopefully he can find what he needs to keep his chin up
Im sure Rance will love being a mentor to Balta, Garthwaight and co this year.
It may even help extend his career by a year or two

I feel disappointed for Rance but it's hard to feel too sorry for the supporters. Have been absolutely kissed with no injuries the last couple of years when others teams has as many as 10 players from their best 22 out regularly

get ****ed you stupid ****ing campaigner

Terrible news to hear for anyone but especially someone of his caliber. As a footy fan you want to see the best on the park and he’s always someone I enjoy watching go about his craft (except against us!) seems like a great guy also

He has his school to keep him occupied and I wouldn’t be surprised to see him help coaching our backs, especially the kids that’ll be coming in for him, he will most definitely not be sitting around feeling sorry for himself. :)

He is a physical specimen, he will recover well and be back 2020.

Will he back round 1 or does it mean he is out for 12 months and THEN has to do a preseason?

Positive #1 - We find out who else will be a good backman for us (Garthwaite / Balta)

Positive #2 - We are no longer favourites, we can play with a bit more freedom

Positive #3 - If he is back Round 1 2020, with a full year into Ross / Collier-Dawkins, we'll be looking damn strong on all lines in 2020.

Negative #1 - Might be my last season in Aus before going back to Japan, so I'm shattered. ****.

Best wishes Rancey, we're with ya mate.
Every ACL recovery is differnt.

Naitanui's first ACL rupture was in Round 21, 2016. He didn't play again until Round 1, 2018, didn't feature in any preseason games and only just got up for Round 1. 18 months between games.

Naitanui's current ACL rupture happened in Round 17, 2018 and he is expected to be playing again before the bye, round 9 is the current estimate. Could potentially be less than 10 months between games.

Last year Goldsack did his ACL in the JLT and made it back for the qualifying final.

All depends on the severity of the rupture and how 'clean' it was.

Terrible news to hear for anyone but especially someone of his caliber. As a footy fan you want to see the best on the park and he’s always someone I enjoy watching go about his craft (except against us!) seems like a great guy also
Thanks for your kind words, good to hear some oppo fans see the same in him as we do. Seems like a lot of people just think he's an overrated diving w***er.

I feel disappointed for Rance but it's hard to feel too sorry for the supporters. Have been absolutely kissed with no injuries the last couple of years when others teams has as many as 10 players from their best 22 out regularly
So where were the people saying Hawthorn of recent times and Geelong before them were kissed with no injuries? Good teams are good because they have gun players BUT also because they all stay on the park.

We had, what, one year (2018) where we stayed mostly fit yet, we're the first to say our depth isn't amazing and, despite missing Rioli, Prestia, Butler, Conca for chunks of the season, we still finished 18-4. People forget that Dusty and Astbury were cooked in the prelim last year, and that in the not too distant past we had horrible injuries to stars when we had no one else (Coughlan, Nathan Brown, Foley...)

Don't tell me we've been lucky, we've copped more than our fair share mate and this is absolutely savage given we are finally up and about, so you can gagf.

Rance will be back, what a superstar bloke.

Out: Rance, Expectations, Being Hunted

In: Garthwaite, Nothing to Lose, Hunting

What did Tommy say about wounded Tigers?
THERES NOTHING MORE TIGERISH THANT A WOUNDED TIGER

The way Alex acted last night is a testament to the type of person he is. Selfless, supportive, team player and up beat and positive. He got back out to the bench as soon as he could to support his team mates when he could be in the rooms sulking over his misfortune. He gave interviews showing how humble and grateful he is for the the opportunity he's had to play at the top level with our great club. Top bloke, he'll be back.

My dog did her ACL she recovered in 6 weeks . Best
How long would it take to clone said dog and transplant said ACL to Rance? :think:

I'm so sad. :'(

My thought is possibly Moore comes in and plays the role Balta played last night as the fwd/2nd ruck, and perhaps Balta goes down back.

Whilst clearly inexperienced, appears to have the agility and strength to compete and at worst stop and oppo KPF from dominating a game?

Best of luck Alex
I made the mistake of scrolling through Facebook after the game and read through the comments on some AFL stories regarding Rance's injury.
In a week where "online trolls" have been in the spotlight I was disgusted by the comments and behaviour of most of the people posting.
Big ups to those who've come in here and posted well wishes. Not saying anyone has to like the bloke, I understand the whole tribal team thing, but to laugh at someone elses misfortune and make derogatory comments in the wake of what may turn out to be devastating news for the individual is pretty bloody low in my books.

This is the exact reason why i haven't bothered looking, he is an outstanding athlete and even if it was Marc Murphy i would still show respect, any athlete.

Don't think it's been mentioned yet but one would think we'd be eyeing a replacement in the midseason draft?

This gives us a few months to start scouting the state leagues for defensive cover. The player would obviously be a significant downgrade but could provide cover for further defensive injuries should they occur.

I wonder if we did identify a player, if they could start playing in our VFL team to learn the system / structures?

My thought is possibly Moore comes in and plays the role Balta played last night as the fwd/2nd ruck, and perhaps Balta goes down back.

Whilst clearly inexperienced, appears to have the agility and strength to compete and at worst stop and oppo KPF from dominating a game?

dont mind it actually, only issue is moore is still very undersized for ruck

Yeh I get the size thing, but hopefully with his leap he will at least be able to contest a centre bounce.
Last night he would have been competing against McKay in there, and I think he would have been competitive...

Yeh I get the size thing, but hopefully with his leap he will at least be able to contest a centre bounce.
Last night he would have been competing against McKay in there, and I think he would have been competitive...

yeh i reckon for certain match ups it would be fine