Preview Round 2, 2019: Hawthorn v Western Bulldogs, 31 March 3:20pm AEDT @ MCG

• Thread starter Thread starter Gralin

For Scully? Henderson. For Wingard - Puopolo.
Henderson is great though.

Not bothered really, but I'd think Morrison, Mirra, then Scrimshaw in order of more likely to be dropped for Scully and Wingard. Poppy no chance just yet you'd think.

Looks like Scull will play. Ch9 news have all but named him. Silk nearly gave it away in an interview this arvo.

actually thinking about it now, he is going to be important helping the midfield out this week. Doggies are an underrated midfield.

Henderson is great though.

Not bothered really, but I'd think Morrison, Mirra, then Scrimshaw in order of more likely to be dropped for Scully and Wingard. Poppy no chance just yet you'd think.
Wouldnt be surprised if it was Mira as Stratts wont have a 100% lock down role this week

I'm so stoked that Scully is playing.

Seriously - I thought he was cooked. The guy was traded for a future fourth round pick. That's somewhere between pick 72 and 89.

The guy is a seriously good wingman (although hasn't won any awards at all really). But we got him for nothing and didn't expect him to play for ages. It's going to be awesome.

Seriously - I thought he was cooked. The guy was traded for a future fourth round pick. That's somewhere between pick 72 and 89.

The guy is a seriously good wingman (although hasn't won any awards at all really). But we got him for nothing and didn't expect him to play for ages. It's going to be awesome.

Tell me about it mate, I'm bloody wrapped as well.

I posted here before the beginning of the season that I had been told to not be surprised if he plays Round 1 which seemed near impossible.

After the side was named and he obviously was not part of it, I mentioned it and was met with a "don't worry mate she'll be right, keep patient" which I figured would mean a few weeks.

If he was to play this week, it'd drastically improve our side and with Wingard to come in the side we'll certainly give the competition a good shake up.

Definitely keeping my fingers crossed.

My personal opinion based on nothing is Scully will play Ed 3 and Wingard rd 4.
Scully will play half a game of VFL this week though I reckon.

I agree 100%. I thought for GWS accepting a fourth round pick he must be a 50/50 to play AFL at all so amazed that he is even in the conversation in playing this early on.

I guess the Hawks medical and coaching staff thought it is possible when they took the punt because he is extremely professional about the way he trains and gave himself every chance to play again. I thought mid-season would be huge but this is amazing.

Henderson has really exceeded my expectations with good run and carry with a thumping kick. I think he would be pretty stiff to be dropped ahead of Morrison, Scrimshaw and Poppy.

I personally think give Scully and Wingard if ready to play, give them and a run around at Box Hill to get a game under their belt and leave the side unchanged, then assess after the Dogs match.

However the powers that be would know far more than me as two guns, but pretty exciting that they are even in the mix to be picked, especially Scully.

Any news on Birchall? It seems like he hasn't played for years. Has his time come? Impey, Sicily and Scrimshaw look to have covered halfback well.

My personal opinion based on nothing is Scully will play Ed 3 and Wingard rd 4.
Scully will play half a game of VFL this week though I reckon.

Fast forward Scully one week to Round 2 and Wingard to Round 3, neither will play VFL.

I agree 100%. I thought for GWS accepting a fourth round pick he must be a 50/50 to play AFL at all so amazed that he is even in the conversation in playing this early on.

I guess the Hawks medical and coaching staff thought it is possible when they took the punt because he is extremely professional about the way he trains and gave himself every chance to play again. I thought mid-season would be huge but this is amazing.

Henderson has really exceeded my expectations with good run and carry with a thumping kick. I think he would be pretty stiff to be dropped ahead of Morrison, Scrimshaw and Poppy.

I personally think give Scully and Wingard if ready to play, give them and a run around at Box Hill to get a game under their belt and leave the side unchanged, then assess after the Dogs match.

However the powers that be would know far more than me as two guns, but pretty exciting that they are even in the mix to be picked, especially Scully.

Any news on Birchall? It seems like he hasn't played for years. Has his time come? Impey, Sicily and Scrimshaw look to have covered halfback well.

The Giants dire salary cap situation also played a part, although that's often overlooked amongst the Australian media and fans alike.

Yes true, I realise they were freeing up a lot of salary cap space but looks like it might come back to bite them on the arse.
Would be interested to know what salary he has agreed to at the Hawks on that point?

For Scully? Henderson. For Wingard - Puopolo.

Mirra another candidate.
I don't think they will drop a runner for Scully.
Think Scrimshaw would go before Mirra too currently.

Having Hendo, Scully and Smith in the same team is better than not.

Yes true, I realise they were freeing up a lot of salary cap space but looks like it might come back to bite them on the arse.
Would be interested to know what salary he has agreed to at the Hawks on that point?

Fairly certain it's around the 1.5 mill over 3 years mark.

Looks like Scull will play. Ch9 news have all but named him. Silk nearly gave it away in an interview this arvo.
I think Wingard will play seniors and Scully for Box Hill. I also think Scully will play just a half to get the cobwebs out. Not long before we know 🤗

Stupid people like Kane Cornes forget that he’s still on pretty good money which we still had to take a risk in trading for.

Fairly certain it's around the 1.5 mill over 3 years mark.
I do remember that being around the rumoured figure. I wouldn’t be surprised if there was a clause put into the last year of the deal. Something like he had to play a certain amount of games.

Jeez just thinking about Scully, Smith and Hendo all in the same team is just unfair, we are going to run some teams absolutely ragged this season. If only we had Tommy Mitchell still playing 90% game time as well.

And Morrison is a good runner and Nash is a good runner and Gunston is a good runner (current ITB issues aside)