Preview Round 2, 2019: Essendon v St.Kilda - Marvel Stadium, Saturday 30th March, 4:35PM AEDT

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Who Wins?

• Bombers

Votes: 26 32.9%
  • Saints

Votes: 53 67.1%

Was originally so nothing clashed with the AFLW Grand Final. Except now its being played on Sunday because they wouldn't have been able to clear Adelaide Oval in time for the 4:40pm Port v Carlton game.
One man and his opinion but putting aside the experience of an AFLW GF at Adelaide Oval, surely being the only game in town on Saturday afternoon outweighs the venue and competing with the other games on Sunday? Don’t want to get too off-topic but it’s an interesting one

Although I like the changes but we really are conservative with our selections and that's why our development of players is bottom 3. We should be pumping games into Clark and Coffield rather than having them play VFL.

On ONEPLUS A5000 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Disagree entirely. They get a game when they are good enough.

We had heaps of debuts last season, three, just last week.
Clark played 15 games last year, Coffield ten.
Clark got 23 disposals in the VFL not huge numbers, comparison last year when Billings was dropped went back and got 55.
Not saying Clark should get those numbers but needs to impress more.
Coffield is just way off the mark.

Gifting games to players when others are performing better is not going to happen.

Clark got 23 disposals in the VFL not huge numbers, comparison last year when Billings was dropped went back and got 55.

Gifting games to players when others are performing better is not going to happen.
Been wondering what would be the best for Clark's development in the long run.

He played some good footy playing off the half back line last year and I have no doubt he'd be well suited to that role at the moment and he's played a lot of his footy in that position the the tac cup. A lot of top midfielders have down apprenticeships on the flanks at either end of the ground.

Or do we just focus on him becoming a pure midfielder and if that means spending more time in the VFL then so be it?

I have been thinking about this and can't help but think that playing in the VFL is not always a good indicator of potential Afl performance.
See Worpel for example. He was struggling in the VFL but when given a role and responsibility at the higher level he has really blossomed.
Of the 10 top 10 draft picks from the 2017 draft the only ones not currently playing at afl level are Nick Coffield, Hunter Clark and Lochie O'brien. For a team that is meant to finish last, surely we can find some room for them.
Last year in the JLT Coffield looked like he had his name on the rising star already but then was dropped for round 1. Clark got similar treatment this year. Bouncing in and out of the team after good games seemed to really have a negative effect on Coffields confidence.

Not on topic I know... just getting a bit concerned and want the best for our young stars.

We had this discussion on here about geary last year when he spent time on the wing and as a tagger.

I like it, he’s an aerobic beast, fast, courageous, hard as a cats head and our captain. This mob carved us up last time with their outside run and gun, if I recall correctly Heppell and their small guys had a field day. I want to see guys accountable and a game plan that shuts them down.

We can beat this mob if we play smart pressure football and win the contested ball.
Geelong's Tom Harley was more like that, a bit of a tagger than a neat disposal mid, wasn't he? Sometimes a captain can inspire his team through that tough role, more than through his elite skills.

I have been thinking about this and can't help but think that playing in the VFL is not always a good indicator of potential Afl performance.
See Worpel for example. He was struggling in the VFL but when given a role and responsibility at the higher level he has really blossomed.
Of the 10 top 10 draft picks from the 2017 draft the only ones not currently playing at afl level are Nick Coffield, Hunter Clark and Lochie O'brien. For a team that is meant to finish last, surely we can find some room for them.
Last year in the JLT Coffield looked like he had his name on the rising star already but then was dropped for round 1. Clark got similar treatment this year. Bouncing in and out of the team after good games seemed to really have a negative effect on Coffields confidence.

Not on topic I know... just getting a bit concerned and want the best for our young stars.
I can see how it's frustrating but looking at last week's side, we did have 4 of our 22 with under 10 games, so it isn't as though we aren't blooding players.

I think we'll see more as the year goes on as well but for now we are one win from one game so we can't just right off the season and play every kid.

Coffield looked fine playing off half back last yr. Clark was raved about by almost every single player as the preseason stand out. Yet we still keep giving games to plodders like Dunstan and Savage. Comparing to other teams around our mark, they have been getting games like Dow, sps etc.

I am 100% whitey would be a very good player in a good system..you only have to watch his game against gws last yr to see his potential.

Coffield looked fine playing off half back last yr. Clark was raved about by almost every single player as the preseason stand out. Yet we still keep giving games to plodders like Dunstan and Savage. Comparing to other teams around our mark, they have been getting games like Dow, sps etc.

I am 100% whitey would be a very good player in a good system..you only have to watch his game against gws last yr to see his potential.

Luke Dunstan is a contested ball winner, every week he goes out and wins as much footy as Clarke did in his best game ( West Coast ).
He gets games for the same reason he did in his first two seasons in the club, its just frustrating he's never got any better, so he's no champion, but he is good at what he does. Clark is not yet ready to carry the main contested ball winner mantle, if he ever will be .

White isn't being ignored. In his first three seasons he got 1, 3, and 6 games. Chances are he will get a few this year too. If he'd come in and set the world on fire, ( like Dunstan did in his first year ) you'd have a point. He was mediocre in an experienced back line.
How fit is White, wasn't he on the wrong end of the time trials ?

I think it will be all down to win/loss in regards to more games to the kids.
TBH, think Richo is on sack watch, so is playing the team at present to try and get a few wins and keep his job, he feels your so called plodders like Dunston and Savage are more likely to get the job done atm moment. that's just the way it is.

We have been rebuilding for 7-8yrs now and finished 16th last year. I hope too we have a good season but our selection panel is deplorable. Richo is on the watch and I hope he is gone before this year ends. I can go on and give you plenty of examples from last year like playing injured Weller etc. We need go in with a balanced squad and show faith in our high draft picks.
Yeah lets play all our unproven lads when we still have a chance to have a good season. I’d rather start putting games into our kids when the season is shot, personally.

St Kilda and proud.

Totally agree which is why someone needs to grow balls at selection table and play out kids with potential. We need an innovative coach like bevo, Goodwin unlike a traditionalist in richo..
TBH, think Richo is on sack watch, so is playing the team at present to try and get a few wins and keep his job, he feels your so called plodders like Dunston and Savage are more likely to get the job done atm moment. that's just the way it is.

I actually agree that Clark should play in the 2s until his form is irresistible.

He needs to learn his craft and how to use his skill set. At AFL level his work rate and 2 way running gets found out.

But Richo is also coaching for his job and trusting his group that came through initially under him

Maybe we watch different games. Inside mid having average disposal and still having under 20disposals a game doesn't warrant selection. Savage is the same. Dunstan has his moments but I'll much rather have Clark in guts then him.
Luke Dunstan is a contested ball winner, every week he goes out and wins as much footy as Clarke did in his best game ( West Coast ).
He gets games for the same reason he did in his first two seasons in the club, its just frustrating he's never got any better, so he's no champion, but he is good at what he does. Clark is not yet ready to carry the main contested ball winner mantle, if he ever will be .

White isn't being ignored. In his first three seasons he got 1, 3, and 6 games. Chances are he will get a few this year too. If he'd come in and set the world on fire, ( like Dunstan did in his first year ) you'd have a point. He was mediocre in an experienced back line.
How fit is White, wasn't he on the wrong end of the time trials ?

Add young to that group and we have a monster.
Yes, potentially.
We have the makings of a really tough fwd line which will be really hard to defend against or escape from.

Maybe we watch different games. Inside mid having average disposal and still having under 20disposals a game doesn't warrant selection. Savage is the same. Dunstan has his moments but I'll much rather have Clark in guts then him.

If he was getting 20 possessions a game and 14 are contested. It is enough.

Contested Possession = Getting the ball when the opponent is nearby. Someone has to do it.
I don't care how good some seagull is at pinpointing kicks to his team-mate, if they all the the ball placed in their hands we wont win.

If you let the opponent get the ball, which is what Cripps, Shiel , Mitchell ( when fit )'s opponents do every week, its a turnover before it happens.

So only the players who were picked 7th, 8th and 10th in the top 10 picks are not playing AFL. How bout that, the ones that were picked first might be making a bigger impact.

Considering the ongoing free kick deficit against us we don’t need to give the umps any more excuses to free kick us. Nothing wrong with aggression, but it must be well directed.

The possible goal taken off Stuv was very costly. He’ll be back soon, I imagine.

Watch the replay, the GC player hits Long hard in the chest, he responds with less force after jolting him and giving the guy a fright first. The umpire was just being campaigner or he's a racist.

Yeah its was interesting to watch Parker in the little melee after he chased down a few GCS players in the forward pocket. Its was very instructive that he didn't even enter into the push and shove - nice to know he has that control despite his aggressive attack on the man with the ball.

I'd be showing Long that clip a few times to reinforce that its attack on the man with the ball that counts not the man.

To be fair to Long the umpires watched the GC players getting into Parker and Long had to come in to bat for him. The moment he stood up to the players he was punished. Someone on facebook had footage showing a GC punching Parker in the guts and pushing him to the ground and the umps thought that was fine. Long gets angry because they aren't protecting the player and they pull out bullshit frees. I'd rather someone stand up for a team mate than be scared of the punitive mini sheriff handing out made up penalties.

Watch the replay, the GC player hits Long hard in the chest, he responds with less force after jolting him and giving the guy a fright first. The umpire was just being campaigner or he's a racist.
I actually think Long got done for intimidating his opponent right before he gets pinged. If you watch it back he shapes up to his opponent and sizes him up. Wouldn’t have been a good look right infront of the umpire. Weak call against him but stupidity nonetheless. It wasn’t needed and he could of done it post goal