Preview Round 2, 2019: Essendon v St.Kilda - Marvel Stadium, Saturday 30th March, 4:35PM AEDT

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Who Wins?

• Bombers

Votes: 26 32.9%
  • Saints

Votes: 53 67.1%

Simple. They convert, they’re golden.

Or, marry her, spend years working the Dad to take over the business while assisting him in partaking liberally in whatever vice is likely to kill him fastest, then once I have full control over the business, divorce the wench and laugh all way off into the sunset.

Otherwise, see above.
I like that you at least tried to convert her before killing her father and breaking her heart :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:

Maybe we watch different games. Inside mid having average disposal and still having under 20disposals a game doesn't warrant selection. Savage is the same. Dunstan has his moments but I'll much rather have Clark in guts then him.

On ONEPLUS A5000 using BigFooty.com mobile app
So who is Dunstan's direct replacement?

Clark is not only Armo can do his inside grunt work.
You want a team balance but want to completely throw it out by having Clark and Coffield at the cost of who? Dunstan and Savage?
The reason the team is selected is to win games. If Richo is playing for his career it stands to reason the team currently has more chance to win with Clark and Coffield out of the team in his eyes.

Clark I reckon will be an excellent inside mid eventually, Coffield,I am concerned about.
Both need to learn how to play. The coaches see them all week at training and match sim. They know more than anyone about what is required. And obviously the trio needs time in the VFL according to Richo, Ratts, Lade and Batcholer

Straight from richo's mouth:

We like Longy’s aggression. Every now and again, perhaps he doesn’t quite get that right but by and large that’s a real positive for us. This is more a balance of the team; we just think that with Parker and Lonie, Kent and our want to just be a little bit bigger in front of the ball.
“Longy’s a little bit unlucky there, we’ve had a conversation about what he needs to do to not be the unlucky one going forward, but he’s a terrific player, he’s just committed to us for a while and we’ve committed to him.

“We know he’s going to be a beauty, but he’s only a young fella. He’s only just started his AFL career and coping with non-selection is part of the journey and I’m sure he’ll deal with that really strongly.”

Think in order for us to improve long term, we just gotta hope that Long replaces Lonie/Kent in that player mix due to his effort and discipline, cuz he has more talent wise IMHO

So who is Dunstan's direct replacement?

Clark is not only Armo can do his inside grunt work.
You want a team balance but want to completely throw it out by having Clark and Coffield at the cost of who? Dunstan and Savage?
The reason the team is selected is to win games. If Richo is playing for his career it stands to reason the team currently has more chance to win with Clark and Coffield out of the team in his eyes.

Clark I reckon will be an excellent inside mid eventually, Coffield,I am concerned about.
Both need to learn how to play. The coaches see them all week at training and match sim. They know more than anyone about what is required. And obviously the trio needs time in the VFL according to Richo, Ratts, Lade and Batcholer
Your 100% right Joffaboy , Richo selecting who he thinks is most likely to win games now.

Unfortunatly, some of us (including me) think that this is to the detriment of our long term development and chances of rising up the ladder.
For this year, lets hope we are wrong and this team starts heading up the ladder in the right direction. (trying to keep it positive)

Although I like the changes but we really are conservative with our selections and that's why our development of players is bottom 3. We should be pumping games into Clark and Coffield rather than having them play VFL.

On ONEPLUS A5000 using BigFooty.com mobile app
I can understand the lure of playing young talented kids. We also need to factor in their confidence. Playing each week in the 1’s having limited impact with limited touches can do more harm than good for a young player. Building confidence and setting a kid up to succeed more often then not, takes time. They can’t all be a Sam Walsh or bont that can just get in there and impact straight away.

Both kids have shown signs but yet to impact a game in any noticeable way.

In time they will.

I actually think Long got done for intimidating his opponent right before he gets pinged. If you watch it back he shapes up to his opponent and sizes him up. Wouldn’t have been a good look right infront of the umpire. Weak call against him but stupidity nonetheless. It wasn’t needed and he could of done it post goal

I think Long was hard done by. It was more a case of two players giving each other a few harmless taps. I actually thought Newnes' child-like tantrum on the boundary line later in the game was more undisciplined than Long's actions, gifting the Suns a free inside fifty entry at a vital point in the game, so I'm surprised Jack didn't get into trouble with the coaching staff. (Who knows, maybe he did.)

I can understand the lure of playing young talented kids. We also need to factor in their confidence. Playing each week in the 1’s having limited impact with limited touches can do more harm than good for a young player. Building confidence and setting a kid up to succeed more often then not, takes time. They can’t all be a Sam Walsh or bont that can just get in there and impact straight away.

Both kids have shown signs but yet to impact a game in any noticeable way.

In time they will.

On the other hand, playing well in the 2s, doing everything right and still getting looked over, while your peers are getting games in other teams and talked up in the media as stars etc would be a confidence crusher.

Watch the replay, the GC player hits Long hard in the chest, he responds with less force after jolting him and giving the guy a fright first. The umpire was just being campaigner or he's a racist.
Long pushed him first... then the GC player pushed him back a bit harder, umpire comes over and tells them both to stop and Long doesn't stop. It's pretty simple really, it was soft but you can see exactly what the umpire is saying to both of them and Long just ignores it.

I think Long was hard done by. It was more a case of two players giving each other a few harmless taps. I actually thought Newnes' child-like tantrum on the boundary line later in the game was more undisciplined than Long's actions, gifting the Suns a free inside fifty entry at a vital point in the game, so I'm surprised Jack didn't get into trouble with the coaching staff. (Who knows, maybe he did.)

Agreed but yeah we are assuming that that is the reason that he is omitted. It could have been for something completely different.

Just noticed you've been a forum member since 2000. Massive respect; is that when Big Footy started? Posting since dial up - that's hardcore :thumbsu:

They used one of those telegraph beeper things to tap out morse code to each other back then.

Long pushed him first... then the GC player pushed him back a bit harder, umpire comes over and tells them both to stop and Long doesn't stop. It's pretty simple really, it was soft but you can see exactly what the umpire is saying to both of them and Long just ignores it.

Someone on FB has the footage and Long gets hit first and retaliates, it won't let me post it for some reason. It happened in front of us and that's how I remembered it too.

I don't believe you can judge Dunstan, or any midfielder purely on the amount of disposals that they get in a game
High disposals for a midfielder does not always equate to high effectiveness.
A midfielder who gets 36 possessions with a TOG of 80%, has the ball in hand for approximately 3 minutes in the 90 odd minutes they are on the ground.
How they occupy their time in the other 87 minutes, without ball in hand, should, and does have a fairly significant impact on how coaches determine their effectiveness. Tom Mitchell is a good example. He was racking up telephone numbers in the NEAFL and the coaches would not play him because they wanted him to work on the defensive side of his game.
Dunstan had 7 tackles last week and he must be doing all the defensive and offensive things that the coaches ask of him, otherwise he would not be getting a game. There is no doubt that he needs to use the ball a lot better, but to judge him only on the amount of possessions he is getting is not the full picture.

I don't believe you can judge Dunstan, or any midfielder purely on the amount of disposals that they get in a game
High disposals for a midfielder does not always equate to high effectiveness.
A midfielder who gets 36 possessions with a TOG of 80%, has the ball in hand for approximately 3 minutes in the 90 odd minutes they are on the ground.
How they occupy their time in the other 87 minutes, without ball in hand, should, and does have a fairly significant impact on how coaches determine their effectiveness. Tom Mitchell is a good example. He was racking up telephone numbers in the NEAFL and the coaches would not play him because they wanted him to work on the defensive side of his game.
Dunstan had 7 tackles last week and he must be doing all the defensive and offensive things that the coaches ask of him, otherwise he would not be getting a game. There is no doubt that he needs to use the ball a lot better, but to judge him only on the amount of possessions he is getting is not the full picture.

I think the way Ratten sets up has meant Savage and Dunstan have been given a life line. All of a sudden we are using an inside bull, I think Richo was happy to crash the Rolls Royce in Stuv through the middle, but setting up with your more effective players doing the outside work and using a battering ram to get first use makes sense.

Your 100% right Joffaboy , Richo selecting who he thinks is most likely to win games now.

Unfortunatly, some of us (including me) think that this is to the detriment of our long term development and chances of rising up the ladder.
For this year, lets hope we are wrong and this team starts heading up the ladder in the right direction. (trying to keep it positive)
But doesnt that mean he is selecting players whom he thinks are better?

Do you and others really want them to select team that are not the best available?

That is incredible

To be fair to Long the umpires watched the GC players getting into Parker and Long had to come in to bat for him. The moment he stood up to the players he was punished. Someone on facebook had footage showing a GC punching Parker in the guts and pushing him to the ground and the umps thought that was fine. Long gets angry because they aren't protecting the player and they pull out bullshit frees. I'd rather someone stand up for a team mate than be scared of the punitive mini sheriff handing out made up penalties.
Mini sheriff seriously!!!

Here's the thing Gringo - if the umpire says enough of that crap - next one to jumper punch I'm paying a free kick against and Long goes ahead and jumper punches - who's fault is it?

That's where his problem lies at the moment. He lacks discipline.

We were very lucky to escape with no free kick on the head high tackle he applied in the last minute of the game.

I don't want him to tone it down - just get a bit smarter about it - hence the comment about Parker.

It started late 1999 I think. Never posted on the Saints board only General Board. Stopped posting for a few years, now only post on the Saints page and very occasionally on the cricket forum.

Mini sheriff seriously!!!

Here's the thing Gringo - if the umpire says enough of that crap - next one to jumper punch I'm paying a free kick against and Long goes ahead and jumper punches - who's fault is it?

That's where his problem lies at the moment. He lacks discipline.

We were very lucky to escape with no free kick on the head high tackle he applied in the last minute of the game.

I don't want him to tone it down - just get a bit smarter about it - hence the comment about Parker.

Okay, I'll rephrase that, micro-genital, uber-maggot with an increased estimation of his own importance. Maybe he did maybe he didn't, may-be he was sensing the situation getting out of hand as far as a melee went and just got deliberately punitive believing he'd calm the situation by unfairly punishing the first guy saw.

We used to stand in a room and yell at each other.

With dial up, you'd load a message and come back after dinner to see a response.