Discussion 2019 General AFL Discussion

Umpiring has been utterly disgusting tonight.

The only time I will ever agree with Wayne “I glass women” Carey.

creative accounting is the inside word over here. the unlimited 3rd party payment spend is ruining the competitive balance.
What do you mean by "unlimited 3rd party payments"? To who?

previously there was a cap on the income derived from third parties. so for example if cotton on was employing gary abblett for whatever reason that had to be declared under third party payments. that was scrapped in favor of the marketting allowance per club and the removal of capping income considered to be outside of footy. so the word is, you set up a business/ABN. make sure you provide a service to a sponsor of the football club all at inflated prices. sometimes the sponsor is not even a named sponsor, just a friend of the club. suddenly it doesn't matter if you are collecting market rate declared under the cap. what do you care where the money comes from? so do you get 1m under the cap + 200k in marketting allowance a year, or do you settle at 800k + 50k, then pocket 500k through your business dealings.

rumour here was a prominent backman who was being forced out of his club due to how tight the cap was, suddenly found himself back under the cap. this guy was pretty much signed sealed and delivered to a rival club. so much so the players were openly talking about it. until, allegedly, a major sponsor, provided his construction business the rights to fit out their stores. was signed a month later. there's rumour of another club, building houses for their players at massively discounted rates.

so is the salary cap really 11m per club, or is it in reality as big as a club can afford it to be.

now imagine how that works with things like the footy dept tax. can't tax a service outside the club! time to invest in businesses providing shared services. its about moving your revenue at your disposal to be outside of the club. then spend from there. funny how some clubs have bought up a bunch of businesses lately...

Umpiring has been utterly disgusting tonight.

The only time I will ever agree with Wayne “I glass women” Carey.
the umpiring was crap, but wayne was barracking hard for melbourne, which was pretty lame. He only piped when the frees were against the dees, said nothing about the frost drop. Also **** melbourne. Glad the injectors got them, mainly cos they have tipungwuti

previously there was a cap on the income derived from third parties. so for example if cotton on was employing gary abblett for whatever reason that had to be declared under third party payments. that was scrapped in favor of the marketting allowance per club and the removal of capping income considered to be outside of footy. so the word is, you set up a business/ABN. make sure you provide a service to a sponsor of the football club all at inflated prices. sometimes the sponsor is not even a named sponsor, just a friend of the club. suddenly it doesn't matter if you are collecting market rate declared under the cap. what do you care where the money comes from? so do you get 1m under the cap + 200k in marketting allowance a year, or do you settle at 800k + 50k, then pocket 500k through your business dealings.

rumour here was a prominent backman who was being forced out of his club due to how tight the cap was, suddenly found himself back under the cap. this guy was pretty much signed sealed and delivered to a rival club. so much so the players were openly talking about it. until, allegedly, a major sponsor, provided his construction business the rights to fit out their stores. was signed a month later. there's rumour of another club, building houses for their players at massively discounted rates.

so is the salary cap really 11m per club, or is it in reality as big as a club can afford it to be.

now imagine how that works with things like the footy dept tax. can't tax a service outside the club! time to invest in businesses providing shared services. its about moving your revenue at your disposal to be outside of the club. then spend from there. funny how some clubs have bought up a bunch of businesses lately...
This is all stuff that is constantly rumoured (but rarely proven) at amateur levels but its shocking that it occurs at the top level. Im sure the AFL knows about it too but considers it a "non issue".

Is the Demons-Saints rivalry back on then? Like they seem to have sunk pretty low so far this season and we're playing the better footy. If we can pull off a win on the weekend it will almost be roles reversed (here's hoping), was pretty rough watching us so shit last year whilst the team we had been pitted against throughout our rebuild played in a prelim. Interesting nonetheless

I especially liked his burst through, running swing and a miss on his left because he shat himself that someone was chasing.

Whoda thunk Carlton dodged a bullet by Essendon going in hard.
At least Essendope only gave up......

Wait, wot? 2 sub 10 picks including next years 1st.
Oh my! That could be pick 3 the way their year has started

Oh, THE JOY!!!!

Watching the game last night I can't help but think the AFL is skimping on an umpire salary cap.
Atrocious!

Only got to see second half last night and Melbourne were lacklustre, to many of their players just didnt want to do the hard stuff. Very beatable

Watching the game last night I can't help but think the AFL is skimping on an umpire salary cap.
Atrocious!
That’s the problem when they get abused at lower levels. Many just sat stuff this. People need to realise that abusing young umpires in junior footy just is not on

Only got to see second half last night and Melbourne were lacklustre, to many of their players just didnt want to do the hard stuff. Very beatable

I only saw bits & pieces of the match but they looked very shaky. No real polish & heaps of errors. Their backup bookends are struggling. Without Lever & May Frost was horribly exposed. He must be melbournes most frustrating player. No Hogan & Kent no Melbourne!

There main problem is the midfield. Like Geelong last year they get plenty of it but they need to do what Geelong did this year. Get 2 way runners in there not just one way runners. At least we have Bruce as our 2 way runner. They haven’t got anyone

That’s the problem when they get abused at lower levels. Many just sat stuff this. People need to realise that abusing young umpires in junior footy just is not on
Yeah, the abuse at lower levels would hardly inspire to climb umpiring ranks.

No argument whatsoever with the abuse, unilateral agreement there, but you are aware that umpires are still amateur and at lower levels you don't really need accreditation of any capacity to engage in the practice? if you wish to progress sure, but as an entry, not really no as it's a side job. In "junior" footy you have such instances, such as say an 8 year old working the scoreboard and timekeeping for a free lunch.

If the AFL want to be considered a professional sporting competition, they need to professionalise the umpiring fraternity, it needs a re-design.

Far too many people wallow in the depths with entitled wannabes feeling shit about a side job, some progress with intent to rort the system, be shit or otherwise not give much of a damn about it and it lessens the product of the sport. Footy looks shit, it plays shit, those watching end up confused in what they just spent 2 hours watching and feel shit about it. All round it's a poor experience and you go do something else.

Umpiring is similar to playing in a way, you need to matining the same sort of fitness base but the focus is not on playing the game but mor ein conjunction with the rules committee and the administration side, no real reason why the AFL cannot have a single pathway for a contract in a professional basis as opposed to the curreent "maintain your employment as an engineer, pop by 2 days, run a bit, then show up Saturday" approach that it currently is.

"... just forgot how tough the game is and how hard they have to work in all the little things..." (John Worsfold)

Dumbfounded by this comment.

Really! After being 2 and 6 last year after 8 rounds last year, and then just missing the 8. C'mon - I don't buy it. Surely, 100 percent would have been in their mind not to repeat their start from last year. If that's what they believe then they will continue to be also rans this year.

Overrated.

No argument whatsoever with the abuse, unilateral agreement there, but you are aware that umpires are still amateur and at lower levels you don't really need accreditation of any capacity to engage in the practice? if you wish to progress sure, but as an entry, not really no as it's a side job. In "junior" footy you have such instances, such as say an 8 year old working the scoreboard and timekeeping for a free lunch.

If the AFL want to be considered a professional sporting competition, they need to professionalise the umpiring fraternity, it needs a re-design.

Far too many people wallow in the depths with entitled wannabes feeling shit about a side job, some progress with intent to rort the system, be shit or otherwise not give much of a damn about it and it lessens the product of the sport. Footy looks shit, it plays shit, those watching end up confused in what they just spent 2 hours watching and feel shit about it. All round it's a poor experience and you go do something else.

Umpiring is similar to playing in a way, you need to matining the same sort of fitness base but the focus is not on playing the game but mor ein conjunction with the rules committee and the administration side, no real reason why the AFL cannot have a single pathway for a contract in a professional basis as opposed to the curreent "maintain your employment as an engineer, pop by 2 days, run a bit, then show up Saturday" approach that it currently is.

I undewrstand how the system works. I have umpired for 33 years in the VAFA and before that did it as a junior. The abuse back then made many kids quit. They are the potential kids that could be umpiring AFL in 10 years time. If the pool is smaller because of kids quitting then naturally there is less to choose from as you get older thus it means you may not be getting the potential best umpires.

There is no proof at all in any sport that full time umpires do a better job than part time. I believe the balance is right. What kids are going to go on a pathway to umpiring? You wont get enough. If you tell them they have to be full time the pool will actually get smaller thus the standard drops even further. If as you said pop in for 2 days and show up Saturday was right that would be a reason for poor umpiring but that couldn't be further from the truth. They spend up to 20 hours a week getting ready to umpire the following week. The reason there are mistakes is because the pool isn't big enough, they are human, there are biased supporters thinking the decision are wrong etc etc. On the most the umpiring is the least of a footy clubs problem.

Atrocious!

Or the bookies are paying more to fix margins.