Review Lackluster Dogs Lose To The Suns, Rd 3, 2019

• Thread starter Thread starter Mutt

Lost by less than a goal despite not getting out of second gear. I’m not writing our season off just yet. The comp is looking incredibly even & I actually think the Suns will surprise a few this year as we did in ‘15 & ‘16.

Don't think we can be blaming Bev for the loss. He can't go out there and kick the ball for them.

Young still looks lost most of the time in contests. I’m skeptical that he’ll make it.
Not really sure what he’s offering that the admittedly limited Fletcher Roberts can’t.

I'm not saying we could've got them, I just envy them, as a team that finished in a similar position to us last year. Their forward line looks about 500 times more dangerous than ours, both aerially and when the ball hits the ground.
Fair enough.

I don’t understand why Gowers was in the team and Lipinksi wasn’t. His first two weeks were awful. His third week was next level shithaus.

Can i hire you as a coach?
Season isn’t blown yet but bugger me they stuffed a great start to the year. We will be 2 and 2 up against a much improved Carlton. Could easily be 2 and 3 after that game. Absolutely needed to take this win today.

That's beside the point. I highlighted this as a potential issue in the Sydney game, only to be labeled a negative flog by the undoubtedly intellectual minds of BrisDog, doggies ftw & others. Pathetic.

If Trengove is fit, he should come back in, simple as that.
If Trengove isn't fit yet, Sweet. At least his body is more physically developed.
You are the third to receive a warning about attacking other posters. No more warnings.

I thought Lewis Young was pretty damned good, Cordy went alright too. Our defence was actually solid after a shocking start.

ABC radio were reporting that Bont was frustrated by lack of movement in his right leg - hope it’s not the hip.

Suckers had his nose mashed , the docs had to reset it. They were squirming on the bench.

I thought Gowers was pretty good when he was playing deeper, presented well and surprised me with his field kicking .

Now for the negatives - so much blind kicking into the centre. Libba is an amazing terrier but he needs to lower the eyes . Dunks can’t kick. Lloyd made poor handball decisions.

English isn’t ready yeah we know. Neither is Richards or Lewis young . Maybe time for a spell for the first two this week. Not sure why Bev is playing Richards in no-man’s-land but it ain’t working.

Really looking forward to Jj coming back. Lynch may not have set the world on fire in 2019 but he plays better in the 1s. We need some line breakers.

Need to get Richards back off half back to use his run. Looks lost at half forward

I just don’t see Richards working hard enough this year, I rate the kid and he is in no way to blame for today but he’s been average at best for 3 weeks now.

I also get half back is probably his best position but with JJ due back and suckers, Duryea, Daniel crozier already there he needs to nail that forward role or play vfl

Reckon Collingwood will set records against us. They were poor last night and will be very very keen to make amends. Grundy V English ...let that sink in. Cox v anyone we have...

It’s going to be ugly next week and I’m not sure there is anything we can do about it. Damn.
Like to see Sweet play next week. He'll at least match him body for body. Naughton will likely find himself on Cox.

Dickson is cooked imo. Dude took some decent marks but his set shot accuracy is now poor.

Beveridge spudded up Lloyd's game by starting him back. I hold the faith that he will be an invaluable asset up forward.

This game has sent me crashing back to earth. I thought our side could purely rely on winning contested ball to make up for our slow slow slow running. We need to find another point of difference and quick, clubs will now exploit this.

Think Trengove very much has a place in the team. He actually did pretty well in the ruck in the back end of last season. I know the issue is that you have to find something for he and English to do when one isn't in the ruck, but I think at present English as the sole ruck is just a bit much. You can see what'll be there when he gets stronger, and I don't think he should spend much time in the VFL this season, but he's clearly needing some help. And Schache's no stronger than English and is an even less experienced ruck. Need to give our mids a chance to know where the ball is going to be rather than constantly reacting to where the ball's been placed by the other team's ruck.

Lol if you think that you have no idea how to watch footy

Tell me why we continued to bomb the ball long into a taller team that had a plus two all day? They locked onto their man and allowed a team mate to float across all day.

If you couldn’t see that then sorry you have no idea

All the other options were covered? When we play slow we make it very hard for ourselves to score.

Poor game from most of the side this week.

Smith showed a bit, Libbas clearance work was great, Daniel was pretty good and Suckling had a good game.

Missed too many easy chances on goal. Dunkleys set shot in the first, Gowers running into and open F50, Bonts multiple set shots directly in front from a gettable distance.

That's the game. Kick those and qe win even if we were playing poorly for most of the match.

We looked slow running back multiple times today after a turnover. Not sure how to fix that but kt's drustrating watching teams waltz goals in from their goalsquare after outrunning us.