The Footy Show's 2019 format revealed (and other Nine AFL stuff)

In 2019 people prefer jokes that punch up instead of punch down. You can still punch down with cleverness and nuance. Sam Newman is lazy and doesn't want to.

Yeah you are one of those dickheads who thinks what he finds funny is what everyone else must find funny

No, Sam Newman lost an audience because he's lazy and didn't want to refresh his act. That's his right, but no one should be under any illusion that that isn't what happened. He knows why he doesn't get the laughs he did in 1996, even if his defence legion are still scratching their heads.

No, Sam Newman lost an audience because he's lazy and didn't want refresh his act. That's his right but no one should be under any illusion that that isn't what happened.

Mate hes like 75, hes just not as sharp as he used to be thats it. Stop over analysing a 75 year old

I reckon you're overthinking it, the simple fact is that TFB is pretty much what a lot of people are looking for in footy show, nothing too stupid or slapstick, just some blokes with a genuine passion for the game chatting about footy for an hour. No one is complaining that it's sexist because it isn't, no matter how much you seem to want it to be. Plus they've had women on the show already this year, so you must have a short memory if you don't remember that.

I love all your bullshit terminology like 'PC' 'SJW' and "virtue signalling', you use it like it actually means something. I didn't care what TFS did because I didn't watch it as I couldn't stand the show in the end, no matter who they had hosting it.

Guess what. TFB is what the "Footy Show" was in the first twenty years of its life, during Eddie's first stint and when Garry Lyon and co hosted.

The difference being, that TFS also had segments like "Street Talk", "Sam's Mailbag", "Big Billy's House" they had players on, (even back when players could fool around, like Doug Hawkins, Tim Watson, Jason Dunstall etc), music parodies, and their Grand Final "Footy Show" was a part of Grand Final week for years.

You know having someone standing at the bar, like TFB do. Well, the TFS did that first, when they had "Trevor Behind The Bar" with comedian Trevor Marmalade.

Has the "Front Bar" broken massive footy stories, like the Fitzroy-Brisbane merger, or the night they announed the death of E.J. Whitten? You can't say that TFS didn't give the Whitten death announcement the respect it deserved.

TFS is a TV institution, which lasted 25 years. It was like a footy version of "Hey, Hey, It's Saturday". I wonder if TFB will still be around 25 years. I doubt it, unless it starts adding more to the show then a few video clips, Mick cracking jokes and talking to relic footballers.

Look, TFS has had its day, but TFB, Mangrook Footy Show or Bounce will never touch "The Footy Show" in the realms of Australian TV history.

TFS will still be talked about in Australian TV history 100 years from now, along with HHIS, "In Melbourne Tonight" and "60 Minutes", enduring shows that entertained for over two decades (most shows don't even last one decade). I doubt TFB will be eulogised the same way.

In 2019 people prefer jokes that punch up instead of punch down. You can still punch down with cleverness and nuance. Sam Newman is lazy and doesn't want to.

No, Sam is honest, and says what he really thinks.

Not like a lot of you, who PRETEND to go along with societal views because you are peer-pressured sheep who melt whenever anyone calls you "racist", "sexist" or "homophobe"

Guess what. TFB is what the "Footy Show" was in the first twenty years of its life, during Eddie's first stint and when Garry Lyon and co hosted.

The difference being, that TFS also had segments like "Street Talk", "Sam's Mailbag", "Big Billy's House" they had players on, (even back when players could fool around, like Doug Hawkins, Tim Watson, Jason Dunstall etc), music parodies, and their Grand Final "Footy Show" was a part of Grand Final week for years.

You know having someone standing at the bar, like TFB do. Well, the TFS did that first, when they had "Trevor Behind The Bar" with comedian Trevor Marmalade.

Has the "Front Bar" broken massive footy stories, like the Fitzroy-Brisbane merger, or the night they announed the death of E.J. Whitten? You can't say that TFS didn't give the Whitten death announcement the respect it deserved.

TFS is a TV institution, which lasted 25 years. It was like a footy version of "Hey, Hey, It's Saturday". I wonder if TFB will still be around 25 years. I doubt it, unless it starts adding more to the show then a few video clips, Mick cracking jokes and talking to relic footballers.

Look, TFS has had its day, but TFB, Mangrook Footy Show or Bounce will never touch "The Footy Show" in the realms of Australian TV history.

TFS will still be talked about in Australian TV history 100 years from now, along with HHIS, "In Melbourne Tonight" and "60 Minutes", enduring shows that entertained for over two decades (most shows don't even last one decade). I doubt TFB will be eulogised the same way.

That’s got nothing to do with TFB currently being better than the footy show.

You don’t watch something just because it used to be great

That's because TFS had the advantage of existing in the age before the internet and rolling 24-hour news (although in EJ's case, they did run into a bit of unfortunate luck that he died on a Thursday night)

I feel sorry for the studio audience, who probably thought they'd get to see The Footy Show when they registered for their tickets.

Haven't watched The Front Bar much because it doesn't seem funny, but I'm guessing you're wrong and it's stayed well away from put-down jokes about sexual orientation and ethnicity. It's been basically paid programming for a beer company since it started.

Not like a lot of you, who PRETEND to go along with societal views because you are peer-pressured sheep who melt whenever anyone calls you "racist", "sexist" or "homophobe"

Did he, I always find it funny when people say someone is honest because they expressed a certain view but if someone says something different then they are just being cool or trendy. Both Sam and Billy's act was tied and stale with the overuse of old jokes and routines. The fact is consumer tastes are always changing and that is why business is always looking to reinvent products or diversify their product range to stay ahead of the competition.

I think they made a mistake getting rid of Sam's Mailbag and Street Talk as they were two of the best bits besides the team selections because nowadays we all have the team selections hours before the show goes to air so have no real reason to watch it.

"GAY!", "WOMAN!" and "NOT WHITE!" aren't the punchlines they used to be. They're also Sam Newman's punchlines.

Professional wrestling was homophobic in the 90s. Now Sonny Kiss wrestles and not only are you unsure what their gender is, you realise you don't even care.

"GAY!", "WOMAN!" and "NOT WHITE!" aren't the punchlines they used to be. They're also Sam Newman's punchlines.

Professional wrestling was homophobic in the 90s. Now Sonny Kiss wrestles and not only are you unsure what their gender is, you realise you don't even care.

Give it a rest

I'd seriously watch Dylan Alcott do a tennis show, not a footy show. Which channel 9 is now the broadcasting rights holder for the Aussie open, it makes sense. I would seriously watch a once a week tennis dedicated show, with less humour ect that the AFLfooty show puts on because I follow tennis all year round.

Went to the live show tonight, was actually really fun and enjoyable. Neroli was also looking mighty fine :thumbsu:

If the great Kerry Packer was still alive this garbage would get the 'naughtiest home video' treatment. For those too young to know, this show went to air under Packers reign, he monitored everything. He had a hot line to the studio, it rang, he simply said. 'get this shit off the air' and screens just went blank

Problem is, from what we've all heard, the egotist and Sammy have been promised 3 "special events" for the year. One I'd assume would be the grand final Thursday edition, the other two I'm not too sure. It'll be interesting to see what happens, the ratings are laughable, the ego maniac runs the company that produces the show. Would he "bone" it himself ?