Autopsy Rd 4 - Massive choke - Bottomed out again.

Whose game did you like in Round 4?

A very big thank you to our backline today :)
Could not have asked anymore from them.
Cripps and Walsh, just no words to describe how outstanding these guys are :)

The rest, really need to start standing up.
It was good to hear the 2's had a win, so potentially changes can and will be made.
Yes, i am a positive person, but believe me, today really hurt.
We can do much better Blue Boys :)

Here's my truth - some of you know this.

I suffer from a disability that affects one in a million - cauda equina syndrome.

To be perfectly honest, I'm post-cauda equina syndrome (I've had a successful operation on my L5 - discectomy/laminectomy). My nerves are still severely damaged (up to two years to heal if they ever do) and every day is a genuine struggle. Some days are much worse than others. I can be hospitalized at a moment's notice. I had a big family day yesterday and family comes first. By the end of yesterday, I was in agony. I got to bed and woke up at 4:00am in even worse pain. My partner drove me to the hospital where I had my surgery. They put me right in (I'm now on a list whereby my care is considered critical). They wanted to keep me until tomorrow as that's when my second outpatient's appointment is. I declined because this is our only Queensland game this year. They reluctantly agreed to let me leave hospital.

Against doctors orders, my girlfriend got me to the game. I shouldn't have been there but the Blues are a huge part of my life. There's no way I was missing our only game here this year. It was a poor game with poor skills, I can deal with that. I can even deal with losing the game. It's the how we lost and the why we lost that is so utterly heartbreaking.

There is nothing redeemable or positive in that performance on or off of the field. It's an embarrassment that our eighteen-year-old prized recruit is arguably our smartest player (I'd rate Cripps before him but Walsh is something else). So many half efforts today that resulted in nothing. So many coachable skill errors all over the park. Even more simpleminded errors. Zero composure by veterans, in the end, to lock down the play. My girlfriend turned to me in the last 30-40 seconds and said we're going to win. I kept telling her that they would get the goal. It was only a matter of time. Probably 20 seconds. Twenty seconds.

Some of you will claim that it wasn't Bolton's gameplan to kick it to Gibbons forward of the ball. Perhaps it wasn't. But it happened too much of today and should have been corrected. It wasn't. There was no attempt to correct it. That's on Bolton. When we were playing well today we were playing through the centre of the ground. Then why did we revert to playing on the boundary line for most of the last quarter? It was the same shit as last week against the Swans.

Accountability. That is all that I ask. Accountability among the playing group on and off the field. Accountability to the coaching staff for making smart decisions throughout the day. We lost today because we're not accountable. Neither the 22 on the field or the coaching staff.

If changes aren't made this week starting with the coach you can forget about the reset and rebuild. We're heading in the wrong direction. Expecting the club to win a game in the first month of the season should be expected in the FOURTH year of the reset. We traded our first-round draft pick. That trade demonstrates that the club itself placed expectations on itself. Therefore, somebody or somebodies absolutely must be held accountable.

I'm probably taking myself off of this thing for a few days. I'm just gutted. Absolutely gutted. This is the lowest I've felt about the club since SOS arrived. I just can't see the forward momentum at the club anymore.
Hang in there mate it’ll turn....we’ve waited this long....think of your health first

the only reason I can MAYBE why we selected all of Gov/Cas/C.C/Harry is because of our ruck.

Lobbe cant do it for the full game. Mackay gets reamed every single time - he aint a ruck

So they bring in Cas to assist, but who do they drop?........Gov? C.C? Harry?

Once Kreuzer gets fit Lobbe and Cas will be dropped. id bet my house on it.

Still scratching my head as to how we kept kicking it to gibbons though......................

So who Actually coaches them again.. isn't that person responsible for teaching them to look for options within games.. and understand where players will be? Isn't that The Coaches job?
If the players are not listening or responding to instructions /coaching does that not highlight a deeper ongoing issue that has plagued this club for years?

Holistically yes. Specifically blaming Bolton for our players looking for Gibbons, not so much. The buck stops with him but I think you'd be letting the players off too lightly.

Terrible forward coaching. 4 talls and kicking it to Gibbons. Was it the players not following instructions? Bolton should have dragged Gibbons to force us to kick to a target. Dow must fix his disposal. He will not make it if today is a reflection of his skill level. Newman is a turnover merchant.

Immense
Jones and Weitering

Good
Walsh, SPS, Cripps, Murphy, Mcgovern

Maths not your strong point? End of last year.
Actually it is...

So you think after going hard at the draft 3 years in a row and ripping our club to shreads will have us flying high when we probably are younger than ever before?

The club is practically rebuilt. We are lacking in areas no doubt. But most of our players have under 30 games to their name.

People are rely and then potting players such as Dow, Setterfield, LOB, SPS etc.

Do you remember how bad Weitering was last year? People were saying he was crap. But we got games into him and he really is starting to look the goods now.

If you think we need another rebuild 5 minutes after the last, i think don't understand what it takes

And if we go winless??

You lot gonna be ok??

Well, we can always console ourselves with the #1 draft pick ... oh

Holistically yes. Specifically blaming Bolton for our players looking for Gibbons, not so much. The buck stops with him but I think you'd be letting the players off too lightly.

Nonsense if it occurs once or twice then its on the players if it happens all game then its the coach.

Back from walking the dog. Had to get out before smashing up the house. I hate it when people say what's the game plan. I usually think that kind of stuff is for the uneducated. Seriously though, what is the game plan?. Try and kick 60 pts and restrict the opposition to less?.

At no point did we look like we had gone out to win the game. Almost like we were trying to save it from the start. FFS open the game up Bolton!. Encourage some attacking flair, drop this dour, boring bullshit type of footy.

Here's my truth - some of you know this.

I suffer from a disability that affects one in a million - cauda equina syndrome.

To be perfectly honest, I'm post-cauda equina syndrome (I've had a successful operation on my L5 - discectomy/laminectomy). My nerves are still severely damaged (up to two years to heal if they ever do) and every day is a genuine struggle. Some days are much worse than others. I can be hospitalized at a moment's notice. I had a big family day yesterday and family comes first. By the end of yesterday, I was in agony. I got to bed and woke up at 4:00am in even worse pain. My partner drove me to the hospital where I had my surgery. They put me right in (I'm now on a list whereby my care is considered critical). They wanted to keep me until tomorrow as that's when my second outpatient's appointment is. I declined because this is our only Queensland game this year. They reluctantly agreed to let me leave hospital.

Against doctors orders, my girlfriend got me to the game. I shouldn't have been there but the Blues are a huge part of my life. There's no way I was missing our only game here this year. It was a poor game with poor skills, I can deal with that. I can even deal with losing the game. It's the how we lost and the why we lost that is so utterly heartbreaking.

There is nothing redeemable or positive in that performance on or off of the field. It's an embarrassment that our eighteen-year-old prized recruit is arguably our smartest player (I'd rate Cripps before him but Walsh is something else). So many half efforts today that resulted in nothing. So many coachable skill errors all over the park. Even more simpleminded errors. Zero composure by veterans, in the end, to lock down the play. My girlfriend turned to me in the last 30-40 seconds and said we're going to win. I kept telling her that they would get the goal. It was only a matter of time. Probably 20 seconds. Twenty seconds.

Some of you will claim that it wasn't Bolton's gameplan to kick it to Gibbons forward of the ball. Perhaps it wasn't. But it happened too much of today and should have been corrected. It wasn't. There was no attempt to correct it. That's on Bolton. When we were playing well today we were playing through the centre of the ground. Then why did we revert to playing on the boundary line for most of the last quarter? It was the same shit as last week against the Swans.

Accountability. That is all that I ask. Accountability among the playing group on and off the field. Accountability to the coaching staff for making smart decisions throughout the day. We lost today because we're not accountable. Neither the 22 on the field or the coaching staff.

If changes aren't made this week starting with the coach you can forget about the reset and rebuild. We're heading in the wrong direction. Expecting the club to win a game in the first month of the season should be expected in the FOURTH year of the reset. We traded our first-round draft pick. That trade demonstrates that the club itself placed expectations on itself. Therefore, somebody or somebodies absolutely must be held accountable.

I'm probably taking myself off of this thing for a few days. I'm just gutted. Absolutely gutted. This is the lowest I've felt about the club since SOS arrived. I just can't see the forward momentum at the club anymore.
Sorry to hear but the last thing this community needs at the moment is to be bashed from a respectable poster. Just adds to our pain and offers nothing.

If anyone thinks everything is okay after that performance they are living in denial, you can not excuse this rubbish anymore.

I'd turn off for a couple of weeks if I hadn't already booked in a trip to Tassie to watch the boys, keep it under 10 goals to keep it bearable for me thanks.
ha - that was pretty stupid then wasn't it?

Terribly frustrating. Terribly disappointing.

Ten seconds or one straight kick and the result would have been different. It's nonsense to pile on the coach after a game like that. Save it for the 10+ goal shellackings.

We desperately need Kruezer and Kennedy back in the side. Dow needs a break.

Biggest positive for me was our defense. Jones and Weitering looking great, others playing their part, and some good coaching by Bolton (yes I said it) to set up in such a way as to nullify the deep F50 entries by GC.

Composure / decision making / F50 entries and structure need serious work. Playing Casboult so that McKay can stay forward longer is not the answer.

Walsh surely gets the Rising Star nom this week.

SOS knows the list weaknesses and is working to rectify them, I'd be directing my disappointment at the coaching who wanted this team to chip chip hold onto the ball when we had control early in the last instead of kicking a couple of goals to ice the game.

Obviously SOS isn't aware we are in such desperate need for small forwards with actual talent.

So much so he hasn't bothered to draft one single talented small forward in his time as recruiter. Thus we're playing make shift and below AFL level players in those roles.