Autopsy Rd 4 - Massive choke - Bottomed out again.

Whose game did you like in Round 4?

tenor.gif
Bahahaha! Thats hilarious.

ya not wrong 37 long years......just an outsiders view here...I think sacking Brett Ratten was a Huge mistake

I think Ratten will be a great coach some time in the future. I think when he coached us he wasn’t fully rounded. Was to offensive, needed to be more rounded and have a better defensive set up. Which I think he would have learnt under Clarkson. Ripping prospect now, but needed more work while head coach of us.

“It’s really easy to build a list to get to eighth, ninth and 10th. We could do that, but to build a list to win a premiership will take time and patience. It took Richmond a long time.” View attachment 654757
Correct a long time to build a list but not much effort to select the right structure on form. Polson/fasolo/ levi have been gifted games ahead of Jsos and kennedy. We will not help ourselves will we?

How is that Journey going for you by the way? 25 years is some journey, you should write a book, noo, an epic!

Thank christ I don't watch this game anymore or ever contribute to this board.

You have my sympathy btw, maybe next year...right?

Hang in there guys, its the journey don't you know!

You might surprised to hear that I don't feel like a lessor person if we lose and I don't feel like a greater person if we win. I don't agree with all decisions made by the MC and I do have questions regarding coaching and game plan - but these can only be answered with enough time and evidence to be considered.

Teams have to learn to win - I've seen so many sides play like Carlton is at the moment with more resources on field than Carlton has. Wether we won today ( would have been better than losing) really doesn't make difference in the sense that a lot of players are a fair way off being able to execute under pressure or perceived self induced pressure - the most basic skills. This can turn around with greater composure and less on field anxiety. I think it is fascinating to see so many different ways invented by so many players to lose contests and games - this , you might be surprised to read gives me a fair amount of positive expectation going forward - it is hard to play worse and easy to play a lot better.

Of course you and your kind of 'supporter' are not interested in rationalisations or reasoning or facts - you are just interested in trying to criticise the Club or people like me - people who just aren't personally inclined to rant and scream like little entitled bitches if they don't get what think they deserve.

Now bugger off you little pest.:thumbsu:

Where did you hear this croc of horse shit?

Find me a team that sacking the coach has lead to immediate success? Whereas Simpson, Hardwick and Buckley all had people calling for their heads and the clubs backed them in. They have all played in grand finals the past 2 years.

How much of a teams performance is coach vs players? Would Clarkson be coaching us to finals this year? Even the hawks lose sometimes... why is that?

I don’t know if it would be anymore than 20% coach 80% players.

Western Bulldogs - Luke Beverage.

Wow that was easy.

Nah, this is one week where we weren't at an age or experience disadvantage.

You’ve misread the line of conversation we were having. I was responding to why st kinda and Brisbane are two years ahead of us in our rebuild. Gold Coast too but they haven’t simply bottomed out and begun a rebuild from scratch. They still have experienced players was my point.

Based off the last three weeks I wouldn’t be against dropping Setterfield to the VFL. All seems a bit too fast for him at the moment.
It’s likely Setters will be having a rest from footy for 1-2 weeks

Nah it’s just logic, you know that thing when you put 2 and 2 together and come up with the most reasonable answer.

You should try it sometimes, maybe put 2 and 2 together regarding whether it’s a lack of talent on the list or the abysmal coaching that is the reason for being the worst team in the league right now :?
Glad you're working in 2 and 2 together logic. Pity you got the levi and mcgovern part wrong because your knowledge seems sounds...

I dont think its the lack of talent or the coaching also

The inner sanctum told us it was going to be ******* hard! Guess what it is..!!

Long term Blues will be great again, I truly believe in the direction, board, coach and list bar some small crumbling forwards! I reckon you are disappointed as we all are and are venting at the club. Fair call but when I feel like hanging shit, I think of my Mum's side in Sunshine and Footscray who stuck fat and some died! They eventually saw the Bullies (Footscray) win their 2nd. It takes guts, strength and commitment to the cause as well as persistence because we are not entitled anymore and we Will be great again! I'm ******* sure of it!!!!
BLUEALLTHRU I hardly think what i posted constitutes venting.

I must admit i am a very infrequent visitor to the Carlton forum these days but it seems there has developed a core of posters who are in the habit of calling out anyone who has any concern about how the club is travelling and suggesting they are not really supporters at all. Happy to leave this forum to them.

You’ve misread the line of conversation we were having. I was responding to why st kinda and Brisbane are two years ahead of us in our rebuild. Gold Coast too but they haven’t simply bottomed out and begun a rebuild from scratch. They still have experienced players was my point.

Gold Coast have no more experienced players than us though, at least today. I don't see them as being ahead of us. I mean, they appear to be but they shouldn't be.

Dows disposal was campaignerforsaken. He’ll be a gem thats what I like about Bolts. When the Journos asked him last week what will you say to Dow “nothing” we just want him to keep backing himself in.
its not garbage, under 15s would be ashamed to miss these shots it’s pressure which you can’t simulate, he needs to work his way through it

How is that Journey going for you by the way? 25 years is some journey, you should write a book, noo, an epic!

Thank christ I don't watch this game anymore or ever contribute to this board.

You have my sympathy btw, maybe next year...right?

Hang in there guys, its the journey don't you know!

If you don't watch the game or contribute to the board, why are you here reading and replying?

walls is a dinosaur. i thought we were done with dinosaurs after malthouse. part of me thinks this super tall line up was his idea. this super tall line up seems to be something straight out of the 80s

If his role is to mentor and support then he has plenty to offer. He may be getting on but he knows heaps about the game and man management and would be a font of knowledge. He has watched the game closely since his match day involvement ceased so knows what the modern game is all about. He's not there to interfere. He's there to provide strategy and to provide support to Bolts. He's an intelligent bloke who doesn't suffer fools easily. I'm sure he's doing a good job and he's doing it for nix by all reports.

We are bereft of confidence, we don’t know how to win games of football.

Our second best and most consistent player is a 4 gamer.

We have four talls on the ground and six times we kick it to a bloke that is 5’6 one out!

We have a small forward on our list That is available (Garlett) but we decided to try and turn him into a half back flanker.

We have paid professional footballers (many of them first round draft picks) on our list but they continually miss targets under no pressure and easy goals that cost us games.

I’ve watched his press conference and it’s the same shit, “we’ll train it we’ll learn it” Mate you’ve had 70 games and four pre seasons to train it and learn it but it’s the same shit every week. It’s either too complicated or we have assembled the dumbest list of footballers ever assembled. Considering the amount of first round draft picks this side has its very hard to say we don’t have smart footballers.

GC have won 3 games and they are starting miles back from where we are,
Miles back! We should have won that game by seven goals today but our connection as a team is amateur.... how the **** after four full pre seasons can our connection as a professional football team be this bad?? With this amount of first round draft picks to boot.

Effort has kept us in all games this year, we lose because we can’t put it together consistently on transition ... for me it’s coach related at the moment... game plan, selection and match day all rolled into one.