Autopsy Rd 4 - Massive choke - Bottomed out again.

Whose game did you like in Round 4?

I love that you make the extra effort to give us these tables :thumbsu:

We have almost no one in the middle age bracket (25-27), which is generally the prime of your career ...

While Gold Coast have a number of players in that age range. Our mature players are quite a bit older
Absolutely spot on

Playing attacking is pretty hard going. We would be out of steam and the 4 years and under would be hunched over trying to breathe.

We will get there!

What a load of rubbish. These guys are good football players, many of top of their draft class. They were born to turn it on... the reason they were drafted in their position is because they can turn it on.
If the coach let the shackles off maybe they’d find a gear instead of being shit scared to make a mistake and then making a mistake as a result.
Finding gears gives you confidence, confidence results in less mistakes and running over your opponent.
This defensive bullshit is crap and deep down the players don’t believe in it and I reckon they don’t believe in the coach. It’s pretty hard to believe in someone when they themselves have never done what they’re asking you to do at that level.
I know if my boss never walked a mile in my shoes how could I ever respect his professional opinion? It’s a big thing that’s starting to stand out now.

Brendon Bolton is manic, driven, and absolutely a positive for the group.

However, he needs to take a long hard look at himself and his coaching team and structures. Young Dow will not improve unless given the motive and opportunity to do so. Mate, you ****** up but we have your back doesn't cut it. Mate, you need to work on your kicking doesn't cut it. His disposal currently is not AFL standard and has to improve. He is currently shell shocked, the darting eyes begging for an out when faced with a straight forward 35 metre shot at goal says he needs a circuit breaker. More practice and less pressure, a game or two in the twos will not hurt him. He is a huge part of the future, but needs to
be nurtured, rather than being made a liability. Our development coaches need to earn their keep. One poster earlier touched on the technical flaw with his kicking, and I believe was on the right track. The kid has lost confidence and is utilising a constrictive unnatural technique that is exacerbating his issues. As for the judgement howler of going inboard at the death, just wow. Hours of contact, drills, meetings, instruction and he even contemplates going inboard, NAH, that is on you Bolts. Must be taught and drilled, if he doesn't understand or comply, he doesn't play, simples.

We are a tight group doesn't mean they are a group performing at their optimum. The reset, rebuild is done. While Gibbons could be argued, the only real first year playing is Walsh. By admission Bolts has admitted to not over coaching Walshy, kids a natural, great work ethic etc. What bunkum, the number 18 does not simply have the job of flitting around covering his mates or being creative in the modern game, Structures, each player needs to know that the next bloke is going to be in his zone, supporting, defending, receiving or whatever else the play dictates. We have had Simmo sagging off, mopping up, but playing unaccountable for a man for years. Has historically done some bloody good work, but too often has left the defending to others. This all adds pressure down the line. Someone must take up the bloody slack. Structures suffer.

Sorry Bolts, multiple gaps make structures unworkable or non existent. Ratten was guilty of relying on his stars and expecting the rest of the team to "support", cover, back up the guns. This meant Murphy, Gibbs, even Juddy provided the attack and blokes like Brock McLean, Joseph, Jammo et al were supposed to "cover"/ We did not develop a modern, structured game. When we were good, we were very good, when we were bad we were terrible. Bolts is currently pumping up the tyres of the kids deemed to be future stars, while we are rotating some unfortunate peripheral players through. SPS and O'Brien, along with Walsh and hopefully very soon Williamson need to be the blokes delivering to our forwards, not under a pack or mopping up. Young Fisher has a great many skills and tricks, but is not a front line clearance player purely due to not having the physical make up and a penchant for the flashy over the grunt work that Crippa and Kennedy bring. Setterfield, Dow and Walsh will join them in the near future, Ed certainly an option when needed. That is fact, as conjecture, I believe in the short term, at least, Gibbons should be rotated through there. While small, he is happy to mix it and straight line the pill it necessary, however runs to good areas, and presents well.

I understand Casboult being kept in to support Lobbe, however if Charlie and Gov were really fit enough to play, then Harry should have been able to offer a chop out. As it was Harry seemed lost, gone from being the focal point and doing a decent job to being pushed wide and up the ground, yet precluded from his time getting touches, grabs and confidence at the coalface, rucking.

Bolts, please learn from the recent experiences of Hardwick and Buckley, loosen the reins, delegate, release players for specialist training, not just physical programs with Jack Russell. Please also make the prudent calls to make each and every player accountable. Dow, Setterfield, even Charlie or Gov if not fit enough are not above a stint in the twos. Not just Harry, Jack, LOB and Bam Bam.

We have some high quality raw materials, but we need to process and refine them. I feel BB is more focussed on pumping up his young stars, rather than keeping the big picture in mind. At the same time pressure for wins is leading to some difficult to fathom selection calls, which I believe are largely misguide conservatism driven. (eg Casboult creating land of giants to back up Lobbe and fitness questions over Gov and Charlie).

What a difference Kreuzer, Kennedy, Williamson and Cuningham will hopefully make in the near future. No Doc, haven't forgotten you.

Bolts, I believe you are the man to lead us for the foreseeable future, but look in the mirror, temper the intensity and even loyalty in some quarters. Lean on your assistants, and if you can't replace them.

One last little post script Garlett is not a lock down defender, but was forced to attempt to play as one. If we are missing a player type on the list, let's make bloody sure we get one (or more). Garlett could be a rebounder, but can't afford to trial him, as Simmo has the unaccountable role tied up until he retires, maybe in a few months. Our kick ins are woeful, and are taken by not one but two impending retirees, change it up. I well understand experience is at a premium in our side, but we need to move on.

SPS was good today

Thought so too, particularly his ball use.

But we need him involved for longer periods, 18 disposals is just not enough for a player of his quality, 3rd year in the system, 21 years old, etc.
If we're going to win a game this year, it is going to be off the back of Samo getting the ball 20-25 times, at least.

We demand much from a young player; he is capable, though.

60 Minutes doing a great article on this exact subject.What I gained from it was :Take 25 negative, I want my name in lights and pity me garbage posters add more to the worlds tip! I'll take the 10 who have the patience and understanding to acknowledge the sky is not falling

do they have organic?

I want Jones or Weitering taking all our kick ins from now on, looking to generate a bit of initial run out of the goal square before kicking long to a leading C Curnow/McKay/McGovern.

If I see a static Daisy go short to Simpson in the pocket before the latter runs around in ever-shortening circles trying to get onto his left and then kicks to a contest/turns it over again, I think I'm going to require therapy.

So here I was thinking I had logged into the BF, Carlton Board, but apparently it is the Society of Spoilt Brats:
"Sakc Bolts", "Piss off Dow" "might as well close the club down" "the coach & players are dumb". No doubt those responsible for some of these posts were inclined to take their bat & ball & go home when they got out while playing cricket in their younger days (& truth be told they are probably still doing it now).

I was absolutely gutted when the Suns kicked the winning goal with 10 seconds to go (so gutted it took a one hour walk along the beachfront before I could even contemplate having dinner, let alone think about the game), not because I felt letdown by the players, coaches or even the recruiting team, who some have blamed, but because I thought we had played better than the Suns for much of the game, yet still didn't get the 4 points.

It wasn't a pretty game by anyone's standards (not that too many AFL games are at the moment) however I thought we worked damn hard to try & keep the game on our terms. Our skills let us down at times, as did the inability of our forwards to consistently provide an option to those with the ball in hand. What didn't let us down was our defence, which remained resolute for the majority of the game (save the moments prior to the winning goal being kicked).

Jones: absolutely brilliant again in intercept marking, disposal by foot & spoiling. If you were picking an AA team at the moment, Jones would be in the discussion.

Weitering: also brilliant again with his intercept marking, spoiling & disposal by foot. 20 disposals, 7 marks, 7 rebound 50s, this is what caught the attention of recruiters back in 2015 & saw him taken at #1.

Marchbank: an improvement on his first hit out last week & started to attack contests more often as 3rd man up. Still short of match fitness, but not too far off.

Newman: got to some really good places today & took some timely marks to repel Suns' attacks (a total of 9 marks for the game).

Thomas: he also got to a lot of good places & prevented many Suns' scoring opportunities. 20 disposals & 10 marks was a very good day's work.

Simpson: as per Daisy & Newman he was instrumental in preventing the Suns' hitting the scoreboard as much as they should have. I was a little disappointed when Simmo allowed a Suns' player to take a mark on 50 during the last quarter which should have been a straight forward intercept for Simmo, except he moved his body marginally to the side, allowing the Suns player to take an easy chest mark.

I am very disappointed in some of the comments posted about Paddy Dow. Yes, his kicking did let him down at times, but as a 19 year old playing regularly as one of our starting midfielders at centre bounces, he is playing a role that many of his draft counterparts would only be called on to play a few times per game, at best. The way he is winning clearances at this stage of his career is way ahead of where I would have expected him to be at this stage.

Kudos to Walsh for yet another awesome game & also for getting up, dusting himself off & kicking a goal after that putrid human being Witts tried to take him out. More importantly, after getting his injury tended to, Walsh went back out there & continued to win a heap of ball & mostly use it well. RS nom this week.

Once again Cripps was fantastic, but his disposal is still letting him down at times. I was pleased he went back & kicked that goal in the last quarter, as good leaders do, but I was disappointed shortly after when he marked the ball on 50 & having no options ahead, put in a nothing kick to the area in front of the goal square. There is no doubt he wouldn't have got the journey with a drop punt, but with us in front & needing a goal to seal the deal, I wouldn't have minded seeing him going for the 'barrel', in much the same way as Seedsman did for the Crows against the Swans a couple of weeks ago.

I was going to comment on the umpires, but outside of being totally confused as to why Jones' mark wasn't paid late in the last quarter & why the Suns got a free kick after Harry took a mark close to goal earlier in the quarter, I'm going to adopt the attitude of some of our supporters who are giving up on our team because they are apparently hopeless & I am going to give up on the umpires because as the standard of the game continues to head down the gurgler, the umpires are just staying in tune with where the game is heading.

However, he needs to take a long hard look at himself and his coaching team and structures. Young Dow will not improve unless given the motive and opportunity to do so. Mate, you ****** up but we have your back doesn't cut it. Mate, you need to work on your kicking doesn't cut it. His disposal currently is not AFL standard and has to improve. He is currently shell shocked, the darting eyes begging for an out when faced with a straight forward 35 metre shot at goal says he needs a circuit breaker. More practice and less pressure, a game or two in the twos will not hurt him. He is a huge part of the future, but needs to
be nurtured, rather than being made a liability. Our development coaches need to earn their keep. One poster earlier touched on the technical flaw with his kicking, and I believe was on the right track. The kid has lost confidence and is utilising a constrictive unnatural technique that is exacerbating his issues. As for the judgement howler of going inboard at the death, just wow. Hours of contact, drills, meetings, instruction and he even contemplates going inboard, NAH, that is on you Bolts. Must be taught and drilled, if he doesn't understand or comply, he doesn't play, simples.

We are a tight group doesn't mean they are a group performing at their optimum. The reset, rebuild is done. While Gibbons could be argued, the only real first year playing is Walsh. By admission Bolts has admitted to not over coaching Walshy, kids a natural, great work ethic etc. What bunkum, the number 18 does not simply have the job of flitting around covering his mates or being creative in the modern game, Structures, each player needs to know that the next bloke is going to be in his zone, supporting, defending, receiving or whatever else the play dictates. We have had Simmo sagging off, mopping up, but playing unaccountable for a man for years. Has historically done some bloody good work, but too often has left the defending to others. This all adds pressure down the line. Someone must take up the bloody slack. Structures suffer.

Sorry Bolts, multiple gaps make structures unworkable or non existent. Ratten was guilty of relying on his stars and expecting the rest of the team to "support", cover, back up the guns. This meant Murphy, Gibbs, even Juddy provided the attack and blokes like Brock McLean, Joseph, Jammo et al were supposed to "cover"/ We did not develop a modern, structured game. When we were good, we were very good, when we were bad we were terrible. Bolts is currently pumping up the tyres of the kids deemed to be future stars, while we are rotating some unfortunate peripheral players through. SPS and O'Brien, along with Walsh and hopefully very soon Williamson need to be the blokes delivering to our forwards, not under a pack or mopping up. Young Fisher has a great many skills and tricks, but is not a front line clearance player purely due to not having the physical make up and a penchant for the flashy over the grunt work that Crippa and Kennedy bring. Setterfield, Dow and Walsh will join them in the near future, Ed certainly an option when needed. That is fact, as conjecture, I believe in the short term, at least, Gibbons should be rotated through there. While small, he is happy to mix it and straight line the pill it necessary, however runs to good areas, and presents well.

I understand Casboult being kept in to support Lobbe, however if Charlie and Gov were really fit enough to play, then Harry should have been able to offer a chop out. As it was Harry seemed lost, gone from being the focal point and doing a decent job to being pushed wide and up the ground, yet precluded from his time getting touches, grabs and confidence at the coalface, rucking.

Bolts, please learn from the recent experiences of Hardwick and Buckley, loosen the reins, delegate, release players for specialist training, not just physical programs with Jack Russell. Please also make the prudent calls to make each and every player accountable. Dow, Setterfield, even Charlie or Gov if not fit enough are not above a stint in the twos. Not just Harry, Jack, LOB and Bam Bam.

We have some high quality raw materials, but we need to process and refine them. I feel BB is more focussed on pumping up his young stars, rather than keeping the big picture in mind. At the same time pressure for wins is leading to some difficult to fathom selection calls, which I believe are largely misguide conservatism driven. (eg Casboult creating land of giants to back up Lobbe and fitness questions over Gov and Charlie).

What a difference Kreuzer, Kennedy, Williamson and Cuningham will hopefully make in the near future. No Doc, haven't forgotten you.

Bolts, I believe you are the man to lead us for the foreseeable future, but look in the mirror, temper the intensity and even loyalty in some quarters. Lean on your assistants, and if you can't replace them.

One last little post script Garlett is not a lock down defender, but was forced to attempt to play as one. If we are missing a player type on the list, let's make bloody sure we get one (or more). Garlett could be a rebounder, but can't afford to trial him, as Simmo has the unaccountable role tied up until he retires, maybe in a few months. Our kick ins are woeful, and are taken by not one but two impending retirees, change it up. I well understand experience is at a premium in our side, but we need to move on.
A commendable post.

I want Jones or Weitering taking all our kick ins from now on, looking to generate a bit of initial run out of the goal square before kicking long to a leading C Curnow/McKay/McGovern.

If I see a static Daisy go short to Simpson in the pocket before the latter runs around in ever-shortening circles trying to get onto his left and then kicks to a contest/turns it over again, I think I'm going to require therapy.
Agree, would rather it as far out of defence as possible, wouldn't mind Williamson takin' em when he's up and running either.

I'm not sure whether to laugh or cry.

We looked really good a couple years back when Williamson was taking them. :think:

Glad you're working in 2 and 2 together logic. Pity you got the levi and mcgovern part wrong because your knowledge seems sounds...

I dont think its the lack of talent or the coaching also

Yeah my logic relies on deducing that with McGovern in the team playing forward along with Charlie and McKay, that we wouldn’t need Levi to continue to play forward like he was last year.

Are they are like for like match, probably not, after all McGovern is heaps better than Levi will ever be,, he’s more athletic, better at ground level and a much better kick.

But that’s usually what you aim to do, remove the spuds like Levi and bring in more talented players like McGovern :)

Bad loss today guys. Not here to rub salt in. I don't mind Carlton. An old team with strong tradition and a large and loyal supporter base. Fans don't deserve this garbage. Bolton had to win that game today, no questions asked. Carlton's list is head and shoulders better than Gold Coast right now.

But sometimes you have to hit the lowest of the low with the entire club back against the wall, for things to start moving up. Richmond and Collingwood went through years of crap with Hardwick and Buckley and one got a flag and the other a runner up after what felt like an eternity of mediocrity.

The loss could be better than a win.. because they played crap, and the win may have sent the wrong message that they deserved the win and placed well and complacency sets in. Losing this game may have been the best thing for them.... they will feel embarrassed and it could do the reverse and fire them up.

a far better effort than this toxic landfill deserves tonight.........:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I'm not sure whether to laugh or cry.

We looked really good a couple years back when Williamson was taking them. :think:
Williamson was on the brink of breaking out and exploding in his first year. Played with confidence, had a strut, wasn't afraid to take a run from half back and break some lines. I sorely miss him. Imagine the player he could've been now...he'd be in his 3rd full AFL season.

Beaten by a team who is going better than us. Could have won but didn't.

Defence - Really good. Probably only really lacking a bit of attacking rebound run.

Midfield - Competitive, we seem to break even here more or less and it was fairly even I thought.

Forward line - Totally dysfunctional and the players positioning was terrible. Teague and the other coaches under a lot of pressure to get this right IMO.

Cripps - Really good as usual.
Murphy - His best game of the season.
Walsh - Already better than most of our players, he's top 4 or 5.
Simpson - He was fairly solid.
Thomas - Lucky we have Thomas because he was really good and plays at a higher intensity than many do.
C Curnow - Found a bit of the footy but was sloppy. Dropping too many marks, just an average game.
Weitering - Another really good game.
E Curnow - Does everything right but can't kick.
Newman - Sloppy early but overall he was alright.
Plowman - Was ok, defends well.
Fisher - Just ok, one of our better players.
SPS - Needs to find another intensity. Another game where he started slowly and worked into it.
Setterfield - Isn't at the pace just yet but he's going ok for where he is at.
Dow - Will be an alright ball winner and is a good mover but he can't kick and I doubt he will ever be much of a kick.
Marchbank - Has added to our defence, such a good runner but sometimes lacks vision with his kicking.
Jones - Just an outstanding game. His footy is elite. Strong defending, strong spoiling, marking and intercepting and good kicking.
Lobbe - Slow mover slow mind, filling a hole but lets face it he's terrible.
O'Brien - No where near up to AFL standard. He can kick and that's about it at the moment. Long way off, needs to be developing in the VFL.
Gibbons - He can't kick, this is why he hasn't been drafted. Should have kicked a few against Port and should have kicked a few against the Suns but hasn't fired a shot. Does a lot right but does not finish well.
Casboult - Not sure why he was in the team, it was a poor selection. His effort was good but he posed no threat at all.
McGovern - Three goals is a decent day but he's so patchy. Fair bit to do with our forward structure and midfield movement being no good but his fitness I feel is way off.
McKay - Looked lost out there and a waste due to poor team selection/structure. Just wasn't there when we were going forward, fairly poor game in the end.

Hopefully we get some players back. kicking is killing us. Lack of run is killing us. Forward structure is an absolute mess. Backline was great and our midfield is competitive but not damaging. It's an improvement on last season but there's a hell of a long way to go.

Williamson was on the brink of breaking out and exploding in his first year. Played with confidence, had a strut, wasn't afraid to take a run from half back and break some lines. I sorely miss him. Imagine the player he could've been now...he'd be in his 3rd full AFL season.

Breaks my heart. Still only 20 though, thankfully (December birthday). Has time to get it back.

That cursed VFL match last year where he and Macreadie both suffered long-term injuries... I was genuinely hurt. Will do my best to be there when he returns in the VFL, or perhaps I shouldn't go?

gotta ask - has marc murphy EVER kicked fully through the ball? his entire career seems to have either been up and under or dinky chips........

heartfelt support from a pie............thanks but kill me.........

mate.. when a team first drops off, everyone has a laugh. But when the hole seemingly gets deeper, I feel your pain my friend. Carlton and Brisbane supporters.. it's just been too long now. Both of these teams need to get their shit together.