Autopsy Rd 4 - Massive choke - Bottomed out again.

Whose game did you like in Round 4?

I don't want to see the coach sacked, but I think it is fair and reasonable to question whether he has the match day smarts.
Whichever way it goes, I feel he has 18 weeks to prove himself in this regard.
He is under more pressure than anyone at our club.

If the players respect him as alluded to, let's hope they pull their collective fingers out and keep up their end of the bargain.

Agreed.

List wise, we have the talent (except for a small forward)...I feel we should be doing better than we are.

If you look at the players in the side individually and some of the things they do, i feel like it's a pretty good team.
Weitering and Jones absolutely dominated in the air and their disposal was good. Cripps was beast as usual, Walsh productive and SPS classy. We've seen what Charlie, McKay and McGovern are capable of.

The game plan is a worry...it's our 4th year under Bolton and the players still look a bit confused and unsure of what they are supposed to be doing...the system doesn't look very good. 4 talls and us kicking it to Gibbons and not getting it in long and deep to their advantage at all in the second half was ridiculous.

Look at how the players speak about Bolts both publicly and privately. Look at how they interact with each other. Very few players have looked to leave the Club since he has been there. No major incidents. You can't criticise his role as a mentor of young men. Whether that translates to a successful AFL coach is another story. We aren't running a BoysTown.

Culture looks good to me in terms of players giving effort, game plan regarding systems/structures look pretty poor, at least in midfield and up forward. Defence is solid.

Besides the Harry Potter moment, opening GOT series 8 was awesome.

Weiters in the last 2 seasons was like John Snow, didn’t really like to be the man but I reckon by the end of this season he will be king!!

John Snow won't end up on the iron throne. It has to be a woman or the outrage will be immense. My money is on Aria Stark.

As others have said, we wrote off Weiters last year and now look at him - is number 5 in the AFL for intercept possessions.

Dow will also improve - in fact he already has, he gets the hard ball and he has a great burst of speed.* His kicking is awful. It’s always been awful, and that’s something he needs to improve, but I’m sure he knows that. And I have faith he will.

It would be a waste playing him in the VFL, especially if the only reason he’s being dropped is his kicking and some poor, under pressure decision making. He won’t fix those issues playing on sub standard grounds and reduced pressure. He needs to learn it at the coal face.

I want both Dow and Kennedy in the side helping Crippa in the clinches.

He’s also getting more of the ball which is why we’re noticing his poor kicking. His disposal average is way up on last year.

Right - so fully grown adults who have spent decades playing, watching and coaching the game and work as engineers, doctors, lawyers, builders and software developers wouldn't have a clue - but 18 year old kids who are struggling with shaving cream and putting on a franger are all over it no problems.

Really? Seems logical.

Right - so people who have never been to a Carlton team meeting, have no detailed knowledge of the team's tactics and strategies, have never met or spoken to Bolton or the assistance coaches, don't spend their time training and perfecting drills, hanging out with their teammates, studying professionally-supplied opposition footage and most of whom haven't played football at a higher level than school or suburban level wouldn't have a clue - But kids, whose whole teenage years have probably built up to this, have gone through elite junior squads, are full-time footballers and spend most of their time at the club and dealing with coaches are all over it no problems.

Seems more logical. Really.

Look at all the Suns games this year and you will see that is a common theme, Bolton alluded to it in his presser, the Suns make everything a contest. We need to give them some credit and not just focus on our mistakes.

Ed kicks that with 2 mins left and we likely win the game.
Dow kicks down the boundary instead of handballing to a Carlton player under pressure in the middle leading to a turnover and we likely win the game.
McGovern stands on the goal line and marks Bowes' snap instead of it going over his head we definitely win the game.

So many little poor errors in that last few minutes that cost us the game.

2. Umpires didn’t decide the game.
The umpiring was absolutely woeful both ways, not just Carltons.

Might just be the worst officiated game I've seen this year, and that's some feat given this year is probably the worst in recent memory for umpiring overall.

Ed kicks that with 2 mins left and we likely win the game.
Dow kicks down the boundary instead of handballing to a Carlton player under pressure in the middle leading to a turnover and we likely win the game.
McGovern stands on the goal line and marks Bowes' snap instead of it going over his head we definitely win the game.

So many little poor errors in that last few minutes that cost us the game.
Murphy actually kicks the ball for goal instead of nearly missing his foot passing it for god knows what reason and we maybe win the game.

Seems like a few posters are enjoying our loss too much, will come back to bite you on the bum.

I would have thought that was we are seeing is their concerns expressed as criticism (some of it definitely over the top) but I doubt very much that anyone is actually "enjoying" our losses.

Perhaps those that are would like to put their hands up?

As others have said, we wrote off Weiters last year and now look at him - is number 5 in the AFL for intercept possessions.

Dow will also improve - in fact he already has, he gets the hard ball and he has a great burst of speed.* His kicking is awful. It’s always been awful, and that’s something he needs to improve, but I’m sure he knows that. And I have faith he will.

It would be a waste playing him in the VFL, especially if the only reason he’s being dropped is his kicking and some poor, under pressure decision making. He won’t fix those issues playing on sub standard grounds and reduced pressure. He needs to learn it at the coal face.

I want both Dow and Kennedy in the side helping Crippa in the clinches.

He’s also getting more of the ball which is why we’re noticing his poor kicking. His disposal average is way up on last year.

Yep Dow stays, at least he's getting his hands on the ball in good positions and he's good in the contest.
His disposal is killing us right now but that's not something that will improve by playing VFL.

What's killing us more is the little contribution we're getting from other midfielders like LOB, Setterfield and Fish.

Can't have 3 mids barely touching it week after week...problem is we don't have much else in reserve except for Kennedy.

I'd certainly bring in Kennedy, Cunners and even Lang into the team as soon as possible and drop a few of our young mids.

Fair enough - we can reassess at the end of the year but from all available evidence I would be truly stunned if we could turn things around as fast as they did. History under recent administrations is on my side.

From a squiggle perspective (unbiased) Brisbane were still rated higher than thus after round 8 despite having won zero games.

Why?

There's an interesting question...

We've outperformed Brisbane in Rounds 1-4 when you compare us to their 2018 campaign. And yet the rhetoric is that we're terrible, while they were "competetive, and the signs are there".

Strange.

I would have thought that was we are seeing is their concerns expressed as criticism (some of it definitely over the top) but I doubt very much that anyone is actually "enjoying" our losses.

Perhaps those that are would like to put their hands up?
Way over the top, and of course they wont put their hands up. I got no problem with people having an opinion but some should calm down and wait till the next day.

Yep Dow stays, at least he's getting his hands on the ball in good positions and he's good in the contest.
His disposal is killing us right now but that's not something that will improve by playing VFL.

What's killing us more is the little contribution we're getting from other midfielders like LOB, Setterfield and Fish.

Can't have 3 mids barely touching it week after week...problem is we don't have much else in reserve except for Kennedy.

I'd certainly bring in Kennedy, Cunners and even Lang into the team as soon as possible and drop a few of our young mids.

Don’t agree re: Fish. Got it 19 times last week and 20 times against Gold Coast, same as Dow. Was actually much better this week when he was allowed to play on the outside, some of his one touch pick-ups were sublime. Dropping him would be a mistake and take away one of our genuine skilful players.

Agree on Setters and LOB though. Setters struggles to stay in the game, though he’s only just getting back into the rigours of footy so that’s to be expected. He wasn’t awful yesterday and he tackles hard, but it might have been smarter to start him in the VFL.

LOB isn’t playing with the same confidence we saw toward the end of last year. Looks a little lost. Possibly second year blues. That’s precisely why you go back to the VFL, to get your confidence.

Just not ready for AFL imo. Needs to physically develop before he can play in the AFL.

Don’t agree re: Fish. Got it 19 times last week and 20 times against Gold Coast, same as Dow. Was actually much better this week when he was allowed to play on the outside, some of his one touch pick-ups were sublime. Dropping him would be a mistake and take away one of our genuine skilful players.

Agree on Setters and LOB though. Setters struggles to stay in the game, though he’s only just getting back into the rigours of footy so that’s to be expected. He wasn’t awful yesterday and he tackles hard, but it might have been smarter to start him in the VFL.

Weitering says "affirmative".

Gonna be amusing to see how many people want Walsh hung, drawn and quartered when he gets more attention next year and his incredible form line drops.

Brad Lloyd's comment annoys me. 'Our cohesion was a bit off' - no shit. Did you not foresee that? 3 keys was already crowding the forward line. We've already displayed over 3 weeks we've got a dysfunctional forward system that breaks down for long periods. It makes me concerned.

I feel sorry for you being in your mid twenties mate(i really don't). I've seen 8 premierships, but you really posted a shit post yesterday so if we are a sinking ship you do have to make a decision, jump off or stay with the ship.

I'd still like to be in my mid twenties. I'd be satisfied with the history of the club and would be happy to watch old videos.

But mostly I'd still like to be in my mid twenties.

I can't remember who posted it (Stamos??) but quoting how Brisbane were the same last year and have improved have moved me from possibly remove Bolton mid season, to leaning more towards wait until at least round 18 (hopefully results improve and its a non issue).

The bolded bit shows you are not a Carlton fan, but a Bolton fan. This blind allegiance to one person is admirable, but misdirected. The club is bigger than any individual. If we go 4-18 this year do you still keep him?

Wanting your football club to be successful does not make a supporter entitled. It may shock you but some people strive for perfection in all parts of life. I want my football club to be the very best it can be. 3 wins and 35 losses is not that, particularly when I see coaches with what I think are inferior lists getting better results.
I've seen points missed by further but not recently.

I'd still like to be in my mid twenties. I'd be satisfied with the history of the club and would be happy to watch old videos.

But mostly I'd still like to be in my mid twenties.
All the 25 year olds would be thinking what are they talking about?

HUUURRRR!!! Brisbane are much better than us! We're shit! We're the most awful club to ever play the game!!! RAAWR! SAKC THE COACH! TRADE CRIPPS! WE"LL NEVER WIN AGAAAAAIIIIN!!!! WAAAAH!

Oh wait - Brisbane started last season 0-8.
Margins? 25, 26, 5, 93, 5, 34, 7, 14.
Then after a good win in round 9, they went on to lose their next 4 by 18, 54, 22 and 27.
12 months later they're 3-1 with a percentage of 109.8, and sitting pretty in the top 4 (early days).

Getting a bit over this forum of late. An arseload of "fans" who only rock up on the weekend to bitch and moan about the scoreboard result and how "2nd year player XXXXX XXX cost us the game, trade him!". Presuming these "fans" trundle off back to their usual haunt on Facebook from Monday to Friday, because they certainly don't stick around to participate in anything remotely close to rational, reasoned discussion once the emotion has subsided.

Take a look at yourselves. Morons.

This works

Same kid that kicked 3 against the Tigers on Rance in his 1st game forward of season 2?

Yep, same kid who spent the rest of that year lost. Same kid who is just now again is showing that he could very well be the best defender in the game in a few years time.. key word being defender, not forward so for you to even try and defend what Bolton did with him is laughable.

The umpiring was absolutely woeful both ways, not just Carltons.

Might just be the worst officiated game I've seen this year, and that's some feat given this year is probably the worst in recent memory for umpiring overall.

Yep, the only solace I take from the umpiring is that I thought it was so bad that BOTH teams got screwed by terrible decisions.

Why?

There's an interesting question...

We've outperformed Brisbane in Rounds 1-4 when you compare us to their 2018 campaign. And yet the rhetoric is that we're terrible, while they were "competetive, and the signs are there".

Strange.

They were at least kicking reasonable scores (by that I mean 90+) most weeks and had close losses to Port away and Collingwood where they kicked good scores in both games.

In contrast we have lost the last two games to teams squiggle thinks are bottom 4 material this year