Preview Rnd 5 - Carlton v Bulldogs Sunday April 21st 1.10PM @ Marvel - Final Team - Post #854

• Thread starter Thread starter Mezzoculo

I wouldn’t write him off yet, but he should not be in the team at the moment. Needs to bring a hell of a lot more than he is at the moment
So they drop him to the 2’s and he kills it onball cos that’s what he does best. Why bother putting him on the list in the first place if they don’t play him where he’s best suited ?

Several have called for Fisher to be played forward. He definitely shifted forward this game. Until now his possessions were largely 55/45 forward /back. Was more like 2/3 and 1/3 this game. I think it’s his go for now and the rest of the year. He doesn’t have the body to go in the middle. He’s very dangerous up forward. Still pushes up and finds the footy.

My team for the week now:

Back 7 is unchanged. Is going very well now. Jones, Weiters, Marchy, Plowman, Thomas, Newman and Simmo.

Ruck swap Lobbe and Kreuzer is a no brainer.

Mid 7 loses Setters: Dow Walsh Crippa Murph LOB SPS Kennedy

Forward 7 dump Casboult (too tall): McKay mcg CC Gibbons stays unless Cunners fit, Fish Jack Ed.

This won’t happen
Backline stability is one of the main positives of the season so far. Plowman hasn’t done anything to warrant them fiddling with the formula there yet.

Meh. I don't think he can defend to save himself and now terrible kicking is starting to creep into his usually reliable disposal.

Our recent games against the Dogs have been low-scoring shitfights with the Dogs just pulling away at the end.

Given our point of difference is the ruck (one Kreuzer please) and some good tall forwards against an undersized defence, something similar seems on the cards.

Prepare yourselves for a dour affair.

Drop Casboult, one of our talls needs to stay deep (Harry or Gov). Charlie can be a designated roamer. Cripps and Kreuzer are other bailout options.

Should be roaming in the VFL this week.

Boys will be feeling very flat this week. Bolton needs to find something special to get the team up. Has the potential to get very ugly.

If you’re not itching to get out there as a player this weekend you’re not worthy to be on the list. There should be nothing flat about it. If they love their coach and they are fair dinkum about each other the effort should be as it has been every week. No excuses there...
We have serious problems if there is a drop in effort.

Their run will worry us for sure and their midfield is strong but effort and being up for the fight should not be a worry. I actually think our midfield will match up well and Kruez will make a big difference.

I’m hoping the changes will be Kruez,
Cunners, Kennedy, Garlett In

Outs: Lobbe, gibbons, setters and O’Brien.

Cunners and Garlett give us some more pace to match it with the dogs outside and some more tricks up front which we desparately need. I can’t understand for the life of me why Garlett is not in this team at the momemt especially in cunners absence.... im hoping they are both in this week.

Sorry to disappoint people on here. But I think differently.

One game is fine. But 2 in succession (especially for a player of his ilk is) nearly too much for a team like ours. I'd be omitting Dow for a week or two to clear his head and return fresh. Shouldn't be rewarding any ineptitude because of intuition. I love the kid as much as most of you (his energy and evasiveness are incredible). But his current flaws stick out more than others. His kicking is troublesome at the moment, and it's best he doesn't face any further mockery and pointing of the fingers. Have to make a bit of a statement.

O'Brien I'd be likely to keep playing because not many are demanding for a spot.

Not too sure where Kennedy sits here given the spotlight placed on him after the Folau incident. But ideally there shouldn't be any. It's best that he comes in to assist Cripps.

There is no point worrying about being too top heavy. What is one small player going to do? Before one says inject speed, what is the point when we can't balance it with control? That being said, I'd still have Casboult out. Favourably for Kerr. Maybe for Garlett.

Lobbe for Kreuzer. No question about that.

Cuningham fit? He plays!

J.Silvagni too. Perhaps play him around the middle. Experiment a little.

If Gibbons keeps his spot. Try him on the wing. Look at what made him a VFL standout and play him where he is best suited.

OUT - Will Setterfield (Suspended), Matthew Lobbe (Omitted), Paddy Dow (Omitted), Michael Gibbons (Omitted), Levi Casboult (Omitted)
IN - Matthew Kennedy, Matthew Kreuzer, David Cuningham, Patrick Kerr/Jarrod Garlett, Jack Silvagni

FB - Jacob Weitering - Liam Jones - Nic Newman
HB - Kade Simpson - Caleb Marchbank - Dale Thomas
C - Sam Walsh - Matthew Kennedy - Lochie O'Brien
HF - Sam Petrevski-Seton - Harry McKay - Marc Murphy
FF - Charlie Curnow - Mitch McGovern - David Cuningham
R - Matthew Kreuzer - Patrick Cripps - Zac Fisher
I - Ed Curnow - Lachie Plowman - Jack Silvagni - Patrick Kerr/Jarrod Garlett

E - Paddy Dow - Michael Gibbons - Andrew Phillips - Cameron Polson

Sorry to disappoint people on here. But I think differently.

One game is fine. But 2 in succession (especially for a player of his ilk is) nearly too much for a team like ours. I'd be omitting Dow for a week or two to clear his head and return fresh. Shouldn't be rewarding any ineptitude because of intuition. I love the kid as much as most of you (his energy and evasiveness are incredible). But his current flaws stick out more than others. His kicking is troublesome at the moment, and it's best he doesn't face any further mockery and pointing of the fingers. Have to make a bit of a statement.

O'Brien I'd be likely to keep playing because not many are demanding for a spot.

Not too sure where Kennedy sits here given the spotlight placed on him after the Folau incident. But ideally there shouldn't be any. It's best that he comes in to assist Cripps.

There is no point worrying about being too top heavy. What is one small player going to do? Before one says inject speed, what is the point when we can't balance it with control? That being said, I'd still have Casboult out. Favourably for Kerr.

Lobbe for Kreuzer. No question about that.

Cuningham fit? He plays!

J.Silvagni too. Perhaps play him around the middle. Experiment a little.

If Gibbons keeps his spot. Try him on the wing. Look at what made him a VFL standout and play him where he is best suited.

OUT - Will Setterfield (Suspended), Matthew Lobbe (Omitted), Paddy Dow (Omitted), Michael Gibbons (Omitted), Levi Casboult (Omitted)
IN - Matthew Kennedy, Matthew Kreuzer, David Cuningham, Patrick Kerr, Jack Silvagni

FB - Jacob Weitering - Liam Jones - Nic Newman
HB - Kade Simpson - Caleb Marchbank - Dale Thomas
C - Sam Walsh - Matthew Kennedy - Lochie O'Brien
HF - Sam Petrevski-Seton - Harry McKay - Marc Murphy
FF - Charlie Curnow - Mitch McGovern - David Cuningham
R - Matthew Kreuzer - Patrick Cripps - Zac Fisher
I - Ed Curnow - Lachie Plowman - Jack Silvagni - Patrick Kerr

E - Paddy Dow - Michael Gibbons - Andrew Phillips - Cameron Polson
yeah nah, I actually like your thoughts.
Just goes to show how much we miss Pickett and Docherty.

Video preview - LINK

Round 22, 2018
Western Bulldogs 10.6.66 defeated Carlton 7.7.49

• Josh Dunkley was dominant with 36 possessions and could have been better, kicking 0.3
  • Simmo had 35 possessions and kicked a goal
  • Tom De Koning played his first game for the club
  • Paddy Dow put us in front with 14 minutes to go
  • Jed Lamb gave away a 50m penalty and the Dogs ran away
What I’m excited about
  • Cripps v Bontempelli. The comparisons will be with them for the remainder of their careers and whenever they match up it’s a delight for all footy fans. Bontempelli is more of a smooth mover with time and precision whereas Cripps is just a real grunt of a player and a true “footballer” in the old school sense
  • All adversity that one endures leads to breakthroughs of growth and I expect us to have a sour taste in our mouth all week which in turn spurs us to work harder. Jacob Weitering is one in particular that I saw after the game addressing the players, something I had not yet seen. That growth excites me.
  • Our backline is actually pretty solid, led by Jones and Weitering. With Williamson edging closer to a return, we will be locked and loaded in that area for the remainder of the season.
  • Another opportunity for our midfielders and forwards to reach the cohesion that’s needed. We had some great patches of composure last week and I look forward to us hopefully focussing on that again and really training it hard.
  • The dogs are a team that also plays in waves, yet to put together a consistent 4 quarter performance. If we can nullify their momentum when it does come, we are a chance
  • Kreuzer will play this week and we all know how much better we are as a side when the big fella is in there.
What I’m mindful of
  • Are we a side that is ready to cope with a stinging loss like last week and respond? Will players go into their shells in fear of not wanting to make a mistake? We have players who play with a flair (SPS, Dow, Fisher) and I wonder what their mental fortitude is like.
  • When the dogs get on a run, they are brilliant, seriously brilliant. I worry about our ability to stop their momentum because it comes from their relentless pressure
  • Josh Dunkley looms as the exact type of player that we traditionally struggle against. A medium sized forward who can also go through the midfield and dominate.
  • The Dogs have a quietly elite midfield now that Libba is back in the fold. If we can’t beat them at stoppages, we will be in for a long afternoon
Team Changes
OUT - Setterfield (suspension) | Lobbe | Casboult | O’Brien
IN - Kennedy | Kreuzer | Silvagni | Cuningham

Prediction
I’m scarred from last week. Dogs by 22