Bigfooty General Metal Thread Mk.VII

We were having a joke about Goatowarex just the other day at rehearsal actually haha. Isn't his name Lee or something? I used to have him on MSN in the old days when he lived in Sydney, I assume was a uni student, and he helped distribute my old band's first album. Cool dude. Reckon it's hilarious when he gets accused of stuff.

Dani Li. Funny guy. Met him in 05. Think of your average Chinese student but in a battle jacket. He was encouraging me to bootleg Megaslaughter. Haha. Used to chat quite a bit on MSN too.

Dani, that's it. Remember the Li bit. He's the one that got me into Drudkh. He did that 6 CDs for $66 thing which was good. Probably where I got heaps of my random stuff from. Sent me some Urfaust CDs as payment to resell our albums haha.

I don't think it would have been Destroyer, probably more Soundworks. Saw some commo lefty rag write an article about it yesterday or something that got heaps of uni students' manbuns rustled.
i’d imagine it would be venues being threatened until they pull out, when that happens they got no where to play

I agree that there must be a little more too it, but Soundworks is the premier underground metal promoter in Australia. Could have had pressure from venues and ticketing joints that could have jeopordised future tours.

Clearly I’m a little naive myself but then why would venues or ticketing joints care so much to put pressure on the promoter? They’ll be lucky to draw a crowd of 800 people ffs. Its not Maiden selling out Rod Laver Arena. 99.5% of Australia would have no idea D666 or any other metal band are touring. Talk about the tail wagging the dog.

Not a very good article. I could throw Keith under the bus on a heap of things but the fact is I don't think he is what they are trying to paint. He is however an easy kill and in today's world, I am not shocked to be reading this. I don't blame the businesses involved as being stoic on this could hurt in the long run.

Well for a start, the "salute" they mentioned was him putting his fist in the air so that's pretty dishonest. As you said, not surprising at all.

Clearly I’m a little naive myself but then why would venues or ticketing joints care so much to put pressure on the promoter? They’ll be lucky to draw a crowd of 800 people ffs. Its not Maiden selling out Rod Laver Arena. 99.5% of Australia would have no idea D666 or any other metal band are touring. Talk about the tail wagging the dog.

My guess is they might not want any bad press. Happened to us a few times in Spear. The venue didn't care about a precariously titled EP from 96, 8 or 9 years before I even joined, but were copping it from local street rags so they told the promoter that we couldn't play.

This is the one I read. The virtue signalling is off the charts, cashing in on the terrible Christchurch events but doesn't seem to mention Destroyer's overwhelming anti-christian theme (in their 30 seconds of metal-archives research they didn't see the song Australian and Antichrist?) which should be equally unsavoury given the recent events in Sri Lanka. That doesn't suit the narrative when they pick and choose their outrage.

https://tonedeaf.thebrag.com/are-we-really-touring-destroyer-666-australia/

This is the one I read. The virtue signalling is off the charts, cashing in on the terrible Christchurch events but doesn't seem to mention Destroyer's overwhelming anti-christian theme (in their 30 seconds of metal-archives research they didn't see the song Australian and Antichrist?) which should be equally unsavoury given the recent events in Sri Lanka. That doesn't suit the narrative when they pick and choose their outrage.

How’s the comments following that pathetic article? Hilarious. What a try hard flog this Hohnen guy came across as. What a nobody.

I didn't read them until you just mentioned it. Gold.

My new band are already joking about if we are going to get antifa rocking up because I was on one SoL record, but the other guitarist is actually of Indian descent. Maybe they'll call him a progressive skinhead or something. He too is mighty pissed off about Destroyer.

Oh, so you read The Age? Need your daily Bill ‘trust be, I’m legit’ Shorten fix? Ha ha...

Haha. I don't actually read any myself, I just see the articles that others post on FB. Only news I have on at home is Sky. It's not fantastic but it's a refreshing reprieve.

The only thing missing from that article was, "I'm a passionate defender of free speech, but..."

Lefties don’t like defend the concept of anything ‘free’ - unless its attached to the words ‘healthcare’, ‘immigration’ or ‘Arts Degree’.

Incantation/Krisiun ticket purchased. I fear the promoter (Bleed) has put too many supports on the bill as usual though. Hopefully it runs on schedule and no one has to cut their set short.

Haha. Can see this coming a mile away. Still remember Marty sitting there at the merch booth looking indifferent whilst we suffered through Persecution (who started an hour late) on the Sabbat Sunday show. Result - short Sabbat set and people leaving to catch last train etc. Bet Incantation suffers the same fate.

Haha that's both funny as sad. How do you not learn from that experience?

Just listening to a bit of Krisiun now, never was a huge fan but they have some enjoyable stuff. Newest album has some hooks and sonically sounds good. Should come across well live.