What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 3

• Thread starter Thread starter Metal

WB-header.png

If it was a genuine all-club premiership hangover which ruined 2017 and then questionable player commitment which marred 2018 ...
then we're yet to determine what is causing this season's woes. Have some people got too comfortable? Right now, it is looking like another mess.
Did you read his one on the Lions? The bloke is so devoid of wit and intellect, it amazes me he finds work. I’d be genuinely embarrassed to publish some of the pathetically dreary comments he comes out with.

WESTERN BULLDOGS EXPERIMENTING WITH RUCK STOCKS FOR FREMANTLE TRIP
BY SEN AN HOUR AGO

Western Bulldogs coach Luke Beveridge says selecting Jackson Trengove is part of a plan to re-work the team’s ruck stocks.
21-year-old Tim English has been shouldering the ruck duties for the season with an average of 16.6 hit-outs.

To provide English with assistance, Beveridge has recalled Trengove for his first game of the year in a bid to give a new look in the ruck.
“Early in the year we didn't feel like the 50-50 ruck thing was working for us," Beveridge said.
“We went a different way and it kind of worked for us early.
“Now we feel like we need at least one more tall in to support either end really and to give Tim (English) a chop out as well.
“Well, as far as strategy goes, start a certain way and hopefully that works out.
“But you'll see some change where players are playing forward and back to make sure we galvanise our defence."
The Bulldogs clash with the Dockers at Optus Stadium on Saturday night

So Gowers with mid time again. Mixing around some defenders and forwards. Not sure if that's just Naughton or if Cordy is possibly switching as well. I'm advocating for Roarke Smith to come in as a forward so I can't nay say all experimentation but I feel like we may be becoming the definition of insanity

AMID all the vitriol and passionate views surrounding the booing of Scott Pendlebury on Anzac Day, Western Bulldogs coach Luke Beveridge says he sees the lighter side of the hot topic.

Collingwood's captain Pendlebury received his third Anzac Medal for a best-on-ground performance in a nailbiting win against traditional rival Essendon and was jeered by opposition supporters in his acceptance speech, prompting a strong defence from coach Nathan Buckley.

BUCKS SLAMS FANS 'Shame on anyone that booed a champion'

Beveridge believes booing is an unfortunate reality in football and there's an element of preciousness in the reaction.

The game is tribal, supporters of both teams are there absolutely emotionally drained at the end of the game. Booing is part of the game, it's not ideal but it's just there - Luke Beveridge​
"We've become a bit of a nanny state," Beveridge said at Melbourne Airport on Friday.

"Pendles is a champion and so is Bucks, but I must admit I did have a chuckle after Bucks sort of challenged whoever was booing. They showed the Essendon crowd and the response was a harder boo. It was funny, I see the lighter side of it.

"The game is tribal, supporters of both teams are there absolutely emotionally drained at the end of the game. Booing is part of the game, it's not ideal but it's just there."

Preparing for an interstate trip to face Fremantle on Saturday night, the Dogs have tinkered with their line-up and selected Jackson Trengove for his first game of 2019. The experienced utility is expected to assist ruckman Tim English, while providing another backline option.

ROUND SIX TEAMS Check 'em out

"Early in the year we didn't feel like the 50-50 ruck thing was working for us," Beveridge said.

"We went a different way and it kind of worked for us early. Now we feel like we need at least one more tall in to support either end really and to give Tim (English) a chop out as well. Well, as far as strategy goes, start a certain way and hopefully that works out."

Young ruckman Tim English will get some help for the Dogs' clash with Freo. Picture: AFL Photos
TE05WBCa19MW0681.jpg

"But you'll see some change where players are playing forward and back to make sure we galvanise our defence."

Injury-cursed midfielder Lin Jong was present at the club on Thursday following time in hospital with appendicitis, an issue that was somewhat unique according to Beveridge.

FULL INJURY LIST Who's ruled out and who's a test?

"It's interesting (with) 'Jongy.' His symptoms with the appendix are a bit different because of the makeup of him internally, he's a little bit different to all of us," he said.

"It's pretty dangerous where you're having an appendix that's pretty nasty. He's had it taken out, he's on the recovery trail (and) was in at the club yesterday.

"He looked good within himself, hopefully it doesn't take him too long to get back to playing."

Just saw this on footyology. This hits the nail on the head for me. It's a great viewpoint.

https://footyology.com.au/shouldnt-the-dogs-be-angrier-with-themselves/

I'm f^#king filthy, embarrassed, pissed off...
I've defended the Dogs and made all the excuses to mates about why we dropped off and how we are just about to regain our hunger and form... We are no closer to getting it back than at any time in the last 2 years. Positional needs have not been addressed and all we've really done is pick up a couple of highly rated juniors that are too soft and not driven to play at the highest level.
The worst thing is that we traded out Stringer - I know I'll get howled down by all these GenXers saying that he was toxic to the culture and Tom Boyd and some other dickheads that are probably not getting a game now anyway weren't happy with him and so on but Stringer is a once in a generation player. I think we took the wrong side on the Stringer issue and got rid of potentially one of our greatest players of the last 20 years.
We now have nothing up forward and we are screaming for a player just like Stringer.
The confusing press conferences with Bevo, team selections, etc... it is just f#$king baffling and is making me hate football...

Having said all that if we beat Freo all is forgiven and I'm happy again.

Woof!

AMID all the vitriol and passionate views surrounding the booing of Scott Pendlebury on Anzac Day, Western Bulldogs coach Luke Beveridge says he sees the lighter side of the hot topic.

Collingwood's captain Pendlebury received his third Anzac Medal for a best-on-ground performance in a nailbiting win against traditional rival Essendon and was jeered by opposition supporters in his acceptance speech, prompting a strong defence from coach Nathan Buckley.

BUCKS SLAMS FANS 'Shame on anyone that booed a champion'

Beveridge believes booing is an unfortunate reality in football and there's an element of preciousness in the reaction.

The game is tribal, supporters of both teams are there absolutely emotionally drained at the end of the game. Booing is part of the game, it's not ideal but it's just there - Luke Beveridge​
"We've become a bit of a nanny state," Beveridge said at Melbourne Airport on Friday.

"Pendles is a champion and so is Bucks, but I must admit I did have a chuckle after Bucks sort of challenged whoever was booing. They showed the Essendon crowd and the response was a harder boo. It was funny, I see the lighter side of it.

"The game is tribal, supporters of both teams are there absolutely emotionally drained at the end of the game. Booing is part of the game, it's not ideal but it's just there."

Preparing for an interstate trip to face Fremantle on Saturday night, the Dogs have tinkered with their line-up and selected Jackson Trengove for his first game of 2019. The experienced utility is expected to assist ruckman Tim English, while providing another backline option.

ROUND SIX TEAMS Check 'em out

"Early in the year we didn't feel like the 50-50 ruck thing was working for us," Beveridge said.

"We went a different way and it kind of worked for us early. Now we feel like we need at least one more tall in to support either end really and to give Tim (English) a chop out as well. Well, as far as strategy goes, start a certain way and hopefully that works out."

Young ruckman Tim English will get some help for the Dogs' clash with Freo. Picture: AFL Photos
TE05WBCa19MW0681.jpg

"But you'll see some change where players are playing forward and back to make sure we galvanise our defence."

Injury-cursed midfielder Lin Jong was present at the club on Thursday following time in hospital with appendicitis, an issue that was somewhat unique according to Beveridge.

FULL INJURY LIST Who's ruled out and who's a test?

"It's interesting (with) 'Jongy.' His symptoms with the appendix are a bit different because of the makeup of him internally, he's a little bit different to all of us," he said.

"It's pretty dangerous where you're having an appendix that's pretty nasty. He's had it taken out, he's on the recovery trail (and) was in at the club yesterday.

"He looked good within himself, hopefully it doesn't take him too long to get back to playing."

When it comes to booing, careful what you wish for, coach.

WESTERN BULLDOGS EXPERIMENTING WITH RUCK STOCKS FOR FREMANTLE TRIP
BY SEN AN HOUR AGO

Western Bulldogs coach Luke Beveridge says selecting Jackson Trengove is part of a plan to re-work the team’s ruck stocks.
21-year-old Tim English has been shouldering the ruck duties for the season with an average of 16.6 hit-outs.

To provide English with assistance, Beveridge has recalled Trengove for his first game of the year in a bid to give a new look in the ruck.
“Early in the year we didn't feel like the 50-50 ruck thing was working for us," Beveridge said.
“We went a different way and it kind of worked for us early.
“Now we feel like we need at least one more tall in to support either end really and to give Tim (English) a chop out as well.
“Well, as far as strategy goes, start a certain way and hopefully that works out.
“But you'll see some change where players are playing forward and back to make sure we galvanise our defence."
The Bulldogs clash with the Dockers at Optus Stadium on Saturday night

I love we're experimenting, fills me with great hope.

Experimenting with players being played where they should be played? Experimenting by giving English a hand with a player over six foot? Experimenting with accuracy in front of goal?

Cool.

https://www.statsinsider.com.au/afl/sons-of-the-west-and-of-diabolical-inefficiency

Sons of the West… and of Diabolical Inefficiency James Rosewarne

POINTS PER GAME LAST 2 SEASONS UNDER MCCARTNEY v FIRST SEASON UNDER BEVERIDGE
2013 – 87.5 (13)
2014 – 81.1 (13)
2015 – 95.5 (4)

2016 - 84.40
2017 - 84.40
2018 - 71.59
2019 - 75.4

BULLDOGS GOAL PERCENTAGE ONCE INSIDE 50 UNDER BEVERIDGE
2015 – 25.71%
2016 – 22.76%
2017 – 21.61%
2018 – 19.58%
2019 – 17.05 %

https://www.statsinsider.com.au/afl/sons-of-the-west-and-of-diabolical-inefficiency

Sons of the West… and of Diabolical Inefficiency James Rosewarne

POINTS PER GAME LAST 2 SEASONS UNDER MCCARTNEY v FIRST SEASON UNDER BEVERIDGE
2013 – 87.5 (13)
2014 – 81.1 (13)
2015 – 95.5 (4)

2016 - 84.40
2017 - 84.40
2018 - 71.59
2019 - 75.4

BULLDOGS GOAL PERCENTAGE ONCE INSIDE 50 UNDER BEVERIDGE
2015 – 25.71%
2016 – 22.76%
2017 – 21.61%
2018 – 19.58%
2019 – 17.05 %
Seems fair. Although it's interesting we won the flag in 2016 when we ranked 12th in the AFL for points scored after the H&A season.

While it effectively says we stink (which we do), in a funny way it provides hope. If we are second in the AFL for i50s then we could easily turn things around to win the majority of our remaining games and make the finals.

All we have to do is find a way to increase our i50 efficiency back up to about 24-25%. Not sure how we do that but at least we're getting plenty of the footy.

Ando’s Shout: Ted Whitten Jr remembers the day wrestling legend Andre the Giant visited the Bulldogs
Jon Anderson, Herald Sun
an hour ago

It was the recent Collingwood-Western Bulldogs game that saw the calculators whipped out to measure the height difference between Collingwood’s 211cm Mason Cox and 168cm Caleb Daniel of the Western Bulldogs.

A 43cm differential was determined to be the greatest ever on an AFL field, which is technically incorrect given events at the Western Oval as it was known back in 1978.

256366e0882681b029b516165811285f

Mason Cox and Caleb Daniel might represent the long and short of today's AFL, but Andre The Giant's visit to the Bulldogs takes the cake.

It was the day the late Ted Whitten Snr arrived at the kennel with his mate, christened Andre Rene Roussimoff but known to all and sundry as Andre the Giant, a 224cm and 235kg French farm labourer who became famous as a wrestler … and drinker, as Ted Whitten Jnr recalled.

“Dad was going to a sportsman’s night in Shepparton and picked me up in his Statesman De Ville with tinted windows, telling me to get in the back. Sitting there with his head against the roof was Andre the Giant,” said 178cm Whitten, 62, who played 144 games for Footscray from 1974-82.

“The Giant was knocking backing those funny-shaped Mateus Rose bottles like VB stubbies. He didn’t say much because he couldn’t talk a lot of English and was pretty tired by the time we arrived. In fact it took a bit for him to get out of the car.

“Then dad brought him to training at the Western Oval and the Footscray boys couldn’t believe the size of the Giant. He had to duck to get his head in, which was like a massive mallee root.
78dede979ba3ece06f461255312fa193

Western Bulldogs Geoff Jennings, Ted Whitten Jr and Terry Wheeler climb all over wrestler Andre The Giant in 1980.

“We got him out on the ground with a footy and we sort of climbed on him — Geoff Jennings, Terry Wheeler and me. He didn’t say much because he didn’t speak much English, but Dad was friendly with him and would just talk away. I’m still not sure if they understood a word from each other but they used to laugh a lot.”
similars

Andre, who died aged 46 in 1992, is alleged to have once drunk 156 16-US-fluid-ounce (470ml) beers (more than 73 litres, or 126 pints) in one sitting, later confirmed by fellow wrestler Dusty Rhodes.

The problems began when “The Giant” finished drinking and passed out, because short of a crane it was impossible to move the big bloke until he woke. In New York an undercover officer was employed to follow Andre around to make sure he didn’t fall on anyone when drunk.

It's a shame that Bevo couldn't also add that the Essendon fans were being a bunch of little baby bitches.

The point the author made about which players have improved since 2016 had me stumped (sadly). The elite players eg. Bont,Macrae, Libba are at the same level as are the others or in fact worse. I can't think of one player who us better now.
Daniel is better and I'd say Macrae is too.
Hunter is a better more consistantly player and McLean and Dunkley have had better games post flag than pre flag.
Cordy is also a much better defender than he was.

DALE Morris has started running outside again after his ACL injury as he targets a comeback in the second half of the season.

Morris' career looked in doubt in mid-March after he ruptured the ACL in his left knee at training.

Having already completed one surgery-free comeback from a ACL injury in his right knee in 2018, Morris again avoided the knife in a bid to speed up his return to the field.

After a rehab regime that includes litres of bone broth, the Dogs are confident that Morris is on track to play again this year.

GIVE A DOG A BONE Morris' secret recipe to fast-track return

"Dale's back running outside and completing an intensive block of strength training," Bulldogs medical services manager Chris Bell said.

"We remain optimistic that he’s going to make a return in the second half of the season."

Morris' ability to play under duress has become the stuff of legend at the Bulldogs.

Apart from his remarkable recovery last year, he played the entire 2016 finals series - including the stunning premiership victory - with two broken vertebrae in his back.

The Dogs also believe defender Matthew Suckling is a chance to face Brisbane in Ballarat in round eight, while Lin Jong could be three weeks away after recovering from a burst appendix.

DALE Morris has started running outside again after his ACL injury as he targets a comeback in the second half of the season.

Morris' career looked in doubt in mid-March after he ruptured the ACL in his left knee at training.

Having already completed one surgery-free comeback from a ACL injury in his right knee in 2018, Morris again avoided the knife in a bid to speed up his return to the field.

After a rehab regime that includes litres of bone broth, the Dogs are confident that Morris is on track to play again this year.

GIVE A DOG A BONE Morris' secret recipe to fast-track return

"Dale's back running outside and completing an intensive block of strength training," Bulldogs medical services manager Chris Bell said.

"We remain optimistic that he’s going to make a return in the second half of the season."

Morris' ability to play under duress has become the stuff of legend at the Bulldogs.

Apart from his remarkable recovery last year, he played the entire 2016 finals series - including the stunning premiership victory - with two broken vertebrae in his back.

The Dogs also believe defender Matthew Suckling is a chance to face Brisbane in Ballarat in round eight, while Lin Jong could be three weeks away after recovering from a burst appendix.
I'll be flying to VIC just to watch his return game

Um, if what we've seen in four weeks is 'Bulldogs footy' and if Bulldogs footy involves no pressure, poor disposal and horrendous goal kicking, can we abandon the plan?

This springs to mind.....

0B2E983C-170A-4F1A-AB1F-08984308AAB3.png