VFL 2022 - Reserves Game Day discussion Rnds 1 - 22 (Merged threads)

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Stocker has had an injury interrupted season. Confident he's got the talent to be a best-22 player, but he can't reasonably be put ahead of the current group of small defenders.
I doubt Stock leaves. He wouldn't be getting onball minutes at any other club in the comp nor would he be guaranteed best 22 as a half back. On that basis I find it hard to believe anyone will offer him something we can't.

I think he is a victim of our own expectations. He is talented and probably becomes best 22 but is no Walsh. I don't think I've ever seen a player so over rated by our supporter group.

I doubt Stock leaves. He wouldn't be getting onball minutes at any other club in the comp nor would he be guaranteed best 22 as a half back. On that basis I find it hard to believe anyone will offer him something we can't.

I think he is a victim of our own expectations. He is talented and probably becomes best 22 but is no Walsh. I don't think I've ever seen a player so over rated by our supporter group.
Our supporter group loves the way Stocker tries to remove ears from players when flying for the defensive punch.(at the ball)
And also flying the flag when a team mate gets roughed up.
Both very good traits, but he's behind Newman at playing football for now.

Stockers criticism has always been tank.

Judging by his AFL appearances this year he's looked very unfit, not fit enough to effectively play back pocket at AFL level. Very sluggish and mostly ran one way.

He's coming off a long layoff.

A lot of good juniors start as midfielders and get moved into other positions post draft. U18 games aren't defensive, they don't have to run both ways, they don't have to be top runners to play midfield in the U18s.

It's unlikely Stocker becomes a midfielder. Not impossible though. Let's see him become a two way running offensive defender first.

Its a little concerning that our recruiting team didn’t think mids with poor tanks was a concern at draft/trade time, being able to run and have a good tank is one of the most important skill sets of a mid.

They criticised CFC for taking Cripps on the same logic...

Stocker's been in the system long enough to have a tank (before factoring in injuries...).

Reckon that line is grossly over played wrt young Stocker.

Stocker's issue is that Boyd is playing well. Going to take a fair effort to get his spot back.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Boyd has many of the same traits as Stocker but is currently better by foot.

TBH, really like both players aggressive physicality.

Stockers criticism has always been tank.

Judging by his AFL appearances this year he's looked very unfit, not fit enough to effectively play back pocket at AFL level. Very sluggish and mostly ran one way.

He's coming off a long layoff.

A lot of good juniors start as midfielders and get moved into other positions post draft. U18 games aren't defensive, they don't have to run both ways, they don't have to be top runners to play midfield in the U18s.

It's unlikely Stocker becomes a midfielder. Not impossible though. Let's see him become a two way running offensive defender first.
His kicking technique is too slow at the top level imo. With the high ball drop and less space afforded at AFL level his kicks come under pressure and miss more than they should. He's got a bit to work on and I'm sure he is doing so.

takes an age to line up at the moment.

will improve but is behind others at the moment.

VFL watchers, is he playing back flank etc or is he developing other strings?

I think they should play the long game with him. See Kennedy for reference. If Dow improves again next year he will be a very competent afl player.
Windows and Arrow, do you think the club should go backwards a bit with Dow , and teach him to play forward , wing , whatever, to make him more flexible ? Start now and continue over pre season, even if it means sacrificing the vfl team and his own game, for the sake of his own game, if you know what I mean ? Or is it just too late?

Or are we just looking at him for trade bait for something we need more ?

Windows and Arrow, do you think the club should go backwards a bit with Dow , and teach him to play forward , wing , whatever, to make him more flexible ? Start now and continue over pre season, even if it means sacrificing the vfl team and his own game, for the sake of his own game, if you know what I mean ? Or is it just too late?

Or are we just looking at him for trade bait for something we need more ?

I would keep him in the middle, but rather than trying to continue to play him as an extractor, I would try and develop aspects that would make for a better balanced mid. That would mean focusing more on his kicking and how he peels off to receive the handball from stoppages

The main focus remains in his number 1 weakness, working defensively when he/team doesn't have the pill and then being involved in the turnover chain

I would keep him in the middle, but rather than trying to continue to play him as an extractor, I would try and develop aspects that would make for a better balanced mid. That would mean focusing more on his kicking and how he peels of to receive the handball from stoppages

The main focus remains in his number 1 weakness, working defensively when he/team doesn't have the pill and then being involved in the turnover chain
100 percent agree with this. I’d even contemplate asking him to hard tag for a few weeks.

Don't always recruit midfielders to play in the midfield. A lot of the better smaller young players play midfield in juniors. Would have been recruited with the idea that this improves over time and he becomes a midfielder or that he just goes into another position.

He is someone who is going to have to work hard and have a good preseason and see where he goes from there.

I see him in a similar position to Williams last year. A backman recruited to play on the ball but did not have the tank for it, barely had the tank to play AFL at a high level. Lost weight, got fitter and played some really good footy in defence the following season. Stocker needs to do the same, lose some weight, up his running ability and get fitter. Base his game around how Williams has played for us.

Don't always recruit midfielders to play in the midfield. A lot of the better smaller young players play midfield in juniors. Would have been recruited with the idea that this improves over time and he becomes a midfielder or that he just goes into another position.

Whilst i don’t see an issue with looking at undersize mids later on in the draft to maybe play as a small forward or turn a certain type of mid in to a defender, the idea that you use 1st round draft picks on midfielders to not eventually play in your midfield is a dumb idea.

I certainly wouldn’t hope Stocker tries to emulate Williams, if Williams was unfit and overweight in his 9th season of footy, that doesn’t say much about his preparation and standards.

He is someone who is going to have to work hard and have a good preseason and see where he goes from there.

I see him in a similar position to Williams last year. A backman recruited to play on the ball but did not have the tank for it, barely had the tank to play AFL at a high level. Lost weight, got fitter and played some really good footy in defence the following season. Stocker needs to do the same, lose some weight, up his running ability and get fitter. Base his game around how Williams has played for us.

Not sure on Zac Williams being the barometer, still appears unfit & don’t think the footy being played has been that great from him.
Reckon this still applies to ZW “lose some weight, up his running ability and get fitter”.

They criticised CFC for taking Cripps on the same logic...

Stocker's been in the system long enough to have a tank (before factoring in injuries...).

Reckon that line is grossly over played wrt young Stocker.

There has been an issue with Carlton not valuing work rate and endurance at the draft table when looking at medium sized players. SPS, Dow and Stocker all have had issues in regard to this. All originally seen as midfield types who have not been able to play midfield due to running capacity.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Whilst i don’t see an issue with looking at undersize mids later on in the draft to maybe play as a small forward or turn a certain type of mid in to a defender, the idea that you use 1st round draft picks on midfielders to not eventually play in your midfield is a dumb idea.

I certainly wouldn’t hope Stocker tries to emulate Williams, if Williams was unfit and overweight in his 9th season of footy, that doesn’t say much about his preparation and standards.

Stock needs to emulate Hewitt if we're talking about tough mids who took a while to get AFL fit

Not sure on Zac Williams being the barometer, still appears unfit & don’t think the footy being played has been that great from him.
Reckon this still applies to ZW “lose some weight, up his running ability and get fitter”.
It couldn't hurt, but the footy he was playing for us this year was really good, he was running both ways (defending well and finding plenty of footy), can't ask for a hell of a lot more really from a back pocket.

Both are similar players, big bodied small defenders, Williams was playing high level footy this year at AFL level, Stocker has not done that yet. Stocker is probably not going to be a Docharty or Saad type. Daniel Rich perhaps.

In what way did it take a while for George Hewett to get AFL fit? By the end of his 3rd season he was averaging nearly 19 possessions, 4 tackles and had played 48 games.

Can recall an interview where he says this was the big difference in being able to play in the middle - much like Stock, he had to force his way in as a flanker

Let me give you an example of a "dumb idea". Daniel Rich.

Stocker is a burst player. He will end up a Wayne Harmes, Stuart Dew type. He requires another 12 months before we judge him.