List Mgmt. Welcome Jobe Shanahan (Pick 30, 2024 National Draft)

Balta got his bed time this week or whats the go with him?

Sadly for Bitchmond

face kiss GIF

Someone tell me how he lasted to pick 31.
Lacks for nothing as a KPF & given he kicked little bags at VFL level a few times last year that would suggest everything we're seeing now was on display then.
Richmond took what, 3 talls before him?
Madness.

the older I've gotten and the more footy I've consumed, the more I've come to the belief that AFL recruiters dont know what they're doing

When you live and breath it I can imagine it’s easy to overthink things and think you’re smarter than anyone else and see something in a kid that others don’t. Sometimes it pays off, sometimes you miss the obvious no brainer

Someone tell me how he lasted to pick 31.
Lacks for nothing as a KPF & given he kicked little bags at VFL level a few times last year that would suggest everything we're seeing now was on display then.
Richmond took what, 3 talls before him?
Madness.
Someone’s said he’s pretty quiet off field or something like that. Maybe he comes across as a bit dim or something in interviews and it put recruiters off?

Would have to be something like that you’d think, given how good he looked at VFL level last year.

Someone’s said he’s pretty quiet off field or something like that. Maybe he comes across as a bit dim or something in interviews and it put recruiters off?

Would have to be something like that you’d think, given how good he looked at VFL level last year.

I would call it more unbothered. Moisturised. Happy. In his lane. Focused. Flourishing.

Thanks for the insightful assessment of Jobe's persona, perhaps you could have drawn out attention to the possibility that he is more of an introvert than an extrovert.

huh? Mate you’re talking to king of the introverts

I meant maybe the interviewers thought that - I don’t ****in know, what else could explain not being more highly rated?

I'd guess it's mainly because of three players that might be considered key forwards taken before him Harry Armstrong, Whitlock and Simms, they probably got carried away with the extra 4 to 5cm of height of Whitlock and Simms.

Armstrong would have been a preference thing and he's had moments in a couple of his games.

Haven't really counted Faull as he went at 14, but ouch. that's probably a mistake.

I love Shanahan and happy we have him over any of the others but there's a long way to go before we can decide who was the better draft choice.

I'd guess it's mainly because of three players that might be considered key forwards taken before him Harry Armstrong, Whitlock and Simms, they probably got carried away with the extra 4 to 5cm of height of Whitlock and Simms.

Armstrong would have been a preference thing and he's had moments in a couple of his games.

Haven't really counted Faull as he went at 14, but ouch. that's probably a mistake.

I love Shanahan and happy we have him over any of the others but there's a long way to go before we can decide who was the better draft choice.

Faull was also taken before hand.

I had them ranked Shanahan>Armstrong>Faull>both Whitlocks>>Sims

The wraps on this kid…

I remember the talk on his form from WAFL but there seems to be some genuine excitement on Jobe and what he done with only three games.

Where does he end up CHF or FF? Does he have the size and aggression to hold FF?

I am actually looking forward to watching the replays of games to see what the hype is about.

These two things say everything for me:

His very clear natural football ability. My best mate playing footy growing up was tall and a sensational overhead mark. His marking ability was a natural talent he had since we were young kids. Reading the ball, picking it at it's highest point, having the arm strength and coordination to rip it out of the sky. He went on to play footy at a pretty reasonable level. Jobe has this and some.

His physique for an 18 year old - this shows his dedication to his craft, professionalism and diligence in being the best he can be from a very young age. Great genetics I'm sure, but to be that physically imposing and skilful as an 18 year old KPF is relatively unheard of. He has been set up with all of the tools.

I feel confident every time he has ball in hand, I hope he signs long term and I can't wait to see him develop.

Another great thing about him - his tank and work rate. He covered over 14ks against Port
I think it was a bit lost in the baker goal on the weekend- he was the guy that got the late fist in to provide the contest, but was also the one who gave the goal assist with the clean pick up and hands to the running baker who finished truly.

Sums up his game. He competes, but is more than just crash and bash like many his age and size- he’s got the finesse, too. Really looking forward to watching him develop.

His assuredness reminds me of the Gov early days, to be honest. Just looks the level already and he’s only 18. I can see him becoming a fan favourite in due course. And, from what I’ve heard absolutely loves it over here.

In addition to his marking, his decision making and disposal execution are sublime. He’s shanked one shot for goal but otherwise his shots generally split the middle. There were a number of times on the weekend he could have blazed away at goal but chose the % option.

His handballing has directly resulted in a number of goals and it’s just as good further up the ground.
1752497156191.jpeg
He’s put on so much muscle since being drafted he’s going to be a monster. Ran 14km in the game he’s obviously put in the hours in the gym and the kms in the legs. Every bit as exciting as Harley.

One and only downside I can see with the bloke in his first season is his agility.

We're still yet to him kick any goals from general play. From memory this has pretty much been the case in the WAFL as well.

Most gun forwards find multiple avenues to get it through the big sticks. JK himself was like a cat, very agile. Snags off both feet, on the run, out of the air, off balance, you name it.

In addition to his marking, his decision making and disposal execution are sublime. He’s shanked one shot for goal but otherwise his shots generally split the middle. There were a number of times on the weekend he could have blazed away at goal but chose the % option.

His handballing has directly resulted in a number of goals and it’s just as good further up the ground.
View attachment 2368194
He’s put on so much muscle since being drafted he’s going to be a monster. Ran 14km in the game he’s obviously put in the hours in the gym and the kms in the legs. Every bit as exciting as Harley.
The fact an 18y/o key forward is averaging 11 poss a game in his first 3 games for a bottom of ladder club also says a lot.
Most key forwards are in single digits for a while if debuting this young