Toast Welcome Pat Voss - 2024 Season SSP Signing

I seriously didn’t think Voss was gonna make it. I didn’t think he had the temperament or composure for AFL, but I have been proven wrong. The bloke is now one of my favourite players. Plays on the edge, and he has become a reliable goal kicker. Well done mate! Keep proving idiots like me wrong. He’s only going to get better.

How was the forward pressure from him against Carlton too, loved it

Voss is the player I thought Treacy would become and is now one of my fave players. He buries players in monster tackles, love's a good scrap and talking shit but most importantly backs it up with goals. His goal celebrations are also a joy to watch and I really enjoy watching him tag opposition players. I hope people begin to realise the suggestion of dropping Voss for Sturt is a bit silly now.

Voss has astounded me - I thought he would always have certain limitations, but his improvement from start of season till now is incredible. Has risen to be an essential cog in this team. How did we get so lucky to have three AFL quality tall forwards that are all the same age and this good? This is completely unthinkable back in days of endless searching for a forward partner for Pavlich.

Voss is the player I thought Treacy would become and is now one of my fave players. He buries players in monster tackles, love's a good scrap and talking shit but most importantly backs it up with goals. His goal celebrations are also a joy to watch and I really enjoy watching him tag opposition players. I hope people begin to realise the suggestion of dropping Voss for Sturt is a bit silly now.
I suppose having Voss now means treacy can play a different role. I wouldn’t undermine treacy’s presence though. He’s got some of the best forward pressure and intent to tackle of any KPF’s in the comp I believe. Definitely feel like Voss plays on the edge more though 😂 we are gonna have these 3 young forwards for the next hopefully 8-10 years too!

Treacy is arguably the most complete player we have (Young probably tips him, maybe Jackson but think his footy IQ gives him the edge, just).

I genuinely believe he'd be an AA KPD, he's a top 3 field kick in a team with a few good ones now (rating Young and Murph ahead of him) so could also distribute from defense. A touch slow for mid, but he's a handy ruck with good ground work (not Jackson though), and is our best contested mark; his work around the ground of late has been monstrous, especially the marks between the arcs and the quick roost forward; always to advatage no less. Up front he's phenomenal; footy IQ to burn, constantly positioning and helping teammates with shepherds and blocks, pressures like a medium /small and is our best kick for goal (Jacko making a claim though).

Add to this he's an onfield general; don't discount his impact on Voss's development and the amount he's protected and guided Amiss through his troubles.

Voss doesn't have his smarts, but has his pressure, presence and goal-kicking (currently). Marking is improving, as is his game sense. He keeps improving (along with Amiss who seems to be coming out the other side of his issues), and our forward line will be genuinely unplayable. A long way from Tabs being the great white hope (no disrespect to Tabs, but boy, we've been starved). It's hilarious to think Jackson can now just drift forward too...

Voss has astounded me - I thought he would always have certain limitations, but his improvement from start of season till now is incredible. Has risen to be an essential cog in this team. How did we get so lucky to have three AFL quality tall forwards that are all the same age and this good? This is completely unthinkable back in days of endless searching for a forward partner for Pavlich.
IMG_8089.jpeg

He's been great, and is fun to watch, love that he's fixed his accuracy. I was actually surprised to see he has had 2nd most shots on goal after Bolton.

Is he our best SSP signing?
John C Reilly Yes GIF

Oh it’s not even a contest .
Voss development has been nothing short of amazing.

-I just wanted to give the wombat some love too whilst talking up our SSP
Duds is great. Love the bloke and I reckon sky is the limit as a small forward. Can you imagine if Vossy, Treacy and Duds became premiership players? 2 SSP sign ons and a rookie drafted player! Incredible drafting skills there.

And the three of them are strong marks. Jye, this year is taking some very strong contested marks.
The three of them are also accurate goal kickers.
That final goal from Vossy, his left foot was precisely across the 50 metre line and the ball sailed through at 3/4 post high. Very impressive. Vossy’s transformation from the Sydney game at Optus is extraordinary.

And the three of them are strong marks. Jye, this year is taking some very strong contested marks.
The three of them are also accurate goal kickers.
That final goal from Vossy, his left foot was precisely across the 50 metre line and the ball sailed through at 3/4 post high. Very impressive. Vossy’s transformation from the Sydney game at Optus is extraordinary.
The marking has improved since they enrolled at the Voss Academy.

Having a 'Crazy Vossy' at your club can be a great thing, I love ours. Please sign him up long term.

He’s been brilliant, physical and a bit of a personality which is exactly what this group needed.
What’s the status of his contract though? Assuming he’s on minimum chips and matchies now- around $250k to 300k per annum max - we are gonna have to pay up significantly to keep him (as we 100% should) and probably from next year onwards. He’s gonna have at least 6 other clubs immediately willing to pay him $700k per annum over 4 years after this season, from next year onwards. The club likely wouldn’t have planned to have to pay Voss the kind of money he’s worth this quickly.
Before anyone says it - no, he’s not gonna refuse $400k per annum extra from another club and stick fat with freo on a $300k a year salary.
He’s also not going to remain on the same $250k salary for 2026. He will either extend at freo with a significant pay bump this offseason, or some other club will come in for him. I’m a touch surprised we haven’t heard of an extension for his contract already to be honest.

Treacy is arguably the most complete player we have (Young probably tips him, maybe Jackson but think his footy IQ gives him the edge, just).

I genuinely believe he'd be an AA KPD, he's a top 3 field kick in a team with a few good ones now (rating Young and Murph ahead of him) so could also distribute from defense. A touch slow for mid, but he's a handy ruck with good ground work (not Jackson though), and is our best contested mark; his work around the ground of late has been monstrous, especially the marks between the arcs and the quick roost forward; always to advatage no less. Up front he's phenomenal; footy IQ to burn, constantly positioning and helping teammates with shepherds and blocks, pressures like a medium /small and is our best kick for goal (Jacko making a claim though).

Add to this he's an onfield general; don't discount his impact on Voss's development and the amount he's protected and guided Amiss through his troubles.

Voss doesn't have his smarts, but has his pressure, presence and goal-kicking (currently). Marking is improving, as is his game sense. He keeps improving (along with Amiss who seems to be coming out the other side of his issues), and our forward line will be genuinely unplayable. A long way from Tabs being the great white hope (no disrespect to Tabs, but boy, we've been starved). It's hilarious to think Jackson can now just drift forward too...
Some good points here. Made me think of Jesse Hogan at his best.