Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

BECAUSE THE DRAFT IS COMPROMISED NOW HIRD YOU ****ING BELLEND!!!

TEAMS CAN'T REBUILD LIKE THEY USED TO, WE JUST HAD A HISTORICALLY BAD SEASON ON TOP OF THE PAST 5 YEARS, OUR CAPTAIN JUST LEFT AND YOU STILL THINK WE CAN DO IT ALL WITHOUT ASSISTANCE?

GO KISS STEVEN DANK ON THE PHALLUS 💋

Liam Ryan is turning 30 next year, and although he played 20 games this year he's never played that much in the past five seasons. He is also clearly past his peak - his All Australian year is almost ancient history.

If we're somehow getting young talent like Windhager or Boxshall, we will be stumping up extra.
Ryan is currently 28. His birthday is on 2 October. So he will be 29 for the entire 2026 football season.

Wonder if Sydney would consider 7 and 10 for Warner that they could use for Curnow too, if we could guarantee the top 2 18 year olds and still manage to get Warner I think we'd have to do it.
If Curnow wants to get to Swans it presents an opportunity for us.

For Swans it makes sense to let go of Warner for say pick 2, & on-trade that for Curnow, because:
1. Key forward is a bigger area of need for them than midfield. With Gulden, Heeney, Mills as mids supported by Sheldrick, Jordan & Cleary coming through they are still good in there
2. If Warner goes in 2 yrs as free agent, then they likely get only a mid-late first rounder for him. Curnow presents much better value

I'd happily trade 2 for Warner, even though there's a chance we get him for nothing in 2yrs, because:
1. It locks it in now. In 2yrs we have to contend with Freo (assuming he even decides to come home)
2. We desperately need to get out of this rot ASAP. A player like Warner materially improves our chance of doing this
3. It provides leadership & support to Reid & Co. As it stands we're looking at Harley having to lead the midfield himself again next year
4. If we might draft CdT with pick 2 anyhow, which doesn't appeal at all

Fk Vic Media are flogs
On Agenda Setters the Reid re-signing gets about 30s at end of show, & it's just flog Cornes saying that Harley better pull his finger out to earn his $2m.
Besides the fact that the $2m is only if he hits incentives (e.g. AA, B&F) & therefore he IS performing, they've been critical all year saying why would he stay, Eagles can't pay him $24m for 11yrs etc, but when they are wrong they completely don't acknowledge & basically ignore the subject. His contract has been one of the biggest stories all year but only if he goes back to Vic apparently, coz when he signs with WC they don't want to know about it.
When NAS re-signed they dedicated about half an hour off the top of the show & even got RTB in for a big love-in.
responding to my own post........Ralph actually giving a balanced take on it on MWT

Ryan + second round pick for their first would be a good outcome. There should be a few good players available in that range like Cumming, Grlj and Schubert.

It wouldn’t surprise me if we made a play for Bobby Hill. We’re going to have a huge hole with Ryan gone, Cripps on his last legs and Owies incompetent, and a hilarious amount of salary cap to throw around.

I’d be pretty surprised if Hill doesn’t end up back in WA if the rumours about his kids being moved back here are true.
Hard to know where he's at with his personal stuff but from a footy perspective he'd be a huge get

I don't really like this idea of conceding no PP's in return for being allowed to take Starcevich as a free agent without it diluting Allen compo.

If we ask for and get that then that means we forego the right to ask for PP's for the foreseeable future. I think the PP's are more valuable and the AFL will eventually have to give them to us. We are going to be down for another few years and it will be very hard to continue justifying not giving them to us if we hold the line.

If Starcevich wants to come then come via PSD or for a very cheap trade price because of PSD threat. And if he isn't willing to help us get the deal done by going along with that the we don't want him.

Plus what about the risk of him pulling a Dev Robertson at the last minute and bailing out of coming and then we have asked for a meaningless concession.

Someone needs to explain to Hird how the tax for spending over the soft cap works.
200% is totally ridiculous. They might aswell make it a million %. Nobody can afford to pay it. Especially since if you are going to go over by hiring more staff then you are probably going to have to give those people 3 year contracts so you will be committing to going over for multiple years in a row. You won't be going over for just one year and then pulling back.

TEAMS CAN'T REBUILD LIKE THEY USED TO, WE JUST HAD A HISTORICALLY BAD SEASON ON TOP OF THE PAST 5 YEARS, OUR CAPTAIN JUST LEFT AND YOU STILL THINK WE CAN DO IT ALL WITHOUT ASSISTANCE?

The fake tan and botox has clearly seeped into his brain

Came for the Liam Ryan chat.

Stayed for the James Hird bashing

Came for the Liam Ryan chat.

Stayed for the James Hird bashing
Nobody ever makes the obvious point about Hird that if he was that comfortable and familiar with performance enhancing drugs as a coach and that blase and relaxed about the chances of getting caught then he had obviously been dabbling in them for a quite a while, including in all likelihood when he was a player. I think he should be stripped of all player awards and accolades he recieved during his career including his Brownlow due to it being highly likely he was taking performance enhancing drugs during that period. He is a dirty stinking drug cheat. Australia's version of Lance Armstrong.

I don't really like this idea of conceding no PP's in return for being allowed to take Starcevich as a free agent without it diluting Allen compo.

If we ask for and get that then that means we forego the right to ask for PP's for the foreseeable future. I think the PP's are more valuable and the AFL will eventually have to give them to us. We are going to be down for another few years and it will be very hard to continue justifying not giving them to us if we hold the line.

If Starcevich wants to come then come via PSD or for a very cheap trade price because of PSD threat. And if he isn't willing to help us get the deal done by going along with that the we don't want him.

Plus what about the risk of him pulling a Dev Robertson at the last minute and bailing out of coming and then we have asked for a meaningless concession.
If we got picks we probably just trade for Starcevich anyways tbh

We wouldnt ask for it unless we were pretty sure we had him

I just don't like the idea of Starcevich in general.

No dilution of our FA allowing us to recruit someone else is good, sensible thing to request, i like that idea.....

But knowing it's for a C grade half back with concussion problems who averages 10.8 disposals a game, has never been AA or even in the AA squad and has never polled a single bronwlow vote makes the whole thing seem silly.

Just keep playing Grego.

Starcevich averages in 2025 - 10.8D, 3.7M, 1.8T, 3.4CP's, 3.1 rebound 60's, 3.9 intercepts, 199 metres gained.

Grego averages in 2025 - 14D, 5M, 1T, 6CP's, 5 rebound 50's, 5 intercepts, 235 metres gained.

hey mate you okay?

Liam Ryan is leaving and this is an area that I feel like no one talks about and I think it is actually the biggest hole in the list. Our small forward stocks. Seriously he was the only small forward we have who was close to talented. Brockman's great for like 3 fun touches a game. Cripps is cooked. Newton looks like a child. Owies? Delist. Long isn't at the level, this area desperately needs to be addressed.

I honestly wouldn't be surprised if that was part of the strategy. Cumming also very athletic and I’d like Ainsworth with a late pick. Would be very happy with 4 SA boys If we can get DS, SC, AS and SA. Look forward to the combine testing.

1 sharp
2 cumming
7 (for Ryan + 12) Schubert
2R Barker
Hawks 2R Ainsworth

Curnow maybe to Swans, they need draft capital to get that done if he asks.

They have **** all to offer the Blues, blues wont want pick 9 or whatever the swans have as thats right in the Harry Dean hitting zone.
And an academy kid to put through the calculator too.