Media Thread, 2025: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

• Thread starter Thread starter kane249

Anyone see the sooking on Ch7 news last night? Anna Hay looked like she wanted to cry about how un sportmen like it was about the "antics" at the BnF.
Typical Channel 7 anti WCE bias, if that idiot Basil Simpleas was still working there he would have led the charge.

he is sick of the club. well we are sick of you looking out after your mates and your constant whining about no lap of honour, no credit for maybe winning the grand final.

list goes on about what the club should have done for him.

I think Schoey is trying to build his career off triggering west coast supporters. Best thing is to ignore him and let him disappear amongst all the other rubbish media out there.

Cornes media logic 101. Go after the biggest fan base. Whether it's positive clicks or negative clicks it's the engagement you want at the end of the day.

Schoey wants clicks from us, as well as clicks from the Purps watching him attack the Eagles, and hey look he will sell them a Wharfie shirt on the way through.

I think Schoey is trying to build his career off triggering west coast supporters. Best thing is to ignore him and let him disappear amongst all the other rubbish media out there.
West Coast supporters should show him what they think of him by booing loudly when he is near the fence doing his comments.
Now that his best mate Pav has gone Fox Footy should piss him off too.

I don’t think anyone has issue with 90% of the point.

Yep Freo are doing well*. They’ve brought in some good recruits and they’ve won a lot of footy games this year. Eagles are, obviously, doing very badly. He trots out the “I’m not being overly negative it’s just a fact” angle which is hard to dispute when you watch a one-win season. So that’s all fine, I think some people are far too sensitive and expect him to glaze the club just cause he’s an ex-player.

But the thing of a few folks in the crowd having a little quiet chuckle to themselves that a crosstown rival lost in exceedingly funny fashion…ok? Who could possibly care?

I’d rather have been playing finals than having the B+F, cause I’d rather win lots of games and be at the pointy end. Good, true. But we’re not, so a sly dig every now and then never hurt anyone. Such a bizarre thing to be upset about.

Very low trying to trigger a fan base that stood behind you for over a decade. Makes absolute sense for someone like a Conres but he didn’t play for us. I think cut needs to cut the flog from any official media roles they do.

Outside of Schofield and Anna Hay on Channel 7 last night the general consensus ‘seems’ to be one of mirth and a bit of fun. Would have been interesting to see if Rhino was doing the sports broadcast last night and if he would have had to push back against the editor/producers wishes for outrage.

Did have to laugh at some posts from nuffies on social media criticising the reaction. From Victoria. I mean I am sure if it was Collingwood/Carlton, there would have been total sadness and sympathy for the losing club if the same situation presented there 🙄😂

Very low trying to trigger a fan base that stood behind you for over a decade. Makes absolute sense for someone like a Conres but he didn’t play for us. I think cut needs to cut the flog from any official media roles they do.

Considering the turnover at the club I imagine his ability to garner 'inside' info rapidly drying up and he's burnt enough bridges that no one's really interested in making new connections.

First 5minutes is gold, he’s making no sense at all and skeetas questioning him about it and he’s getting pissed off that Mark is not understanding his absolute gibberish.

That is their whole schtick. One of them will say something- either a reasonable take or complete nonsense, the other will disagree vehemently about it and they will bicker and talk over each other for the next 5 minutes before going to another ad. That podcast is a complete dumpster fire now and not worth listening to.

Maybe they should go and watch a little Margaret & David.

The media and Woefield tailor things to suit their agenda, so we can do the same...

We won the '18 flag in spite of Woefield playing. Thanks for nothing, poor man's Sheppard. There we go.

On form for Schofield. Take a "story" and turn it into something about himself.

Biggest story of the week is Freo failing at home, yet he starts his Pod off with all the flak he has copped🙄💤

On form for Schofield. Take a "story" and turn it into something about himself.

Biggest story of the week is Freo failing at home, yet he starts his Pod off with all the flak he has copped🙄💤

It's all about the content - just say what gets people 'talking'.

Good for the clicks, good for the views etc

He'll turn around and say 'oh ahaha you didnt fall for that one did ya?? Just some bants to get the people talking!' blah blah.

He's a knob.

Will be actively avoiding any engagement moving forward.

Hammer and Schofield just spoke about it on BackChat. Hammer was there on the night and said the people that were cheering were a couple of the executives and fans. None of the players did any of the cheering and when he asked the players about it later in the night they were embarrassed 'we won one game and this is what's getting out' ect ect.

Both of them didn't care that the fans were cheering, it was more all the upper club people behaving like that after you've won one game for the year.